They Tried To Seize Junior Sammy's Equipment And Got Checkmated.

Postby bluefete » September 10th, 2019, 10:31 pm

Cops, Court Marshals show up at Junior Sammy

POLICE and Court Marshals swooped down on the property of Junior Sammy Contractors in Claxton Bay this morning with the intention of seizing assets worth in excess of $4 million.

The levy action was taken after the company failed to follow a court order delivered in March to pay the sum to a sub-contractor for construction works carried out at various sites.

However, before any property could have been seized, the action was called off after attorneys for Junior Sammy Contractors made an application and were successful in obtaining a stay by the Registrar of the High Court until November 8.

On March 27, Justice Ronnie Boodoosingh ordered that the sum of $4,258,635.48 be paid to Western General Contractors Ltd as monies owed for works carried out during the period December 2013 to February 2015.

Those construction works had taken place along the NIDCO-Diego Martin Highway - Phase 2; The Charlieville Overpass; Nu-Iron, Point Lisas; Phoenix Park Gas Processors Limited and C3 Centre at Corinth.

But in spite of the ruling, up to today, the money had not been paid.

In May, attorneys Ganesh Saroop and Alvin Pariagsingh wrote to attorneys representing Junior Sammy Contractors, asking that the monies be paid or in default, levy action could be taken without prior notice.

Even though Justice Boodoosingh’s ruling has been appealed, the attorneys warned that the filing of the appeal did not operate in such a way as to stay Justice Boodoosingh’s ruling.

No favourable response was forthcoming.

Western General Contractors had claimed that it was sub-contracted to carry out construction work at the various sites.

For each project, upon delivery of the goods and services at each site, it submitted invoices to a quantity supervisor or a site supervisor who signed the invoices as proof of the delivered goods and performance of the requested services.

It went on to claim that at no time did Junior Sammy Contractors raise any concern regarding the quality of work performed.

But on the other hand, attorneys for Junior Sammy argued that the works carried out lacked skill, care, were performed improperly and in an unworkmanlike manner. The materials used were sub-standard, unsuitable, applied improperly, and unskilfully. Most times labourers were not present at the sites and materials not supplied within a reasonable time. Poor site management and control caused excessive delay.

Because of this, the attorneys submitted that their client suffered losses in the sum of $3,328,000 given that reworks had to be carried out on the projects.

https://trinidadexpress.com/news/local/ ... ium=social

Re: They Tried To Seize Junior Sammy's Equipment And Got Checkmated.

Postby MaxPower » September 10th, 2019, 10:46 pm

Sigh, these Trini workmen that WGC have making it bad for business smh

Postby rspann » September 10th, 2019, 10:55 pm

They go have to sell out to make up that $4m. They might end up on the streets.

Postby pugboy » September 11th, 2019, 12:49 am

Ah might be able to get a secondhand car with a 72 plate now

rspann wrote:They go have to sell out to make up that $4m. They might end up on the streets.

speedmelter

Postby speedmelter » September 11th, 2019, 2:33 am

I hear they trying to make up the 4 million but cud only come up with a 20 thousand

screwbash

Postby screwbash » September 11th, 2019, 4:14 am

Our Father in heaven,
hallowed be your name,
your kingdom come,
your will be done,
on earth as in heaven
Last edited by screwbash on September 11th, 2019, 4:28 am, edited 1 time in total.

supernedd

Postby supernedd » September 11th, 2019, 4:26 am

pugboy wrote:Ah might be able to get a secondhand car with a 72 plate now

rspann wrote:They go have to sell out to make up that $4m. They might end up on the streets.
Hahahahahahahaha. All them trucks and they doh have 4million. Nah man. I quicker believe the half way work done. U see how d small workers making it bad. And they like to say the big boys eating all the food .when they cah get no work

Postby Dave » September 11th, 2019, 6:25 am

You wouldn't believe how much work is paid forward and loan interest is an allowable tax write off so never doubt that what u see cannot be backed by by a more or less cash equivalent.

Postby rspann » September 11th, 2019, 6:34 am

Lewwe open ah account to help them nah.

vaiostation

Postby vaiostation » September 11th, 2019, 6:54 am

I sure Sammy go make them files disappear like last time.

Also, ent Sammy is a billionaire? He can't pay some small change?

Postby Ben_spanna » September 11th, 2019, 7:25 am

Then there are projects like UWI Debe where a BIG CHINESE contractor was fired off the site, was already PAID for works and items supplied by local companies, immobilized off site and still owing local companies money and REFUSE to pay them.

Postby Dave » September 11th, 2019, 9:10 am

Being a millionaire or billionaire doesn't mean u r liquid. You can just leverage to get cash. Most businessman who have cash don't have assets and vice versa. Very few could say they have both.

fokhan_96

Postby fokhan_96 » September 11th, 2019, 9:26 am

Anyone who can afford to buy a fleet of Volvo trucks has to be loaded...

VII

Postby VII » September 11th, 2019, 9:28 am

I did owe a few hundred grand due to bad business and nearly commit suicide,deprived my family of the basics,was really questioning my worthiness and lived an angry hermit ,simply because I didn't want to send the wrong message to my creditors...have never been the same since.....dem have rel belly. this is ugly and can breed severe contempt and not of court..

That small contractor can't afford to lose that..and he will have to pay or give up assets eventually,this is just an exercise to save face,no one will know when the cheque is cut and paid,it is a judgement after all..

Games games games...

Games eventually catch up one way or another..

How many more people are being screwed while they are being revered ?
Last edited by VII on September 11th, 2019, 10:51 am, edited 4 times in total.

VII

Postby VII » September 11th, 2019, 9:57 am

Billionaires don't own trucks and tractors in T&T..they own malls,distribution,food/beverage, insurance and financial companies..

None of those contractors have done or completed a single job for even half a billion..and trucks/vehicles equipment depreciate rapidly,have any of you ever witnessed a fire sale at a big contractor compound ? Its not pretty..a million dollars Mack may go for a couple hundred grand..

Of course they have done a couple billion in work cumulatively over the years and so has Coosal and even Seeraram...this billionaire thing is just loose talk..

Dont forget Mootilal Moonan moved mountains and had a rolls for each day of the week and actually built some of our first and major highways from scratch..

JS is only as good as Junior himself...he keeps the wheels turning,he keeps things together,he knows when even a lighting tower is still outside and needs a pick up..,.easy to talk loose about billions from afar..

Postby MG Man » September 11th, 2019, 2:16 pm

"attorneys for Junior Sammy argued that the works carried out lacked skill, care, were performed improperly and in an unworkmanlike manner."
I find this hilarious

trinigoon

Postby trinigoon » September 11th, 2019, 2:41 pm

Yall argue bout ..as if sammy cant pay because he not liquid ..he just to smart and has a good legal team..so he say to hell will d small contactor 4mil..

Postby pete » September 11th, 2019, 2:51 pm

Where in the article did it say they didn't have the money to pay?

Postby pugboy » September 11th, 2019, 3:04 pm

Men just taking fo kix

Them does roll with the 5k chips in bellagio

pete wrote:Where in the article did it say they didn't have the money to pay?

antlind

Postby antlind » September 11th, 2019, 4:07 pm

MG Man wrote:"attorneys for Junior Sammy argued that the works carried out lacked skill, care, were performed improperly and in an unworkmanlike manner."
I find this hilarious

Doesn’t that description apply to all of the road work done in TT?

Postby rspann » September 11th, 2019, 4:14 pm

Dawg, you now join trinituner? Nobody here does be interested in facts. This is ole talk aka pew pew. :D :D :D

trinigoon

Postby trinigoon » September 11th, 2019, 4:33 pm

rspann wrote:

Dawg, you now join trinituner? Nobody here does be interested in facts. This is ole talk aka pew pew. :D :D :D
Haha tell him spann .. is ole talk and opinions and theory. .we doh care bout facts ..oh geeed ..lmao

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » September 12th, 2019, 7:41 am

How alluh throwing around the term billionaire so easily. You all even know what a billionaire is?

We counting billions in TT or USD cause the richest in tt don't even have a billion usd. Unless it's a billion usd minimum it doesn't count.

Postby rspann » September 12th, 2019, 7:53 am

We in Trinidad and here we use TTDs. There are people who have more than $1b. So yes there are billionaires. More than you might believe.

Postby maj. tom » September 12th, 2019, 7:59 am

Yes billionaire doesn't mean that they have $B in liquid cash. Net assets, especially properties in Florida, etc. There are many who will also have undeclared monies in offshore tax haven places.

What you think Jeff Bezos has a money bin with $110 Billion cash and he goes to dive in it everyday?

Postby MG Man » September 12th, 2019, 9:06 am

antlind wrote:
MG Man wrote:"attorneys for Junior Sammy argued that the works carried out lacked skill, care, were performed improperly and in an unworkmanlike manner."
I find this hilarious

Doesn’t that description apply to all of the road work done in TT?

that's why it's hilarious...not like JSC builds impeccable roads

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » September 12th, 2019, 9:23 am

maj. tom wrote:Yes billionaire doesn't mean that they have $B in liquid cash. Net assets, especially properties in Florida, etc. There are many who will also have undeclared monies in offshore tax haven places.

What you think Jeff Bezos has a money bin with $110 Billion cash and he goes to dive in it everyday?

That applies to every high networth individual in the world. Even footballers have money in offshore tax havens.

Ofcourse it doesn't mean 1 billion in cash but assets etc. As long as we are talking tt then we can agree. Easy to have a billion tt here just ask SIS.

Postby Chimera » September 12th, 2019, 11:10 am

think of it this way

i could pay you your 4million NOW that I owe you

or i can pay a lawyer 50-100k and delay paying you for a year or two, use that 4million,invest,flip,

probably pay you a 4.2million 2 years from now...or if you are a small contractor and you fighting up and you on the verge of losing your car and house, you will gladly accept 3million .

Postby Dizzy28 » September 12th, 2019, 11:23 am

Redress10 wrote:How alluh throwing around the term billionaire so easily. You all even know what a billionaire is?

We counting billions in TT or USD cause the richest in tt don't even have a billion usd. Unless it's a billion usd minimum it doesn't count.

I am sure there are at least a few US$ billionaires in Trinidad. The amount of money passed through this country since Independence there must be.

Postby zoom rader » September 12th, 2019, 12:30 pm

Redress10 wrote:How alluh throwing around the term billionaire so easily. You all even know what a billionaire is?

I am sure there are at least a few US$ billionaires in Trinidad. The amount of money passed through this country since Independence there must be.
Yes there are a few , but they keep a very low profile. I talking in US$$ not in TT.

They drive normal looking cars and dont bling.