Wagyu beef

Postby bora_dog » September 13th, 2019, 9:56 pm

Tuners anyone knows where in south i can buy wagyu beef steaks

Re: Wagyu beef

Postby teems1 » September 13th, 2019, 10:21 pm

bora_dog wrote:Tuners anyone knows where in south i can buy wagyu beef steaks

Wagyu literally translates to Japanese cow, but there are many people who use this label to help their marketing.

A while ago some cows were smuggled into Australia from Japan so there exists Australian Wagyu. Some was further carried to the US/Canada/UK/NZ so there are hybrids popping up.

Be careful what you buy when people tell you it's Wagyu. The label can be intentionally misleading. Some will say Kobe (region in Japan) beef but was never from Japan etc.

I would suggest trying Blooms. They would have the best selection. You may not find authentic Japanese Wagyu, but you might find something very decent from Australia.

Postby maj. tom » September 14th, 2019, 5:44 am

You have to go Japan to find proper Wagyu beef in Kobe, Hyōgo Prefecture. It's illegal in Japan to export Wagyu, and it used to be illegal for USA to receive it. You can find American Wagyu (crossbred with Aberdeen Angus) in Massy freezer. You can find fresh Angus steaks in Massy too. Top quality, far superior to anything we have locally. Try a big location like the supercenter in Trincity. You can sous-vide the Angus cuts at 129°F for 2 hours, then sear it and it comes out perfect expensive restaurant style. You want proper dry-aged quality you have to go Blooms Imports. I seeing that they have Wagyu on their website but then the USDA tag on the description which means America Wagyu.

As for local beef in the weekend markets, local breeds don't seem to be good for anything except stew and curry. I have tried. And the butchers don't seem to know the cuts. I remember asking for chuck and the man tell me that's a zebu hump. I asked another for tri-tip, he told me that's right near the tail. Real butcher work requires some education, and the market is not the place to find it. If anyone knows more about the local breeds and it there are any for steak good eating, please share.

Postby *KRONIK* » September 14th, 2019, 6:42 am

They are not
Local cows are dairy cows, their meat fibres are large and doesny contain thr intramuscular fat needed to keep steaks tender.
They only work well with braising type cooks (curry, stew, pot roast etc.)

Postby rspann » September 14th, 2019, 7:20 am

There is a good butcher on the lay by in Charlieville UBH you will see his cow truck from the highway.nhe is a professional in terms of knowledge ,cleanliness etc.

jackal

Postby jackal » September 15th, 2019, 9:43 am

The nearest thing to real steak can be found at Paul's Butcher and stake house. He does sell raw steaks.

Postby zoom rader » September 15th, 2019, 10:17 am

Big hindu country and allyuh eating cow.

Postby pugboy » September 15th, 2019, 10:25 am

Every creed and race bro

zoom rader wrote:Big hindu country and allyuh eating cow.

Postby zoom rader » September 15th, 2019, 10:34 am

pugboy wrote:Every creed and race bro

Eat pork save the cow

Postby Dizzy28 » September 15th, 2019, 11:32 am

Them stakes probably too woody
jackal wrote:The nearest thing to real steak can be found at Paul's Butcher and stake house. He does sell raw steaks.

antlind

Postby antlind » September 15th, 2019, 11:40 am

Dizzy28 wrote:Them stakes probably too woody
jackal wrote:The nearest thing to real steak can be found at Paul's Butcher and stake house. He does sell raw steaks.

:D :D

Postby eliteauto » September 15th, 2019, 11:50 am

Can't speak for south but Blooms in Maraval has

Postby De Dragon » September 15th, 2019, 12:10 pm

pugboy wrote:Every creed and race bro

Eat pork save the cow

Trinidad version of Chick-Fil-A?

pyromaniax

Postby pyromaniax » September 23rd, 2019, 10:56 am

Tommy's in Movie Town POS have a Wagyu burger on their menu but they they never have :(

Postby pugboy » September 23rd, 2019, 11:45 am

I see Hilo have wagyu mince frozen pack
Orange grove

Postby *KRONIK* » September 23rd, 2019, 11:56 am

If it mince, you will you know its really wagyu?
pugboy wrote:I see Hilo have wagyu mince frozen pack
Orange grove

Postby pugboy » September 23rd, 2019, 11:58 am

They had others too, angus etc
Nicely packed
Cat in bag

*KRONIK* wrote:If it mince, you will you know its really wagyu?
pugboy wrote:I see Hilo have wagyu mince frozen pack
Orange grove