COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

Re: Novel Coronavirus - “COVID-19” - 101 cases, 6 deaths confirmed in T&T

Postby bluefete » April 4th, 2020, 1:46 pm

Good question. I do not know because I am inside for the past week.

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » April 4th, 2020, 1:47 pm

bluefete wrote:
Redress10 wrote:Chinese food still selling? People really can't cook for themselves? Even in these times?

Well, when yuh try and yuh bun de food - wha' yuh go do boy?

Yuh hadda fall back on de tried and tested.

I eh buying no food outside anytime soon boss. In normal times ppl does done be coughing near food farless for now. Nope...sorry

Postby 88sins » April 4th, 2020, 1:52 pm

So, no Sauce doubles. I not seeing the problem.

Safest food these days is the food yuh cook in yuh house.

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » April 4th, 2020, 1:55 pm

bluefete wrote:Good question. I do not know because I am inside for the past week.

Plenty people close on their own volition. Plenty food places started closing up to limit contact.

I don't agree with KFC etc opening but for every kfc location there are probably 10 doubles vendors. Who going to police doubles vendors now to make sure they not a covid risks? They going to be using tongs now when dealing with food? Ent they use to separate the barra with their hands most times. Eating doubles was never a hygienic practice to begin with. Men selling doubles by stink drain with flies buzzzing. If people want to still be buying food outside in these times then go brave.

Hear nah, trinis relll fxucking stink and dotish. Nastiness

Postby maj. tom » April 4th, 2020, 2:01 pm

aye aye aye!! the secret to a good doubles in Trinidad is an open stagnant cesspit drain next to it eh.

Postby Chimera » April 4th, 2020, 2:02 pm

Chinese restaurants have all been closed like 2 or 3 weeks now. Chinese groceries start to close up last week

Coppershot

Postby Coppershot » April 4th, 2020, 2:10 pm

Source: 60 Minutes Australia

Postby gastly369 » April 4th, 2020, 2:16 pm

Did I type anything specifying its Trinidad or say anything pertaining to the pic?

hustla_ambition101 wrote:
gastly369 wrote:.
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Ah go rest this here
IMG-20200404-WA0019.jpeg
Direct us to which part of Trinidad this is, where they use those stones for pavements.....or are you one of those who sees a pic on the internet and runs with it without facts

Postby Dave » April 4th, 2020, 2:17 pm

Curepe has no gyro,Chinese or doubles being sold. Only street food I saw was guy before spanky. Chinese groceries open and have sinks and soap installed in the front.

Postby adnj » April 4th, 2020, 2:26 pm

Postby MaxPower » April 4th, 2020, 2:41 pm

O the pic is KFC Grenada?

As is Trinis are not worst off.

Luck as i say again will save us, just as it saves us from natural disasters.

Trini ass too happy.

Just remember when allyuh vacation over, Imbert waiting to rest something on allyuh.

Enjoy.

Cantmis

Postby Cantmis » April 4th, 2020, 2:50 pm

I thought 9/11 was the worst thing to happen to the US!

Postby 88sins » April 4th, 2020, 3:10 pm

Curtms wrote:I thought 9/11 was the worst thing to happen to the US!

In the eyes of Americans, it was.
They believed so blindly the "America is the greatest most powerful country in the world" bulls#it, that attack on American soil shook them to their core because they were of the mistaken impression that nobody could attack American civilians on American soil, or would even dare do such a thing.

They took it VERY PERSONAL, still do, and always will.

DTAC

Postby DTAC » April 4th, 2020, 4:12 pm

103 now.

This Covid-19 batting like Lara.

Postby The_Honourable » April 4th, 2020, 4:16 pm

103 for 6

Postby hustla_ambition101 » April 4th, 2020, 4:30 pm

Redress10 wrote:
bluefete wrote:
Redress10 wrote:
bluefete wrote:1% hadda eat and de poor man hadda dead! Simple Economics.

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Ah go rest this here Image

WHO ban all street food. This is not a trinidad specific thing. Street food always seen as a greater risk for spreading diseases etc.

The dummies are the people who still lining up to buy those food in these times.

But Sauce was selling like take away restaurants. He was not selling on the street.

Roti shops close? I asking cause I really don't know. Most places in POS doing curbside pick up. Taking the order by the car and bringing the product to the car etc.
Some roti shops are open and they all have sinks outside to wash hands before entry.

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » April 4th, 2020, 4:37 pm

I thought only 1% eating place open?

Steups

Postby zoom rader » April 4th, 2020, 4:48 pm

Redress10 wrote:I thought only 1% eating place open?

Steups
That's what PNM wanted

Re: Novel Coronavirus - “COVID-19” - 103 cases, 6 deaths confirmed in T&T

Postby bluefete » April 4th, 2020, 4:50 pm

Okay, so I know the source is the DM but it does not change the facts. I also put a link to a tv station.

Where are my "jersey" doubters?

https://www.wagmtv.com/content/news/Sur ... 79891.html

https://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/articl ... bands.html

Surgeon General tells Americans how to make their own 'cloth face covering' by using an old T-shirt and rubber bands amid face mask shortage

The Surgeon General has instructed Americans on how to make their own 'cloth face covering' by using an old T-shirt and rubber bands, as the country is in the midst of a face mask shortage.

Dr. Jerome Adams says in 'a few easy steps' people can make their own personal protective equipment with items from around their homes, he explains in a CDC video released on Friday night.

Besides bandannas, scarves or towels, Dr. Adams said a T-shirt is a suitable option to help stay safe during the coronavirus crisis, as he demonstrated how to make the makeshift mask using a 'got naloxone' shirt, the drug used to revive opioid overdoses.

The DIY video comes after the CDC recommended that Americans wear non-medical cloth masks, as there is a shortage of face masks needed to protect doctors, nurses, first responders and others on the front lines after Americans rushed to scoop up personal protective equipment.

He demonstrated how to make the makeshift mask using a 'Got naloxone' shirt, the drug used to revive opioid overdoses

Besides bandannas, scarves or towels, Dr Adams said a T-shirt is another suitable option to keep safe during the coronavirus crisis

The video comes after the CDC recommended that Americans wear non-medical cloth masks, as there is a shortage of face masks needed to protect doctors, nurses, first responders and others on the front lines after Americans rushed to scoop up personal protective equipment

President Trump said he probably wouldn't be following the guidelines at his Friday press briefing.

Trump stressed it wasn't a mandate, saying: 'So it's voluntary, you don't have to be doing it. This is voluntary, I don't think I'm going to be doing it.'

Minutes later, first lady Melania Trump tweeted that Americans should take mask-wearing seriously.

'As the weekend approaches I ask that everyone take social distancing & wearing a mask/face covering seriously,' she tweeted from her FLOTUS account. '#COVID19 is a virus that can spread to anyone - we can stop this together.'

But the president suggested it might make him look foolish as he communicated with world leaders.

'I'm feeling good,' Trump said when asked why he wouldn't sport face-wear.

'Somehow sitting in the Oval Office, sitting behind that beautiful Resolute Desk, the great Resolute Desk, I think wearing a face mask as I greet presidents, prime ministers, dictators, kings, queens, I don't know, I just don't see it for myself,' Trump said.

For days, top experts, including members of Trump's coronavirus taskforce said they were debating whether or not to put out a mask recommendation.

Dr. Adams also spoke at the briefing, adding: 'Remember this is all about me protecting you and you protecting me.

'And if people voluntarily choose to wear a face covering they're wearing it to protect their neighbors from getting coronavirus because they could have asymptomatic spread.'

For days, Trump suggested that Americans could simply wear scarves to get by.

But on Friday he said the CDC was putting out the new recommendation for masks.

'From recent studies we know that transmissions from individuals without symptoms is playing a more significant role in the spread of the virus than previously understood, so you don't seem to have symptoms and it still gets transferred,' the president explained.

'In light of these studies the CDC is advising the sue of non-medical cloth face covering as an additional voluntary public health measure,' he said.

Dr. Adams also spoke at the briefing, adding: 'Remember this is all about me protecting you and you protecting me.

'And if people voluntarily choose to wear a face covering they're wearing it to protect their neighbors from getting coronavirus because they could have asymptomatic spread.'

For days, Trump suggested that Americans could simply wear scarves to get by.

But on Friday he said the CDC was putting out the new recommendation for masks.

'From recent studies we know that transmissions from individuals without symptoms is playing a more significant role in the spread of the virus than previously understood, so you don't seem to have symptoms and it still gets transferred,' the president explained.

'In light of these studies the CDC is advising the sue of non-medical cloth face covering as an additional voluntary public health measure,' he said.

The president urged Americans not to wear medical-grade masks and instead could make masks from fabric at home

he president suggested cloth or fabric masks that could be ordered online or made at home.

They should also be able to be washed.

'I want to emphasize that the CDC is not recommending the use of medical grade or surgical grade masks and we want that to be used for our great medical people that are working so hard and doing some job,' the president said.

Trump also said that mask-wearing did not replace the social distancing guidelines the government already put out, including standing six feet apart and 'practicing hand hygiene' as the president put it.

'Again, we're all going to come back together here,' he assured the American people.

But then reiterated he wouldn't be caught wearing a mask.

'I'm choosing not to do it,' the president said.

https://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/articl ... bands.html

Postby redmanjp » April 4th, 2020, 5:06 pm

Curtms wrote:I thought 9/11 was the worst thing to happen to the US!

yeah this is like 100 9/11s Oh and this is even with extreme measures taken!

without that it could have been 1-2 million! :shock: :shock:

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 4th, 2020, 6:17 pm

Citizens still not complying

Novel Coronavirus - “COVID-19” - 103 cases, 6 deaths confirmed in T&T

Postby MaxPower » April 4th, 2020, 6:30 pm

Why would citizens comply?

The country is not under lockdown, so why bother?

Why care?

The Govt does not want an SOE to “inconvenience” the animals of T&T?? This is global pandemic and there is no room for convenience with like, rather and prefer.

These are the same people that are causing the numbers to go up. These are the same people that stress out the same people allyuh want to salute on the 9th April.

The country has proven to be uncooperative and the Govt should make a more aggressive stand.

They have given the failed citizens of T&T too much leeway and leniency.

Shut the country down.

DTAC

Postby DTAC » April 4th, 2020, 6:43 pm

The government doesn't want to cause a "panic "so in typical Trini sytle it's replaced with complacency. But once the number of infected starts to accelerate past the point where the MOH can't let the number climb in dribs and drabs and the death toll starts to shoot up because of "complacency-spread" then Trinis will begin to realise it's not everybody elses problem and mass hysteria will ensue.

Postby sMASH » April 4th, 2020, 6:45 pm

blame the citizens.

kfc remains open.

Postby Redman » April 4th, 2020, 6:54 pm

If an SOE is called...what we doing with people that break curfew?

Throw them in jail?

Postby toyolink » April 4th, 2020, 7:15 pm

A SOE may be quite possible if citizens disregard the rules to give our country a chance to mitigate and control this virus.
What we must be clear about is that the SOE which will be required and the level of restrictions to facilitate 'stay at home' directives may very well mean living under conditions which would make our last SOE look like a joke.
Maybe the Govt needs to advise what exactly this option may look like.
A 24 hr curfew is nothing like a 6pm-6am curfew.

Postby MaxPower » April 4th, 2020, 7:19 pm

Redman wrote:If an SOE is called...what we doing with people that break curfew?

Throw them in jail?

Hello Redman,

Good question.

The TTPS/DF by all means must take a violent approach. You really need one or two examples to be made and Trinis get the point. Trinis love to play bad, but when licks start to share, they scatter like cockroaches. For the wanna be “badmen”, monkey know which tree to climb.

Remember they were planning to release some criminals? Well then we have space for those in breach of the curfew. If not, we can use the Brian Lara Stadium.

Trinis done panic/hoard buy already, so now is a good time to call the SOE. We dont want to hear no whining and crying. This is serious and only for a short period of time.

Like Trinis dont understand that they have the power to decide when they want things to normalize by just following simple simple instructions.

Stop dhicking around Keith.

ScHoolboySoloQ

Postby ScHoolboySoloQ » April 4th, 2020, 7:19 pm

Only citizens in PNM areas not complying. Now do you see how politics plays a part in this?

I spann

Postby I spann » April 4th, 2020, 7:19 pm

5430f461-f53b-47b7-bab5-0151db9a9965.jpg

Postby zoom rader » April 4th, 2020, 7:26 pm

ScHoolboySoloQ wrote:Only citizens in PNM areas not complying. Now do you see how politics plays a part in this?
Injun easy to run down and beat