Agouti or capybara crossing the highway?

Re: Agouti or capybara crossing the highway?

Postby pugboy » September 18th, 2019, 2:53 pm

All by highway Caroni near water gonna be a mess of hunters going in there after them

Postby bluefete » September 18th, 2019, 3:14 pm

Capybara is not meat, it is FISH.

Thus said the Catholic Church, one day during lent.

So fish away.

Postby pugboy » September 18th, 2019, 3:19 pm

I heard in vene it have that classification
So all can partake
Only issue is halal for the moslims

bluefete wrote:Capybara is not meat, it is FISH.

Thus said the Catholic Church, one day during lent.

So fish away.

Postby Rovin » September 18th, 2019, 3:22 pm

[not a hunter - tried it once in my youth days & decided then it was not for me]

so i asking : how come they say no hunting guana in POS , d guana population there under threat or something ?

is d waterfowl population low so a ban on that ? ....

Postby pugboy » September 18th, 2019, 3:26 pm

There were a lot of complaints with hunters going in ppl yard and also shooting over houses etc
Basically hunters with no manners or regard for ppl property

Postby MG Man » September 18th, 2019, 3:34 pm

pugboy wrote:There were a lot of complaints with hunters going in ppl yard and also shooting over houses etc

yup

I've experienced first hand, poachers almost burning down someone's house while they were away, to smoke out a family of iguanas
Capybara should be open game though...not indigenous to here, potential for population explosion and all that

Postby K74T » September 18th, 2019, 3:43 pm

Currybara

android79

Postby android79 » September 18th, 2019, 4:18 pm

pugboy wrote:There were a lot of complaints with hunters going in ppl yard and also shooting over houses etc

yup

I've experienced first hand, poachers almost burning down someone's house while they were away, to smoke out a family of iguanas
Capybara should be open game though...not indigenous to here, potential for population explosion and all that
Population explosion you say? Here ? Trinidad? That can never happen here, not with these greedy natives. We not like Puerto Rico who does scorn iguana till they over running the place. We aint scorning nothing!

Postby bluefete » September 18th, 2019, 4:25 pm

yup

Absolutely right. I have seen tusty, non-hunters run down iguanas with no regard for anyone in their way. Far less if they had guns.

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » September 18th, 2019, 5:09 pm

pugboy wrote:All by highway Caroni near water gonna be a mess of hunters going in there after them
No joke there, early morning there are huge ones by the radio tower thing. I not sure how big they get but easily knee height and they don't fraid to come close to your car and stuff

Postby pugboy » September 18th, 2019, 5:24 pm

The thing is they run for water quick, so you need to be a good shot and if using a shot gun have to be close enough and not using birdshot
I met a guy who uses pellet gun and he said he hits them in a soft spot on their head and says he has more success since he can shoot from further with a scope and be guaranteed it drops dead with the headshot

Postby Rovin » September 18th, 2019, 5:32 pm

yup

i cud understand some of that but um what makes POS so special , shouldnt d same logic apply to d rest of d country too though... :|

Postby 88sins » September 18th, 2019, 6:01 pm

Rovin wrote:[not a hunter - tried it once in my youth days & decided then it was not for me]

so i asking : how come they say no hunting guana in POS , d guana population there under threat or something ?

is d waterfowl population low so a ban on that ? ....

part of the issue is the wanton discharging of firearms in public places with high pedestrian & vehicular traffic. Can't have that in the capital city.
iirc duck & waterfowl permits are usually issued in December, never at the start of the season.

android79 wrote:Population explosion you say? Here ? Trinidad? That can never happen here, not with these greedy natives. We not like Puerto Rico who does scorn iguana till they over running the place. We aint scorning nothing!

time to read some updated blogs, and stop casting all hunters in that negative light son.
It has a reason why iguanas are called 'the chicken of the trees'. Puerto Ricans in recent years have started eating iguanas, in a big way too. And a lot of tourists from North America & europe have started travelling to the island to hunt them, and many of those same tourist hunters have them prepared and cooked and they eat them.

capy numbers have been growing very steadily here, since besides humans they don't have many natural predators here and not all humans can actually successfully hunt them. When they come out to graze, they stay as close to the water's edge as they can, only venturing further away if they sure no predators are around or heading to new grazing or water sources.

Anyway, since they now classified as a pest, ah go make meh name come 01/10/ 19
all who say tuner wild meat lime?

Postby maj. tom » September 18th, 2019, 6:05 pm

Capybara is regular Colombian food (Chiguiro).
Chiguiro is served with pork ribs, steak, potatoes, platano, arepa boyacense, and avocado. I’d been eating chiguiro for six months before learning what it was. I was told it’s baby pig. I figured Colombians had a different word for baby pigs, like ‘veal’ for baby cow in English.

One day a Colombian explicitly told me chiguiro wasn’t pork, but a rodent. He didn’t know the word in English. He tried “hamster” and “guinea pig.” A hamster on steroids with gene therapy wouldn’t yield the big chiguiro filets. And I lived in Peru for a year, so I know guinea pig (cuy). That fishy rodent full bones is not chiguiro.

https://expat-chronicles.com/2009/11/09 ... in-bogota/

Postby pugboy » September 18th, 2019, 6:07 pm

So wait, it have ways to cook wild meat other than stiff curry ?

Hyperion

Postby Hyperion » September 18th, 2019, 7:21 pm

@88sins, can you hunt capybara with a breakbarrel, or is it too low

Postby 88sins » September 18th, 2019, 7:37 pm

Hyperion wrote:@88sins, can you hunt capybara with a breakbarrel, or is it too low

a powerful break barrel will drop them, brain shots only. looking for a minimum of 15 fpe @ poi

Postby 88sins » September 18th, 2019, 7:50 pm

pugboy wrote:So wait, it have ways to cook wild meat other than stiff curry ?

plenty ppl eh know that, doh worry is not you alone :lol:

I does curry stew, bbq, boucaneer, stew, roast, fry wild meat normal normal. depends on three things, mainly how it's cut, the type of meat and also the age of the animal in question. example
frying old manicou is not an option unless yuh doh mind breaking a few teeth chewing one piece of meat for two weeks and then just pelting it away, when d taste gone. But in comparison, a portion of fry caiman with a dash of chadon beni sauce with lime juice & grated garlic mixed in and a lil pepper sauce is food to fight for 8-)

last christman I bbq caiman, an boi if ah didn't tell wifey to hide my portion i would not have gotten any.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 18th, 2019, 8:17 pm

Hunters advised: No iguana hunting in PoS, and eat all the Capybaras

The 2019/2020 hunting season opens October 1 and the Ministry of Agriculture is advising on the sale of State game licences.

Among the changes this year is a ban on the hunting of all waterfowl, a ban on hunting iguana in Port of Spain, and permission to find and eat as many Capybaras is you can.

Capybaras are semiaquatic mammals found throughout almost all countries of South America except Chile. They live in densely forested areas near bodies of water, such as lakes, rivers, swamps, ponds, and marshes, as well as flooded savannah and along rivers in the tropical rainforest. It is considered an invasive species, having come across to Trinidad from Venezuela.

The Open Season for hunting runs from October 01, 2019 to February 29, 2020.

From September 17, 2019 State Game Licences are available from 8:00 a.m. to 2:30 p.m., at the following offices in Trinidad and Tobago (except for Friday 30th September, 2019, when revenue collection stops at 10:00 a.m.):

(1) Forestry Office, Damarie Hill, Sangre Grande

(2) District Revenue Office, Siparia

(3) Forestry Office, Rio Claro

(4) District Revenue Office, Tunapuna

(5) District Revenue Office, Chaguanas

(6) Forestry Division, Long Circular Road, St. James

(7) Forestry Division, Balisier Avenue, Pleasantville, San Fernando

(8) District Revenue Office, Sangster Hill, Scarborough, Tobago

(9) Inland Revenue Office, Roxborough, Tobago

Persons can obtain up to a maximum of three (3) State Game Licences. Please take note of the following:

• Capybara listed as a Vermin

https://trinidadexpress.com/news/local/ ... 54411.html

Postby pugboy » September 19th, 2019, 4:48 am

Like everybody forget corbeau can be hunted now too,
How allyuh plan to cook that?
Large bird, prob close to a medium chicken in size.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » September 19th, 2019, 5:00 am

strangely I have never seen or heard people even making an attempt to catch that^ much less cook it...I eat all kinda thing already eh, but I aint know about that corbeaux thing

Postby 88sins » September 19th, 2019, 5:29 am

pugboy wrote:Like everybody forget corbeau can be hunted now too,

so they trying to poison out Beethamites now?

ru$$ell

Postby ru$$ell » September 19th, 2019, 7:52 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:strangely I have never seen or heard people even making an attempt to catch that^ much less cook it...I eat all kinda thing already eh, but I aint know about that corbeaux thing

you didnt hear about the 2 guys in claxton bay who caught one and cooked it,then died 2 days after? :lol:

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » September 19th, 2019, 8:33 am

pugboy wrote:Like everybody forget corbeau can be hunted now too,

so they trying to poison out Beethamites now?
Ssshhhh

Postby Rovin » September 19th, 2019, 11:03 am

cobo u say wtf , u pulling we leg right

they eat nasty stuff , some will remain in their bodies so if we humans eating that is like eating poison ...

fokhan_96

Postby fokhan_96 » September 19th, 2019, 11:11 am

Yea stick to chicken. Chicken feed is soo healthy with no harmful chemicals that would remain in the chicken.
Rovin wrote:cobo u say wtf , u pulling we leg right

they eat nasty stuff , some will remain in their bodies so if we humans eating that is like eating poison ...

Postby Rovin » September 19th, 2019, 11:15 am

well boi i rather eat a small garbage pile than to eat d whole dump eh .... :|