COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

fokhan_96

Re: Novel Coronavirus - “COVID 19” - 9 cases confirmed in T&T

Postby fokhan_96 » March 21st, 2020, 8:20 am

Before this whole Covid19 thing, did anyone heard of CARPHA? What was their purpose before all this started?

death365

Postby death365 » March 21st, 2020, 8:28 am

Can some one explain to me.... In simple terms why we can go to the beach please

Postby pugboy » March 21st, 2020, 8:29 am

sent to or from ?
heard it was folks who developing symptoms and moved out to caura, could be wrong

may have to fix back the leper facilities down the islands soon

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Ahhh find allyuh quiet in here...how come nobody aint talking about the people who were sent to balandra late last night

Postby nemisis » March 21st, 2020, 8:32 am

Same reason you can't go caura, because only takes a few idiots to f$@k everything up. On a normal beach run you have to fight to find a somewhat uncrowded spot, imagine now that real children and adult home...
death365 wrote:Can some one explain to me.... In simple terms why we can go to the beach please

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » March 21st, 2020, 8:32 am

From the vids...it seems as though new persons were being sent...also heard that existing persons were being moved( those who showed symptoms)

death365

Postby death365 » March 21st, 2020, 8:37 am

OK... What if its u alone in manazanilla? How is that ah issue
nemisis wrote:Same reason you can't go caura, because only takes a few idiots to f$@k everything up. On a normal beach run you have to fight to find a somewhat uncrowded spot, imagine now that real children and adult home...
death365 wrote:Can some one explain to me.... In simple terms why we can go to the beach please

djruncrowd

Postby djruncrowd » March 21st, 2020, 8:54 am

QM wrote:
shaneelal wrote:Noticed at some places people lining up close together, good idea from UTC:

UNIT-TRUSYT-SOCIAL-DISTANCING-scaled.jpg

They should leave those floor stickers permanently...

Saw at Massy westmall they also have distancing markers on the floor in the cashiers aisle

bossmann

Postby bossmann » March 21st, 2020, 9:13 am

What happens when 100 of you use the same reasoning that is just you alone? Still just you alone?
death365 wrote:OK... What if its u alone in manazanilla? How is that ah issue
nemisis wrote:Same reason you can't go caura, because only takes a few idiots to f$@k everything up. On a normal beach run you have to fight to find a somewhat uncrowded spot, imagine now that real children and adult home...

carluva

Postby carluva » March 21st, 2020, 9:17 am

^^^^ common sense.

You see how common sense not always that common????

carluva

Postby carluva » March 21st, 2020, 9:20 am

What about those Trinis stranded in Margarita and on the cruise line in Argentina?

In these times, what would compel people to decide to travel on March 7 (as in the case of some people on that cruise in Argentina) and March 8 (as in the case of one person in Margarita)?

Again, common sense should have applied. If you lose you money, so be it. It's a smaller cost that what you are facing now....

Postby nemisis » March 21st, 2020, 9:21 am

Funny you don't realize prople like YOU is the reason they ban access

carluva

Postby carluva » March 21st, 2020, 9:24 am

Precisely. And people with similar attitudes will cause this place to go into further lockdown

Novel Coronavirus - “COVID 19” - 9 cases confirmed in T&T

Postby MaxPower » March 21st, 2020, 9:27 am

VII wrote:All these hopeless and pessimistic scenarios and we are doing just fine...the authorities are doing a damn good job, half the naysayers here couldn't contain and sanitize a sheit leak from their own sewer pipe.

We are doing well...get that in your thick skulls dimwits..we know allyuh sheit dont stink, allyuh just fulla it..

Go clean some ah allyuh stink yard nah and leave the people to do their jobs..allyuh always know how to do everything better ffs ..from petrochemicals to economics to pandemics..Geez..

Well i agree that Trinis cannot sanitize and their yard stink...its a culture thing.

But the authorities are doing a damn good job? Because thats what you gathered from a butterball press conference that have the whole country in a relaxed state? Whilst relaxation and non-panic is part of the objective, Trinidadians dont follow rules when they are relaxed, which is why after the very first press conference, Trinis continued their normal routine, even now they do not understand DO NOT CONGREGATE or social distancing. But yes, i agree in this instance with the authorities in closing bars due to much expected irresponsibility. Unfortunately, it affects, WE, the business community.

The health sector is the backbone in this global crisis. And for you to say that they are doing a damn good job...maybe you do not know what has happened and is continuing as we speak.

If these 9 cases were imported...how do you think they came in the country? Water taxi? Well this is my point VII. It doesnt matter how they enter the country, ANYONE arriving in THESE times must be scanned or quarantined. Ok fine, so the authorities have the temperature gun and everyone advised to self quarantine for 14 days...good luck with people complying to that

BUT...why is it at the airport, that the Port Health officials are inconsistent with using the temp gun for ALL arriving passengers including flight crew? Isnt this a potential loop hole? Do you have any idea what ONE infected passenger/crew member can do? Brudaman everywhere close eh so its only the supermarket they can go.

As per my previous question about flight crews not being quarantined. Good news VII, your authorities as of yesterday evening started to issues letters to flight crew to self quarantine for 14 days....fantastic as flight crews are of high risk, just as any arriving passenger.

But before you start your commending and applauding, are you aware that 3 CAL flights arrived early this morning and the flight crew was not advised to quarantine? So some quarantining and some not? What assness is that? Maybe that hour of the morning the PH officer give them a bligh? Maybe flight crew was given a special provision?

Remember the airline is in a state of near shutdown, and as we speak there is a shortage of crews because of 14 day quarantining. But hey, we need the crews so lets not quarantine all? This will help with schedule integrity but it is a risk to have flight crews in and out of the country coming in contact with their families and passengers. And we are doing just fine?

But hats off to your PH officers for the passed few days man. Out in full force with their little temp gun scanning all passengers. But you have an idea of passengers loads? Boi they light AF so they can scan everyone. Lets trot back to last week or the week before. Full flights, not all passengers can be scanned, the PH officer not there, the gun eh working.....utter incompetency in times when we need them the most.

Do your research....talk to your peeps in AATT and let them pull back the cameras, talk to your flight crew peeps and they will tell you not everyone is being quarantined.

Your Port Health authorities may be doing a “good job”, but they are failing in critical areas.

We cannot afford loopholes with Covid19.

Postby aaron17 » March 21st, 2020, 9:33 am

Imagine this scenario:

At the point that ppl was panic buying in pricesmart etc( no social distancing) when they thought the PM was gonna call an SOE, a person on that day within the crowd was not feeling well.

Postby MaxPower » March 21st, 2020, 9:33 am

Monkey see monkey do.

death365

Postby death365 » March 21st, 2020, 9:37 am

Mazan big enough for 100 times social distancing limit... U can have people 100 yards apart an u will need bout 500 persons to fill the stretch

Postby 88sins » March 21st, 2020, 9:49 am

death365 wrote:Mazan big enough for 100 times social distancing limit... U can have people 100 yards apart an u will need bout 500 persons to fill the stretch

I wouldn't risk it.
A few big sneeze and one bad breeze blow across the beach and God alone knows what might be the consequences.

randolphinshan

Postby randolphinshan » March 21st, 2020, 9:55 am

death365 wrote:Mazan big enough for 100 times social distancing limit... U can have people 100 yards apart an u will need bout 500 persons to fill the stretch

I wouldn't risk it.
A few big sneeze and one bad breeze blow across the beach and God alone knows what might be the consequences.

Let the fools go beach Reek, most of them served no useful purpose anyway

Postby aaron17 » March 21st, 2020, 9:56 am

Can someone give me details what is in the questionnaire for covid 19?

Postby hydroep » March 21st, 2020, 10:06 am

I understand the need for hand sanitizing buh at this rate just now I eh go have no fingerprints.

Sando market closed, several household/hardwares closed...place feeling like a Sunday.

Meh regular doubles vendor out. Most people buying and going, at no time did it have more than 5 customers standing around...:|

ST Auto

Postby ST Auto » March 21st, 2020, 10:20 am

MOH late with their 10am update

Postby bluefete » March 21st, 2020, 10:23 am

Went Tunapuna market yesterday. One entrance - you had to line up. They were restricting the number going in at any one time.

As you entered, you had to wash your hands with soap and water.

Exit by a different way.

Postby bluefete » March 21st, 2020, 10:24 am

ST Auto wrote:MOH late with their 10am update

Prolly due to the (alleged) spike in people very early this morning in the "countryside".

eKeith

Postby eKeith » March 21st, 2020, 10:25 am

Rebranded CAREC in Federation Park. They've been around for decades...
fokhan_96 wrote:Before this whole Covid19 thing, did anyone heard of CARPHA? What was their purpose before all this started?

Cantmis

Postby Cantmis » March 21st, 2020, 10:27 am

Postby bluefete » March 21st, 2020, 10:34 am

Looks at user name ... Shakes head ... Exits.

death365 wrote:Can some one explain to me.... In simple terms why we can go(?) to the beach please

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » March 21st, 2020, 10:36 am

bluefete wrote:

Prolly due to the (alleged) spike in people very early this morning in the "countryside".

They have another conference at 11am

Postby bluefete » March 21st, 2020, 10:38 am

Thanks for the update. Wifey siddown in front de TV waiting since 10 o'clock. LOL.

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:
bluefete wrote:

They have another conference at 11am

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » March 21st, 2020, 10:48 am

11 o clock for them is 1130

triniterribletim

Postby triniterribletim » March 21st, 2020, 10:52 am

carluva wrote:What about those Trinis stranded in Margarita and on the cruise line in Argentina?

In these times, what would compel people to decide to travel on March 7 (as in the case of some people on that cruise in Argentina) and March 8 (as in the case of one person in Margarita)?

Again, common sense should have applied. If you lose you money, so be it. It's a smaller cost that what you are facing now....

Can't do anything for them. They knew the risk and they decided to go. Airspace in those countries is closed and unless there is a direct agreement between governments for an evacuation plan, violating a closed airspace is usually seen as an act of war.