HELP- making payments online without credit/debit card

lithium

HELP- making payments online without credit/debit card

Postby lithium » September 7th, 2019, 3:35 pm

I don't know if this is the best place to look for advice but I don't really know where else to go.

Is there any way to get a credit card or debit card if you are unemployed and living in trinidad?
or is there any way to make purchases from online stores without a credit card or debit card?

was looking into wipay but I'm not sure they let you make purchases on websites like amazon etc

I am currently unemployed and unable to work but I do have money in the bank (inherited) and would like to use it to make purchases online but it seems like every bank is asking for payslips when applying for debit/credit cards.

Would be really grateful for any advice here and sorry if this isnt the right place to ask

vaiostation

Re: HELP- making payments online without credit/debit card

Postby vaiostation » September 7th, 2019, 4:16 pm

Write up a job letter(for an unknown company), stating how much you(as an employee) getting paid, and take it to the bank with two forms of id and a bill with your name on it, and open an account.
I hear jmmb does offer a visa debit card instead of a linx. Not sure about other banks though.

d.d.s.

Postby d.d.s. » September 7th, 2019, 5:44 pm

Apply for a VTM card.
Republic, FCB and RBC.

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » September 7th, 2019, 7:12 pm

most banks no longer issue new vtm cards because of the forex situation

republic renews existing ones but not issuing

Postby paid_influencer » September 7th, 2019, 7:18 pm

dem skybox does have they own service to pay for everything in cash. yuh does have to go on the skybox website and copy the amazon link for what you want. they give you a total and you can pay everything cash when they deliver.

aeropost does it i think

lithium

Postby lithium » September 7th, 2019, 7:22 pm

Thanks for the advice everyone. I think JMMB might be the best option.
Also isnt purchasing though skybox services like aeropost ridiculously expensive?

trinigamer

Postby trinigamer » September 7th, 2019, 7:34 pm

Maybe a Visa gift card, don't need a job letter apparently

https://www.republictt.com/personal/visa-gift-cards

Postby paid_influencer » September 7th, 2019, 7:34 pm

lithium wrote:Thanks for the advice everyone. I think JMMB might be the best option.
Also isnt purchasing though skybox services like aeropost ridiculously expensive?

people does vex because it have duty, vat, opt, florida sales tax, insurance and air freight to add plus the exchange rate. aeropost also has returns coverage, which otherwise is very expensive in the event of wrong item, used item, broken item, etc.

when you add all those costs into a single figure, it does look expensive but not really more so than if you paid item costs + clearance cost separately.

lithium

Postby lithium » September 7th, 2019, 8:21 pm

trinigamer wrote:Maybe a Visa gift card, don't need a job letter apparently

like someone else mentioned, I thought they werent doing these anymore due to the forex situation

lithium

Postby lithium » September 7th, 2019, 8:21 pm

paid_influencer wrote:
lithium wrote:Thanks for the advice everyone. I think JMMB might be the best option.

people does vex because it have duty, vat, opt, florida sales tax, insurance and air freight to add plus the exchange rate. aeropost also has returns coverage, which otherwise is very expensive in the event of wrong item, used item, broken item, etc.

when you add all those costs into a single figure, it does look expensive but not really more so than if you paid item costs + clearance cost separately.

Thanks man I'll look into it

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 7th, 2019, 9:11 pm

There are many companies including Direct Point, Aeropost and Web Source who offer the service of ordering items online for you using their credit card and you pay them in TT$, they can import it and clear it for you also.

trinigamer

Postby trinigamer » September 8th, 2019, 8:55 am

lithium wrote:
trinigamer wrote:Maybe a Visa gift card, don't need a job letter apparently

like someone else mentioned, I thought they werent doing these anymore due to the forex situation

That's VTM cards, not gift cards, two different things.

Postby Strugglerzinc » September 8th, 2019, 10:37 am

paid_influencer wrote:

No cc, no job, no way to pay online, yet complains that people who offer the service too expensive.

lithium

Postby lithium » September 8th, 2019, 11:49 am

Strugglerzinc wrote:
paid_influencer wrote:

No cc, no job, no way to pay online, yet complains that people who offer the service too expensive.

I did not complain, I was simply asking because obviously I'd want the cheapest method and i just heard that it's expensive. No need to be a BUGWAAANAAA lol The person explained why it's expensive and I understood...so....

Mojoking

Postby Mojoking » September 8th, 2019, 12:09 pm

Bmobile also offers a visa debit card that's easy to top up and can be used for online purchases or anywhere in the world that accepts visa.

Postby The_Honourable » September 8th, 2019, 7:08 pm

Tell the bank that you are self-employed. When the change is made in the system, wait for credit card offer.

Once the system have you as unemployed, you getting nada.

Postby 88sins » September 9th, 2019, 8:18 am

The_Honourable wrote:Tell the bank that you are self-employed. When the change is made in the system, wait for credit card offer.

Once the system have you as unemployed, you getting nada.

it eh so easy as dat eh
if you tell them you self employed, and they make that change to your file, when yuo apply for a cc they want to you self employed know doing what & to see what revenue you earned for the last several months of working for yourself, and you will need to show evidence of such by way of bank statements for the last several months.

if parents have a cc, you can get an additional card on their account, if they trust you enough.

Bad Dog

Postby Bad Dog » September 9th, 2019, 1:54 pm

This:
Prepaid MasterCard - First Citizens

https://www.firstcitizenstt.com › personal-banking › prepaid-cards › prepai...
Used just like a credit card, locally, internationally and online! ... the Prepaid card is only available to Nationals/ Residents of Trinidad and Tobago, and holders ....

rebound

Postby rebound » September 9th, 2019, 2:01 pm

Use Paypal with your bank account....most online stores accept that.

thelem-again

Postby thelem-again » September 11th, 2019, 1:25 pm

rebound wrote:Use Paypal with your bank account....most online stores accept that.

Do you live Trinidad??? Because this is NOT possible locally.

And don't tell me about a US based Account. Because if he is unemployed and doesn't have access to a CC, I'm sure he doesn't have a US based account either.

rebound

Postby rebound » September 12th, 2019, 8:23 am

^^^ True......forgot about that.