COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 3974 cases, 65 deaths, 2038 active, 1871 recovered in T&T

Postby De Dragon » September 22nd, 2020, 10:38 pm

2WNBoost wrote:No more lockdown
Economic activity needs to progress for businesses to hire workers and in turn generate growth.
We don’t have the money to pay everyone to stay at home.
The population needs to start adopting proper the health protocols and act responsibly. We don’t need to follow the example set by others protesting the request to wear a mask. We will only hurt ourselves, economically and health wise, in the long run.

The economy won't matter when you are dead.

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 3974 cases, 65 deaths, 2038 active, 1871 recovered in T&T

Postby adnj » September 23rd, 2020, 1:05 am

Economic activity needs to progress for businesses to hire workers and in turn generate growth.
The population needs to start adopting proper the health protocols and act responsibly. We don’t need to follow the example set by others protesting the request to wear a mask. We will only hurt ourselves, economically and health wise, in the long run.

Sweden stayed open while other countries locked down — with 5,800 dead, critics are questioning if the gamble went horribly wrong

Robert Leslie and Dylan Bank 

Sep 1, 2020, 1:17 PM

Sweden chose not to lock down after the coronavirus pandemic hit, and suffered many more deaths than its neighbors Denmark and Norway.

Thousands of Swedish people over the age of 70 died, around half of whom lived in care homes.

The Swedish economy is also expected to shrink by around 6% this year.

Critics are now questioning whether Sweden's hands-off approach to the pandemic has gone horribly wrong.

https://www.businessinsider.com/sweden- ... ths-2020-8

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 4026 cases, 65 deaths, 2090 active, 1871 recovered in T&T

Postby sMASH » September 23rd, 2020, 6:50 am

the reason why they suffered the elderly deaths, is cause they didnt implement the stringent measures in the elderly care homes as they should. the deaths occurred, they assessed and implemented better measures to secure the most vulnerable and the death rate went down, and steadily down.

critics were questioning their hands off approach as soon as they started it. its now that thier numbers are looking very good that they are reconsidering.

... the last words

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 4026 cases, 65 deaths, 2090 active, 1871 recovered in T&T

Postby adnj » September 23rd, 2020, 10:00 am

sMASH wrote:critics were questioning their hands off approach as soon as they started it. its now that thier numbers are looking very good that they are reconsidering.

The salient point is that there is an economic cost to be paid. Most nations are seeing about a 5%+ contraction of GDP growth.

Issues associated with pandemic disease spread has negatively impacted consumer sentiment even in countries with little to no Covid-19 related deaths.

Postby redmanjp » September 23rd, 2020, 10:40 am

or sick

but most businesses are open, just the liming spots are restricted (bars/restaurants) or closed (night clubs)

perhaps we need a reduction in the number of bars- 5000 is too much. let some of those workers find jobs elsewhere

Postby redmanjp » September 23rd, 2020, 10:50 am

sMASH wrote:the reason why they suffered the elderly deaths, is cause they didnt implement the stringent measures in the elderly care homes as they should. the deaths occurred, they assessed and implemented better measures to secure the most vulnerable and the death rate went down, and steadily down.

critics were questioning their hands off approach as soon as they started it. its now that thier numbers are looking very good that they are reconsidering.

... the last words

they probably have the vast majority of vulnerable ppl in care homes or living alone so once they secured the homes that solved their problem (too late for a lot of them who already died tho) - we may have more multi-generational households in T&T.

also we have lots of ppl not necessarily elderly but diabetic (170000+) or have other comorbidities who are in families and are at risk because they still have to work, or their young family members work and can bring home the infection.

perhaps if the Govt opened a 'covid shelter' where the elderly who are not alone in households can stay for a few months where the same policy applies that may reduce the deaths - assuming they want to be apart from their family for that long without visitation

Postby K74T » September 23rd, 2020, 10:51 am

2 additional deaths and 20+ cases

FB_IMG_1600872666854.jpeg
FB_IMG_1600872664239.jpeg

Postby K74T » September 23rd, 2020, 11:40 am

FB_IMG_1600875441979.jpeg
FB_IMG_1600875445614.jpeg
FB_IMG_1600875451631.jpeg
FB_IMG_1600875453938.jpeg
FB_IMG_1600875456325.jpeg

Postby K74T » September 23rd, 2020, 11:42 am

FB_IMG_1600875696416.jpeg
FB_IMG_1600875698889.jpeg
FB_IMG_1600875700897.jpeg
FB_IMG_1600875703464.jpeg

Postby pugboy » September 23rd, 2020, 12:29 pm

like hinds figure out how to use pie charts now

Postby redmanjp » September 23rd, 2020, 1:36 pm

what about the graph for deaths by gender/age?

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » September 23rd, 2020, 1:39 pm

pugboy wrote:like hinds figure out how to use pie charts now

Pie charts should never be used to illustrate data with more than 2 or 3 categories as it becomes difficult to compare. Tonnes of other simple visuals could have been used such as a simple bar graph.

Postby redmanjp » September 23rd, 2020, 1:42 pm

K74T wrote:FB_IMG_1600875441979.jpeg

moms have BOTH diabetes & hypertension and both make up the 2 largest chunks

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 4046 cases, 67 deaths, 2019 active, 1960 recovered in T&T

Postby sMASH » September 23rd, 2020, 3:44 pm

@adnj sweden didnt stop as much business as their neighbors or elsewhere. they are seeing like 5-6% contraction. so they didnt have as much to reboot from the initial. their biggest hold back is the complications from their neighbor countries. initially, they were blocked due to them being a covid risk. but now, thier covid numbers are trending better, they are still being held back due to the other countries having repetitive waves, and their economies in various degrees of lock down... so they dont have people to trade with.

@redmanjp
trinidad seeing the bulk of infections in the 15-50 age range, not necessarily the older folk. so, us having the mixed households not really plying much of an impact. it was probably more detrimental in sweden's case as having so many old people totheger, meant that once one got it, all would succumb. we didnt have an advantage, is jsut that the negative of the concentrations of older folk were not an issue as much for us. they had the same chances as other age groups. and our results showing they faring better.
(but, i know personally and through contacts of many older people dying suddenly earlier this year, and none of them was given covid tests. so it could have been cases that werent detected)

all i saying is, we dont need to do this mask ting in this weather. just do the social distancing, santitizing and limit the liming outside. stop superspreader activities like parties and lining up for govt handouts, or elections and we should be good to go.
beaches shoudl be reopened and people allowed to go and authorities maintain a distributed crowd.
the advantage of the vitamin D will outweigh the chances of catching covid from a stranger, on a sandy beach, with salt water, and sun..

u need some spread... steady but slow. so no more elections.

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 4046 cases, 67 deaths, 2019 active, 1960 recovered in T&T

Postby MaxPower » September 23rd, 2020, 4:18 pm

sMASH wrote:all i saying is, we dont need to do this mask ting in this weather. just do the social distancing, santitizing and limit the liming outside. stop superspreader activities like parties and lining up for govt handouts, or elections and we should be good to go.
beaches shoudl be reopened and people allowed to go and authorities maintain a distributed crowd.

Hello sMASH,

I hear you my good man....

But HOW do we get Trinis to sanitize and social distance properly and consistently?

How do we STOP the liming and congregating?

Postby redmanjp » September 23rd, 2020, 4:42 pm

smash the weather not stopping the virus- we now know that from both the explosion of cases here as well as the US and other places throughout the summer. yes the vit. D reduces the chance but doesn't eliminate it. trinis rushed for las lap limes and may rush to the beach the moment it's opened- they doh know to social distance so no beach till we go back to cluster phase.

Postby sMASH » September 23rd, 2020, 4:45 pm

sMASH wrote:all i saying is, we dont need to do this mask ting in this weather. just do the social distancing, santitizing and limit the liming outside. stop superspreader activities like parties and lining up for govt handouts, or elections and we should be good to go.

Hello sMASH,

But HOW do we get Trinis to sanitize and social distance properly and consistently?

go back to what we was doing before elections was announced. exact same ting. xcept keep schools and rivers closed tho. but reopen the beaches. not sure if to reopen the water parks, but leff that up to the govt.. it wasnt a spreader site when it was allowed to reopen, so might as well.

Postby redmanjp » September 23rd, 2020, 4:50 pm

Hello sMASH,

it seems the only guarantee is an SOE with curfew- which still won't be enough because that is only at night

GG need to tell his officers to get out an enforce the law- up to now i think is only warning ppl get for gatherings exceeding the limit- he must be feel that the $50,000 fine is too much for the average man who already ketching he tail with the effects from the lockdown.

Postby pugboy » September 23rd, 2020, 4:54 pm

st james have folks liming and drinking plenty and them st james cops driving down main rd normel

Postby sMASH » September 23rd, 2020, 5:08 pm

pugboy wrote:st james have folks liming and drinking plenty and them st james cops driving down main rd normel

ent the numbers starting to turn.... that small amount of interaction is not gonna be much different than what u get in work places or homes. and it helping keeping some sort of sanity. let it happen.
but, once u start to see some giant crowd like what went on for elections, then u get gg dem to break it up.

once people remain space out, np in letting normalcy exist. no indoor dinning... cause the air will not be flushing out enough. keep things to outdoor settings.

Postby toyolink » September 23rd, 2020, 5:40 pm

Well things are going as predicted and our ability to control the rate of infection is squarely on our collective shoulders.
We may be mentally and emotionally exhausted, but Covid19 will continue to take advantage of any weakness we leave in our management model.
Stay committed to the cause.

Postby K74T » September 23rd, 2020, 6:21 pm

Adding 90 to the count

FB_IMG_1600899646055.jpeg

Postby pugboy » September 23rd, 2020, 6:23 pm

mid range figure
wonder if holiday tomorrow will result in low figure friday

Postby paid_influencer » September 23rd, 2020, 6:27 pm

110 positive out of 257 tests, 42% positive rate.

this is not good

Postby redmanjp » September 23rd, 2020, 6:42 pm

110 in 24 hrs? how does that represent a decrease?

Postby paid_influencer » September 23rd, 2020, 6:49 pm

redmanjp wrote:110 in 24 hrs? how does that represent a decrease?

I, too, was looking for the downward trend. But with a positive rate of 30% to 40%, there isn't enough data to make a legitimately reliable assessment.

but as Dr. Hinds has shown, very colorful pie graphs can still be created, which is mainly what matters right now.

Postby pugboy » September 23rd, 2020, 6:53 pm

hinds is a master at fud
dunno what next he will pull out the hat after the pie chart magic today

ron_28

Postby ron_28 » September 23rd, 2020, 7:03 pm

Was expecting to see a other death. Saw one of those body van after 4 in couva this evening unless it went there for the one recorded this morning

Postby Strugglerzinc » September 23rd, 2020, 7:26 pm

Saw this gem from the conference today

Technical Director of Epidemiology at the Ministry of Health, Dr. Avery Hinds provided a statistical update of Covid-19 in Trinidad and Tobago and indicated that the restrictions on gatherings coupled with enforced mask wearing appears to have succeeded in gradually reducing the amount of daily Covid-19 cases.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » September 23rd, 2020, 8:48 pm

Strugglerzinc wrote:Saw this gem from the conference today

Technical Director of Epidemiology at the Ministry of Health, Dr. Avery Hinds provided a statistical update of Covid-19 in Trinidad and Tobago and indicated that the restrictions on gatherings coupled with enforced mask wearing appears to have succeeded in gradually reducing the amount of daily Covid-19 cases.

In this entire pandemic, Avery Hinds is the biggest joke I ever see. Man should be fired and stick to something he's good at.