My 6yr old's schoolbag weighs almost as much as he does!

dogg

Re: My 6yr old's schoolbag weighs almost as much as he does!

Postby dogg » July 2nd, 2019, 11:57 am

Redman wrote:And the first time my boy refuse to hold my hand in the mall- i wanted to ded....just saying

Oh my god. I will bawl down the people place when that happens :cry:

Anyways. My child weighs 39lbs and the school bag weighs 31.5lbs.

The school mandates that he must carry the bag, his lunch kit, AND his swimming and football bags on those days!
And being a great kid, he wants to do it, but no, he's too little. We let him walk just a few steps with the load.
When he's a little older sure he'll do it on his own, but not for at least the next year.

Postby alfa » July 2nd, 2019, 12:26 pm

Strugglerzinc wrote:It boggles my mind seeing modern parents escorting children 20ft to and from the school gate or in some cases i see man pick up the std 2+ chile at the gate and carry them to the car.

did you ever consider that some men actually love their kids so much they see nothing wrong lifting them or carrying them no matter how big they might be? or that possibly said child told his father he was not feeling too well, so for the sake of speed and the child's comfort daddy opted to carry him?

that kinda thing ain't for everybody, but it isn't an absolute no-no either.

Like I said before a time table will solve the issue of the overloaded backpack, nothing is wrong in lifting and carrying your kids when you feel like it or when they are sick. Likewise nothing's wrong in having them take the responsibility to carry their own load of books that's vital to their future educational success. Don't want twenty years later and junior can't even carry a gas tank to his own kitchen, let alone when his wife have to ask the neighbor to help offload two bags of cement cuz junior never lift anything heavier than a pencil in his life :roll: . My old principal used to say you could be the most successful doctor or lawyer, however your family will appreciate you more if you actually do the little things around the house. Don't be hard on the kids but don't raise them as wusses either, a lil balance nah

Postby Ben_spanna » July 2nd, 2019, 12:47 pm

Been in serious discussion with quite a few people and have questioned time and time again why the publishers of all those school books cant offer an alternative PDF format after you have paid for your books, enabling students to have almost all of their textx books on a laptop or a touch device to help reduce the weight of our children's bags.
But the answer I have been getting is the connection between a certain book store that has political connections that wont allow such things to happen due to loss of revenue.

Once again corruption at its finest. Don't mind our children's well being, money haffi flow !

Postby maj. tom » July 2nd, 2019, 12:47 pm

I remember in primary school they do each subject, everyday. Math, English, Science, Social Studies. Dunno how it is like now, and how many subjects they have wrt to scheduling at that level. In high school, I brought half the books for the day, and the guy sitting next to me brought the other half according to the time-table.

The solution for primary school is for the school to store the MoE textbooks for during school use and just have the teacher lock them back in storage at the end of the day. What is so hard about this? Go home and do the homework with the ebooks you have on the tablet at home. A primary school child's bag should only have copy books and lunch. Wouldn't it be easier and cheaper if the government gave each primary school student an education approved tablet (instead of a laptop) that can run the education apps and open ebooks for each class, and also provide the storage cupboards in schools?

How come the authorities can't figure this out?

Postby 88sins » July 2nd, 2019, 1:12 pm

Ben_spanna wrote:Been in serious discussion with quite a few people and have questioned time and time again why the publishers of all those school books cant offer an alternative PDF format after you have paid for your books, enabling students to have almost all of their textx books on a laptop or a touch device to help reduce the weight of our children's bags.
But the answer I have been getting is the connection between a certain book store that has political connections that wont allow such things to happen due to loss of revenue.

Once again corruption at its finest. Don't mind our children's well being, money haffi flow !

you mean intellectual property haffi be protected
one person buys the book, copies it to literally everyone else
every child has schools recommended ebook, but author & publisher only sell one

level shaft dey bai

Postby Ben_spanna » July 2nd, 2019, 1:14 pm

Ben_spanna wrote:Been in serious discussion with quite a few people and have questioned time and time again why the publishers of all those school books cant offer an alternative PDF format after you have paid for your books, enabling students to have almost all of their textx books on a laptop or a touch device to help reduce the weight of our children's bags.

level shaft dey bai

surely they can work some form of code that needs to be inputted, or release the pdf after a few weeks on the starting of the school term, by that time everyone should have purchased the book

Postby 88sins » July 2nd, 2019, 1:35 pm

yeah, but you forgetting something. dis is trinidad. & there's 2 problems there
one being piracy of intellectual property is commonplace here. trust, almost nobody gonna buy what they could copy for free

and two being industry in this place real backward. most publishers have no interest in soft copy even tho it could work out to save them $$$ & time & space in the long run, because of the initial cost & headaches involved before you can advance in that direction.

Postby ismithx » July 2nd, 2019, 2:05 pm

again, this is a problem that could be solved very easily by tablets and ebooks

tablets that are like an lcd mated to a flash drive would solve the problem, it can't do anything other than read books so nobody would want to steal it.

but again this country to damn backwards, I can't see this idea working out because of that

Postby sMASH » July 2nd, 2019, 2:14 pm

Redman wrote:
VexXx Dogg wrote:"When I was X, we did Y." is a tired argument. Times change, curriculum and subjects change. The world has changed. If you want to stay in the good old days, good for you - but don't expect your kids to stay there with you.

Kids now have more books from an earlier age, and this is the state of education/progress.

The timetabling is an excellent initiative to reduce this everyday load.

Agreed-

There are too many books that are hardly used is at all as well. But kids tote them back and forth for the year.

Why isnt there a serious push towards ebooks and smart classes?
There was, they got voted out.

Postby sMASH » July 2nd, 2019, 2:19 pm

level shaft dey bai
Quick, someone tell amazon befire they and their authors go out of business

Postby MaxPower » July 2nd, 2019, 2:54 pm

MaxPower wrote:^ yeh but were you able to even afford everything on their booklist?

Stop suffering your children na, let a real man take care of them.

U not a tad embarrassed of yourself?

Afford? Yes, even had surplus to take people's mom to Econo for level guts out :wink:

Hmmm people does still use mommy and econo jokes?

Damn, sucks to be you in/around your 40s and struggling...

Postby VexXx Dogg » July 2nd, 2019, 3:03 pm

sMASH wrote:
Redman wrote:
VexXx Dogg wrote:"When I was X, we did Y." is a tired argument. Times change, curriculum and subjects change. The world has changed. If you want to stay in the good old days, good for you - but don't expect your kids to stay there with you.

Kids now have more books from an earlier age, and this is the state of education/progress.

Agreed-

There are too many books that are hardly used is at all as well. But kids tote them back and forth for the year.

You can't be talking about the half assed ecal programme? That was nothing but a poorly implemented election mamaguy promise

Postby Redman » July 2nd, 2019, 4:41 pm

Why can the ministry just mandate that e versions have to be available?

Like the whole private sector that has developed this internet thing and dem ting called apps?

Phase in So that Grade 3 4 and 5 are the targets in primary school.
Start at form 1 in Secondary school

Postby sMASH » July 2nd, 2019, 6:01 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:
sMASH wrote:
Redman wrote:

Agreed-

You can't be talking about the half assed ecal programme? That was nothing but a poorly implemented election mamaguy promise

it was a start and it helped and it worked.

if ur looking for a perfect program, well planned, tailored for the educational needs of the trini pupil, and a supplier suited for the product required, u could check denmark or finland or one of those well managed countries.

but for this sh!thole PNM country, that was a step in the space age compared to what was before... and as expected, what followed.

meem kno, but like allyuh marrid the first gyul allyuh ever deal, or the first car allyuh buy was the most perfect car that all others follow the pattern.

for all its follies, the kamla laptop program was a success and a step in the right direction.

Postby VexXx Dogg » July 2nd, 2019, 6:43 pm

sMASH wrote:
VexXx Dogg wrote:
sMASH wrote:
Redman wrote:

Agreed-

if ur looking for a perfect program, well planned, tailored for the educational needs of the trini pupil, and a supplier suited for the product required, u could check denmark or finland or one of those well managed countries.

but for this sh!thole PNM country, that was a step in the space age compared to what was before... and as expected, what followed.

meem kno, but like allyuh marrid the first gyul allyuh ever deal, or the first car allyuh buy was the most perfect car that all others follow the pattern.

for all its follies, the kamla laptop program was a success and a step in the right direction.
You musbe know something I don't.

I was involved as an external consultant / SME on two levels of this project over 5 years and saw the cascading failures when they failed to take heed of sensible advice.

PNM actually did something better: Made the technology the property of the govt rather than the students.

There were no supporting structures. Students were basically given a laptop. End of engagement. Money could have been better well spent, but I guess some of y'all like the koolaid.

Postby Rovin » July 2nd, 2019, 7:42 pm

maj. tom wrote:I remember in primary school they do each subject, everyday. Math, English, Science, Social Studies. Dunno how it is like now, and how many subjects they have wrt to scheduling at that level. In high school, I brought half the books for the day, and the guy sitting next to me brought the other half according to the time-table.

The solution for primary school is for the school to store the MoE textbooks for during school use and just have the teacher lock them back in storage at the end of the day. What is so hard about this? Go home and do the homework with the ebooks you have on the tablet at home. A primary school child's bag should only have copy books and lunch. Wouldn't it be easier and cheaper if the government gave each primary school student an education approved tablet (instead of a laptop) that can run the education apps and open ebooks for each class, and also provide the storage cupboards in schools?

How come the authorities can't figure this out?

i was reading here hoping to see this - smart guy there 8-)

same thing i used to do in my time , share d books with ur desk mate 1\2 & 1\2 , only ting if 1 of u stay home well u hadda tell d teacher or borrow ur neighboring desk book

back in my time classes never had any a\c & it didnt have any trolley bags either , no choice but to tote it normal by urself just like everybody else .... :|

Postby sMASH » July 2nd, 2019, 8:00 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:
sMASH wrote:
VexXx Dogg wrote:
sMASH wrote:
Redman wrote:

Agreed-

I was involved as an external consultant / SME on two levels of this project over 5 years and saw the cascading failures when they failed to take heed of sensible advice.

PNM actually did something better: Made the technology the property of the govt rather than the students.

There were no supporting structures. Students were basically given a laptop. End of engagement. Money could have been better well spent, but I guess some of y'all like the koolaid.

i saw it in use from the students side. the use it was intended to give, made a lot of children, and families, connected to modern technology AT THAT TIME.
yes, i did see it that it just was 'heh, look a laptop, doh boddah me no more, and it free so doh pester meh after'
but my lil bro kinda used that to tinker with it and get some experimentation done. cause it was so damn cheap, it done kinda spoil, not much more harm can be done to the device.

from the business point of view, it could be a world apart better. the wheeling and dealing on the money side, i have no doubt it happened. but from the student side, for the time period it occurred, it was the best decision.

if u hadda waste money, it was the best way to waste it.

and i still say, classrooms need to be more online and intranet than schools being left to their own devices.

Postby VexXx Dogg » July 2nd, 2019, 8:06 pm

sMASH wrote:
VexXx Dogg wrote:
sMASH wrote:
VexXx Dogg wrote:
sMASH wrote:
Redman wrote:

Agreed-

i saw it in use from the students side. the use it was intended to give, made a lot of children, and families, connected to modern technology AT THAT TIME.
yes, i did see it that it just was 'heh, look a laptop, doh boddah me no more, and it free so doh pester meh after'
but my lil bro kinda used that to tinker with it and get some experimentation done. cause it was so damn cheap, it done kinda spoil, not much more harm can be done to the device.

from the business point of view, it could be a world apart better. the wheeling and dealing on the money side, i have no doubt it happened. but from the student side, for the time period it occurred, it was the best decision.

if u hadda waste money, it was the best way to waste it.

and i still say, classrooms need to be more online and intranet than schools being left to their own devices.
Agreed. Online learning platforms are my bread and butter so you're preaching to the choir

Postby nervewrecker » July 2nd, 2019, 9:53 pm

Not gunna read all that. we have to take into consideration that the temperatures outside are way hotter and its not easy for kids to be walking around with these heavy bags.

Postby Ben_spanna » July 2nd, 2019, 10:45 pm

Next term I think I I’ll take the time and have the books scanned page by page and load them all on digital media at home, at least that way my kids won’t have to tote so many books back and forth... just let him them leave all the texts in school.

Postby 88sins » July 3rd, 2019, 5:24 am

Ben_spanna wrote:Next term I think I I’ll take the time and have the books scanned page by page and load them all on digital media at home, at least that way my kids won’t have to tote so many books back and forth... just let him them leave all the texts in school.

is if he go be able to find them all where he left them the next day
even in primary schools, theft is an issue

Postby RBphoto » July 3rd, 2019, 12:39 pm

My chile does use a trolley backpack. Carry everything to school every day, no problems

Postby MaxPower » July 3rd, 2019, 4:16 pm

RBphoto wrote:My chile does use a trolley backpack. Carry everything to school every day, no problems

This here is the winner of the chicken dinner..

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » July 3rd, 2019, 5:28 pm

Why not just let the government purchase all the text books and have lockers so the kids can use books at school instead of bringing books from home.

Even better have a system with PDF and some cheap kindle or something to display it with.

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » July 3rd, 2019, 10:49 pm

Technology in the hands of Trinbagonian youth is a bit of a waste. Most when they got the Laptop never brought it on account of the possibility of it being stolen.

Even then it was difficult to police the behavior and use with porn bring shared and many using it to play games during class. Difficult for the teacher to teach and monitor every screen.

Even when they had the "rental" programme for textbooks where the student was supposed to bring it back after the term some still didn't. They had to call the parents and make them sign for it before hand.

In most cases with education the student interest and enthusiasm determines a lot. In many cases this is not there. Until the education system addresses this fundamental lack of interest in getting an educational nothing will change.

Many students don't see the point of an education it has no relevance to them or at least they can't see the relevance.

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » July 3rd, 2019, 10:54 pm

On another note these kids carrying a heavy load is simply preparation for the future labour market where the only jobs will be those that require lifting and carrying heavy objects in the heat.

Think of it as preparation for carrying sacks of cement on a state run construction project every 5 years or so. This might very well be the only job available by the time they enter the work force.

Postby Ben_spanna » July 3rd, 2019, 10:58 pm

Numb3r4 wrote:Technology in the hands of Trinbagonian youth is a bit of a waste. Most when they got the Laptop never brought it on account of the possibility of it being stolen.

Even then it was difficult to police the behavior and use with porn bring shared and many using it to play games during class. Difficult for the teacher to teach and monitor every screen.

Even when they had the "rental" programme for textbooks where the student was supposed to bring it back after the term some still didn't. They had to call the parents and make them sign for it before hand.

In most cases with education the student interest and enthusiasm determines a lot. In many cases this is not there. Until the education system addresses this fundamental lack of interest in getting an educational nothing will change.

Many students don't see the point of an education it has no relevance to them or at least they can't see the relevance.

Allow those who have the ability to use an iPad or laptop or kindle the opportunity to do so and lighten their bags, for those who choose not to and go the route of the heavy bag then so be it, but at least give people the choice for their children... not everyone raising labor that has to get used to toting heavy bags.

Postby rspann » July 4th, 2019, 12:07 am

Chirren nowadays too soft. Never heard these complaints until recently. I walk to school for five years with my bag on my back. We liked to walk rather than travel because it was a good lime. El socorro to St Georges Barataria. A levels I had transport, but had to go in the evening to load it up with goods for mih father shop . 100 lbs sugar, flour etc. Never got any back problems.

Zetski

Postby Zetski » July 4th, 2019, 3:34 am

rspann wrote:Chirren nowadays too soft. Never heard these complaints until recently. I walk to school for five years with my bag on my back. We liked to walk rather than travel because it was a good lime. El socorro to St Georges Barataria. A levels I had transport, but had to go in the evening to load it up with goods for mih father shop . 100 lbs sugar, flour etc. Never got any back problems.

Facts.. them too soft! i used to walk from maraval to queens park with some friends on some evenings to fly our kites when my brother was say he was coming late.. that bag was damn heavy.. in form 4 I was at tru valu packing groceries and moving heavy boxes.. this made my back stronger instead :lol: