New Trinidad & Tobago $ money polymer notes

Re: New $100 bill revealed

Postby Chimera » December 7th, 2019, 7:26 am

Spann wha time you going down by anton's with the truckload of pigtail bucket to buy out the store?

rebound

Postby rebound » December 7th, 2019, 8:08 am

Well this might be the one time being poor is good....no worries for me.

Postby RedVEVO » December 7th, 2019, 11:13 am

Read between the lines ..

TT returned to a "cash society"

Banks charges are too much .

PNM Tax, tax , tax ..

Now PNM want your cash under the mattress .

PNM want a monopoly .

Postby zoom rader » December 7th, 2019, 11:26 am

RedVEVO wrote:^^

Read between the lines ..

TT returned to a "cash society"

Banks charges are too much .

PNM Tax, tax , tax ..

Now PNM want your cash under the mattress .

PNM want a monopoly .
No it's 1% behind all this they after non PNM ppl money

Postby rspann » December 7th, 2019, 11:44 am

We need laws, we need rules, but watch the contempt and gloating when they talking about it.

Postby rspann » December 7th, 2019, 11:46 am

Nobody put up pics yet? Army, sort, police line off from lighthouse to foreshore and all over town. Containers galore by central bank.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » December 7th, 2019, 11:59 am

rspann wrote:Nobody put up pics yet? Army, sort, police line off from lighthouse to foreshore and all over town. Containers galore by central bank.

Containers with cash being moved into Port of Spain

Eastbound Wrightson Road had been blocked since before 10am

Rockram

Postby Rockram » December 7th, 2019, 12:04 pm

Hearing that current ATMs are not able to dispense polymeric notes... Don't know how true but if true can't believe no one in the govt factored this...as a changeout or modifications of them would take considerable time.

Postby hydroep » December 7th, 2019, 12:07 pm

The more this thing plays out it looks like dem fellas giving "their pardners" ample time to get their business in order. Perhaps that was the plan all along...:|

Postby Rovin » December 7th, 2019, 12:16 pm

even though is heavy police presence why ppl does post up such a high risk operation .... is everything hadda go on d net so

Postby rspann » December 7th, 2019, 12:25 pm

Three mini coopers needed.

Postby De Dragon » December 7th, 2019, 12:43 pm

Rockram wrote:Hearing that current ATMs are not able to dispense polymeric notes... Don't know how true but if true can't believe no one in the govt factored this...as a changeout or modifications of them would take considerable time.

Methinks you put too much faith in the ability of this Government to think something all the way through :lol: Actually Scotia AM in Couva(don't know about others) have been closed for the past week or so, presumably for this upgrade, because those were recently installed bi-lingual machines.

Postby pugboy » December 7th, 2019, 1:00 pm

gridlock in pos still

l33t2

Postby l33t2 » December 7th, 2019, 1:36 pm

Rockram wrote:Hearing that current ATMs are not able to dispense polymeric notes... Don't know how true but if true can't believe no one in the govt factored this...as a changeout or modifications of them would take considerable time.

Methinks you put too much faith in the ability of this Government to think something all the way through :lol: Actually Scotia AM in Couva(don't know about others) have been closed for the past week or so, presumably for this upgrade, because those were recently installed bi-lingual machines.

Banks were advised (not sure when) most new ATMs have no issue, these machines are configurable to note size and thickness. Most modern ATMs' mechanical hardware will indeed work for it (look up how bill counting works on YouTube).

Anyway, I know I get $50 at some ATMs (think it was RBC) so if your bank sticking that's their problem.

You will get your cash in $20.

UK had a similar issue recently with the changeoutbl of the £20 note, most ATMs were giving piles of cash in £10s. But that wasn't due to an ATM issue but the fact that there was a period of phase out of the old bill before the new one was introduced.

They do studies to determine the best and most effective way to replace a bill or coin there. Willing to bet not a single study was done for this.

Also how long will the old hundreds be accepted? My friend in Netherlands has around $3000 in TT cash that she had left over from her last trip, she'll be back for carnival I believe so hopefully she can change it then.

Postby pugboy » December 7th, 2019, 1:40 pm

scotia has been upgrading all their branch atm's recently
real fancy machines
you can deposit cash or cheques straight in the machine, no envelope
and it counts how many bills you put in as well as detects the figures written on the cheque
no need to punch in the amounts.

Postby De Dragon » December 7th, 2019, 2:24 pm

pugboy wrote:scotia has been upgrading all their branch atm's recently
real fancy machines
you can deposit cash or cheques straight in the machine, no envelope
and it counts how many bills you put in as well as detects the figures written on the cheque
no need to punch in the amounts.

Yes but the present machines that are/were out of service for the last week were themselves only installed recently. Maybe its for an entirely different reason, that I'll only know when I visit one again, maybe later.

carluva

Postby carluva » December 7th, 2019, 2:28 pm

I heard that if an individual is in possession of the old 100 bills, they need to visit a bank to have them swapped out with the new ones. Is this correct?

Postby toyolink » December 7th, 2019, 3:03 pm

Well like the gas situation, its reasonable to expect everybody going to the bank monday to trade in their used $100s for new money.
One wonders if the gov't ever considers how citizens react to things like these.
More panic in the land.
BTW, the really big criminals use legitimate businesses to launder there money for a fee, is only the 'never-see come-see' criminal making videos of themselves rolling in money on the floor.
and they easy to find.

Postby rollingstock » December 7th, 2019, 3:13 pm

How do I explain the large gym bags of $100 bills when I go to the bank?

Police operation?

speedmelter

Postby speedmelter » December 7th, 2019, 3:16 pm

toyolink wrote:Well like the gas situation, its reasonable to expect everybody going to the bank monday to trade in their used $100s for new money.
One wonders if the gov't ever considers how citizens react to things like these.
More panic in the land.
BTW, the really big criminals use legitimate businesses to launder there money for a fee, is only the 'never-see come-see' criminal making videos of themselves rolling in money on the floor.
and they easy to find.

Clearly it’s a control measure from the top class criminal 1 percentage who have the strings in hand to call these shots in an effort to keep a lid on the downstream criminals under them who has been gaining scary ground and maybe even getting out of hand.

Kinda the same reason why some gangsters had to be bumped off earlier in the year. Changing the game like this will only work for a while.

Let us see how soon before criminals start trading in gold and the authorities declare all citizens to bring in their jewelry for audit.

Postby toyolink » December 7th, 2019, 3:30 pm

rollingstock wrote:How do I explain the large gym bags of $100 bills when I go to the bank?

Police operation?

No lie!
But this is really a serious concern many people have.
They may not quite have a gym bag of 100s, more like a large brown paper bag.

Postby sMASH » December 7th, 2019, 5:15 pm

I goin and exchange fir 50's. That's smallish enough to keep around.

Postby paid_influencer » December 7th, 2019, 5:33 pm

RoLand on a poltican meeting showed what a million dollars cash looks like.

it about a carib case in size.

debate still going on live in Parliament channel.

Postby rspann » December 7th, 2019, 5:46 pm

rollingstock wrote:How do I explain the large gym bags of $100 bills when I go to the bank?

Police operation?

Put a evidence label on the bag.

Postby zoom rader » December 7th, 2019, 5:47 pm

rspann wrote:

Police operation?

Put a evidence label on the bag.
Men studying to change $100 but won't change this jack arse of a goverment

Postby Rovin » December 7th, 2019, 6:00 pm

u hadda put d $ in a brown paper bag & ask camel to carry it een fuh yuh ..... :wink:

VII

Postby VII » December 7th, 2019, 7:20 pm

old ones would still be legal tender and co-circulate with new ones for a while until they fetch most .and even then will remain legal tender just like old queen head notes etc redeemable at central bank..

2ndchance

Postby 2ndchance » December 7th, 2019, 8:11 pm

carluva wrote:I heard that if an individual is in possession of the old 100 bills, they need to visit a bank to have them swapped out with the new ones. Is this correct?

Yes, that's what's in the media. And it seems that you will have 2 weeks to exchange your bills unless you have a good reason like you were out of the country, in which case you may get up to 3 months. That's seems to be the government's plan. However, when the minister made the announcement he said that the Central Bank would handle the implementation. So I think they will announce the date when the changeover starts and the actual timeframe and guidelines.

Postby Rovin » December 7th, 2019, 8:45 pm

2ndchance

Postby 2ndchance » December 7th, 2019, 8:46 pm