COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

Redress10

Re: Novel Coronavirus - “COVID-19” - 104 cases, 7 deaths confirmed in T&T

Postby Redress10 » April 5th, 2020, 11:50 am

MaxPower wrote:Imagine doubles people seeking legal action. LMFAO

what is wrong with allyuh dotish AF Trinidadians?

Dont you illiterates realize that HAD you ALL complied with the initial plea from the Govt......DO NOT CONGREGATE....none of these semi-shut down measures would have been in effect.

So dont blame the UNC, PNM, prestige holdings bla bla bla for your ignorance.

The beat up is rather pleasurable.

We living amongst dunces bro. Can't even comply with a basic order for 14 days. 14 days ent even up as yet and ppl already complaining. KFC vs doubles..that is the fcuking argument today.

KFC is an establishment with a set opening and closing time. Ent if you are a frontline worker and need food wouldn't it always be easier to run to ya nearest fast food franchise because yuh cud be sure they open? If the doubles man sick he eh coming out.

Alluh want them to shut dowm all those establishments and pay their workers unemployment relief? Which one you rather the gov't compensate? The few doubles vendors or the couple thousand fast food workers?

Re: Novel Coronavirus - “COVID-19” - 103 cases, 6 deaths confirmed in T&T

Postby The_Honourable » April 5th, 2020, 11:50 am

Redman wrote:
The_Honourable wrote:
Redman wrote:If an SOE is called...what we doing with people that break curfew?

Throw them in jail?

Like yuh want them go Hyatt.

Either serve jail or get fined a 10k or more. If you are covid+ and breaking quarantine, 50k.

As Max say, after some examples made and pockets get touch, people will fall in line.

An SOE would mean processing the idiots through the system....increasing the volumes you trying to reduce.
Also it will bring the virus into the prison system.

Then after the fact everyone who get sick or dead will sue the state.

Unless we cutting their ass on the spot...I think the SOE is more problematic than its worth

Agree with you. You get fined and if you can't pay after 2-3 months, jail. If you are a repeat offender, fine and jail one time.

Examples have to be made.

rexsmith

Postby rexsmith » April 5th, 2020, 11:57 am

we still to peak

Postby paid_influencer » April 5th, 2020, 12:05 pm

question: what does 'peak' mean?

Is it when number of recoveries exceeds the number of new cases (the "peak" in a graph of active cases, which usually follows a parabolic curve)?

or is it the point of highest rate of new cases (i.e., the steepest point in the S-curve of total cases)?

Re: Novel Coronavirus - “COVID-19” - 100 cases, 6 deaths confirmed in T&T

Postby shogun » April 5th, 2020, 12:08 pm

redmanjp wrote:i have to do it all- high risk ppl in the house

Damn. Better safe than sorry, bro.

How many people we talkin' about?

Postby j.o.e » April 5th, 2020, 12:12 pm

Lou Screuz wrote:
paid_influencer wrote:We have this situation where people are abiding by the law and still being shut down by nebulous criteria from law enforcement.

It is a legitimate gripe.

i not calling names so don't say i pohlitisizin d issue

but it had certain people

who was more concerned with stage in the sea and playing dress up in ghama

than drafting and hashing out the legislation to PROTECT people during this crisis and the next

that is why the first time the average man see any real action about this was the second week of MARCH

and that is why we are where we are

nothing to protect the tenants. nothing to protect the landlords

one rule for we and we friend and one rule for you

you cannot manage a crisis so

We started travel restrictions on Jan 30th before many first world countries...... no response is perfect but it was not later than the general world. Most of our issues stem from returning citizens who shouldn’t have travelled in the first place.

Postby MaxPower » April 5th, 2020, 12:17 pm

Redress10 wrote:

Dont you illiterates realize that HAD you ALL complied with the initial plea from the Govt......DO NOT CONGREGATE....none of these semi-shut down measures would have been in effect.

We living amongst dunces bro. Can't even comply with a basic order for 14 days. 14 days ent even up as yet and ppl already complaining. KFC vs doubles..that is the fcuking argument today.

KFC is an establishment with a set opening and closing time. Ent if you are a frontline worker and need food wouldn't it always be easier to run to ya nearest fast food franchise because yuh cud be sure they open? If the doubles man sick he eh coming out.

Alluh want them to shut dowm all those establishments and pay their workers unemployment relief? Which one you rather the gov't compensate? The few doubles vendors or the couple thousand fast food workers?

Hello Redress10,

There are no words to disagree with your statements, i like it.

Postby adnj » April 5th, 2020, 12:54 pm

paid_influencer wrote:question: what does 'peak' mean?

Is it when number of recoveries exceeds the number of new cases (the "peak" in a graph of active cases, which usually follows a parabolic curve)?

or is it the point of highest rate of new cases (i.e., the steepest point in the S-curve of total cases)?

Is this rhetorical? If not, it's the peak of the binomial bell curve. When the number of new cases per unit time is in steady decline.

If you are looking at the cumulative S-curve, it's the point where the slope begins to decrease.

Postby De Dragon » April 5th, 2020, 1:37 pm

Redman wrote:
rspann wrote:I don't even get why the fuss about who getting to sell and who getting closed down. With this disease in full swing ,who really want to eat outside and risk getting infected ? Even the paper the doubles wrapped in and the KFC box are potential sources .

Cuz whiners need to whiners.

:?
No, people who have had their businesses shut down for close to a month now, (and now doubles/pie whatever vendors) with the resultant loss of employment for their staff need to know why their businesses have to close while the more crowded establishments like KFC, Starbucks, Pizza Hut etc. continue to operate.
Couple this with the Minister of Labour seeming not to know what the F*ck is going on with the unemployment relief, it is, or should be, understandable that people have questions.

As I said.

As I said, you are an illiterate and uncaring tool. I have no skin in this doubles game, but if to fools like you, people questioning their future livelihood is "whining" then I'll continue to "whine" with or without your unnecessary permission.

Postby De Dragon » April 5th, 2020, 1:41 pm

Redress10 wrote:

Hello Redress10,

There are no words to disagree with your statements, i like it.

Of course you would! :lol: :lol:

Postby paid_influencer » April 5th, 2020, 2:08 pm

adnj wrote:Is this rhetorical? If not, it's the peak of the binomial bell curve. When the number of new cases per unit time is in steady decline.

If you are looking at the cumulative S-curve, it's the point where the slope begins to decrease.

It isn't rhetorical. Not quite sure what people are thinking about when they talk about "peaking"

there are two different curves, one for the number of active cases and another for the number of confirmed cases .

The curve for the number of active cases is what we are looking at when we talk about "flattening the curve" to stay within the limits of our health care system. That curve will peak once the balandra group starts going home in the next few days.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 5th, 2020, 2:24 pm

MINISTRY ADVISES TO WEAR MASKS

It's official. The Health Ministry is now recommending that people wear masks when out in public.

In a statement on Sunday afternoon, the Ministry said that based on ongoing local and international research into the spread and treatment of COVID-19, it continuously updates its public health protocols as new scientific evidence emerges.

One significant recent development has been the recommendation from the Centres for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) supporting “wearing cloth face coverings in public settings”.

In this regard, the Ministry of Health advises the general population that, once they are out in public. cloth masks (including homemade masks) should be used as a part of the full range of personal protection measures that should be adopted to reduce the spread of COVID-19.

It should be noted that cloth masks are recommended for use by the public. As previously stated, surgical masks and N95 masks should be left for use by health care workers.

The Chief Medical Officer, Dr Roshan Parasram, advised the public of this development during the Ministry of Health’s virtual media conference on Saturday 4th April, 2020.

The public is therefore advised of the following guidelines for the use of masks:

• Persons should wear masks once they go out in public

• Persons must also follow all the other personal protection guidelines:

o Stay at home

o Wash your hands properly with soap and water or use an alcohol-based hand sanitizer

o Cover your coughs

o Avoid touching your face

o Avoid close contact with people who are ill

o Sanitize surfaces that are touched often

o Practice social distancing.

The use of a mask alone will not reduce the risk of getting COVID-19.

• Cloth masks (including homemade masks) are recommended for use by the public. Surgical masks and N95 masks are reserved for use by healthcare workers

• The wearing of masks is highly recommended in areas of high foot traffic (e.g. supermarkets, pharmacies, hardware stores, banks)

• Persons must follow the recommended procedures for the use of masks, including sanitizing hands before putting on and after removing masks. Cloth masks should also be washed and dried thoroughly before re-use.

When to wear masks at home

The public is also advised that the consistent use of masks at home is recommended for every member of the household in the following instances,:

o If a family member believes that they have been exposed to COVID-19

o If someone in the home has COVID-19 symptoms.

https://trinidadexpress.com/newsextra/w ... 31427.html

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » April 5th, 2020, 2:31 pm

Another raj who found in essential to open his rumshop...dam jackarse
IMG-20200405-WA0077.jpg

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 5th, 2020, 2:39 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Another raj who found in essential to open his rumshop...dam jackarse

where's the story?

ST Auto

Postby ST Auto » April 5th, 2020, 2:47 pm

Where yuh mask
IMG-20200405-WA0057.jpeg
IMG-20200405-WA0056.jpeg
IMG-20200405-WA0055.jpeg
IMG-20200405-WA0054.jpeg

Postby MaxPower » April 5th, 2020, 3:07 pm

Respectfully Not signing that sheit bro sorry

The citizens had their opportunity to make it right, and they failed to comply.

T&T is in this position because of the irresponsible actions of Trinidadians. Dunno why they beating up now when they getting wine on.

Its like ppl looking for reasons to venture outside.

Stay home.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » April 5th, 2020, 3:12 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Another raj who found in essential to open his rumshop...dam jackarse

where's the story?

April 5th, 2020
MEDIA RELEASE

Third Bar Owner Charged with Breaching COVID-19 Regulations

A third bar owner has been charged with breaching the Public Health Ordinance Regulations.

Tamashraj Ramkissoon, of Arena Road, Freeport was arrested and charged after police reportedly found his premises open and sales being conducted on Saturday 4th April 2020.

Around 11.10 am on April 4th, 2020, officers of the Freeport CID were on patrol along the Arena Road, Freeport, when they observed Tom's Bar and Liquor Mart opened and persons exiting the premises with alcoholic beverages. The officers inquired from the proprietor who presented a Spirit Retailers Licence under the Liquor Licence Act, Chapter 84:10.

The owner was warned that as a result of regulation 3 (1)(a) and 6 of the Public Health [2019 Novel Coronavirus (2019-nCov)] (No.6) Regulations, 2020, he was to desist from operating his business for the period of time specified under Regulation 6. The Police officers then left.

The police officers returned around 11:55 am and observed a man leaving the same premises with alcoholic beverages. They inquired as to where he purchased the said items and he indicated it was done at Tom's Bar and Liquor Mart.

The police officers entered the said establishment and informed the owner of the offence of conducting a business namely a bar during the period specified under the Regulations and arrested him.

Ramkissoon was granted bail in the sum of $25,000 at the Freeport Police Station and will appear before the Couva Magistrates' Court on Thursday 4th June, 2020.
Ramkissoon was the third Bar owner to be charged for breaching the Regulations during the COVID-19 crisis. Daryl Sirju, was arrested on March 27 for operating his bar along the Southern Main Road, California. On March 30th, Ernest Todd was arrested and charged for operating Larry's Bar at Dow Village, California. These cases are pending in court.

Corporate Communications Unit
April 5th, 2020

Postby hustla_ambition101 » April 5th, 2020, 3:14 pm

T&T is in this position because of the irresponsible actions of Trinidadians. Dunno why they beating up now when they getting wine on.

Stay home.
Simple as this. People just looking for any blasted excuse to be outside. When it really starts to spread like wildfire and the elderly start to drop like flies then they will see how serious this thing is.

ST Auto

Postby ST Auto » April 5th, 2020, 3:20 pm

Two elderly persons who are family tested positive for the virus. No travel history however their neighbor was tested positive a few days before.

Postby sMASH » April 5th, 2020, 3:23 pm

the kfc worker that handles the money handles the fries and meat..
most doubles people have a separate person to handle the food, and the person handlng the money might hand u the bag.

Postby De Dragon » April 5th, 2020, 3:37 pm

sMASH wrote:the kfc worker that handles the money handles the fries and meat..
most doubles people have a separate person to handle the food, and the person handlng the money might hand u the bag.

Elitist wanna bes like Red Plastic Bag and Redress seem to feel otherwise, heck one even advocated discrimination because of the numbers employed by KFC etc.!

Postby bluefete » April 5th, 2020, 3:38 pm

One Month Too Late. But still better late than never.

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:MINISTRY ADVISES TO WEAR MASKS

It's official. The Health Ministry is now recommending that people wear masks when out in public.

In a statement on Sunday afternoon, the Ministry said that based on ongoing local and international research into the spread and treatment of COVID-19, it continuously updates its public health protocols as new scientific evidence emerges.

One significant recent development has been the recommendation from the Centres for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) supporting “wearing cloth face coverings in public settings”.

In this regard, the Ministry of Health advises the general population that, once they are out in public. cloth masks (including homemade masks) should be used as a part of the full range of personal protection measures that should be adopted to reduce the spread of COVID-19.

It should be noted that cloth masks are recommended for use by the public. As previously stated, surgical masks and N95 masks should be left for use by health care workers.

The Chief Medical Officer, Dr Roshan Parasram, advised the public of this development during the Ministry of Health’s virtual media conference on Saturday 4th April, 2020.

The public is therefore advised of the following guidelines for the use of masks:

• Persons should wear masks once they go out in public

• Persons must also follow all the other personal protection guidelines:

o Stay at home

o Wash your hands properly with soap and water or use an alcohol-based hand sanitizer

o Cover your coughs

o Avoid touching your face

o Avoid close contact with people who are ill

o Sanitize surfaces that are touched often

o Practice social distancing.

The use of a mask alone will not reduce the risk of getting COVID-19.

• Cloth masks (including homemade masks) are recommended for use by the public. Surgical masks and N95 masks are reserved for use by healthcare workers

• The wearing of masks is highly recommended in areas of high foot traffic (e.g. supermarkets, pharmacies, hardware stores, banks)

• Persons must follow the recommended procedures for the use of masks, including sanitizing hands before putting on and after removing masks. Cloth masks should also be washed and dried thoroughly before re-use.

When to wear masks at home

The public is also advised that the consistent use of masks at home is recommended for every member of the household in the following instances,:

o If a family member believes that they have been exposed to COVID-19

o If someone in the home has COVID-19 symptoms.

https://trinidadexpress.com/newsextra/w ... 31427.html

Postby bluefete » April 5th, 2020, 3:41 pm

WHO Report on C-19 in China (16- 24 February 2020).

Pg.8 of the report: "Covid-19 is transmitted via droplets and fomites during close unprotected contact between an infector and infectee."

https://www.who.int/docs/default-source ... report.pdf

Postby paid_influencer » April 5th, 2020, 3:44 pm

question: is a Spirit Retailers Licence the same thing as a bar license?

Postby Redman » April 5th, 2020, 3:50 pm

Redman wrote:
rspann wrote:I don't even get why the fuss about who getting to sell and who getting closed down. With this disease in full swing ,who really want to eat outside and risk getting infected ? Even the paper the doubles wrapped in and the KFC box are potential sources .

Cuz whiners need to whiners.

:?
No, people who have had their businesses shut down for close to a month now, (and now doubles/pie whatever vendors) with the resultant loss of employment for their staff need to know why their businesses have to close while the more crowded establishments like KFC, Starbucks, Pizza Hut etc. continue to operate.
Couple this with the Minister of Labour seeming not to know what the F*ck is going on with the unemployment relief, it is, or should be, understandable that people have questions.

As I said.

As I said, you are an illiterate and uncaring tool. I have no skin in this doubles game, but if to fools like you, people questioning their future livelihood is "whining" then I'll continue to "whine" with or without your unnecessary permission.

Illiterate obviously is the wrong word.You should look it up.
But your whining continues to prove the point.

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » April 5th, 2020, 4:12 pm

Stay home.

They rell fighting down KFC but saying nothing about Hosein's and Patraj still selling roti.

Dangerous people....dangerous agendas

Postby K74T » April 5th, 2020, 4:13 pm

As of 4 PM:

FB_IMG_1586117550878.jpeg

Postby nemisis » April 5th, 2020, 4:15 pm

Haven't been to a kfc in a bit but don't they have a dedicated cashier and a screen by the food pack area which shows their box staff what's been ordered?. Where you going that have cashier packing as well? Then again alluh fellas does look to go to the nastiest places on a norm....
sMASH wrote:the kfc worker that handles the money handles the fries and meat..