Food prices to go up - Again?

Re: Food prices to go up - Again?

Postby rspann » January 8th, 2020, 8:07 pm

maj. tom wrote:rspann is election year eh, and i dunno if the true sardonic tone of your words is conveyed in these messages :lol:
next thing people start quoting yuh all in facebook and ting.

They don't need me to tell them that. It's innate.

viedcht

Postby viedcht » January 8th, 2020, 8:17 pm

rspann wrote:
zoom rader wrote:Oh well I gonna apply for a food card/hamper and i walking with my recorder

I done alert all party groups to be on the lookout for you. Allyuh wearing yellow and playing games with the PNM.
Nah he feel hee smart, wearing election day green. We see you, ZR...

Postby zoom rader » January 8th, 2020, 8:29 pm

viedcht wrote:
rspann wrote:
zoom rader wrote:Oh well I gonna apply for a food card/hamper and i walking with my recorder

I done alert all party groups to be on the lookout for you. Allyuh wearing yellow and playing games with the PNM.
In this country the majority of people toting food cards are PNM ppl.

Non PNM ppl does see hell when applying.

Postby 88sins » January 8th, 2020, 10:12 pm

viedcht wrote:
rspann wrote:

In this country the majority of people toting food cards are PNM ppl.

Non PNM ppl does see hell when applying.

We go see if daz true.
Wish I could apply to test the theory. I can't, but only becuz I personally abhor the very idea of accepting charity for myself or my people, let alone govt assistance, and I make too much to qualify and I couldn't lie to save meh life.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » January 8th, 2020, 10:19 pm

maj. tom wrote:Once bodi and green vegetables at the fresh market eh go up.
But meats might go up though, because NFM animal feed?

Thankfully I stopped eating meat and now seriously enjoy vegetables. Has people in caroni does sell some seriously boss pepper roti, no need for meat it tastes so good.

Honestly they can send sh!t up how much they want I am not affected as I try to plant the basic vegetable trees that produce in huge amounts and very short space of time.

It is still pretty amazing how trinis waste forex on all these imported fruits that go to waste majority rotten out and nobody even buys them when we can have perfect alternative right here but nobody seems to give a damn

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » January 9th, 2020, 6:48 am

Imbutt gonna say he raised the minimum wage so people have enough money to prepare for the increase in food prices.....paging randolph et al

Postby zoom rader » January 9th, 2020, 7:10 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Imbutt gonna say he raised the minimum wage so people have enough money to prepare for the increase in food prices.....paging randolph et al

Impsbutt is ah short racist penis

moses_boss12
Location: The Beautiful Hills of.................... Hellshire!!

Postby moses_boss12 » January 9th, 2020, 1:41 pm

So who putting out the courses to help citizens learn how to plant their produce.

Is something i would be interested in, small garden would be nice.

Postby VexXx Dogg » January 9th, 2020, 1:51 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:
maj. tom wrote:Once bodi and green vegetables at the fresh market eh go up.
But meats might go up though, because NFM animal feed?

Thankfully I stopped eating meat and now seriously enjoy vegetables. Has people in caroni does sell some seriously boss pepper roti, no need for meat it tastes so good.

Honestly they can send sh!t up how much they want I am not affected as I try to plant the basic vegetable trees that produce in huge amounts and very short space of time.

It is still pretty amazing how trinis waste forex on all these imported fruits that go to waste majority rotten out and nobody even buys them when we can have perfect alternative right here but nobody seems to give a damn

Unless you have land and trees, local fruits are more expensive that imported, so people usually seek more value for money.
5 half dead starch mango is 35.
Then you can get 6 apples/pear/plums for 20

Postby eliteauto » January 9th, 2020, 1:59 pm

moses_boss12 wrote:So who putting out the courses to help citizens learn how to plant their produce.

Is something i would be interested in, small garden would be nice.

The Ministry of Agriculture does some every month, I've done a couple they're pretty decent for both small scale agriculture and micro food processing
https://agriculture.gov.tt/events/train ... uary-2020/

You can also check the (Nutrien) PCS Model Farm in Couva they have courses during the year as well

matix

Food prices to go up - Again?

Postby matix » January 9th, 2020, 2:18 pm

^^^^
Good info

screwbash

Postby screwbash » January 10th, 2020, 4:44 am

in the US it has the housewives association. when prices go up they band together and boycott. when NFM raise flour price just dont buy no blasted flour and let it rot in the silos and they will be forced to drop the price same as the local cement went from $60 to $43 when the next brand reach. it have places selling doubles $6 and men still buying like fools. i remember when all them doubles etc in debe went from $4 to $5 i stop buying one time and i never went back dey. same was ah aloo pie place in don miguel wen the price go up i never went back and when i pass i see less traffic there so idk if other people stop too but it surprises me how people who feel they "smart" does still pay $6 or $7 or ah aloo pie. someone tell me bake and shark is now $50 but i cant confirm, i remember during the christmas i pass and see real people line up to buy in the two hot spots up maracas an all dese people feel them is smart people, it had one family i saw on the beach that made bake and shark an bring it from home, dem was smart people cause no way in hell bake and shark worth $50 and it smaller i hear.

Postby redmanjp » January 10th, 2020, 2:11 pm

think i paid $35 at Richard's 2 weeks ago

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » May 19th, 2021, 2:55 pm

can anyone confirm that talk about NFM not going to receive the next shipment of wheat so there is no wheat to make flour in the short term.

is this why they extend the SOE to prevent riots ?

Postby 88sins » May 19th, 2021, 3:37 pm

Didn't hear anything such, but I wouldn't be surprised if that's the case.
I hear is a while now nfm hunting for cheaper grain supplies ( not just wheat, but corn, soy etc) and coming up short on finding any.

Worst case scenario, who cyah hear go feel.

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » May 19th, 2021, 3:45 pm

india might not be able to meet the quota

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » May 20th, 2021, 5:51 am

flour to go UP UP UP
187779007_903034503612997_5280040924887593605_n.jpg
188400618_903034556946325_4502961172224122963_n.jpg

Postby Rovin » May 20th, 2021, 11:55 am

will d other other flour suppliers be raising prices too ? ...

Postby pugboy » May 20th, 2021, 11:55 am

of course they will
and i bet to just the same price

Postby bluefete » May 20th, 2021, 11:58 am

Rice prices escalated in grocery.

Passed through Better Deal SM today and saw them actually changing the price of Royal Rice (8kg) from $65.00 to almost $74.00.

That was the cheapest rice in that size.

Batten down the hatches people, the year is about to get harder and this SoE will not make it easier.

SuperiorMan

Postby SuperiorMan » May 20th, 2021, 12:07 pm

Time to ride out of here.

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » May 20th, 2021, 2:47 pm

bluefete wrote:Rice prices escalated in grocery.

Passed through Better Deal SM today and saw them actually changing the price of Royal Rice (8kg) from $65.00 to almost $74.00.

Batten down the hatches people, the year is about to get harder and this SoE will not make it easier.

them too greedy for money i find. how can you increase the price of an item while its on the shelf. that is old stock. i dont buy nothing there. rather go xtra food.
the guyana rice is $60 for a big bag not sure 8 or 9 kg

Postby bluefete » May 20th, 2021, 3:29 pm

You know how long I looking for that Guyanese rice in XTRA Foods?

I had bought it once at around $58.00 (8 kg) and never saw it again.

daring dragoon wrote:

them too greedy for money i find. how can you increase the price of an item while its on the shelf. that is old stock. i dont buy nothing there. rather go xtra food.

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » May 21st, 2021, 5:47 am

bluefete wrote:You know how long I looking for that Guyanese rice in XTRA Foods?

I had bought it once at around $58.00 (8 kg) and never saw it again.

daring dragoon wrote:

CNA Grocery chain has it. aranguez, uwi,marabella,penal

Postby bluefete » May 24th, 2021, 2:50 pm

Massy - Trincity. If this was 2018 - what is the price now?

Postby bluefete » May 24th, 2021, 4:22 pm

1 celery in Dollar Value

ScHoolboySoloQ

Postby ScHoolboySoloQ » May 24th, 2021, 4:27 pm

bluefete wrote:1 celery in Dollar Value

Who does go in the supermarket to buy 1 celery stick :?

I've never paid so much for a bag of pimentos lol where are you getting these images

Postby eliteauto » May 24th, 2021, 6:44 pm

Celery, pimento, in fact all seasoning is cheap right now in the market. If some shoppers feel the supermarket is the place to get their fruits and vegetables then by all means #teamspennyuhmorney

Postby De Dragon » May 25th, 2021, 8:45 pm

WTF is up with tomato prices? $25 a lb? :roll:
Here's the rub though, the foreign beefsteak tomato is $15-18, even the market guy/gal seemed perplexed/embarrassed by the local prices.

Postby timelapse » May 26th, 2021, 7:41 am

Dry season this year very hot.Tomatoes wilting on the plant.Combine that with the schizophrenic rainfall.Lettuce going up just now Grow your own from now.
De Dragon wrote:WTF is up with tomato prices? $25 a lb? :roll:
Here's the rub though, the foreign beefsteak tomato is $15-18, even the market guy/gal seemed perplexed/embarrassed by the local prices.