A woman is the new 007

Postby hydroep » July 14th, 2019, 4:35 pm

Lashana Lynch will play 007 in new James Bond movie: report
Lee Brown

James Bond fans wanting 007 to be either black or female are in for a double treat — with the movie spy about to be played by a black woman, according to a report on Sunday.

British actress Lashana Lynch, 31, will be introduced as the new 007 in what is being described as a ‘popcorn-dropping moment’ in the franchise’s 25th movie that is currently being filmed, according to the Mail on Sunday.

But it is not a complete do-over — with her just taking James Bond’s secret agent number after he retires from MI6, the report states.

Bond himself will still be played by Daniel Craig — and will still adhere to his old-fashioned macho characteristics, an insider told the UK paper.

‘Bond, of course, is sexually attracted to the new female 007 and tries his usual seduction tricks, but is baffled when they don’t work on a brilliant, young black woman who basically rolls her eyes at him and has no interest in jumping into his bed,” a source told the Mail.

The insider called it a “pivotal scene” when Bond is called back from retirement and introduced to Lynch as the new 007.

“It’s a popcorn-dropping moment. Bond is still Bond but he’s been replaced as 007 by this stunning woman,” the source told the Mail.

Londoner Lynch, who played the fighter pilot Maria Rambeau in “Captain Marvel”, is hoped to modernize the franchise criticized by many as being too dated and sexist.

“This is a Bond for the modern era who will appeal to a younger generation while sticking true to what we all expect in a Bond film,” the source said.

“There are spectacular chase sequences and fights, and Bond is still Bond but he’s having to learn to deal with the world of #MeToo.”

https://nypost.com/2019/07/14/lashana-lynch-cast-as-007-in-new-james-bond-movie-report/

Re: Black Woman is the new 007

Postby MaxPower » July 14th, 2019, 5:10 pm

Steups

Postby maj. tom » July 14th, 2019, 5:28 pm

Oh boy, can't wait for the franchise to be as amazing and feminist empowering as that 2016 Ghostbusters remake.
So this is how the great masculine legacy that Ian Fleming wrote finally ends on the screen eh?

racedriverpro

Postby racedriverpro » July 14th, 2019, 5:28 pm

Just seeing this from a business stand point

Postby Gladiator » July 14th, 2019, 6:33 pm

racedriverpro wrote:Just seeing this from a business stand point

They trying a Black Panther ting...

Postby rspann » July 14th, 2019, 6:40 pm

Oh! I thought they following us with Paula Mae.

Soul Collector

Postby Soul Collector » July 14th, 2019, 6:48 pm

Hollywood gone to dogshit.

Blaze d Chalice

Postby Blaze d Chalice » July 14th, 2019, 6:49 pm

No powder on the neck = me not watching.

Postby VexXx Dogg » July 14th, 2019, 7:00 pm

She's getting the title 007. In Fleming's literary universe, can numbers be reassigned? Or are they taking a really hard left from canon?

Postby Ben_spanna » July 14th, 2019, 7:03 pm

As long as they make her character Bisexual so that she will still be seducing a set of “bond women” I have no problem with that...if not then what a crock ah sheet!

Postby rspann » July 14th, 2019, 7:04 pm

Deepika, Katrina and Priyanka better watch out.

Postby Les Bain » July 14th, 2019, 7:13 pm

They ran out of Fleming material to adapt, and OG Bond is 'problematic' anyway.

Can't stand this woke-washing b.s.

dean_spleen09

Postby dean_spleen09 » July 14th, 2019, 7:17 pm

first little mermaid , now this
lul

Postby Gladiator » July 14th, 2019, 7:20 pm

rspann wrote:Oh! I thought they following us with Paula Mae.

Wah dat woman getting pay $1M+ a year when she retire too....

Postby Rovin » July 14th, 2019, 7:20 pm

only time i liked watching 007 was in roger moore time [best bond imo]

may have seen 1 of 2 with pierce brosnan which was d last time i watched a bond flim but after that i never really cared for d franchise again ....

Postby mero » July 14th, 2019, 7:27 pm

Rovin wrote:only time i liked watching 007 was in roger moore time [best bond imo]

may have seen 1 of 2 with pierce brosnan which was d last time i watched a bond flim but after that i never really cared for d franchise again ....
Do yourself a favor and watch at least Casino Royale.

Daniel Craig 007 100x better than cheesy Pierce Brosman childrens bond

Postby maj. tom » July 14th, 2019, 9:01 pm

Daniel Craig's portrayal is the closest to the character written in the novels. I have read all of them, and what Craig does on the screen, that raw, willing violence toward his enemies and alpha sweat passion with his women definitely brings out what Ian Fleming wanted. Even Roger Moore said this.

Next is Sean Connery, a man chosen by the author himself during auditioning, but still tame because it was the 1960s on film.

Premchand1976

Postby Premchand1976 » July 14th, 2019, 9:06 pm

mero wrote:
Rovin wrote:only time i liked watching 007 was in roger moore time [best bond imo]

Do yourself a favor and watch at least Casino Royale.

Daniel Craig 007 100x better than cheesy Pierce Brosman childrens bond
Casino Royale......Bess

Daniel Craig did justice to the name 007.

Postby maj. tom » July 14th, 2019, 9:13 pm

btw that scene in Casino Royale where he is a naked prisoner in the chair and had his balls tortured... yes that happened exactly like in the book, except it was a cane carpet beater instead of a knotted rope. It was terrifying to read those details but even worse to see it come alive in the film with Craig's amazing acting. It was a known method of torture for the Soviets to extract information from spies. The film is quite loyal to the book, save the outdated Soviet angle. Vesper was the first woman that he truly loved but she committed suicide.

Re: A woman is the new 007

Postby ismithx » July 14th, 2019, 10:01 pm

Postby Slartibartfast » July 15th, 2019, 10:08 am

maj. tom wrote:Oh boy, can't wait for the franchise to be as amazing and feminist empowering as that 2016 Ghostbusters remake.
So this is how the great masculine legacy that Ian Fleming wrote finally ends on the screen eh?

My thoughts exactly. Look I'm all for empowering women but if you make a bad movie just to pander to feminists it's still just a bad movie. That was the mistake they made with ghostbusters. Women or not, it was objectively a bad movie. I hope this movie doesn't suffer the same fate.

I big way they pander to feminists is by having a 115lb woman beat up multiple 200+lbs guys. At that point you just have to pretend it's a marvel movie you are watching. That's why I liked the woman in John Wick 2. She got some good licks because of her small size but was still a legit bada$$ so her fighting was believable.

Anyway, I'll defer my judgement until I see the movie.

Postby maj. tom » July 15th, 2019, 10:14 am

I liked Captain Marvel though. I thought it was a good film with a lead female role that had good acting. But then you would see the unrealistic Black Widow clearing a room with no super-powers. I really don't understand the Hollywood beat-up stance that feminists take when trying to compare a masculine character. Are men and women even supposed to be equal? "oh 2 billion years of evolution, you so stupid!"

Postby MG Man » July 15th, 2019, 10:56 am

Waiting for Shaftina to come out, and an Oprah biopic with Anthony Anderson playing the lead role
Adrien Brody would make an excellent Kunta Kinte as well

Postby rollingstock » July 15th, 2019, 11:06 am

Was really hoping for Idris

Postby ismithx » July 15th, 2019, 11:40 am

maj. tom wrote:I liked Captain Marvel though. I thought it was a good film with a lead female role that had good acting. But then you would see the unrealistic Black Widow clearing a room with no super-powers. I really don't understand the Hollywood beat-up stance that feminists take when trying to compare a masculine character. Are men and women even supposed to be equal? "oh 2 billion years of evolution, you so stupid!"

we beatup when they just put a female 'minority' in a role with a weak script or suboptimal casting

for example a good lead would be Captain Janeway form Star Trek Vovager or Olivia Dunham from Fringe

bad example would be Rose in the last star wars

Postby MG Man » July 15th, 2019, 11:53 am

ismithx wrote:
maj. tom wrote:I liked Captain Marvel though. I thought it was a good film with a lead female role that had good acting. But then you would see the unrealistic Black Widow clearing a room with no super-powers. I really don't understand the Hollywood beat-up stance that feminists take when trying to compare a masculine character. Are men and women even supposed to be equal? "oh 2 billion years of evolution, you so stupid!"

we beatup when they just put a female 'minority' in a role with a weak script or suboptimal casting

for example a good lead would be Captain Janeway form Star Trek Vovager or Olivia Dunham from Fringe

bad example would be Rose in the last star wars

rose was shining example of allyuh, widdyfok allyuh was smoking?

Postby MG Man » July 15th, 2019, 11:57 am

rollingstock wrote:Was really hoping for Idris

'Bond's parents were given as Andrew Bond, from the village of Glencoe, Scotland, and Monique Delacroix, from the canton of Vaud, Switzerland'

yeah because Idris really fits the profile :|

Postby rollingstock » July 15th, 2019, 12:03 pm

You just don't want a strong sexy black man see his way.

Soul Collector

Postby Soul Collector » July 15th, 2019, 12:04 pm

rollingstock wrote:Was really hoping for Idris

Same. I thought that woulda been enough diversity for them and be good casting too but nah.....wahmen power.

Postby aaron17 » July 15th, 2019, 12:57 pm

Meanwhile ...Dr evil is still holding the world ransom for 100 billion dollars.