14mths waiting for WASA connection

RNR66

14mths waiting for WASA connection

Postby RNR66 » February 17th, 2020, 7:45 pm

Paid $1500 in Dec 2018 for service connections to 2 residential plots

Sites ( and me ) have been ready since then with connection infrastructure in place and existing WASA main line running less than 10 feet ( I have an exact measurement for those so inclined) from new connection points.
14mths and several hair treatments later still no connections

Had to purchase water during construction phase of house since WASA said I was not eligible for truck borne until I was a bonefide customer with a service connection. ( the service connection I HAD PAID FOR and been waiting on from them for over a year -remember?). Correct me if I am wrong but doesn't me paying for something already make me a customer?

I was also told it was illegal to fill my tanks via hose from a neighbor. (Wonder if I would have also been fined for doing a rain dance? ) At this point water took 2nd place to another type of liquid in my life.

One bright,sunny, rainless morning, I wrote to Allan Poon King CEO of Wasa ( and yes I left out the "Mr."in this rant for a reason) requesting his assistance in getting my connections or at very least to give me an idea of a connection time frame so that I could somehow fit it into my bucket list... or conversely add some buckets to my list of things to buy.
I personally hand delivered the letter to WASA St Joseph in Dec 2019.
Poon King's secretary accepted it with a big bright smile.
it drizzled slightly as I left the building and I took that as a sign of things to come.

Well seems the rain is the only thing coming these days - As of this date neither Poon King nor WASA has had the courtesy to respond to my correspondence.

Seriously - where are we really going in this country?
6-8 months for a passport
1- ?? years for a water connection.
No response from govt agencies on legitimate enquires..
and I am sure the list goes on and on....
Last edited by RNR66 on February 17th, 2020, 9:59 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Re: 14mths waiting for WASA connection

Postby sMASH » February 17th, 2020, 7:52 pm

make a live and send it out.

rebound

Postby rebound » February 17th, 2020, 7:55 pm

I feel you there, Application and site visit for one residential lot done in April 2019. No digging required and the connection valve is visible in the lot with the building tap installed four feet from the connection.............NO Connection to date....

rebound

Postby rebound » February 17th, 2020, 7:57 pm

Migration was never in my thoughts but, its there now every day........

Kickstart

Postby Kickstart » February 17th, 2020, 8:08 pm

OP you are in the right direction. Start posting on all social media platforms. Write letters to the newspapers editors, your MP and the prime Minster.
Call in to talk shows and air your problem. Complaining seems to be the norm to get anything done. Highlight your problem on every avenue.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » February 17th, 2020, 8:12 pm

Make sure and do a sign saying WASA MC

Postby The_Honourable » February 17th, 2020, 9:26 pm

Old house was demolished years ago, ready to build a new one.

Went in WASA and paid for a reconnection. The blue hose and valve right dey... but can't do anything because the application stuck in operations department so "disconnection" still being reflected on the account :?

Postby rspann » February 17th, 2020, 9:55 pm

Allyuh serious? Just do an illegal connection and go in afterwards and tell them you want to regularize. You pay six months rate and voila, you become legal.

Postby Rovin » February 17th, 2020, 10:17 pm

op contact RIC (Regulated Industry Commission they will take it up & force wasa to do dey wuk ....
Last edited by Rovin on February 19th, 2020, 10:52 am, edited 1 time in total.

fokhan_96

Postby fokhan_96 » February 18th, 2020, 5:30 am

Op you remind me of myself. Trying to be a good boy and doing everything the correct and legal way. However the reality is that in this country when you go about things in a civilized way it does not really work out. Your best bet is to maintain a good relationship with your neighbors since this would be your only source of water for a while. Given the length of time you applied for your connection, they would most likely advise you to reapply for a new connection and start the process all over again.

Musical Doc

Postby Musical Doc » February 18th, 2020, 9:57 am

I paid for mine since 2017 and waiting still. My father in law works wasa and he can't even get it done for me because apparently they shut down operations in south right now because too much overtime was being paid out. I'm just waiting till I get time to see if I can hire somebody with equipment to do get that done yes

Postby Ben_spanna » February 18th, 2020, 10:14 am

Certain AREAS in Trinidad waiting for a reliable water supply for over 15 YEARS now

antlind

Postby antlind » February 18th, 2020, 11:31 am

Ben_spanna wrote:Certain AREAS in Trinidad waiting for a reliable water supply for over 15 YEARS now

My parents live in Sando (Les Efforts West) and to this date they only get water in the main from 6-9am. While our brethren living in other areas of Sando getting water 24x7. This place is a joke.

Postby sMASH » February 18th, 2020, 11:38 am

took me two years to get reconnected, back in 2015 period. in their defense, they did send a person to site visit about three times. but to fault them each time they reported that the lot had a connection. in our area, our road has a mains, and the streets behind gets a drop from our road. which means all the connections run from our lots to the lots behind.

i got fed up after the second time, wait till water lock of, and tap the people line in my yard.

ever since, we were paying a stand pipe rate, because there USED to be one across the road, but that had gone out of disrepair eons before. so, is not like i wasnt paying a rate, is just that i didnt have a connection.

it took two years for them to realize that my lot didnt have a connection, and then come to provide one.

each time they came, i had to get a lot of the supporting documents re done, cause the lenght of time it took, the validation periods had passed.

thats why i say, do a live and throw them up.

when my father built his house in the countryside, he run about ten lenght of hose to get water to the site. water is a human right, not a privilege u hadda get ur stuff done. jsut dont make it too obvious.

Postby alfa » February 18th, 2020, 12:51 pm

Wasa needs to go the way of Petrorrin

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » February 18th, 2020, 12:59 pm

Wasa is the worst, have a leak by me over six months now and they can't do a simple repair, real waste of time

Postby hydroep » February 18th, 2020, 1:11 pm

And dem fellars talking about increasing rates...:|

abbow

Postby abbow » February 18th, 2020, 1:19 pm

meanwhile...i just called for a passport renewal appointment for someone at the San Fernando office, and was told the next available date is June 8th 2020...then maybe another 2 months to get the passport...

wtf is really going on in this place....the year is 2020...

QM

Postby QM » February 18th, 2020, 1:20 pm

1. Contact the Regulated Industries Commission, they will take your information and put it on list, every month they meet with Wasa and they will ask them. It helps a bit.

2. Find out which area your connection fall into and visit the office until you meet the engineer and once you get to them you will be able to get some movement.

3. There is also a director in St Joseph who is in charge of this, you can try him as well. The director has to sign off on each connection before the crew can be dispatched. The crew will also make two visits, one to look at the job then come back weeks/months later to do the job.

Postby pugboy » February 18th, 2020, 1:55 pm

op
with wasa you supposed to deal with folks from the ground up not from the top down.
next time u see a crew working in the area ask them who to check for connections politely.

Postby Strugglerzinc » February 18th, 2020, 2:51 pm

rspann wrote:Allyuh serious? Just do an illegal connection and go in afterwards and tell them you want to regularize. You pay six months rate and voila, you become legal.

This works. If you lucky one of their amnesty periods will arrive and you pay even less I think.

Postby MaxPower » February 18th, 2020, 3:01 pm

OP,

14 months waiting and more for anything in Trinidad is quite normal.

This is due to Trinidadian mentality. This is allyuh culture.

You jus have to sit and take it bro, isnt that what the rest of your countrymen doing?

Postby redmanjp » February 18th, 2020, 3:03 pm

RNR66 wrote:.

Well seems the rain is the only thing coming these days - As of this date neither Poon King nor WASA has had the courtesy to respond to my correspondence.

Seriously - where are we really going in this country?
6-8 months for a passport
1- ?? years for a water connection.
No response from govt agencies on legitimate enquires..
and I am sure the list goes on and on....

u hadda collect it and use dat

as for passport, they ordered all appointments to be put for no more than a month

Postby redmanjp » February 18th, 2020, 3:05 pm

MaxPower wrote:OP,

14 months waiting and more for anything in Trinidad is quite normal.

This is due to Trinidadian mentality. This is allyuh culture.

You jus have to sit and take it bro, isn't that what the rest of your countrymen doing?

I heard that in WASA, it's not just the usual lazy ppl that u would find in any other public service- if they see u working they will complain to the supervisor that u working!! u not allowed to work cuz it will embarrass them!

Postby MaxPower » February 18th, 2020, 3:43 pm

^ yeh bro thas what i call stink trinidadians.

They dont want to work and does fight down the hard working ones and demotivate them.

Trinidadians hate to see ppl progress. They want everyone to be at their waste of time level.

Thank god for our syrians, chinese and venezuelans.

Postby Country_Bookie » February 18th, 2020, 7:48 pm

Trinicarsforsale.com has a banner ad on their site naming a woman at wasa who they paid for a connection but have yet to receive. Same story all over.
And imagine these ppl does want to be striking for salary increase.

Postby *KRONIK* » February 19th, 2020, 4:54 am

i have 4 applications inside, ranging from 14-24 months.
all were site visited and yard taps constructed.
NONE ARE CONNECTED YET.

wevolutions

Postby wevolutions » February 19th, 2020, 6:26 am

The worst thing is to get through first of all.

After you get through, they have you on hold for a long time.

After finally getting to the right department, the latest response is:

"WASA has NO RESOURCES at the moment and are only concentrating on leaks right now."
"NO NEW CONNECTIONS are being done at this time"

fokhan_96

Postby fokhan_96 » February 19th, 2020, 7:11 am

You would think that if you are requesting a service from a company that you have to pay for, this would generate revenue for the company. The more customers wasa has the more customers have to pay their bills. So why would wasa not want to connect as much customers as possible in order to generate more income seeing they bankrupt.

Postby VexXx Dogg » February 19th, 2020, 9:44 am

pugboy wrote:op
with wasa you supposed to deal with folks from the ground up not from the top down.
next time u see a crew working in the area ask them who to check for connections politely.

THIIS!