HAIRSTYLE ROW: Mom threatens legal action against school

screwbash

Re: HAIRSTYLE ROW: Mom threatens legal action against school

Postby screwbash » October 7th, 2019, 4:30 am

is not wah outside d head buh wah inside d head. allyuh radder she have nice stright hair and spend hours by the heredresser dan study she school book. allyuh radder she make pick up bad habbit from dem ole hoes by the hair dresser and make porn in skool and look for taxi man tuh pay the hair dresser bill every week? look pretty pretty and get breed from som drug man and make more criminal like majority ah laventille and environs? leh d gyul feel comfortable how she want and study she skool book and come ah next doctor and she mite be d one to save your child life one day.

Postby timelapse » October 7th, 2019, 1:53 pm

timelapse wrote:Yuh know, if was a Maha Sabha school, allyuh was already calling for a public beheading of Sat Maharaj.That knot up hairstyle not even fit for working in KFC, like i suspected, wrong and strong entitled mentality

What exactly is wrong with the hairstyle?

Whats wrong with a boy having a mohawk?

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » October 7th, 2019, 4:30 pm

screwbash wrote:is not wah outside d head buh wah inside d head. allyuh radder she have nice stright hair and spend hours by the heredresser dan study she school book. allyuh radder she make pick up bad habbit from dem ole hoes by the hair dresser and make porn in skool and look for taxi man tuh pay the hair dresser bill every week? look pretty pretty and get breed from som drug man and make more criminal like majority ah laventille and environs? leh d gyul feel comfortable how she want and study she skool book and come ah next doctor and she mite be d one to save your child life one day.
As you say doctor.... If one come with that hairstyle... Would you still be singing the same song.... Just wanted to find out (actually ok with the style shown in the article linked above)

I'm not for or against what happened... But the rules are left open for interpretation.
Last edited by kamakazi on October 7th, 2019, 4:30 pm, edited 1 time in total.

matix

Postby matix » October 7th, 2019, 5:04 pm

screwbash wrote:is not wah outside d head buh wah inside d head. allyuh radder she have nice stright hair and spend hours by the heredresser dan study she school book. allyuh radder she make pick up bad habbit from dem ole hoes by the hair dresser and make porn in skool and look for taxi man tuh pay the hair dresser bill every week? look pretty pretty and get breed from som drug man and make more criminal like majority ah laventille and environs? leh d gyul feel comfortable how she want and study she skool book and come ah next doctor and she mite be d one to save your child life one day.

What school did you attend?

linton

Postby linton » October 7th, 2019, 6:29 pm

matix wrote:

What school did you attend?

You sure that is the question you should ask?

Postby De Dragon » October 7th, 2019, 9:03 pm

timelapse wrote:
timelapse wrote:Yuh know, if was a Maha Sabha school, allyuh was already calling for a public beheading of Sat Maharaj.That knot up hairstyle not even fit for working in KFC, like i suspected, wrong and strong entitled mentality

What exactly is wrong with the hairstyle?

Whats wrong with a boy having a mohawk?

Nothing, but you seem to have an issue with the girl in question's hair. So again, what exactly is wrong with her hairstyle?

Postby timelapse » October 8th, 2019, 7:25 am

It does not fit into the appropriate school hairstyles worn by females, else the the school would not have a problem with it.
If you see nothing wrong with a school boy having a mohawk n school ..thats tells me a lot.

How about this?
Abandon all dress codes, rules and regulations for everybody,nobody can say they being discriminated against.
How would that work for you?

Postby 88sins » October 8th, 2019, 7:03 pm

timelapse wrote:It does not fit into the appropriate school hairstyles worn by females, else the the school would not have a problem with it.
If you see nothing wrong with a school boy having a mohawk n school ..thats tells me a lot.

How about this?
Abandon all dress codes, rules and regulations for everybody,nobody can say they being discriminated against.

seems you missing a very critical point in all this.
There is absolutely no set standards as regarding what is considered an acceptable way to have the hair on your head, it's basically up to what the individual principal or dean or teacher cool with or don't like. this ain't a new problem.

I remember when I was going to school, me and about 6 other fellas had beard, and the principal was of the mistaken idea that he coulda try to get me and a few of the other students with facial hair to shave. he had to give up on that dream real quick.
in another instance, a fella who went to school there with long hair because he never in his life cut his hair (iirc was for religious reasons, always kept it I plaited) and he went to school there from admissions in form one that way without incident until one day when he was in form 5 some jackass
decided now would be a good time to make the boy hair an issue.

imho this in a non issue that could easily be resolved. principal need to mind her business and leave the child in peace and focus on actual problems in the school.

Postby De Dragon » October 8th, 2019, 8:28 pm

timelapse wrote:It does not fit into the appropriate school hairstyles worn by females, else the the school would not have a problem with it.

How about this?

Mash ah brakes soldier! You asked about boys having mohawks, you never mentioned school. To which I would reply, again, nothing wrong. You're still dancing around the question with vague words like "appropriate hair styles" What does that even mean especially if its not clearly stated in the dress code?

Postby timelapse » October 9th, 2019, 8:03 am

What is appropriate is deemed by the school and PTA, not you or the jury of facebook. These kinda things undermine the discipline that the school is trying to instill.But I forget is 2019.Discipline is a violation of people basic rights.Not my problem yes.I wish that you have entitled people as your employees.I honestly do.

Postby De Dragon » October 9th, 2019, 8:19 am

timelapse wrote:What is appropriate is deemed by the school and PTA, not you or the jury of facebook. These kinda things undermine the discipline that the school is trying to instill.But I forget is 2019.Discipline is a violation of people basic rights.Not my problem yes.I wish that you have entitled people as your employees.I honestly do.

So by your logic, only "inappropriate" hairstyled students cause indiscipline :?
The problem with us as a people is we take the opinions of people as gospel, so I don't like your hairstyle, discipline!, TTPS find your tint too dark without an iota of empirical evidence ticket!
Having homologous students does not a well disciplined school make.

matix

Postby matix » October 9th, 2019, 9:46 am

I attended St. Stephens and they have always been strict when it comes to hairstyle, uniform and general dress code. Shoes must be black and black alone, black socks (during assembly they did uniform checks), black belt, no baggy pants (my days), shirt collar must be normal (not the style where it’s folded and ironed kinda upright), girls were only allowed a green accessory in their hair and it must be a ‘simple’ style and a list of others. Anything that was out of place would result in you being sent to the principals office where they will contact your parents then send you home. If you reached late for school without a valid excuse (written) you had to pay $1. That was a lot in my days considering it was a $1 to travel to school. But you get the point, it’s always been that way with them. Back then people actually obeyed rules if you wanted your child to attend a ‘good’ school.

mitch1980

Postby mitch1980 » October 9th, 2019, 10:48 am

matix wrote:I attended St. Stephens and they have always been strict when it comes to hairstyle, uniform and general dress code. Shoes must be black and black alone, black socks (during assembly they did uniform checks), black belt, no baggy pants (my days), shirt collar must be normal (not the style where it’s folded and ironed kinda upright), girls were only allowed a green accessory in their hair and it must be a ‘simple’ style and a list of others. Anything that was out of place would result in you being sent to the principals office where they will contact your parents then send you home. If you reached late for school without a valid excuse (written) you had to pay $1. That was a lot in my days considering it was a $1 to travel to school. But you get the point, it’s always been that way with them. Back then people actually obeyed rules if you wanted your child to attend a ‘good’ school.

Looks like we attended the same school during the same time period- 90s

Back then adhering to the school rules both formal and informal proved to be a plus for persons today. Respect for Persons in workplace and society as a whole something I see that is lacking with many school students today.

Sometimes a compromise must be done.

I remember there was a student who wanted to wear a Hijab. Principal said no problem but it must be green as that is the color of the female headwear/ accessories.

Postby Rovin » October 9th, 2019, 11:53 am

mitch1980 wrote:
matix wrote:I attended St. Stephens and they have always been strict when it comes to hairstyle, uniform and general dress code. Shoes must be black and black alone, black socks (during assembly they did uniform checks), black belt, no baggy pants (my days), shirt collar must be normal (not the style where it’s folded and ironed kinda upright), girls were only allowed a green accessory in their hair and it must be a ‘simple’ style and a list of others. Anything that was out of place would result in you being sent to the principals office where they will contact your parents then send you home. If you reached late for school without a valid excuse (written) you had to pay $1. That was a lot in my days considering it was a $1 to travel to school. But you get the point, it’s always been that way with them. Back then people actually obeyed rules if you wanted your child to attend a ‘good’ school.

Back then adhering to the school rules both formal and informal proved to be a plus for persons today. Respect for Persons in workplace and society as a whole something I see that is lacking with many school students today.

I remember there was a student who wanted to wear a Hijab. Principal said no problem but it must be green as that is the color of the female headwear/ accessories.

i too went secondary school in d 90s , couva govt sec [not d junior sec] , from d day u pass for that school & they gave u ur book list they also give all d rules regarding attire , any deviation u were immediately told to fix it or bring yuh mother & father to school next morning . Rules were clear set in stone & if u didnt want to obey it they tell u go look for another school . I dont see anything wrong with that back then & even in todays time .

It look like some of u here want d schools to have a 100+ page catalog of pictures showing every single known hairstyles of what is accepted & what is not .... :agrue:

Postby timelapse » October 9th, 2019, 1:54 pm

matix wrote: people actually obeyed rules if you wanted your child to attend a ‘good’ school.

THIS

Postby brams112 » October 10th, 2019, 11:13 am

Rovin wrote:
mitch1980 wrote:

i too went secondary school in d 90s , couva govt sec [not d junior sec] , from d day u pass for that school & they gave u ur book list they also give all d rules regarding attire , any deviation u were immediately told to fix it or bring yuh mother & father to school next morning . Rules were clear set in stone & if u didnt want to obey it they tell u go look for another school . I dont see anything wrong with that back then & even in todays time .

It look like some of u here want d schools to have a 100+ page catalog of pictures showing every single known hairstyles of what is accepted & what is not .... :agrue:

I am still trying to figure out what is the problem,either follow the frigging rules or get out,by the way rules teach us respect.

Postby zoom rader » October 10th, 2019, 11:47 am

If that is the girl natural hair then leave her alone. However if it is weave then that's another topic. I hope this lady wins her case on natural hair.

Why should a person be subjected to their natural hair.

matix

Postby matix » October 10th, 2019, 12:15 pm

zoom rader wrote:If that is the girl natural hair then leave her alone. However if it is weave then that's another topic. I hope this lady wins her case on natural hair.

The issue is about the hairstyle.

Postby zoom rader » October 10th, 2019, 12:18 pm

matix wrote:
zoom rader wrote:If that is the girl natural hair then leave her alone. However if it is weave then that's another topic. I hope this lady wins her case on natural hair.

Still does not matter it's her hair and her image.

screwbash

Postby screwbash » October 10th, 2019, 12:25 pm

skool teaches a child to follow rules and think inside the box, the few that want to progress naturally are quickly beaten down an put back inside the box. beaten emotionally and mentally and made to think inside the box, follow the rules, dont think for themselves, 2+2 always must equal 4. if the girl wants to be unique naturally and think outside the box by not relaxing her nappy hair but keeping it like the true african hairstyles by shouldnt she. this is not like dem hijab wearers that fite to wear the hijab that make dem sheep cause muhammed said so.

Postby timelapse » October 10th, 2019, 1:07 pm

matix wrote:

WRONG..This is about the school's image.Either conform or GTFO

Postby nemisis » October 10th, 2019, 1:41 pm

Does the school have a clearly defined guide line for hair? If yes then you subject yourself to that when you admitted the child. If no then you have grounds for a beat up. Its is not rocket science, the problem however arises when what is considered acceptable is left up to interpretation by whomever the then principal is. Personal bias is real and real people in here pretending otherwise.

Postby nemisis » October 10th, 2019, 1:45 pm

But that parent too ain't have anything better to beyotch about? If I was going to be so idle, every day for a month when picking up the child from school I would take a few pics of the female teaching staff and I'm pretty sure more than a handful wouldn't be leading by example.

Postby zoom rader » October 10th, 2019, 2:27 pm

timelapse wrote:
matix wrote:

School image is to tell Afro kids they can't wear their natural hair?

Postby timelapse » October 10th, 2019, 2:31 pm

timelapse wrote:
matix wrote:

Natural hair doh come in Bantu knots hoss.

matix

Postby matix » October 10th, 2019, 3:59 pm

St. Stephen’s has rules and they’re enforced. If you can’t follow the rules then leave. Quite simple.

Postby 88sins » October 10th, 2019, 4:14 pm

timelapse wrote:
matix wrote:

this is interesting. so by that standard if a child with rastafarian parents that has a ras himself or herself was enrolled in that school and the principal took issue with that child's dreadlocks, you cool with the principal insisting that those locks be removed then? and don't try to say that's different because rasta is a religion and she can't discriminate against religion.
this whole mess is about who finds whether it's appropriate or not what way whom keeps the hair on their heads. that right there is a matter of personal preference based on hair style being projected onto the child. So what's to stop that bias at the way the childs hair is kept? What's to stop it from changing to a bias about hair texture? or skin color? or ethnicity? or where they live?
it have more important issues for the child and principal to busy themselves with than that nonsense.

But for real tho, somebody help out the poor child nah. I feel like the principal like she going through a drought. I sure if one ah allyuh gee she a lil sumn allyuh go see how fast this whole problem go just cease to exist.

Postby maj. tom » October 10th, 2019, 4:27 pm

Museum of London. Sierra Leone's British governors were keen for the new arrivals to adopt British Christian culture.

Postby timelapse » October 11th, 2019, 7:43 am

timelapse wrote:
matix wrote:

this is interesting. so by that standard if a child with rastafarian parents that has a ras himself or herself was enrolled in that school and the principal took issue with that child's dreadlocks, you cool with the principal insisting that those locks be removed then? and don't try to say that's different because rasta is a religion and she can't discriminate against religion.
this whole mess is about who finds whether it's appropriate or not what way whom keeps the hair on their heads. that right there is a matter of personal preference based on hair style being projected onto the child. So what's to stop that bias at the way the childs hair is kept? What's to stop it from changing to a bias about hair texture? or skin color? or ethnicity? or where they live?
it have more important issues for the child and principal to busy themselves with than that nonsense.

Anybody leave their hair unattended long enough will get dreads or some form thereof.What is the big deal about having Bantu knots? Is is some monumental part of being afro? Why was this never an issue before.It a a fashion statement, nothing more. This real issue is that rules are no longer important .If you voice big enough, you can break whatever rules you want and cry discrimination. #because_slavery.
The problem is that not everybody subscribes to that kind of entitled thinking.Is either obey rules or have none at all.Seems that you prefer the latter.Take away all the school's code of conduct and dress code while you are at it, because somewhere down the line , somebody going to draw that discrimination card again over some frivolous nonsense. My school principal in my days would have even even entertained this folly .

But for real tho, somebody help out the poor child nah. I feel like the principal like she going through a drought. I sure if one ah allyuh gee she a lil sumn allyuh go see how fast this whole problem go just cease to exist.

Postby 88sins » October 11th, 2019, 12:08 pm

timelapse, sip a cold mauby and cool yuh herbs.
nobody saying to do away with all rules or traditions. problem is that some of the archaic colonial rules we hang onto are arbitrary and causative of conflict, often making ppl not realize their mistake in thinking that mole hills are actually mountains.

a hairstyle is an expression of one's self, as well as a means of boosting one's own confidence and sense of self esteem by feeling good about the way one looks. And that self esteem is very important in more ways than one. Particularly when it comes to the individuals drive for success. If you take a good long hard look at all the innovators and their achievements and their personalities, you will notice that they all have something in common, a sense of self worth and the determination to succeed. This fixation on absolute conformity in situations where in truth it serves no greater purpose than as a means of castigation for those that might want to be free thinkers leads to the mass production of mindless automated conformist drones, and we will eventually end up a nation of mindless sheep only good for doing what we're told when we're told, obeying obliviously, not even having a clear clue as to think if to ask why is an option.

What you need to ask yourself is two things.
1-What would you say if your PM decided today that EVERYONE in T&T MUST sport a bald patch to be considered good Trinis, regardless of race, religion, gender, age, or whether they have misgivings about it or not, or a full head of hair or not, and if you don't have your head bald and shiny at all times you can be subjected to whatever penalty he deems fitting.
2-What real tangible physical damage or harm would the childs hair be doing to her self, the school, the teaching staff, or her fellow students if she were left to express herself by the hairstyle in question?

some things ain't worth studying, and this hairstyle nonsense is one of those things.