Renting a car in Tobago online

Postby redmanjp » June 24th, 2019, 11:13 pm

Can anyone confirm if you can use a Republic Bank credit card on Expedia to book a car in Tobago? Also how do the prices compare with booking it locally? Family going Tobago next week and would need one.

Re: Renting a car in Tobago online

Postby rspann » June 25th, 2019, 5:44 am

Carry yours. It much cheaper unless you staying for only one day.

Postby gastly369 » June 25th, 2019, 6:01 am

Sheppys rental

Postby Gem_in_i » June 25th, 2019, 6:04 am

gastly369 wrote:Sheppys rental

I have always used them when I needed a car. You can book online.

rebound

Postby rebound » June 25th, 2019, 6:33 am

I booked through Caribbean Airlines site a few times and got good prices..

Postby SMc » June 25th, 2019, 12:47 pm

I used Sheppys last time and it was fine.

On another note why car rental so expensive in Tobago? I agree with spann if you/they could send a vehicle it much cheaper and you could fill it with all the crap you want to carry- there is/was thread about company's that offer a service to get your car from POS to Scarborough- maybe look into that if you have time

dean_spleen09

Postby dean_spleen09 » June 25th, 2019, 2:07 pm

op is just tobago . you dont have to book online.
as soon as you walk out the airport it have 300 people asking you if you want boatride/car rental / taxi etc.

pyromaniax

Postby pyromaniax » June 25th, 2019, 2:41 pm

was there a few days ago, i just walked over to econo car, and got a nice blue corolla wagon for $275 a day.

Postby VexXx Dogg » June 25th, 2019, 3:24 pm

Alamo is good too.
Used them twice before and will do so again.
Can "book" online, but you still need a ton of paperwork when you go to collect. Est. 20-30 min with no other customers there.

Postby VexXx Dogg » June 25th, 2019, 3:26 pm

Prices are cheap too.

I got an xtrail for 3 days (2 days billable) for 1000TTD TOTAL
Collected lunchtime on Wed, returned it lunchtime on Friday

aidan

Postby aidan » June 26th, 2019, 10:59 am

Same here. Worked out cheaper than other places.
VexXx Dogg wrote:Alamo is good too.
Used them twice before and will do so again.
Can "book" online, but you still need a ton of paperwork when you go to collect. Est. 20-30 min with no other customers there.

Postby VexXx Dogg » June 26th, 2019, 11:02 am

pyromaniax wrote:was there a few days ago, i just walked over to econo car, and got a nice blue corolla wagon for $275 a day.

sometimes in peak season, rentals are hard to get.
It's good to book so that you guaranteed what you want/need.

Postby Dizzy28 » June 26th, 2019, 11:37 am

Just be aware of the rental companies with no extra insurance riders. That's how they make their money in non peak times. Read the fine print and you'll see you responsible for paying for accidents below a certain value. And they ent business with who right and who wrong

worksux101

Postby worksux101 » June 26th, 2019, 1:12 pm

SMc wrote:I used Sheppys last time and it was fine.

On another note why car rental so expensive in Tobago? I agree with spann if you/they could send a vehicle it much cheaper and you could fill it with all the crap you want to carry- there is/was thread about company's that offer a service to get your car from POS to Scarborough- maybe look into that if you have time

Anymore info on this?

Postby SMc » June 26th, 2019, 1:22 pm

I assuming you asking about the car transfer service- had to to do a search as couldn't remember who originally posted it but the following popped up

viewtopic.php?f=4&t=741441&p=9901729&hilit=tobago#p9901729 .

Cant comment on the service as never used it but maybe somebody else has had some experience.

worksux101

Postby worksux101 » June 27th, 2019, 12:17 am

Thanks much

Postby VexXx Dogg » June 27th, 2019, 9:14 am

Dizzy28 wrote:Just be aware of the rental companies with no extra insurance riders. That's how they make their money in non peak times. Read the fine print and you'll see you responsible for paying for accidents below a certain value. And they ent business with who right and who wrong

What about credit cards that offer rental coverage? I kind of assumed this could work instead of paying double

Postby Rory Phoulorie » May 3rd, 2023, 7:12 am

Does anyone know if any rental companies in Tobago offer short term rental of large SUVs like the Hyundai Santa Fe or Kia Sorento?

The largest SUVs that I am seeing for rent are Hyundai Tucson and Honda CRV.

Thanks.