How much an old 20ft container is worth as scrap iron

blacklight

How much an old 20ft container is worth as scrap iron

Postby blacklight » August 18th, 2019, 7:25 am

Have an old 20ft container and was thinking of selling it as scrap iron. Anyone have an idea of how much I can get for it?

Re: How much an old 20ft container is worth as scrap iron

Postby pugboy » August 18th, 2019, 7:31 am

just pass by any scrap iron yard and ask

the cost is the transport which is where the buyer will stick
unless you can cut it up yourself and carry to a scrap yard.

matix

Postby matix » August 18th, 2019, 7:46 am

It’s about 2.5 tonnes. So whatever the price per ton is.

blacklight

Postby blacklight » August 18th, 2019, 9:34 am

Thanks

VII

Postby VII » August 18th, 2019, 11:27 am

blacklight wrote:Thanks

More valuable for storage options business etc,even if in bad condition..even 3 out of four walls and a not so good roof is a great start .

Spend a little time and money on it and explore your options.

Postby sMASH » August 18th, 2019, 1:01 pm

1300 roughly, per tonne, depending where u go. Is overall steel, not all kinda ting mix up, so u will get a good price.
Let's say 4500 total.

U bong to get a 10k if sold for storage, 8 k if work needs to be done

Postby Rovin » August 18th, 2019, 3:29 pm

hmmm what is d going rate for scrap steel nowadays though ?

cause dem scrap iron man always hitting u a shot ohh d industry slow dong & it doh pay much ..... so that cud offer u next to nothing & make 2-5 times profit

Postby sMASH » August 18th, 2019, 3:34 pm

It rough. 1400 is a good price per tonne. U could get 1100 if is mix up ting and rusty and what not.

dogg

Postby dogg » August 18th, 2019, 4:11 pm

How much the old battery guys actually pay for an old battery?

blacklight

Postby blacklight » August 18th, 2019, 4:39 pm

sMASH wrote:1300 roughly, per tonne, depending where u go. Is overall steel, not all kinda ting mix up, so u will get a good price.
Let's say 4500 total.

U bong to get a 10k if sold for storage, 8 k if work needs to be done

Will advertise and see who bites.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » August 18th, 2019, 8:07 pm

dogg wrote:How much the old battery guys actually pay for an old battery?

$30 these days cause they say things hard.

The problem with selling that 20ft container is the transport, you need to lift it and put it on a trailer then you need a trailer truck to transport it.

If you cut it up it is expensive to cut it up.
I am happy it has scrap iron men these days cause years ago my neighbor push he rotten suzuki bread van down the caroni river.

Postby VexXx Dogg » August 18th, 2019, 8:21 pm

10-20

linton

Postby linton » August 18th, 2019, 8:33 pm

What is the weight of the Galleon's Passage? (in tonnes)

shaha87

Postby shaha87 » August 18th, 2019, 10:31 pm

blacklight wrote:Have an old 20ft container and was thinking of selling it as scrap iron. Anyone have an idea of how much I can get for it?

Realistically you’re looking @$1000-$1200 as is, could be worth more if it’s in decent shape for storage. Scrap men will have to cut accordingly to transport. If you cut and transport then you’re looking @roughly $1100-1200 a ton. Scrap metal prices aren’t what they used to be, google and see what the markets prices look like.

Postby pugboy » August 19th, 2019, 6:20 am

what is the condition ?

its not hard to cut door and weld in angle for door frame etc

Postby redmanjp » August 19th, 2019, 11:11 am

VexXx Dogg wrote:
10-20

I have 2 old UPS batteries, how much would that get?

Postby VexXx Dogg » August 19th, 2019, 8:53 pm

redmanjp wrote:
VexXx Dogg wrote:
10-20

I have 2 old UPS batteries, how much would that get?

No clue, they might not even want that

RandyPH

Postby RandyPH » September 16th, 2019, 11:44 am

Good day,

Is the container still available? Is it suitable for storage? Send pics if you have.

Thanks.