WTK: wood fence posts

Postby Chimera » February 27th, 2020, 11:42 am

anyone know where sells wood fence posts?
preferably with a pointed side

Re: WTK: wood fence posts

Postby Chimera » March 5th, 2020, 7:33 pm

any ideas"?

Postby rspann » March 5th, 2020, 7:54 pm

365 2929. No pointed ends though.

Postby RedVEVO » March 6th, 2020, 5:57 am

Chans in Chagunas ..

You wood not get them elsewhere .

TrinbagoMan

Postby TrinbagoMan » March 6th, 2020, 10:03 am

price for one?

Postby Chimera » March 6th, 2020, 12:26 pm

i does worry when tuners give yuh numbers to call eh
next thing i call a random police station to ask for wood
i google that number and see its a sawmill in penal before i call it lol but thanks

its $7 per running foot
diameters from 3 feet to 6 inches
Last edited by Chimera on March 6th, 2020, 12:26 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby rspann » March 6th, 2020, 12:31 pm

Diameters from 3ft to 6ft?

Postby Chimera » March 6th, 2020, 12:48 pm

yeah he say it dont have consistent sizing, they cut from whatever they have available or you could choose for them to cut

usually between 3-6 inches
Last edited by Chimera on March 6th, 2020, 12:48 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Chimera » March 6th, 2020, 1:58 pm

Oh sheit my bad.
Diameters from 3 to 6 Inches

Postby RedVEVO » March 6th, 2020, 2:19 pm

Building a fence ? Ok ..

You know the wood will eventually rot out ..

Why are you not considering steel ( pipe ) construction ?

Postby Chimera » March 6th, 2020, 2:52 pm

If someone with sense asks I'll answer that question. I dont really take you on vevo. Is like if I driving down the road and a vagrant ask me why i buy a certain vehicle.

Postby maj. tom » March 6th, 2020, 4:54 pm

RedCyat wood like it done rotten and he want some steel pipe in he rima anus now.

Postby adnj » March 6th, 2020, 4:56 pm

Wood rots but it takes a while if you select the correct wood. Thirty years shouldn't be a problem.

Question. Are you using round or square posts? Because if you use square posts, a miter saw along with a saw stand and fence will allow you to shape a cap. It's not fun but it can be done.

Postby Chimera » March 6th, 2020, 5:36 pm

The price I listed is for teak.
Round posts
I bought gas powered post rammer for this purpose.

It's for some land in mayaro that needs to put down about 100 posts along with tiger wire in one day. Cant dig hole and pour concrete and then wait....everything hadda start at 5am and finish by 6pm in one day

Postby rspann » March 6th, 2020, 5:39 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:The price I listed is for teak.
Round posts

It's for some land in mayaro that needs to put down about 100 posts along with tiger wire in one day. Cant dig hole and pour concrete and then wait....everything hadda start at 5am and finish by 6pm in one day

Every 50 ft put an X brace on two adjacent ones.

Postby adnj » March 7th, 2020, 12:12 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:The price I listed is for teak.
Round posts

Then how it looks doesn't matter. You can use anything.

I have strung a lot of barbed wire and cattle fencing but I nearly always used steel t-posts because they are faster to install and the wire clips on instead of using staples. I preferred using railroad ties (about 200 lbs. each) at the corner and gate posts. I have driven those into moist soil using a tractor-mounted hydraulic post driver. A chainsaw was used to cut down the base.

You may be challenged to try to finish setting a line, building corner posts, brace posts, and running the wire in one day. It's the setup that is time consuming unless you don't mind a wandering fenceline without much wire tension.
Last edited by adnj on March 7th, 2020, 12:12 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby rspann » March 7th, 2020, 12:17 pm

Them fellas going to drink real rum for the whole day, so it coming out bend up anyhow. :D :D :D :D