COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

ST Auto

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 153 cases, 8 deaths, 128 discharged in T&T

Postby ST Auto » July 28th, 2020, 5:15 pm

Rumour in rumourville - 1 case in Claxton bay health center

Postby matr1x » July 28th, 2020, 5:48 pm

matr1x wrote:Also, whey they getting money to go private????

Slim,

Quite a substantial number of Venes are doing very well.

I wont say from rags to riches, but they have really put in the work and many can afford private services.

Let it be known, the many businesses are paying Venezuelans more than they would have paid locals.

What you are saying is very serious. If they are really businesses doing this, it's time for action.

Postby K74T » July 28th, 2020, 6:17 pm

154 now
FB_IMG_1595974602481.jpeg

ST Auto

Postby ST Auto » July 28th, 2020, 6:31 pm

All them primary contacts that gona test positive going to have primary contacts as well. Ripple effect

Postby gastly369 » July 28th, 2020, 6:34 pm

Ohgorrrr allyuh study more important ting nah like where yuh putting yr left foot or right foot

https://www.instagram.com/p/CDM1_wxDrdN/?igshid=1gxl3wm5x5rje

Postby paid_influencer » July 28th, 2020, 6:44 pm

this is madness.

lock down NOW before this thing get out of hand

Penguin

Postby Penguin » July 28th, 2020, 7:01 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:Just to show what kind of situation we can be in if we don't lockdown.

Look at Palm Beach Country in FL, they have roughly the same population size as us and look at the number of cases they're having right now.

Wow.

This is absolutely frightening especially as this isn't even close to over in Florida.

I can't imagine us having even 10k cases and 200 deaths, that alone is scary enough.

Postby MaxPower » July 28th, 2020, 7:13 pm

matr1x wrote:
matr1x wrote:Also, whey they getting money to go private????

Slim,

Quite a substantial number of Venes are doing very well.

I wont say from rags to riches, but they have really put in the work and many can afford private services.

Let it be known, the many businesses are paying Venezuelans more than they would have paid locals.

What you are saying is very serious. If they are really businesses doing this, it's time for action.

Slim,

There is absolutely nothing wrong with Venezuelans being paid more than locals. Absolutely nada.

Why not pay people more for reaching to work on time, a willingness to learn, a positive and ambitious attitude?

Anyways, its time for action you say?

Big man you and I cannot be arguing about Vene and Trini petty matters.

The priority right now is for us to wear our masks, social distance, be meticulously hygienic and stay home when and where possible.

Allyuh could lose control of this very easily eh.

You Trinis and you Trinis alone have the power to flatten the curve.

No Trini should be tested positive for Covid 19.

jsali

Postby jsali » July 28th, 2020, 7:57 pm

I think it was a documentary I heard this... "good" testing is 25 out of every 1000.

We're a bit far from 34,750 tests.

ST Auto

Postby ST Auto » July 28th, 2020, 8:00 pm

St Augustine south primary school close.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » July 28th, 2020, 8:09 pm

Confirmation on another school
IMG-20200728-WA0279.jpg

Postby pugboy » July 28th, 2020, 8:15 pm

spread getting wider

Postby Dave » July 28th, 2020, 8:22 pm

It wasn't frightening before, now it is!

Postby sMASH » July 28th, 2020, 8:24 pm

iT nOw BeInG dEtEcTed.
it was already spreading since carnival, but our testing was very exclusionary and sparse. now that the sample size is growing, the testing is starting to become more representative.
the problem is, it was so long since this thing here, more peopel should have gotten it and gotten over it.
they had it already, but dont now.

so the antibody testing the govt want to start, would give a better picture of how much people it actually had touched.

Postby pugboy » July 28th, 2020, 8:27 pm

assuming they giving the antibody test freely and not stingy like with the current pcr test
and also if folks willing to go in and get stuck by a needle

sMASH wrote:iT nOw BeInG dEtEcTed.
it was already spreading since carnival, but our testing was very exclusionary and sparse. now that the sample size is growing, the testing is starting to become more representative.
the problem is, it was so long since this thing here, more peopel should have gotten it and gotten over it.
they had it already, but dont now.

so the antibody testing the govt want to start, would give a better picture of how much people it actually had touched.

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 154 cases, 8 deaths, 128 discharged in T&T

Postby bluefete » July 28th, 2020, 8:36 pm

If children continue to get C-19 and have to be quarantined, how will some of them be able to write SEA?

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » July 28th, 2020, 8:49 pm

Garcia say SEA as normal.....that 20mil for them teachers have to use up nuh...elections driving decisions atm

Postby sMASH » July 28th, 2020, 8:59 pm

^^ hardest ting, teachersi met were against coming out now, due to not having a grasp on covid. extra pay or not.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » July 28th, 2020, 9:03 pm

This one coming from deep inside...next place that might get lockdown in national quarries in Grande

Penguin

Postby Penguin » July 28th, 2020, 9:04 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:This one coming from deep inside...next place that might get lockdown in national quarries in Grande

New case or primary contact works there?

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » July 28th, 2020, 9:07 pm

Penguin wrote:
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:This one coming from deep inside...next place that might get lockdown in national quarries in Grande

New case or primary contact works there?

Primary contact works there and rumors indicate a person tested + there.

Postby pugboy » July 28th, 2020, 9:16 pm

hope no contact with all them truckers from around the country

abducted

Postby abducted » July 28th, 2020, 9:26 pm

15cade65-e23b-441e-87b8-2d06508f607d.jpg

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » July 28th, 2020, 9:32 pm

pugboy wrote:hope no contact with all them truckers from around the country

This is the troubling part

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » July 28th, 2020, 11:53 pm

From Dr. Bratt's article:

1 We're not testing enough.
2 You shouldn't play politics with the virus.
3 We have good nurses but not good doctors.
4 "New" cases of COVID-19 not all that surprising.
5 This outbreak is bringing out the worst in us...yeah COVID did that.
6 We must be our brother's keeper.
7 We shouldn't create a culture of fear around COVID.
8 We need Mr. Rogers. Go watch the movie with Tom Hanks I guess.
9 We all gonna get it apparently.
10 But we'll never know 'cuz we're not testing.
11 MOH should making the preparations to get the medication not repeating questionable stats.
12 Trust the doctors but not the ones from point 3.
13 Trust the MOH but not the one from point 11.
14 We need to be kind to one another, this means no driving on the shoulder and then cutting into the lane when its
fine for you..

Postby aaron17 » July 29th, 2020, 3:40 am

Dave wrote:It wasn't frightening before, now it is!
Well the fear of the unknown trumps everything else in my opinion.

jsali

Postby jsali » July 29th, 2020, 9:50 am

Hours passed since the last post and that have me anxious...what going on? :?

I want to know about all potential cases/rumors..

abducted

Postby abducted » July 29th, 2020, 9:57 am

jsali wrote:Hours passed since the last post and that have me anxious...what going on? :?

You want to hear all the rumours? Just follow the factual news and keep yourself and family safe, ignore the rumours

Postby goalpost » July 29th, 2020, 9:59 am

jsali wrote:Hours passed since the last post and that have me anxious...what going on? :?

Well we just waiting until shakes rumours are confirmed, as it would be.

jsali

Postby jsali » July 29th, 2020, 10:08 am

abducted wrote:

You want to hear all the rumours? Just follow the factual news and keep yourself and family safe, ignore the rumours

I'm usually an advocate for factual news but in this instance, the factual news was that we are free of covid free.
Now it's all over the place, I live in the middle of the E-W corridor so I feel surrounded.

My aim is to keep my family safe by all means. I just prefer to know man :(