COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 7705 cases, 139 deaths, 108 active, 7458 recovered in T&T

Postby sMASH » March 1st, 2021, 9:59 pm

We bear that topic if you 4 day min since the start of this tread. 7 days is madness, by the sane ones who beat we to understand that 15 is the min period
redmanjp wrote:Significant mutations are rare but when u have a huge amount of infections the chances of 1 happening are much higher. Why we have not mandated a 14 day state quarantine for the US and only for the UK is beyond me. On the 8th day u can still be incubating this virus and sneak out of your home. Then with this new variant all the current protocols would be ineffective and lockdown would be required in a few weeks time.

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 7705 cases, 139 deaths, 108 active, 7458 recovered in T&T

Postby K74T » March 2nd, 2021, 10:54 am

The majority of Immigration officers who tested positive for Covid-19 attended a Valentine’s Day event and another social gathering :

Immigration officers were seen socialising at the office and at a bar wearing no masks and not observing social distancing requirements.

Photographs were posted on Facebook showing the officers at a celebration marking Valentine’s Day at the office.

A total of 13 immigration officers have tested positive for the virus. Sources said three of them were at the “Valentine” function, while seven on the shift attended the gathering at the bar.

FB_IMG_1614696699599.jpeg

Postby redmanjp » March 2nd, 2021, 11:58 am

sMASH wrote:We bear that topic if you 4 day min since the start of this tread. 7 days is madness, by the sane ones who beat we to understand that 15 is the min period
redmanjp wrote:Significant mutations are rare but when u have a huge amount of infections the chances of 1 happening are much higher. Why we have not mandated a 14 day state quarantine for the US and only for the UK is beyond me. On the 8th day u can still be incubating this virus and sneak out of your home. Then with this new variant all the current protocols would be ineffective and lockdown would be required in a few weeks time.

i understand the 7 days is to allow more ppl to come home every week but they can do that by expanding the state supervised quarantine hotels- i sure it have hotels that empty due to the border closure, and u will be giving them some much needed revenue too. the 7 days can only work if ppl agree to have gps bracelets on them

if we get even 1 case of community spread of a variant we need to do what new zealand did -hard but brief lockdown for 2 weeks (all non essential business closed) basically trying to eradicate it.

Postby redmanjp » March 2nd, 2021, 12:03 pm

K74T wrote:The majority of Immigration officers who tested positive for Covid-19 attended a Valentine’s Day event and another social gathering :

Immigration officers were seen socialising at the office and at a bar wearing no masks and not observing social distancing requirements.

Photographs were posted on Facebook showing the officers at a celebration marking Valentine’s Day at the office.

A total of 13 immigration officers have tested positive for the virus. Sources said three of them were at the “Valentine” function, while seven on the shift attended the gathering at the bar.

FB_IMG_1614696699599.jpeg

hope they are all charged for the bar gathering- mask wearing is required by law by employees on the job in an area with public access as well- although in an employees only area OSHA health protocols apply

Postby sMASH » March 2nd, 2021, 12:21 pm

redmanjp wrote:
sMASH wrote:We bear that topic if you 4 day min since the start of this tread. 7 days is madness, by the sane ones who beat we to understand that 15 is the min period

i understand the 7 days is to allow more ppl to come home every week but they can do that by expanding the state supervised quarantine hotels- i sure it have hotels that empty due to the border closure, and u will be giving them some much needed revenue too. the 7 days can only work if ppl agree to have gps bracelets on them

if we get even 1 case of community spread of a variant we need to do what new zealand did -hard but brief lockdown for 2 weeks (all non essential business closed) basically trying to eradicate it.

u can be from the covid ridden country, the safest country of new zealand, from the moon, or from mars. if it takes 14 days to show up most times, 14 days is 14 days.
cause, even in transit, or dealing with our immigration, they may contract it. so min 14 days, no matter who or where. u can still not have sufficient viral loading by the 7 day mark to show up. but u can still spread it.

and 14 day min to administer the first test. and u should need a consecutive double negative to leave.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » March 2nd, 2021, 12:51 pm

I have been calling for 14-day quarantines for months now.

I don't see why we just can't allow all nationals to return and keep them in a 14 quarantine. Right now, we shooting ourselves in our foot by using 7-day state quarantines,

Either way, we are lucky, covid-19's Rnaught appears to be close or just over 1. However, new mutations could possibly spread more quickly in tropical climates.

I see there's a sudden uptick in India's cases, it's possible it could be a new mutation, who knows yet.

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 7717 cases, 139 deaths, 97 active, 7481 recovered in T&T

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » March 2nd, 2021, 7:22 pm

We're now below 100 active positive cases nationwide

153722468_4191531044210005_3001853218900729761_o.png

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 7717 cases, 139 deaths, 97 active, 7481 recovered in T&T

Postby pugboy » March 2nd, 2021, 8:54 pm

Staff scratching at the facilities then

Postby paid_influencer » March 2nd, 2021, 9:29 pm

why are bars still criminalized? 1 case today. People livelihoods and people mental health being sacrificed for 1 case. Complete BS. Rowley using this as excuse to force his morals on drinkers.

let me make this personal. My mental health these days not so good. Stress, anxiety, depression, all that hitting hard every day because of COVID, unemployment and the PNM economy. I cannot wait till the bars are legally open and I can relax just a little bit. Things not going to get easier but if the bars open at least I can cope. Rowley just want people to dead. heartless uncaring

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Oc9v3PF7S_k

dogg

Postby dogg » March 3rd, 2021, 12:06 pm

Which vaccine is being supplied by the African vaccine group?

Does anyone know?
\
Did the minister say?

Postby Strugglerzinc » March 3rd, 2021, 12:10 pm

paid_influencer wrote:why are bars still criminalized? 1 case today. People livelihoods and people mental health being sacrificed for 1 case. Complete BS. Rowley using this as excuse to force his morals on drinkers.

let me make this personal. My mental health these days not so good. Stress, anxiety, depression, all that hitting hard every day because of COVID, unemployment and the PNM economy. I cannot wait till the bars are legally open and I can relax just a little bit. Things not going to get easier but if the bars open at least I can cope. Rowley just want people to dead. heartless uncaring

The act of physically sitting in a bar helps you cope?

Postby toyolink » March 3rd, 2021, 12:18 pm

dogg wrote:Which vaccine is being supplied by the African vaccine group?

Does anyone know?
\
Did the minister say?

Actually the African Union seems to be sourcing the Astra Zeneca vaccine from the serum institute of India.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » March 3rd, 2021, 12:29 pm

More than 100 countries are sourcing vaccines from India......but people beating up about kamla........allyhh good yes

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » March 3rd, 2021, 12:38 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:More than 100 countries are sourcing vaccines from India......but people beating up about kamla........allyhh good yes

Imagine men defending Deyalsingh saying how the vaccines weren't approved at the time so he was actually prudent not to ask.

Like wtf, these sycophants will defend anything. These were FREE freaking vaccines that are badly needed, what you have to lose?

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » March 3rd, 2021, 12:39 pm

toyolink wrote:
dogg wrote:Which vaccine is being supplied by the African vaccine group?

Does anyone know?
\
Did the minister say?

Actually the African Union seems to be sourcing the Astra Zeneca vaccine from the serum institute of India.

It's a mix, I believe their sourcing from Pfizer and Moderna as well.

Re: Novel Coronavirus - “COVID-19” - 107 cases, 8 deaths confirmed in T&T

Postby toyolink » March 3rd, 2021, 1:32 pm

toyolink wrote:I sincerely hope that Gov't has a task force presently working on addressing such things as our food and essential supplies security come Sept/Oct this year.
The fact of the matter is in the next 3 months or so importation of goods and supplies to keep us going will become extremely difficult because of major supply chain breakdowns and the level of demand from more powerful and larger countries.
Yes, today many countries are reporting over supply of some produce due to inability to get to market or lack of.
However after this comes a period of low production or no production since in the case of agriculture, replanting etc. just isn't a present priority.
Medical and other supplies is a whole mess with the prospects of global production levels returning to mid 2019 levels looking very bleak.
The countries which are first in the queue with prepaid orders and contracts may be best able to endure the turmoil that is on the cards.
Already automotive supplies coming out of Asian markets have fallen away and we may be faced with unavailability and of course price adjustments.
The Gov't needs to do many critical activities in parallel at this time.

Add to that our almost nonexistent oil production, low oil prices and decreased demand, our current HEAVY spending of our limited forex, and the bidding wars for ppe and meds and food and fuel and other essentials that we as a nation are more than likely to have to face, and you can see where this going.
If ever there was a time and reason to become self sufficient, this is it

This discussion around April last year comes to mind with what is going on today.

Postby teems1 » March 3rd, 2021, 1:37 pm

Currently we are 8th worst in the world with respect to countries which have been able to give out vaccines due to the Barbados/India gift.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Deploymen ... 9_vaccines

Once we get that shipment of 108,000 we should fly up the table.

Postby timelapse » March 3rd, 2021, 2:04 pm

I hear you bro.What relaxes me may not relax you.They said hiking is still permitted,so my wife and I do some small hikes by ourselves.It is very relaxing to 'see' a waterfall sometimes because they say you cant bathe in rivers.Bamboo cathedral is nice too
.But bars seem to be open..Is just the lime is outside now ..
paid_influencer wrote:why are bars still criminalized? 1 case today. People livelihoods and people mental health being sacrificed for 1 case. Complete BS. Rowley using this as excuse to force his morals on drinkers.

Postby teems1 » March 3rd, 2021, 2:13 pm

Because it's still so easy to spread in environments like bars.

https://guardian.co.tt/news/immigration ... 6769bb4caa

Postby paid_influencer » March 3rd, 2021, 9:14 pm

Postby paid_influencer » March 3rd, 2021, 9:16 pm

is there any way to tell whether I getting the Indian vaccine or the African vaccine?

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » March 4th, 2021, 4:18 pm

Been talking to my peeps within the medical fraternity. Where do I start?? Id touch on those vaccines that are being given out atm. The side effects are cause for concern( notice how allyuh aint hearing nothing, that gag order is real). Few people from medical staff had short breath, problems breathing, severe nausea and in some cases HIGH fever. There were persons who were choked up on panadol and ibuprofen for a couple days well...The issue arises when the vaccines beging to hit the wider population and they start flooding the hospitals. Allyuh remember me saying so!!

I was reliably informed that this virus was here since Nov 2019 and several deaths occured and H1N1 was ruled out. Death certificates had c.o.d as unknown. There are also several samples at CARPHA which are not being tested( for reasons I will not disclose)....

I would update accordingly....

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » March 4th, 2021, 5:27 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Been talking to my peeps within the medical fraternity. Where do I start?? Id touch on those vaccines that are being given out atm. The side effects are cause for concern( notice how allyuh aint hearing nothing, that gag order is real). Few people from medical staff had short breath, problems breathing, severe nausea and in some cases HIGH fever. There were persons who were choked up on panadol and ibuprofen for a couple days well...The issue arises when the vaccines beging to hit the wider population and they start flooding the hospitals. Allyuh remember me saying so!!

I was reliably informed that this virus was here since Nov 2019 and several deaths occured and H1N1 was ruled out. Death certificates had c.o.d as unknown. There are also several samples at CARPHA which are not being tested( for reasons I will not disclose)....

Vaccine side effects are expected and normal, with tens of millions of people vaccinated world wide and no hospital over crowding i doubt we'd see any issues here.

Also, what about the current cases?

I find it the official counts odd for 3 reasons:

1. My cousin at St Augustine Medical labs said almost everyday they're registering 5-10 covid cases. That's just one lab, with half a dozen other labs out there it means our figures should be at least 20-30 everyday. What is going on with that? Are they not counting private lab positives?
2. Again, the same cousin said there were 2 covid deaths he knew about in the last week. Yet the official count of almost a week has been 139, why is it not being updated?
3. Is CARPHA monitoring for new strains?

Postby Habit7 » March 4th, 2021, 7:37 pm

I personally know somebody too, who won't go on record, that loves make claims that are unverifiable. They usually send ppl emails stating that they are a Nigerian Prince needing a small fee so that he could send random ppl his fortune. I tell him that is so foolish, who are those gullible ppl to believe such unsubstantiated claims? He said that ppl hate the truth sometimes, so they prefer to create a conspiracy to explain things they don't understand.

Postby redmanjp » March 5th, 2021, 2:23 am

u know u can buy a beer from a bar and drink at home right?

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » March 5th, 2021, 5:05 am

Dohplaydat wrote:
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Been talking to my peeps within the medical fraternity. Where do I start?? Id touch on those vaccines that are being given out atm. The side effects are cause for concern( notice how allyuh aint hearing nothing, that gag order is real). Few people from medical staff had short breath, problems breathing, severe nausea and in some cases HIGH fever. There were persons who were choked up on panadol and ibuprofen for a couple days well...The issue arises when the vaccines beging to hit the wider population and they start flooding the hospitals. Allyuh remember me saying so!!

Vaccine side effects are expected and normal, with tens of millions of people vaccinated world wide and no hospital over crowding i doubt we'd see any issues here.

Also, what about the current cases?

I find it the official counts odd for 3 reasons:

1. My cousin at St Augustine Medical labs said almost everyday they're registering 5-10 covid cases. That's just one lab, with half a dozen other labs out there it means our figures should be at least 20-30 everyday. What is going on with that? Are they not counting private lab positives?
2. Again, the same cousin said there were 2 covid deaths he knew about in the last week. Yet the official count of almost a week has been 139, why is it not being updated?
3. Is CARPHA monitoring for new strains?

CARPHA refuses to test certain samples and the govt is controlling how results are being sent out to the public. This is so because they are pushing to have borders opened soon as well as relaxing some of the measures. You are going to see one one cases being reported, then hear about borders opening soon as vaccines are being administered. Remember I said so

Postby toyolink » March 5th, 2021, 1:22 pm

The period of immunization an individual can expect after administration of the vaccine seems unknown at this time.
The information on this issue seems inconclusive and if its 6mths, the implication for countries with a slow vaccine administration process could find themselves literally chasing their tails to get ahead of the pandemic.
This variable could mean that global return to normalcy will be quite difficult to achieve for quite some time to come.
The projected vaccine inflows in our case suggest 1 million doses will not be administered by october 2021.

Postby redmanjp » March 5th, 2021, 7:55 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:
CARPHA refuses to test certain samples and the govt is controlling how results are being sent out to the public. This is so because they are pushing to have borders opened soon as well as relaxing some of the measures. You are going to see one one cases being reported, then hear about borders opening soon as vaccines are being administered. Remember I said so

if the test is invalid shouldn't the person be retested? perhaps at a Govt/public testing site?

Postby redmanjp » March 5th, 2021, 9:51 pm

so we have anti-maskers. now this is the opposite extreme - masks on babies?

https://jamanetwork.com/journals/jamanetworkopen/fullarticle/2776928

Postby Habit7 » March 7th, 2021, 2:06 pm

Jamaica is 2x our population
Screenshot_20210307-134416_Facebook.jpg