James Bond Theme Is Based On "A House For Mr. Biswas"!

Postby bluefete » January 15th, 2020, 8:33 pm

Zoom : You go like this. It have sitar and t'ing.

We like salt. We in everything.

This is not new but I do not know how many of us are aware of it.

There continues to be a big bacchanal over its origins between Monty Norman and John Barry.

(You can go straight to 2:21)

(You can go straight to 0:38)

Re: James Bond Theme Is Based On "A House For Mr. Biswas"!

Postby Rovin » January 15th, 2020, 9:06 pm

never come across this story but it is a nice piece of history there , like u say we trini in every ting

jes monday night listening to music in my car after tuning it [SQish bisnis] i played a collection of really old songs & 1 was d original james bond theme song by john barry .... what a coincidence though

Postby maj. tom » January 15th, 2020, 9:07 pm

I thought this was well known by both V.S. Naipaul and James Bond fans. It was never some "white-man movie industry stole it from the black-man" conspiracy either. It's written on both Wikipedia pages "James Bond Theme" and "A House for Mr Biswas", so it was never really a secret for those who looked it up.

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » January 15th, 2020, 11:10 pm

James bond : No time to die

Swear if the theme song ain't the Cutty Ranks then they missed an opportunity

Postby zoom rader » January 16th, 2020, 7:03 am

This is nutting new ,

Bond was always Injun

Postby Rovin » January 16th, 2020, 11:34 am

^^^ok uncle from d tv show "GOODNESS GRACIOUS ME" .... :lol:

Postby zoom rader » January 16th, 2020, 11:40 am

Rovin wrote:^^^ok uncle from d tv show "GOODNESS GRACIOUS ME" ....
Bond was always injun bia

He's wears a suit everywhere.

Think of it only an Indian will wear a white tux in the day
1527348309.jpeg
1527348309.jpeg (20.64 KiB) Viewed 1728 times

Postby Les Bain » January 16th, 2020, 1:53 pm

There was a line in one of the books where a black guy was feeling miserable in the cold weather and remarked "I rather be in Trinidad where it more warm."