Trinidad & Tobago Economic Outlook : 2020 Clarity - No dust or powder

Postby sMASH » January 17th, 2020, 8:18 pm

was gonna put this in the pt lisas thread, then the pnm thread, but i think this one could do with its own, at this time.

Re: Trinidad & Tobago Economic Outlook : 2020 Clarity - No dust or powder

Postby De Dragon » January 17th, 2020, 11:29 pm

"Dem have ah (UNC) agenda"

Postby zoom rader » January 18th, 2020, 7:09 am

Awaits the PNM bloggers to put spin

Postby sMASH » January 18th, 2020, 7:28 am

De Dragon wrote:"Dem have ah (UNC) agenda"
mariano browne has a "rowley" agenda.

Postby zoom rader » January 18th, 2020, 11:27 am

sMASH wrote:
De Dragon wrote:"Dem have ah (UNC) agenda"
mariano browne has a "rowley" agenda.
All citizens have a Rowlee agenda

Postby hydroep » January 18th, 2020, 3:21 pm

Very informative video there sMASH.

Never heard about "an internal devaluation" before, so I found that part of the discussion interesting:

Wikipedia wrote:Internal devaluation is an economic and social policy option whose aim is to restore the international competitiveness of some country mainly by reducing its labour costs – either wages or the indirect costs of employers

In so doing you can preserve/mitigate adjustments of the exchange rate. A noble goal to be sure but that has to be supported with policy adjustments across the board i.e. Monetary, fiscal and taxation in addition to labour so that workers don't get fcuked up the arse.

BUT...it would appear that Sh!tkickers and dem allowed widespread retrenchment to take place without making proper adjustments in other areas hence the ongoing turmoil in the labour market. Incidentally Dr. Hosein believes the current unemployment rate is closer to 12% and NOT the "official" 3.8% the Government is bandying about.

IMO a knock-on effect would be reduced demand for forex by a certain section of the population (i.e. those who lost their jobs, especially in the high-paying petroleum sector and downstream industries) thereby freeing-up availability for certain other mystery big fish.

Imagine you and yuh family get sacrificed so that extra-special people could continue to live large.

Grate is the Pee oN deM...:|

Postby zoom rader » January 18th, 2020, 4:04 pm

^^^ hope you all understand why I said that PNM created a fake recession and now it has backfired.

All yuh never want to listen me to but choose to hear Redman and elite talk crap.

I glad folks are now learning