COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

ST Auto

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 300 cases, 8 deaths, 139 discharged in T&T

Postby ST Auto » August 12th, 2020, 10:13 am

8 more

ST Auto

Postby ST Auto » August 12th, 2020, 10:15 am

This getting more stupid. Yesterday morning update was samples taken from the 7th - present. Today update is samples taken from the 4th to present
117564020_3601293246567124_2124289557204905059_n.jpeg

Postby De Dragon » August 12th, 2020, 10:16 am

WTN. How things have changed with the GE over should not surprise anyone familiar with the PNM. well except chupidees like Red Plastic Bag, Jr. Bag (elec2020) Tokesy one eye, Erectile Max Cax and the overlord elitecorolla. Sadly, elitecorolla rolling in oit while Red Plastic Bag cannot sell a single bag despite several scanned copies of his 2NR post to Balisier House, The rest, well they're too dotish to realize and are happy with deep fryer.security ,janitor and car park attendantt jobs :lol:
Last edited by De Dragon on August 12th, 2020, 10:19 am, edited 1 time in total.

ST Auto

Postby ST Auto » August 12th, 2020, 10:18 am

An we never get any results from that epidemiological testing
117444811_3601293453233770_1985575784616629261_n.jpeg

Postby redmanjp » August 12th, 2020, 10:24 am

Media Conference Alert

The Ministry of Health will host a media
conference today, Wednesday 12 August 2020 at 11: 00 am which will provide Trinidad and Tobago with an update on the #COVID19 virus.

Postby pugboy » August 12th, 2020, 10:25 am

don’t forget terry say we only testing folks who show up with symptoms

Postby redmanjp » August 12th, 2020, 10:35 am

pugboy wrote:don’t forget terry say we only testing folks who show up with symptoms

this should only be for community tests. but i find they should be testing at least all primary contacts of cases regardless of symptoms. the asymptomatic spread could be fuelling this and contact tracing not picking them up

Postby adnj » August 12th, 2020, 10:35 am

adnj wrote:
Phone Surgeon wrote:
pete wrote:People still going to bars and socialising in a pandemic? Keep it up I guess.

boy..i eh understand that na

i shunning and blanking direct family because of corona

my brothers not allowed to go home by my mother

i blanking every single bday lime and house lime

yet i seeing the masses happily liming in bars and public

normally i have two little nephews who does come stay off and on with me as they home ....all that i stop....
This is exactly what is meant by "stay home" -- limiting your physical interaction to the smallest number of people possible to slow the spread of infection.

Good advice but only IF it can be followed practically. My mother in law is over 70 and we physically have to go from time to time to drop groceries, and other supplies, collect and fill prescriptions etc. All with minimal contact, but still.

I made a qualified statement: "smallest number of people possible."

You are doing what you have to. Others are doing what they want to.

Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 308 cases, 8 deaths, 161 active, 139 discharged in T&T

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 12th, 2020, 10:55 am

Good that the reports now show the number of active cases. It could have been calculated all along but showing it in the report is a good idea.

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 308 cases, 8 deaths, 161 active, 139 discharged in T&T

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » August 12th, 2020, 10:59 am

Add 38 more cases to that 308 by friday

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 308 cases, 8 deaths, 161 active, 139 discharged in T&T

Postby K74T » August 12th, 2020, 11:16 am

Press conference today having technical difficulties

Postby Chimera » August 12th, 2020, 12:08 pm

Shakes how safe you feel it is to go tobago

Since last year me and about 20 people book to go crown point for 4 days....

I trying to convince them to cancel but no luck

killercow

Postby killercow » August 12th, 2020, 1:03 pm

pugboy wrote:bars in woodbrook normel

esp the liverpool one on ave
everyday packed like sardines

ST Auto wrote:Bars ram out

Imagine wha go happen when CPL start. How many ppl you think going to stay home to watch dat?
Remember too some ppl still eh wukkin an Courts done take back dey TV.

Postby redmanjp » August 12th, 2020, 1:17 pm

when are they going to use technology aka contact tracing apps for the hidden contacts (ie- strangers in public places) ?

Postby redmanjp » August 12th, 2020, 1:24 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:Shakes how safe you feel it is to go tobago

Since last year me and about 20 people book to go crown point for 4 days....

I trying to convince them to cancel but no luck

after that incident with d woman breaching quarantine to go tobago wouldn't be surprised if dey want to make all passengers from trinidad quarantine when u reach, or have a negative test. trinidad hot with covid.

Postby pugboy » August 12th, 2020, 1:26 pm

it’s worth a shot to start doing this to at least know for sure where clusters of positives existed

right now we relying on pics and news of places being sanitized and word of mouth that a crew of folks in ppe went to grab ppl

redmanjp wrote:when are they going to use technology aka contact tracing apps for the hidden contacts (ie- strangers in public places) ?

Postby pugboy » August 12th, 2020, 1:28 pm

i read in papers today that trini cricketers didn’t have to enter quarantine bubble like the rest.
surely doesn’t make sense with the community spread we have.
next thing the trinis end up infecting in internationals and we looking bad.

killercow wrote:

Imagine wha go happen when CPL start. How many ppl you think going to stay home to watch dat?

killercow

Postby killercow » August 12th, 2020, 1:31 pm

pugboy wrote:i read in papers today that trini cricketers didn’t have to enter quarantine bubble like the rest.

killercow wrote:

So if ah international player test +, where dey sendin dem? Caura?

Postby bluefete » August 12th, 2020, 1:46 pm

pugboy wrote:i read in papers today that trini cricketers didn’t have to enter quarantine bubble like the rest.

killercow wrote:

Darren Sammy had a HUGE rant about that same point.

elec2020

Postby elec2020 » August 12th, 2020, 1:47 pm

De Dragon wrote:WTN. How things have changed with the GE over should not surprise anyone familiar with the PNM. well except chupidees like Red Plastic Bag, Jr. Bag (elec2020) Tokesy one eye, Erectile Max Cax and the overlord elitecorolla. Sadly, elitecorolla rolling in oit while Red Plastic Bag cannot sell a single bag despite several scanned copies of his 2NR post to Balisier House, The rest, well they're too dotish to realize and are happy with deep fryer.security ,janitor and car park attendantt jobs :lol:

De Dragon u making real sense there boy. They start a petition on facebook to demand they nullify the results of the general election. Sign up boy. Pnm thief we. LOL!

https://m.facebook.com/story.php?story_ ... 9232083198

Postby K74T » August 12th, 2020, 2:18 pm

Key Points From the Ministry of Health’s Media Conference – Wednesday 12th August 2020

-Technical Director of the Epidemiological Division in the Ministry of Health, Dr. Avery Hinds said that approximately 64% of cases belong to existing clusters and certain settings like bars and religious gatherings present the highest risk for transmission.

-Chief Medical Officer, Dr. Roshan Parasram said that he expects to see a rise in Covid cases in the coming days.

-When talking about the delay in reporting of Covid test results, Dr. Parasram stated that there has been some resolution of the issue and reporting has been improved.

-Dr. Hinds said that the Covid-19 hotline is being inundated with calls, he urges people not to call the line for things like asking for results or asking when they're going to get out of quarantine.

Postby K74T » August 12th, 2020, 2:19 pm

Via Elizabeth Williams

-Staff at local television station, Tobago Channel 5 sent home, after a GUEST to their morning program on Wednesday is said to have been exposed to a Primary COVID-19 person.

Postby redmanjp » August 12th, 2020, 2:26 pm

K74T wrote:Via Elizabeth Williams

-Staff at local television station, Tobago Channel 5 sent home, after a GUEST to their morning program on Wednesday is said to have been exposed to a Primary COVID-19 person.

why they not operating virtually?

Postby Dizzy28 » August 12th, 2020, 2:28 pm

bluefete wrote:

killercow wrote:

Darren Sammy had a HUGE rant about that same point.

Sammy right though. TKR players out there whilst T&T has our biggest rise in Covid cases since the pandemic began.

Postby pugboy » August 12th, 2020, 2:31 pm

sammy is right, it is not biosecure protocol

how come our media don’t ask cmo and them about this cricket bobol?

Postby sMASH » August 12th, 2020, 2:37 pm

killercow wrote:

So if ah international player test +, where dey sendin dem? Caura?

dont test them in time for results to show up during their play.

ron_28

Postby ron_28 » August 12th, 2020, 2:43 pm

Sangre Grande public market closed immediately for sanitizing an will re-open on Friday

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » August 12th, 2020, 2:51 pm

One person tested +^

Postby Country_Bookie » August 12th, 2020, 3:03 pm

There's someone at my workplace who reported to us last week that she went out on a lime with a friend. After the lime, the friend found out he was exposed to someone who has covid 19. They called the hotline and friend was advised to quarantine and my coworker was told to go to work as normal. The person was told by mgt to stay home.

Now we hear that the friend started having symptoms and got tested 5 days ago but is still waiting on a result. If we had allowed our coworker to return to work, isn't it possible she could have spread the virus at my workplace? Shouldn't the reasonable course of action here be to quarantine and see if symptoms develop?

Postby pugboy » August 12th, 2020, 3:23 pm

yeah but our moh and cmo only dealing eith ppl who showing actual symptoms

they don’t care if you may have been exposed and in the midst of becoming a live positive case

that is their official policy