Uninsured accident

Mta

Uninsured accident

Postby Mta » July 25th, 2019, 9:20 pm

Inquiring for a friend who was involved in a vehicle accident ..he was wrong an accident with no insurance..the other vechicle is full comprehensive but the driver only have their driver's permit is issued the day before..and not name on the policy..but is over 25 but do not have 2 years driving experience

Owner wants to pay his excess on his policy and have repairs done..through his insurance..

What options uninsured party have on what should we expect in the future in this situation

h1tach1

Re: Uninsured accident

Postby h1tach1 » July 25th, 2019, 9:46 pm

If the owner going through insurance then you both have to file a police report. And your "friend" will be in some hot water.

Your only option is to offer to cover the repairs for the licensed driver so as not to get the police and insurance involved. Then tell your "friend" to stay off our roads. People like "dem" puts insured drivers like us at risk.

Driving without insurance will result in a charge (think the law is online so you can check the penalty); not sure what will happen to the vehicle, etc.

Maybe your "friend" should get some legal advice.

Postby Kenjo » July 25th, 2019, 10:03 pm

h1tach1 wrote:If the owner going through insurance then you both have to file a police report. And your "friend" will be in some hot water.

Your only option is to offer to cover the repairs for the licensed driver so as not to get the police and insurance involved. Then tell your "friend" to stay off our roads. People like "dem" puts insured drivers like us at risk.

Driving without insurance will result in a charge (think the law is online so you can check the penalty); not sure what will happen to the vehicle, etc.

Maybe your "friend" should get some legal advice.

Precisely

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » July 25th, 2019, 10:29 pm

the driver of the uninsured car is going to be charged .
the driver of the other car the new driver is driving without valid insurance the owner of that car will have to fight up with his insurance . and depending on who the insurance is, its going to be a fight
the way it going now most likely the insurance will sue the uninsured driver to cover cost

Postby hustla_ambition101 » July 25th, 2019, 10:44 pm

Better the uninsured get his bank account ready. The insured party going to have a fight to get the company to pay because they going to use the conditions of the policy to try to not pay. People need to read their policies and not just jump behind the wheel

Postby pugboy » July 25th, 2019, 11:04 pm

Safest option for your "friend" is to offer full payment commitment for repairs to his satisfaction or risk the charge as mentioned

Postby VexXx Dogg » July 25th, 2019, 11:16 pm

OP friend about to make ah jail

speedmelter

Postby speedmelter » July 25th, 2019, 11:21 pm

The person “wrong” in the accident would be the uninsured party despite the manner of the accident. He/ she will be charged by the police for operating the vehicle without any insurance and the police may impound it the vehicle. With the luck of the other person being fully covered he/ she thankfully won’t have to face the full stress your friend caused besides paying their excess and accessing repair/ other payment for losses. Later on after their insurance company sues your friend directly their client will get reimbursement of the excess.

However this is Trinidad and sometimes depending on who your friend is the police may treat the other guy like he did something wrong and give him a runaround trying to convince him to do the wrong thing and settle the matter outside only to be run around later and have your friend take the other guy to a shitty repair guy etc... you know how it goes.

speedmelter

Postby speedmelter » July 25th, 2019, 11:25 pm

And the fact that his driver was unnamed on the policy doesn’t have anyting to do with the law. That will be something he will have to deal with his insurance company itself. That violation would most likely only be triggered had his driver been the cause of an accident between the owner and his insurance company

Postby hustla_ambition101 » July 25th, 2019, 11:33 pm

No authority to impound for no insurance unless the accident was fatal.....

Postby supercharged turbo » July 26th, 2019, 2:10 am

Tell your "friend" fix the people vehicle and stay off the roads.Allyuh wrong for driving without insurance but looking for some loophole to get out of the situation.

Premchand1976

Postby Premchand1976 » July 26th, 2019, 5:18 am

speedmelter wrote:And the fact that his driver was unnamed on the policy doesn’t have anyting to do with the law. That will be something he will have to deal with his insurance company itself. That violation would most likely only be triggered had his driver been the cause of an accident between the owner and his insurance company
This is 99% correct. Some companies will enforce the young driver excess or the unauthorised driver excess and settle the claim. They will then seek to recover from third party insurer OR the third party directly.

No insurance will lead to that person being charged IF the insurer pays the claim and has to be reimbursed.

Best option, pay the people to have their damages repaired...........next time, tell the idiot to buy a third party insurance at least nah....don't be a menace to society.

Postby rspann » July 26th, 2019, 6:50 am

Mta wrote:Inquiring for a friend who was involved in a vehicle accident ..he was wrong an accident with no insurance..the other vechicle is full comprehensive but the driver only have their driver's permit is issued the day before..and not name on the policy..but is over 25 but do not have 2 years driving experience

Owner wants to pay his excess on his policy and have repairs done..through his insurance..

What options uninsured party have on what should WEexpect in the future in this situation

Friend my as s.

Postby pugboy » July 26th, 2019, 6:57 am

Yuh friend might get trouble to get insurance in the future too, them companies does have a database

mitch1980

Postby mitch1980 » July 26th, 2019, 12:41 pm

It shows how spoilt some of these Trinis are with regards to obeying simple laws and guidelines especially Motor Vehicles.

One guy here wants a way out of paying for an accident because he have no insurance. If you had no insurance why drive on a road and put other lives at risk.

Another Thread a guy wants a License Office link as the car he bought 4 years or so ago was not transferred and now wants a way out.

Once these type of behavior continues to be condoned it will always be broken here in TNT.

cryotec

Postby cryotec » July 26th, 2019, 1:16 pm

if the insurance doesn't cover the new driver since he doesn't have over 2years driving experience, doesn't that mean that he will also be charged for driving without insurance?

ADONI

Postby ADONI » July 26th, 2019, 1:49 pm

cryotec wrote:if the insurance doesn't cover the new driver since he doesn't have over 2years driving experience, doesn't that mean that he will also be charged for driving without insurance?

I believe you would have to pay a very high excess for the new driver or driver under 25yrs.

speedmelter

Postby speedmelter » July 26th, 2019, 2:03 pm

cryotec wrote:if the insurance doesn't cover the new driver since he doesn't have over 2years driving experience, doesn't that mean that he will also be charged for driving without insurance?

Only if he took the vehicle without the permission of the registered owner can he be charged.

The vehicle is insured so there is is big difference.

That clause applies to his coverage in the event he is wrong in an accident.

Mta

Postby Mta » July 26th, 2019, 5:43 pm

Guys today they came to a settlement was on the way to lawyer to make payment and sign legal agreement when the insured party was involved in another accident on the same areas of the vehicle that was damaged previously from what I heard its worse than b4 ...do my pal still have to pay for his damages
Last edited by Mta on July 26th, 2019, 6:26 pm, edited 1 time in total.

mitch1980

Postby mitch1980 » July 26th, 2019, 5:54 pm

Mta wrote:Guys today they came to a settlement was on the way to lawyer to make payment and sign legal agreement when the insured party was involved in another accident on the same areas of the vehicle thst was damaged from what I heard its worse than b4 ...do my pal still have to pay for his damages

your padna is blithe and deserve to be travelling and not driving

Mta

Postby Mta » July 26th, 2019, 6:30 pm

mitch1980 wrote:
Mta wrote:Guys today they came to a settlement was on the way to lawyer to make payment and sign legal agreement when the insured party was involved in another accident on the same areas of the vehicle thst was damaged from what I heard its worse than b4 ...do my pal still have to pay for his damages

your padna is blithe and deserve to be travelling and not driving

He was not involved ..its the the other party which was supposed to meet him at the lawyer ..he said he was shocked when they called ..which wasn't far from the office so he when down to have a look and realized the damages was on the same area that he had hit

Premchand1976

Postby Premchand1976 » July 27th, 2019, 2:15 pm

Bush bath recommended .....throw in some black disinfectant too......

speedmelter

Uninsured accident

Postby speedmelter » July 27th, 2019, 6:39 pm

Mta wrote:Guys today they came to a settlement was on the way to lawyer to make payment and sign legal agreement when the insured party was involved in another accident on the same areas of the vehicle that was damaged previously from what I heard its worse than b4 ...do my pal still have to pay for his damages

Whatever happens after your accident to the man vehicle is really not your business. Maybe the new guy who bounce him, he may have to fix that person who knows.

Be thankful a settlement was made because it would’ve been a worse situation for your friend if the other route was taken through the insurance claim.