Flash Over - paint car

Chris00007

Flash Over - paint car

Postby Chris00007 » January 19th, 2020, 1:49 pm

I have a Y12 Wingroad that has some minor faded spots and need some work to fix small cracks in the bumper. Does flashing over only correct paint or does this also include filling bumper cracks?

Someone quote me an average price for a flash over at a GOOD place in Debe/Penal area. Also on the average time this would take.

Again, I want GOOD work for a reasonable price because I know there are so much people that charge a lot for doing sh*t

Re: Flash Over - paint car

Postby Rovin » January 19th, 2020, 2:31 pm

ur last line says it all

it still doh mean u guaranteed get good work even if u go by a reputable place , ppl out here jes out to make quick $ on ppl , even if garage owner might be a good honest man : employees love to cut corners & hit u a 6 for a 9

if d garage allows u to come visit b4 they paint ur car : do that ... try to catch any sh1t b4 paint goes on cause after that u screwed

Postby rspann » January 19th, 2020, 3:27 pm

If you looking for cheap work, that's what you're going to get. What is minor fading? I guarantee if the paint is faded and you paint over it , the same thing is going to happen in weeks. You'll only get what you pay for. There are shops that will tape up parts to paint and that is also a short cut. If you want a good job, do it the right way.

mragoobir

Postby mragoobir » January 19th, 2020, 5:32 pm

Look for ah paintarr with ah mango tree in he yard dey usually give best price an good work

Postby Strugglerzinc » January 19th, 2020, 5:36 pm

Chris00007 wrote:I have a Y12 Wingroad that has some minor faded spots and need some work to fix small cracks in the bumper. Does flashing over only correct paint or does this also include filling bumper cracks?

Someone quote me an average price for a flash over at a GOOD place in Debe/Penal area. Also on the average time this would take.

Again, I want GOOD work for a reasonable price because I know there are so much people that charge a lot for doing sh*t

Based on my imagination and the fact that I identify as a painter, $1500 and 2 days, tops.

VII

Postby VII » January 19th, 2020, 6:55 pm

rspann wrote:If you looking for cheap work, that's what you're going to get. What is minor fading? I guarantee if the paint is faded and you paint over it , the same thing is going to happen in weeks. You'll only get what you pay for. There are shops that will tape up parts to paint and that is also a short cut. If you want a good job, do it the right way.

I know I would find you here.

De man put yuh in place..

Postby rspann » January 19th, 2020, 7:10 pm

Nah. You know how I does do it.

Off the gun. I'll put up pics when it buff.
Screenshot_20200119-190642.png
Screenshot_20200119-190652.png

Postby nervewrecker » January 19th, 2020, 8:22 pm

https://www.facebook.com/Roopchans-Ente ... 717483702/

painted my car.

Went to check on it a day just to see how things going and was like "where the eff is my car?"
The guy pointed "over there"
I said "where?"
he said "there"
I said "where"
he said "you're right next to it"

I was expecting to see a lil rub down and thing. I met a car in primer with a smooth as f**K finish. Bumper gone, gas tank lid gone, door handles etc gone, door strips gone, spoiler gone etc.

Came back to see what it looks like when painted. Was in awe, asked when can I pick up? he said well we not finish yet, it still have to buff and polish :shock: and it was looking fresh as f**k already eh.

The finished product in the pics. Gotta hand it to them, the colour is not an easy colour to piant much less capture in pics.

Another guy is Patesh Ramdass in Standard road, Fyzabad. Mofo dangerous yes. Just yesterday afternoon we talking in front a crashed navara. I saw the navara when it came in crashed. Right now it line up like it came out the firm and havent been painted yet. I inspected that with a fine tooth comb and cant find any kind of evidence it was in a crash the magnitude it was in.

703-1246
subaru.jpg
subaru1.jpg
subaru2.jpg
subaru3.jpg
subaru4.jpg

Postby nervewrecker » January 19th, 2020, 8:28 pm

Recent pic
IMG_20200112_144511.jpg

Postby rspann » January 19th, 2020, 8:41 pm

Roopchand ( and son )is borse.

Postby gastly369 » January 19th, 2020, 9:59 pm

Freshh
nervewrecker wrote:Recent pic
IMG_20200112_144511.jpg

Postby nervewrecker » January 19th, 2020, 11:01 pm

Found some pics.

I have to organise my pics yes.

Spann seems to know the guys that painted my ride and birds of a feather flock together so yuh know nah.
83488112_10157555196395225_691304561436000256_o.jpg
82699164_10157555196430225_6037107216392126464_o.jpg
82775277_10157555196415225_9087187488711114752_o.jpg
82838344_10157555196635225_6583675928323293184_o.jpg
82447137_10157555196685225_3503253674858119168_o.jpg

Postby Monk BANzai » January 19th, 2020, 11:56 pm

nervewrecker wrote:https://www.facebook.com/Roopchans-Enterprise-Ltd-1660830717483702/

painted my car.

Went to check on it a day just to see how things going and was like "where the eff is my car?"
The guy pointed "over there"
I said "where?"
he said "there"
I said "where"
he said "you're right next to it"

I was expecting to see a lil rub down and thing. I met a car in primer with a smooth as f**K finish. Bumper gone, gas tank lid gone, door handles etc gone, door strips gone, spoiler gone etc.

Came back to see what it looks like when painted. Was in awe, asked when can I pick up? he said well we not finish yet, it still have to buff and polish :shock: and it was looking fresh as f**k already eh.

The finished product in the pics. Gotta hand it to them, the colour is not an easy colour to piant much less capture in pics.

Another guy is Patesh Ramdass in Standard road, Fyzabad. Mofo dangerous yes. Just yesterday afternoon we talking in front a crashed navara. I saw the navara when it came in crashed. Right now it line up like it came out the firm and havent been painted yet. I inspected that with a fine tooth comb and cant find any kind of evidence it was in a crash the magnitude it was in.

703-1246

yuh call it there.... took my car there last year to do some work.. no long talk...dem fellas treating yuh like yuh is Royalty. Ain't concerned about IF you can pay...they do a thorough analysis of your car..quote a price and take it from there...you falling in line with their Insurance work and all...weekly updates via the Whatsapp... really professional..i'd recommend ANYone there..

When they say is Thursday come for yuh car..they really mean Wednesday..but want a day extra in case they see something ...

Extremely satisfied with them

agent007

Postby agent007 » January 20th, 2020, 12:06 am

Does he have a climate controlled paint booth?

Postby VexXx Dogg » January 20th, 2020, 9:07 am

Chris00007 wrote:I have a Y12 Wingroad that has some minor faded spots and need some work to fix small cracks in the bumper. Does flashing over only correct paint or does this also include filling bumper cracks?

Flash over implies tape and respray. They will not repair anything. Lucky to get a proper rubdown before, but it depends on what flavour mango yuh like

Anything involving correction, repair, welding, filler is a full on paint job and you will be quoted based on a number of things, from the type of paint, to the amout of work required.

A proper paintjob is about 8k up now, and that's the low side

Postby rspann » January 20th, 2020, 2:08 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:

Flash over implies tape and respray. They will not repair anything. Lucky to get a proper rubdown before, but it depends on what flavour mango yuh like

Anything involving correction, repair, welding, filler is a full on paint job and you will be quoted based on a number of things, from the type of paint, to the amout of work required.

Basically this sums it up . I usually charge from $15g -$30g for a paint job if it is to be done properly. I don't want to do anything and then problems after, because nobody will hear the story about what was asked for. They will only see the bad results and judge me by it.

Reamos DC5

Postby Reamos DC5 » February 21st, 2020, 7:25 pm

Spann,

Pm number please.

Postby RedVEVO » February 21st, 2020, 8:20 pm

Any paint job $15K or $30K is PURE greed ..

Ventura is the BEST in Trinidad !!

Postby gastly369 » February 22nd, 2020, 2:15 am

Each pc removed from car and painted separately... All my work goes to him..shows customer everything no hide up and cut corners... Did my previous car as well.. Pics are even before buffing
IMG_20200216_163826.jpeg
IMG_20200209_180423.jpeg
IMG_20200220_181315.jpeg

screwbash

Postby screwbash » February 22nd, 2020, 2:26 am

VexXx Dogg wrote:

yuh right, paint , tape, even sand paper and roll ah paper gone up drastically in the last few years, most ah dem small garage make a lil 2k on a wuk if so much and is real wuk and real duz plus paint fumes, so when a man charge 10/15k to paint a car yuh hadda remember the man hadda get material for your car and HSE equipment too and them ting not cheap anymore. i remember paying $15 for a roll ah paper enof for a car now is almost $60

Postby rspann » February 22nd, 2020, 6:11 am

$60? I will take ah hundred rolls. A roll is close to and over $200 now.

Postby rspann » February 22nd, 2020, 6:17 am

Man calling big garage name but don't even know that they more expensive than that. They start at well over $25g for a paint job. Plus the main painter learn from me. Ask for Roger when you go. That comment belongs in the sufferers thread.

Postby Rory Phoulorie » February 22nd, 2020, 11:21 am

RedVEVO wrote:^^

:| Repaired my car there last year. I wasn't really impressed at all. They even used a wrong part (for a lower grade model) in the repair.

screwbash

Postby screwbash » February 22nd, 2020, 11:24 am

rspann wrote:$60? I will take ah hundred rolls. A roll is close to and over $200 now.

didnt say a whole roll. the paint shop by my area duz have ends i suppose in varying prices. ah roll for $60 duz nuff unless yuh remove the paper after priming and retape after for final spraying. old newspaper duz cut the cost.

Postby skylinechild » February 22nd, 2020, 11:27 am

Rory Phoulorie wrote:
RedVEVO wrote:^^

:| Repaired my car there last year. I wasn't really impressed at all. They even used a wrong part (for a lower grade model) in the repair.

Rory... you should have told them !!

they did the same thing to our trax....

the rear reflector was actually a rear fog light ......
they claimed it was just a reflector and didnt want to change it

i got onto the sales agent in lifestyle...... and he was able to provide me a small video clip of another vehicle with the same light turning off and on in the daylight....

i sent it in to them and informed the relevant lifestlye ppl....
and in a few days they organize the correct part....and called me in to have it replaced.

no charge.

Postby skylinechild » February 22nd, 2020, 11:31 am

screwbash wrote:
rspann wrote:$60? I will take ah hundred rolls. A roll is close to and over $200 now.

didnt say a whole roll. the paint shop by my area duz have ends i suppose in varying prices. ah roll for $60 duz nuff unless yuh remove the paper after priming and retape after for final spraying. old newspaper duz cut the cost.

you not supposed to use old news paper bruh.... what happens is when you tape up and mask off a car with newspaper the solvents and paints etc when being sprayed onto the car -gets into the paper and dissolves the ink....and depending on how neat and tight your masking job is .....

the entire newspaper text is transferred onto the car :lol:

right now i have a paragraph under my bonnet i cud read out for you.... :lol:

you have to use the correct thing.... either use the proper paper... or buy the plastic wrap...

Postby rspann » February 22nd, 2020, 11:32 am

Champagne taste and mauby money does put people in trouble. Had one name K P come by me to paint a vehicle, I had to seize it to get paid. He marry a wealthy widow and get house in Valsayn. Now his grandchildren playin big shot on tuner.

Postby rspann » February 22nd, 2020, 11:43 am

All material gone sky high right now, once is good stuff. Some paints are over $700 per quart, I not talking specialized paints eh.

screwbash

Postby screwbash » February 22nd, 2020, 11:46 am

skylinechild wrote:
screwbash wrote:

you not supposed to use old news paper bruh.... what happens is when you tape up and mask off a car with newspaper the solvents and paints etc when being sprayed onto the car -gets into the paper and dissolves the ink....and depending on how neat and tight your masking job is .....

the entire newspaper text is transferred onto the car :lol:

right now i have a paragraph under my bonnet i cud read out for you.... :lol:

you have to use the correct thing.... either use the proper paper... or buy the plastic wrap...

it have men does come an wah car paint just to pass d inspection, dem aint care for the best looks dem wah best price. if everybody move proper with a real world price men go cyah eat, half loaf better dan no loaf. i send a man for a quote in one ah den side street in lower aranguez an man wah $500 to do a quote, ventura probably more, ABW must be d most expensive. it have a market for everyone and everyone cud eat.

Postby hydroep » February 22nd, 2020, 11:53 am

Cheap nor arse DIYer here...use newspaper all the time, never had a problem. I suppose it depends on how you spray...if you saturate the paper then it could cause problems.

What I do is double up so the second layer usually remains dry.

The biggest problem I've had is leaving the masking tape on too long. It gets dry and is like hell to get it off, even the 3M one...:|