Trinidad & Tobago Budget Presentation 2020: Highlights October 7th 2019

Re: Budget Presentation 2020: October 7th 2019

Postby eliteauto » October 8th, 2019, 8:49 am

Ben_spanna wrote:
bluefete wrote:Agriculture: All taxes and duties removed on all inputs for registered farmers. No taxes for registered farmers.

VAT - $4.5 billion in VAT arrears to be paid by gov't. $3 billion in gov't bonds to be offered to those who are due VAT refunds. Bonds for 5 years and I missed the interest rate.

watch and see- all of a sudden Everyone and they f'king grandpappy bringing in Prado and LUXURY Suvs and claim its for going onto the Estate and working the farm.

:roll: :roll:

People been doing that for over 12 years now

Postby MG Man » October 8th, 2019, 8:59 am

eliteauto wrote:
Ben_spanna wrote:
bluefete wrote:Agriculture: All taxes and duties removed on all inputs for registered farmers. No taxes for registered farmers.

VAT - $4.5 billion in VAT arrears to be paid by gov't. $3 billion in gov't bonds to be offered to those who are due VAT refunds. Bonds for 5 years and I missed the interest rate.

watch and see- all of a sudden Everyone and they f'king grandpappy bringing in Prado and LUXURY Suvs and claim its for going onto the Estate and working the farm.

People been doing that for over 12 years now

Lamborghini makes tractors yeah?
Am I right?
Am I right?
Am I broke? fuckyeah

Re: Trinidad & Tobago Budget Presentation 2020: Highlights October 7th 2019

Postby pugboy » October 8th, 2019, 9:02 am

Hotels and guest houses also have allowance for tax free chauffeur vehicle

Postby Redman » October 8th, 2019, 9:03 am

Ent one of the chosen contractors of the past brought in a bugatti crane?

Postby Dizzy28 » October 8th, 2019, 9:12 am

maj. tom wrote:Are the old incandescent bulbs gone from stores as well? I know USA outlawed the manufacture and sale of common household incandescent (and other) bulbs that are not energy-efficient since 2007.

This is a good starter move. But we also need greener energy production in the future. Solar, wind, water dams, etc. must be put on the discussion table to face the challenges of Global Warming. And since we're developing so much new infrastructure like the Toco Port and modern equipped hospitals, we need to secure a greener energy supply. The move on Styrofoam and single-use plastic bottles is also good, but a mere token move because no discussion on recycling was put forth.

MEEI had indicated that they are currently reviewing a RFP for a 120MW renewable project. This was in August so I assume they closer to the recommendation than then.

Postby zoom rader » October 8th, 2019, 9:14 am

rspann wrote:Yaaaaaaaay!

Lightbulbs.
Remember when PNM gave Orange juice

Postby sMASH » October 8th, 2019, 9:25 am

Ben_spanna wrote:

that is if the land on their names, to access that facility.

Postby sMASH » October 8th, 2019, 9:35 am

maj. tom wrote:Are the old incandescent bulbs gone from stores as well? I know USA outlawed the manufacture and sale of common household incandescent (and other) bulbs that are not energy-efficient since 2007.

This is a good starter move. But we also need greener energy production in the future. Solar, wind, water dams, etc. must be put on the discussion table to face the challenges of Global Warming. And since we're developing so much new infrastructure like the Toco Port and modern equipped hospitals, we need to secure a greener energy supply. The move on Styrofoam and single-use plastic bottles is also good, but a mere token move because no discussion on recycling was put forth.

MEEI had indicated that they are currently reviewing a RFP for a 120MW renewable project. This was in August so I assume they closer to the recommendation than then.

burning natural gas to feed our electricity needs, is way more cost effective than condensing it, and selling it abroad and then scrambling to implement solar and wind turbines. and batteries.
green is the way forward, but before we do that we should stop giving away our LNG for pittance.

yes lng brings in forex, that we need. but it takes away natural gas from the methanol and amonia plants that are value added natural gas.
the business people always telling the small man, dont just sell wood, make sumting with it, add value and sell the furniture, u would get a greater profit margin.

dogg

Postby dogg » October 8th, 2019, 11:21 am

So how does this duty free import thing work?

I sea-freight $5,000 in personal goods and pay no duties?

anyone knows?

Postby Dizzy28 » October 8th, 2019, 11:30 am

dogg wrote:So how does this duty free import thing work?

anyone knows?

In the actual Budget Statement it was listed under Personal Allowance at Airports so I assume its only on the goods you bring in your luggage when returning from abroad.

Capture.JPG

Postby Redman » October 8th, 2019, 11:42 am

In 2001 I figured it was a waste of time to take seriously a budget that:
a) Is not linked and part of a longer term over arching policy-a budget being part of a continuum that takes us from A to B
b) That is not preceded by a report on what % of last years budget was achieved-and why more wasn't done.

Without a and b how do we place the budget in context to judge whether good or bad?

Why would I take a budget seriously when the average implementation is sub 40%?

Postby Kenjo » October 8th, 2019, 12:33 pm

dogg wrote:So how does this duty free import thing work?

anyone knows?

Whenever you come in by plane the form you fill out mentions this $300 limit which has been increased . If you have nothing to declare and haven’t travelled a lot customs won’t really bother you

screwbash

Postby screwbash » October 8th, 2019, 12:53 pm

Description
1 - $2495.00 VAT Inclusive

Non-pressure SWH 100L-10 Tubes IPJG 47581810 GS.

Galvanised steel appearance with Assistant tank 5 Liters and Electric Heating 2kw 1.2Inch with thermostat.

2. - $2995.00 VAT Inclusive

Non-pressure SWH 120L-12 Tubes IPJG 475818102GS.

Galvanised steel appearance with Assistant tank 5 Liters and Electric Heating 2kw 1.2Inch with thermostat.

3. - $3595.00 VAT Inclusive

Non-pressure SWH 150L-15 Tubes IPJG 47581815 GS.

Also Available:

Non pressure SWH 200L-20 Tubes and 250L-25 Tubes

It's Time To Go Solar! Want to know why?

- Energy Independence

- Lower Carbon Footprint

- Financial Savings: Estimated annual electricity savings of TT$2,495 based on current rates: USD .50C per kWh

- You are entitled to a tax deduction of 100% of the cost of the solar water heater up to a maximum of ten thousand dollars
7ab58710Non-pressure-Solar-Water-Heater.jpg

Postby adnj » October 8th, 2019, 2:15 pm

Solar Water Heater From Scratch

[URL]https://www.instructables.com/id/Solar-Water-Heater-From-Scratch/
[/URL]

[IMG]https://cdn.instructables.com/FV3/4LGU/ITYCY2M8/FV34LGUITYCY2M8.LARGE.jpg?auto=webp&width=1024&height=1024&fit=bounds
[/IMG]

Postby sMASH » October 8th, 2019, 2:18 pm

What use is solar water heaters in Trinidad?

Postby 8695 » October 8th, 2019, 4:19 pm

I want a contract to take down all Rowlier, AssRawi,, Impsbutt, Deassingh and all the other misfits' pictures from all Government offices when they loss the next General election. Oh gosh don't talk about Hinds, I hope he get a job in the suicide hotline...when you hear his story as a black man in the PNM you will feel to live again.

Postby The_Honourable » October 8th, 2019, 4:27 pm

Post-budget discussions

CNC3

CCN TV6

TTT

PEP FB Page

Postby Redman » October 10th, 2019, 7:31 am

So the CEPEP allocation last year was 369 M....
CEPEP has 9000 workers.
They get 90 per day.

If they ALL work thats 810,000 per day.
if they work Mon-Fri evry week-thats about 20 days a month or 240 days per year.

810k*240 is 194.4M
So we are spending 369M in a social program that delivers 194.4 or 53% to the targets of the social program.

Now before any one bring the PNM/UNC tip into this-the allocations in 2013-15 were about 500M
Last edited by Redman on October 10th, 2019, 8:03 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby pugboy » October 10th, 2019, 7:39 am

Don’t forget ,

The cepep contractor/gang boss also gets their business fee for running their operation
Eg recruiting more votewhile employees etc

the cepep contractors are in this for a profit like burkie
And well they surely support their local mp campaign slush fund under the table.

Redman wrote:So the CEPEP allocation last year was 369 M....
CEPEP has 9000 workers.
They get 90 per day.

if they work Mon-Fri evry week-thats about 20 days a month or 240 days per year.

810k*240 is 194.4M
So we are spending 369M in a social program that delivers 194.4 or 53% to the targets of the social program.

Now before any one bring the PNM/UNC tip into this-the allocations in 2013-25 were about 500M

Postby Redman » October 10th, 2019, 7:46 am

Im not forgetting- thats the point- the contractors were/are given grants for equipment-yet they sweeping the road with coconut branches.

why de ass we spending 2 to get 1.06 where we want it?

regone

Postby regone » October 10th, 2019, 7:56 am

Redman wrote:So the CEPEP allocation last year was 369 M....
CEPEP has 9000 workers.
They get 90 per day.

810k*240 is 194.4M

Now before any one bring the PNM/UNC tip into this-the allocations in 2013-25 were about 500M

*sip political koolaid* now that is value for money.....

Postby sMASH » October 10th, 2019, 8:40 am

^^ coverall, boots, rake, palm branch, cro-cro.. salaries is not the only cost.

on a real, u made a good observation there. its good to have the numbers available so that concerned people can lend scrutiny

Postby K74T » October 10th, 2019, 9:44 am

FB_IMG_1570714937391.jpeg

Postby zoom rader » October 10th, 2019, 10:33 am

K74T wrote:
FB_IMG_1570714937391.jpeg
That is news for Pnm ppl , they believe it's all true.

Postby The_Honourable » October 11th, 2019, 10:37 am

Opposition Budget Response

Postby bluefete » October 11th, 2019, 1:01 pm

LED contract to change over will be worth about $7 million.

Postby bluefete » October 11th, 2019, 1:02 pm

Tantie Kams real looking Prime Ministerial-ish.

randolphinshan

Postby randolphinshan » October 11th, 2019, 9:13 pm

bluefete wrote:Tantie Kams real looking Prime Ministerial-ish.

More like Bandit-ish,

This is a lady who paid Vidawatee lots of money to travel around the world to comb she hair, money that could have bought hospitals medicine.
Don’t make the same mistake twice and have her as PM again pal or you will really see what hell looks like

Postby sMASH » October 11th, 2019, 10:19 pm

take it out and breathe once in a while, nah. that is not the only thing in life. rowley does get bored too, u know.

Postby zoom rader » October 12th, 2019, 7:03 am

randolphinshan wrote:
bluefete wrote:Tantie Kams real looking Prime Ministerial-ish.

More like Bandit-ish,

This is a lady who paid Vidawatee lots of money to travel around the world to comb she hair, money that could have bought hospitals medicine.
Don’t make the same mistake twice and have her as PM again pal or you will really see what hell looks like
You have evidence of this of traveling around the world?

Or you bumping gum as usally
Last edited by zoom rader on October 12th, 2019, 7:03 am, edited 1 time in total.