COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

Re: Novel Coronavirus - “COVID 19”

Postby redmanjp » March 13th, 2020, 8:42 pm

Postby paid_influencer » March 13th, 2020, 8:45 pm

^hydro, dat is fake news. doh call dat number

https://www.facebook.com/photo/?fbid=1307434796131533

The Ministry press releases say there is no "hotline" for COVID19. They say to self-quarantine and call your nearest public health facility if you develop symptoms after traveling. They say to use Directory Assistance or the phone book to get numbers.
Last edited by paid_influencer on March 13th, 2020, 8:52 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby hydroep » March 13th, 2020, 8:51 pm

Postby paid_influencer » March 13th, 2020, 8:54 pm

hydroep wrote:
paid_influencer wrote:^hydro, dat is fake news. doh call dat number

Serious? That up on both CNC3 and Guardian websites...:lol:

https://www.cnc3.co.tt/swrha-sets-up-covid-19-hotline/

https://www.guardian.co.tt/news/swrha-sets-up-covid19-hotline-6.2.1078292.c49267660e

well this is a clusterfark. :drinking:

Postby Country_Bookie » March 13th, 2020, 9:02 pm

hydroep wrote:
paid_influencer wrote:^hydro, dat is fake news. doh call dat number

Serious? That up on both CNC3 and Guardian websites...

https://www.cnc3.co.tt/swrha-sets-up-covid-19-hotline/

https://www.guardian.co.tt/news/swrha-sets-up-covid19-hotline-6.2.1078292.c49267660e
Try calling the number and they'll tell u they're not a hotline.

Postby paid_influencer » March 13th, 2020, 9:09 pm

so there is no hotline and the health center receptionists do not know what to do with calls

hopefully somebody at the ministry has noticed this post

:drinking:

Novel Coronavirus - “COVID 19”

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » March 13th, 2020, 9:33 pm

Second confirmed Covid19 case in T&T

Postby K74T » March 13th, 2020, 9:33 pm

2nd confirmed case

IMG-20200313-WA0024.jpeg

Postby Strugglerzinc » March 13th, 2020, 9:38 pm

Is there some reason they refuse to say which areas these people from?

Postby matr1x » March 13th, 2020, 9:42 pm

Possible victimization and harrassment.

Pnm friggin dotish

Postby paid_influencer » March 13th, 2020, 9:55 pm

Strugglerzinc wrote:Is there some reason they refuse to say which areas these people from?

no good can come from that. The ones they are finding are the outliers, the tip of the iceberg. There are going to be many more cases out there they haven't found yet.

I'm more interested in how many days this guy was walking around shedding before they found him, and how many times the Minister of Health said "no corona in T&T" while this guy was coughing all over the place.

If they say this village or that village, people get false comfort. It could be everywhere and the Ministry knows it.
Last edited by paid_influencer on March 13th, 2020, 10:01 pm, edited 3 times in total.

triniterribletim

Re: Novel Coronavirus - “COVID 19” - 2 cases confirmed in T&T

Postby triniterribletim » March 13th, 2020, 9:55 pm

This is how it starts. One case, two cases and then before you know it, cases in the double and triple digits. We may already be there.

Postby pugboy » March 13th, 2020, 10:02 pm

Really dumb indeed, imagine a person who may have been in close contact with
Eg in bank, or merchant handling cash or credit card from them.

Emphasizes the need to be ultra careful with sanitizing hands after any interactions

Strugglerzinc wrote:Is there some reason they refuse to say which areas these people from?

Postby 16 cycles » March 13th, 2020, 10:03 pm

Will there be a global travel ban to and from countries that facilitate wet markets for wildlife?

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » March 13th, 2020, 10:09 pm

Imagine depending on the PNM at a time like this with an outbreak like this?

This is a government that will put the interest and well being of the 1% business profits above safety and health of citizens. The government is treating this like it is a joke, many are going to die because as of right now even in America and countless first world countries they are unable to contain it. PNM is 100 times more dotish so get ready to be infected.

It isn't a matter of if you will be infected but when, this was obvious when they refused to cancel carnival and shut down the borders.

At this point we are going to see just how far evolution in humans has come with regards to our immune system. Even then with healthy persons, you can still end up with liver damage with this virus. So how much of us have a bullet proof immune system? which of us will natural selection select to continue living and which will be dead or end up with permanent lung and liver damage?

Time to find out

Postby Gladiator » March 13th, 2020, 10:09 pm

triniterribletim wrote:This is how it starts. One case, two cases and then before you know it, cases in the double and triple digits. We may already be there.

Yeah... France and Spain was on 3 and 4 cases for weeks... watch them now!!!

SimSimmer69

Postby SimSimmer69 » March 13th, 2020, 10:15 pm

matr1x wrote:Possible victimization and harrassment.

Pnm friggin dotish

Are you retarded? Never mind, don't answer that.

Postby j.o.e » March 13th, 2020, 10:17 pm

paid_influencer wrote:

no good can come from that. The ones they are finding are the outliers, the tip of the iceberg. There are going to be many more cases out there they haven't found yet.

I'm more interested in how many days this guy was walking around shedding before they found him, and how many times the Minister of Health said "no corona in T&T" while this guy was coughing all over the place.

If they say this village or that village, people get false comfort. It could be everywhere and the Ministry knows it.

No confirmed cases is no confirmed cases, you wanted him to say it here with no evidence? That’s why hand washing was spoken of for weeks now because the possibility was always there.
Would love people like you to explain what was the alternative

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » March 13th, 2020, 10:18 pm

It has just been reported that America and Italy does NOT have enough hospital beds, ventilators, ICU units etc etc

Doctors will have to decide who will live and die due to shortage of equipment, now let us take Trinidad into consideration where NOTHING works in our hospitals and there are no beds even on a good day and all the machines always break down on a very good day.

What allyuh think going to happen? you can forget getting tested or trying to avoid this virus, it is a matter of how good our immune system is. If you have diabetes make sure your blood sugar is normal level and make sure you are NOT over 50 years old, the PNM being typical PNM will ensure a lot of us die due to their incompetence.

SimSimmer69

Postby SimSimmer69 » March 13th, 2020, 10:20 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:Imagine depending on the PNM at a time like this with an outbreak like this?

This is a government that will put the interest and well being of the 1% business profits above safety and health of citizens. The government is treating this like it is a joke, many are going to die because as of right now even in America and countless first world countries they are unable to contain it. PNM is 100 times more dotish so get ready to be infected.

It isn't a matter of if you will be infected but when, this was obvious when they refused to cancel carnival and shut down the borders.

At this point we are going to see just how far evolution in humans has come with regards to our immune system. Even then with healthy persons, you can still end up with liver damage with this virus. So how much of us have a bullet proof immune system? which of us will natural selection select to continue living and which will be dead or end up with permanent lung and liver damage?

Time to find out

You're a simpleton and unable to see life or anything for that matter without the lens of politics. People like you are the ones to be feared during times like these as you'd probably spread fake news and misinformation just because it suits your political agenda and small-mindedness. You need to grow up, think for yourself and learn to assess information like a smart human being.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » March 13th, 2020, 10:23 pm

This virus causes liver damage, I am a fan of the PNM believe it or not but their incompetence and hate for human life is actually something they are known for and is no secret of the PNM.

With that said here is a piece of advice, buy soap quick because in other countries it is becoming hard to find

Postby pugboy » March 13th, 2020, 10:31 pm

will be interesting how illegal venes will be treated if any found infected.
In us they saying for sure illegal Mexicans will not present themselves

Postby De Dragon » March 13th, 2020, 10:31 pm

j.o.e wrote:
paid_influencer wrote:

No confirmed cases is no confirmed cases, you wanted him to say it here with no evidence? That’s why hand washing was spoken of for weeks now because the possibility was always there.

You're extremely naïve. When a Government says no cases, and there are cases all up and down the islands, and Guyana, you know they're playing politics. This same imbecile Deyalsingh is quoted as saying we can't "afford" to ban travel from the US and UK at this time :shock: WTF!!!!!!!!!!! How much is the price we're willing to pay for an outbreak? Everyone in the world, including the US and the UK is banning travel from countries with outbreaks but apparently money can cure Covid-19 :roll:

Postby j.o.e » March 13th, 2020, 10:33 pm

SimSimmer69 wrote:
EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:Imagine depending on the PNM at a time like this with an outbreak like this?

Time to find out

You're a simpleton and unable to see life or anything for that matter without the lens of politics. People like you are the ones to be feared during times like these as you'd probably spread fake news and misinformation just because it suits your political agenda and small-mindedness. You need to grow up, think for yourself and learn to assess information like a smart human being.

Actually I’ve put no political spin on it. I’m asking what would you have done differently. You still haven’t said

ScHoolboySoloQ

Postby ScHoolboySoloQ » March 13th, 2020, 10:35 pm

"This government is prepared to handle the coronavirus" ~Dr. Keith Rowley and the PNM

WE SAFE ALLYUH!!!

Novel Coronavirus - “COVID 19” - 2 cases confirmed in T&T

Postby j.o.e » March 13th, 2020, 10:36 pm

j.o.e wrote:
paid_influencer wrote:

You're extremely naïve. When a Government says no cases, and there are cases all up and down the islands, and Guyana, you know they're playing politics. This same imbecile Deyalsingh is quoted as saying we can't "afford" to ban travel from the US and UK at this time WTF!!!!!!!!!!! How much is the price we're willing to pay for an outbreak? Everyone in the world, including the US and the UK is banning travel from countries with outbreaks but apparently money can cure Covid-19

We implemented travel restrictions on the first countries with outbreaks. China, Italy , Iran etc.
At what point would you have done it ?
I agree we should be closing off borders more as the situation develops.
We were in the very first group of countries to implement travel restrictions even before first world ones. We can always argue in hindsight what more can be done

Postby De Dragon » March 13th, 2020, 10:42 pm

j.o.e wrote:
paid_influencer wrote:

You're extremely naïve. When a Government says no cases, and there are cases all up and down the islands, and Guyana, you know they're playing politics. This same imbecile Deyalsingh is quoted as saying we can't "afford" to ban travel from the US and UK at this time :shock: WTF!!!!!!!!!!! How much is the price we're willing to pay for an outbreak? Everyone in the world, including the US and the UK is banning travel from countries with outbreaks but apparently money can cure Covid-19 :roll:

We implemented travel restrictions on the first countries with outbreaks. China, Italy , Iran etc.
We were in the very first group of countries to implement travel restrictions every first world ones. We can always argue in hindsight what more can be done

The US and the UK have zero cases? Which countries have more travellers to T&T?

Postby j.o.e » March 13th, 2020, 10:44 pm

j.o.e wrote:
paid_influencer wrote:

We were in the very first group of countries to implement travel restrictions every first world ones. We can always argue in hindsight what more can be done

Even the mighty US when they blocked Europeans left out UK. A lot tends to be at play in these decisions. World politics ain’t easy but I agree we should blank them. I suspect a lot has to do with trade relationships.

Miktay

Postby Miktay » March 13th, 2020, 10:58 pm

j.o.e wrote:
paid_influencer wrote:

Even the mighty US when they blocked Europeans left out UK. A lot tends to be at play in these decisions. World politics ain’t easy but I agree we should blank them. I suspect a lot has to do with trade relationships.

The English Channel and the Irish Sea separate Ireland and the UK from continental Europe.

The EU has open borders. There are thousands of immigrants massed on the Greek/Turkish border waiting to get into the EU as of this writing.

That’s another reason Trump banned EU travel. The EU has no control over its borders.

Postby sMASH » March 13th, 2020, 11:05 pm

uk brexited just in time.