Illegal firearms and possession.............

Postby Ben_spanna » August 8th, 2019, 7:41 am

Why is it taking our leaders such a long time to institute much more harsh penalties for the possession of Illegal firearms?
Shouldn't it carry a NO bail Policy and an Immediate 10-15 year Jail sentence?
What excuse would you have for such possession? and please dont go the route of someone home caught with it, im talking about criminals caught red handed with Illegal firearms, they have NO excuse, and any criminal caught with a firearm linked to a TTPS officer, then that officer should also be Jailed with an even longer sentence like 20 years.

We really need to get serious about this issue in our country.. I would say before its too late but I think we have passed that point already.

Re: Illegal firearms and possession.............

Postby hydroep » August 8th, 2019, 8:01 am

Ben_spanna wrote:Why is it taking our leaders such a long time to institute much more harsh penalties for the possession of Illegal firearms?
Shouldn't it carry a NO bail Policy and an Immediate 10-15 year Jail sentence?
What excuse would you have for such possession? and please dont go the route of someone home caught with it, im talking about criminals caught red handed with Illegal firearms, they have NO excuse, and any criminal caught with a firearm linked to a TTPS officer, then that officer should also be Jailed with an even longer sentence like 20 years.

We really need to get serious about this issue in our country.. I would say before its too late but I think we have passed that point already.

Because they go hadda lock up most of their supporters/financiers...:lol:

But seriously, while heavier penalties might be good that no bail thing is a slippery slope. Given the level of corruption we are seeing innocent men could get frame up easy easy.

And if we saying "it's not the laws, but enforcement of the laws" that is our problem, how will these new measures solve anything?

Postby 88sins » August 8th, 2019, 8:31 am

the penalties for illegal firearm possession are weak at best. need to be more severe to serve as an effective deterrent to potential offenders and & a penalty for actual offenders. But what you proposing seems quite similar to mandatory minimum sentencing & I don't think that's really the best way to go.
Here's a scenario
Let's say for arguments sake an otherwise law abiding person that has not ever been involved in any sort of criminal activity ever, has received threats numerous to their life and the lives of their loved ones, criminals come & shoot up their home, they make numerous reports to the station, & they then proceed to apply for an FUL, and are denied the FUL for whatever reason so they are given no way to protect themselves and their family. So they get an illegal firearm to keep in their home, it never leaves the home, and the only person that knows it's there is the person that brought it.
In that sort of scenario, it'd be understandable (at least to me) if an amount of leniency could be granted to that offender. Yes, he did commit a criminal offense, but sometimes in life ppl can be put in a position where they may either feel or know that have no other choice than to do the wrong thing for the right reason. So he should be held accountable and accept the repercussions for his offense, but imho the repercussions shouldn't be as severe as a it'd be for someone that is an actual career criminal walking around committing all manner of crimes against society at large. Just saying we must take into consideration all things relevantly related to the offense & the offender.

As regards criminals caught with firearms that are being or have been used in robberies, homicides, human trafficking, narcotics trade etc, is about time that we really stop wasting the courts time & resources with them. the DMO should be the last official to handle them, not a magistrate.

Postby pugboy » August 8th, 2019, 8:49 am

Correct
There should have specific tough penalty for these cases

88sins wrote:As regards criminals caught with firearms that are being or have been used in robberies, homicides, human trafficking, narcotics trade etc, is about time that we really stop wasting the courts time & resources with them. the DMO should be the last official to handle them, not a magistrate.

vaiostation

Postby vaiostation » August 8th, 2019, 9:16 am

I think it's time Trinidad shut down its weapon manufacturing facilities.

VII

Postby VII » August 8th, 2019, 10:33 am

Postby 88sins » August 8th, 2019, 11:21 am

I acknowledge that penalties need to get more severe, but 10 years and/or $250K fine for a first offense? 99.99% of the ppl doing crime with illegal firearms eh have $250, much less $250K. So yuh know most of those convicted going in for a long stretch.

We might need to start building more and bigger prisons, for all these long term guests of the state, and then the other issue is can we really afford the potential financial ramifications of such long sentences?

Postby Ben_spanna » August 8th, 2019, 11:32 am

Great now to enforce it.
However if Bail is paid or someone foots the FINE, then that person should have to act as a sort of sponsor on behalf of eh criminal, with the condition standing that should the person be involved in another similar crime within a 2-3 year period then BOTH of them can be jailed.

If criminals helping out criminals then they should all be penalized.

Postby 88sins » August 8th, 2019, 12:18 pm

Ben_spanna wrote:Great now to enforce it.
However if Bail is paid or someone foots the FINE, then that person should have to act as a sort of sponsor on behalf of eh criminal, with the condition standing that should the person be involved in another similar crime within a 2-3 year period then BOTH of them can be jailed.

If criminals helping out criminals then they should all be penalized.

What you proposing there is for bail to serve a similar function to a bond, that can't happen. they are two very separate things.

if criminals helping criminals with the proceeds from criminal activities is what you want to stop, I get that. nuttn wrong with that at all
But if a person (that may well be a lawful citizen who decides to try to help the person they bailing out by standing bail for them) can then be prosecuted if that person they bail out commits an offense then we might as well do away with the concept of bail altogether, because no sane person gonna take on that amount of unjust risk. Basically you want one person to be held criminally accountable for the actions of another person they do not have lawful authority over if that person is in breach. So that can't work either. because penalizing two people for a crime only one of them committed, that you know they did not do, that you they know had absolutely no control over, was never a tenet of justice anywhere I've ever heard of.

VII

Postby VII » August 8th, 2019, 1:00 pm

I acknowledge that penalties need to get more severe, but 10 years and/or $250K fine for a first offense? 99.99% of the ppl doing crime with illegal firearms eh have $250, much less $250K. So yuh know most of those convicted going in for a long stretch.

We might need to start building more and bigger prisons, for all these long term guests of the state, and then the other issue is can we really afford the potential financial ramifications of such long sentences?

And those prisons should be places of forced education to their grade whereby response to programs from the alphabet to life skills to counselling and victim reparations etc could lead to earlier release and monitoring etc,, won't cost 2 billion,a fraction of an annual nat-sec budget..

We have a chance to educate and realign these fools to productive or at least neutral members of society.. We got to break them as the US and other jurisdictions do with down to earth programs in prison .

Gotta bring them back down to earth and the prospect of an earlier release would make them proactive rational and reasonable simply because they gotta work for it..

A good parole and monitoring board would work wonders...like I always say we get in the streets what we procure in prisons,prisons should be places of forced education and last chances...

We need to be the bigger smarter people in this...let's enlighten evaluate and monitor these pests,few things Trini pest fraid and that's no bail long sentences/life and accountability..
Last edited by VII on August 8th, 2019, 1:41 pm, edited 1 time in total.

TheBoostLord

Postby TheBoostLord » August 8th, 2019, 1:05 pm

that bill done pass and was ascended into law on monday.

VII

Postby VII » August 8th, 2019, 1:42 pm

TheBoostLord wrote:

that bill done pass and was ascended into law on monday.

The bail part only so far..

Postby pugboy » August 8th, 2019, 4:33 pm

the amended bill is for repeat offenders though
so first time bandit cockroach still getting bail afaik

Postby Ben_spanna » November 6th, 2019, 9:53 am

Anyone caught with ILLEGAL firearms OR ammunition should NEVER be granted bail.. giving these f-kers bail is ridiculous... just look at that young man in Belmont that was held with 8 or 9 A/rs and he was granted bail... why oh why.... then lawyers and judges who grant them bail should be locked da hell up.
Police and min of national sec doing their jobs and then the judiciary letting them go?
WTF is really going on in Trinidad?

VII

Postby VII » November 6th, 2019, 10:18 am

Ben_spanna wrote:Anyone caught with ILLEGAL firearms OR ammunition should NEVER be granted bail.. giving these f-kers bail is ridiculous... just look at that young man in Belmont that was held with 8 or 9 A/rs and he was granted bail... why oh why.... then lawyers and judges who grant them bail should be locked da hell up.
Police and min of national sec doing their jobs and then the judiciary letting them go?
WTF is really going on in Trinidad?

effin Ridicolous !! no more words..

Postby MaxPower » November 6th, 2019, 11:03 am

What about the rapists?

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » November 6th, 2019, 11:09 am

I saw ferris wheel saying he gonna bring up the "no bail wrt to firearms" in parliament...still waiting

Postby Rovin » November 6th, 2019, 11:43 am

wey all dem criminals fitting ent d jail over crowded for yrs .........

Blaze d Chalice

Postby Blaze d Chalice » November 6th, 2019, 1:16 pm

Is better that they build up some nice new state of the art prisons with all kinda fancy 5 star furnishings, utilities and every convenience.

And put the law abiding people in there, and let the animals roam free and kill out themselves.

Wait...how that different from current? :?

Postby 88sins » November 6th, 2019, 7:08 pm

Blaze d Chalice wrote:Is better that they build up some nice new state of the art prisons with all kinda fancy 5 star furnishings, utilities and every convenience.

And put the law abiding people in there, and let the animals roam free and kill out themselves.

Wait...how that different from current? :?

well for starters, currently you hadda build your own prison & you sentencing yourself.

Easier solution
First time offense, cut off the index & middle fingers on both hands, the entire digits, not even a nub that could look like it trying to wiggle should remain.
Second offense, same treatment for the ring & pinkie fingers, on both hands. By the end of the conviction on the 2nd offense all they should remain with is a thumb on each hand. Can still grip things like a spoon, pen etc, can still write, type, mop drop etc. just can't hold & discharge a firearm ever again

Postby pugboy » November 6th, 2019, 7:31 pm

Gary say he only getting blank when he inquire about ferris chirren playing with machine guns
He say he personally going to sort it out.

Postby rspann » November 6th, 2019, 7:38 pm

Let Gary go ahead. Gary trying to set up a scenario for himself to look good, but somehow I find it eh working.

Postby pugboy » November 6th, 2019, 7:44 pm

This one he might be stepping on toes for real
He bumping he gum and badmouthing ttdf.

rspann wrote:Let Gary go ahead. Gary trying to set up a scenario for himself to look good, but somehow I find it eh working.

Postby De Dragon » November 6th, 2019, 9:28 pm

Relax with the knee jerk reactions bros. Anytime you have draconian laws that are based on an imperfect and corruptible system that could potentially deprive someone of their liberty for up to 10 years, then you have to have serious checks and balances. Gary G and all falling into this trap and criticizing the judiciary for granting bail, which is still a RIGHT, based on circumstances that a magistrate/judge considers before granting or denying said bail.

Postby Ben_spanna » November 7th, 2019, 7:28 am

De Dragon wrote:Relax with the knee jerk reactions bros. Anytime you have draconian laws that are based on an imperfect and corruptible system that could potentially deprive someone of their liberty for up to 10 years, then you have to have serious checks and balances. Gary G and all falling into this trap and criticizing the judiciary for granting bail, which is still a RIGHT, based on circumstances that a magistrate/judge considers before granting or denying said bail.

then that RIGHT needs to be revoked, if you are caught in a robbery or attempted robbery or caught in a road block with an illegal firearm- No BAIL...immediate jail... no mistaken issues there. You intent has already proven your guilt... :fist:

Postby Redman » November 7th, 2019, 7:42 am

So just put a sunset clause with the modification of the rules.
There is a process to change rules/constitution and we certainly need to adapt to the 2019 reality of the crime we face.

Postby pete » November 7th, 2019, 9:49 am

And what if a dirty cop has some reason he wants you in jail, drops a gun in your back seat and you get arrested for it? Wouldn't you like the ability to secure bail?

Postby rspann » November 7th, 2019, 12:11 pm

He will have to bring out that bill after he see if GG charging the two youths for the army guns?

daxt0r

Postby daxt0r » November 7th, 2019, 3:56 pm

GG should stop charge everyone for firearm possession until arse wari children are charged and hauled before the courts.
Like is only poor ppl chirren d law does apply to or wa, or it have a clause sayin FULs not required when yuh is d AG chirren.

Postby De Dragon » November 7th, 2019, 8:48 pm

pete wrote:And what if a dirty cop has some reason he wants you in jail, drops a gun in your back seat and you get arrested for it? Wouldn't you like the ability to secure bail?

Seems as if the "no bail, no matter what crew" took a dose of dumb?