When last have you visited the pitch lake?

Postby nervewrecker » January 21st, 2020, 10:08 pm

I found this uber interesting, saw it on a friend timeline on fb.

Re: When last have you visited the pitch lake?

Postby VexXx Dogg » January 21st, 2020, 10:11 pm

never.

(ah shame)

Postby supercharged turbo » January 21st, 2020, 11:18 pm

Yuh not missing anything
VexXx Dogg wrote:never.

(ah shame)

Postby Gem_in_i » January 22nd, 2020, 4:04 am

VexXx Dogg wrote:never.

(ah shame)

Same here.
When I worked down Point I drove past it for years.

Postby matr1x » January 22nd, 2020, 4:58 am

It's nothing special.

NASA scientists have come to study it though.

Postby Les Bain » January 22nd, 2020, 7:26 am

Went 10 years ago. Roads were wavy bad. I sure they even worse now.

Postby zoom rader » January 22nd, 2020, 7:39 am

Lake itself is ok.

Problem is the company that is running it

Postby Gem_in_i » January 22nd, 2020, 7:49 am

Always had the tout ‘tour guides’ around. That was what discouraged me from going.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » January 22nd, 2020, 8:34 am

I've passed it a couple times, but to leave Grande to go down there just to see it....eh eh, them road to fcking bad

abbow

Postby abbow » January 22nd, 2020, 8:39 am

allyuh shame.....

i live all my life 10 minutes away from there..(40 + Years) and never been to the lake...i went to Vessigny Sec which is walking distance to it, still never went....

Postby maj. tom » January 22nd, 2020, 8:45 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:I've passed it a couple times, but to leave Grande to go down there just to see it....eh eh, them road to fcking bad

This is such irony considering it's the Pitch Lake eh, literally stone's throw away. I bet the road there was built by the British and just left there unmaintained by all Governments since Independence.

Never visited and I don't plan to go and mash up my car. Looking at it on Google Satellite is good enough for me right now.

Postby zoom rader » January 22nd, 2020, 9:08 am

Its a wonder of the world but the people running it are not wonders

Postby Redman » January 22nd, 2020, 9:08 am

Went last year-Small man had a project to do... it was pretty cool- the roads are not that bad-Point people deal with it every day.

Plenty interesting history is there-

Postby zoom rader » January 22nd, 2020, 9:10 am

Redman wrote:Went last year-Small man had a project to do... it was pretty cool- the roads are not that bad-Point people deal with it every day.

Plenty interesting history is there-

Run some figures and lets see their profits

Postby Les Bain » January 22nd, 2020, 9:18 am

I took chainup from a tout and bought a piece of pitch to show my wife. I had a freebie collection from the location work and one of them was a fancy tile from TAP.
Placed the pitch lump on the tile and in the dry season it started getting melty and sticky. Wife threw both out one time :lol:

Postby MG Man » January 22nd, 2020, 9:53 am

the road isn't as bad as you guys think. Get out there and discover your country. Last time I did the trip (last year) I hit Vessigny, Pitch Lake, Graneville, Cedros, Los Iros and then looped back up through Siparia / Penal / Debe
There are proper uniformed guides at the lake now

Postby sMASH » January 22nd, 2020, 10:03 am

fleck, i read that as 'uninformed'

Postby meccalli » January 22nd, 2020, 10:10 am

For those of you interested in aquaria, the population of guppies found at the pitch lake has been the subject of a lot of great work on evolutionary ecology. I've had no choice but to be there alot for research purposes but fish are more interesting than pitch to me lol.
https://www.researchgate.net/publicatio ... infections

Postby hydroep » January 22nd, 2020, 10:36 am

Some years ago meh cousins from foreign came down and it was on the "to visit" list.

Afterward they couldn't understand how come we have a Pitch Lake and our roads in such deplorable condition...:|

Postby Rovin » January 22nd, 2020, 11:00 am

we all saying "we pitchlake" - ent in a kinda way it belongs to china

1 time my parents carry me there when i was around 10yrs old

so long time u hear ppl saying it good to take a dip in d water cause it have "healing & soothing" properties - now that scientists tell we it have literally millions of bacteria living in d pitch itself : who still willing to take ah dip ?

imagine ur embarrassment taking a foreigner to see a wonder of d world but all our roads across d country in a need of repairs , how u gonna brakes to explain dat ...

Postby zoom rader » January 22nd, 2020, 11:09 am

What profits this lake making?

Mods come better nah

Postby gastly369 » January 22nd, 2020, 11:13 am

That road like de forkin bocas to go down point

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » January 22nd, 2020, 12:04 pm

Went there last year, nothing special infact you are more likely to catch a deadly infection from all the bacteria than anything else.

Is like when my unc neighbor went India to bathe in the ganges river for its holy healing powers and he got a nasty infection because the water has so much bacteria that he end up dying due to his refusal to listen to science.

Postby maj. tom » January 22nd, 2020, 12:13 pm

I think the pitch lake may be antibiotic because if the high Sulphur. People visit Sulphur spring and stuff and bathe in them because they claim they're rejuvenative.

The kind of bacteria that would live there would be super bacteria, extremeophiles and have different biochemistry. They would feed on the fossil oil itself if anything.

Postby Rovin » January 22nd, 2020, 12:14 pm

aaah boi u know how long tuners ent hear bout ED unc neighbor .... :lol:

Postby rspann » January 22nd, 2020, 12:25 pm

Gem_in_i wrote:Always had the tout ‘tour guides’ around. That was what discouraged me from going.

Especially how they gangster you .

Postby meccalli » January 22nd, 2020, 12:31 pm

Can't say for bacteria, but we found that pitch confers antihelmintic properties to the water that it's in contact with. The same has been known about tar itself for some ages as a remedy for infestations.

Postby eliteauto » January 22nd, 2020, 12:48 pm

The only time that water in the pitch lake has bacteria is when ED in a pool

Postby gastly369 » January 22nd, 2020, 1:02 pm

Rovin wrote:aaah boi u know how long tuners ent hear bout ED unc neighbor ....

Postby supercharged turbo » January 22nd, 2020, 3:54 pm

I think the roads close to the pitchlake are like that because of the veins that are always in motion