After the pandemic-How the world will change and dealings with China

Postby 88sins » March 29th, 2020, 9:48 pm

Now, I know we're in the middle of this global pandemic crisis, and many people are afraid or at least cautious. But this too shall pass in time.
I want to kno, what are your thoughts on what future of the world's people and government's may be like after this disease known as COVID-19 subsides. Particularly, people's and governments thoughts and actions and behaviors towards each other, and China in particular.

How long will it take till the rest of the world feels it's safe to trade with China again? Will there be tensions and animosity toward the PRC from other world leaders because they played politics and tried to conceal the seriousness of the disease that originated there and led to this crisis that's now putting severe strain on economies and health care systems across the globe? How will these economies that are being drained take to recover, especially the economies of small nations that were already under strain even before this crisis, and how long will it take them to recover? Diplomatic relations may be uncertain going forward, how could they be restored?

Will people around the world start avoiding the Chinese due to fear and hatred, and will they be openly hostile? We all know by now, there's a lot of people all around the world that actively and openly dislike the Chinese, do you believe this pandemic will cause that to increase?

For all the questions, going forward we'll have to find answers for ourselves, as individuals and as a world united. Because if we as a species learn nothing else from this crisis, I believe we've figured out that regardless of ethnicity, political position, or geographical location, we're all connected via one means or another, and those connections can either strengthen us and humanity or destroy us as a species.

Your thoughts are appreciated.

Re: After the pandemic-How the world will change and dealings with China

Postby pugboy » March 29th, 2020, 10:02 pm

they make and supply many things though

china is one of the biggest exporters of two main things in the food world

tomatoes and garlic

Postby De Dragon » March 29th, 2020, 10:07 pm

Not a damn thing will change, as long as China makes stuff for big corporations for a fraction of the cost, China will always be a force to be reckoned with. You're also going to find some arsewipe who will see a random Chinese person and take it out on them even though they are not directly responsible for the situation. Wet markets were shut under pressure after the previous viruses of Chinese origins, only to quietly open again, as a 77 billion dollar industry steeped in cultural and social leanings is not so easy to close down permanently.

Postby zoom rader » March 29th, 2020, 10:14 pm

De Dragon wrote:Not a damn thing will change, as long as China makes stuff for big corporations for a fraction of the cost, China will always be a force to be reckoned with. You're also going to find some arsewipe who will see a random Chinese person and take it out on them even though they are not directly responsible for the situation. Wet markets were shut under pressure after the previous viruses of Chinese origins, only to quietly open again, as a 77 billion dollar industry steeped in cultural and social leanings is not so easy to close down permanently.
Blame the British for that, they started all this trade with the opium wars. That's how they part stole Hong Kong and fvck up china

Postby alfa » March 29th, 2020, 10:18 pm

Maybe trade laws will change and well see good old fashioned made in America products that actually were made in America again. And I agree with Trump that China needs to be punished for unleashing this virus and hiding it after. Maybe by reducing trade with them. Didn't SARS and other flu start there as well?

Postby teems1 » March 29th, 2020, 10:23 pm

MERS is suspected to start in Saudi Arabia.

H1N1 started in Mexico.
alfa wrote:Maybe trade laws will change and well see good old fashioned made in America products that actually were made in America again. And I agree with Trump that China needs to be punished for unleashing this virus and hiding it after. Maybe by reducing trade with them. Didn't SARS and other flu start there as well?

Postby redmanjp » March 29th, 2020, 10:40 pm

perhaps china should be made to cancel all dept due to allowing this virus to wreck the world and destroy economies

but a few positives might come out of this:

we learnt to work from home
-this saves time which would otherwise be spent in traffic, less gas, less money for gas, , less carbon emissions
-if we do have to go into the office less time, less frustration to get there
-more time with family
-businesses don't have to pay as much travel allowance

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » March 29th, 2020, 10:50 pm

Have a look at the latest from 60 minutes Australia.

Unfortunately western Liberals and western media continue to suck up to China.
China is a very dangerous country they should never be trusted. A lot of people will remember what happened but nothing will change because of how powerful China is when it comes to manufacturing.

When the next generation Z comes about adulthood all of this will be forgotten.

THis is assuming Covid goes away? highly extremely unlikely you are going to get rid of Covid according to SARS Expert to 60 Minutes Australia. COVID 19 is here to stay permanently. We will have to reopen the world and go back to work, people will drop like flies but 95% will live, governments around the world won't allow every country to collapse because of COVID 19

Postby Gladiator » March 29th, 2020, 11:12 pm

The world is too dependent on China. Consumerism has plagued society and all the masses want to do is slave behind an 8-4 job to earn money for fast food, big TV, new phone, sneakers, clothes etc etc

The US would try to enforce Trump's agenda, and start moving manufacturing back to the USA. But this would drive the costs of those commodities upward and everything would slowly revert to China. At the end of the day the mighty dollar will prevail over all morality.

The world would go into a great recession and possibly a depression. Certain countries in Europe would take decades to recover. The tourism sector would die. Millions would be unemployed and air travel would also see very hard times. This speakers volumes for our unfortunate region which depends on tourism for income. Call it the collective consciousnesses of our people but we did not support or give in to Rowley and his Sandals scandals and we will be better for it. Imagine having a billion gone to waste.

Trinis could be better from this experience. Definitely the wake up call would change how we do things and how some people live and what they prioritize. Most people put Carnival at the center of their life, hopefully they wake up and see that life is more than just alcohol, party and woman. This could raise the level of thinking and responsibility of our people. But I can only hope...

Lots of people saying not to include politics in he Covid agenda, but as politicians say, Never let a Good Crisis got to Waste. The PNM have capitalized on this and they will drain every cent from the HSF to benefit them. They have launched a political campaign surrounding Covid and hopefully their political agenda would not kill the country to the point of no return.

I say it would be at least 5 years before there is some sense of normalcy on the planet. I just hope that some dum dum don't go and start a war.

Postby The_Honourable » March 29th, 2020, 11:17 pm

So the saying now is that if China sneezes the world catches a cold?

Companies will look at other countries to manufacture than depending on China.

Belt and Road initiative going and be shelved for decades.

Xenophobia will increase where in actuality the communist party is to blame.

The Communist party might fall.

Some already talking about reparations from China. If it gains steam, Jinping going and get a HUGE bill when this is over. If we organize with other countries, we can write off our debt to China.

Postby matr1x » March 30th, 2020, 2:32 am

Who still doesn't believe that china didn't design this virus?

Miktay

Postby Miktay » March 30th, 2020, 3:21 am

teems1 wrote:MERS is suspected to start in Saudi Arabia.

H1N1 started in Mexico.
alfa wrote:Maybe trade laws will change and well see good old fashioned made in America products that actually were made in America again. And I agree with Trump that China needs to be punished for unleashing this virus and hiding it after. Maybe by reducing trade with them. Didn't SARS and other flu start there as well?

MERS came from camels. Camels are an intergral part of the culture in Arabia, milk, racing, food, transport, etc. A majority of the camels are infected with MERS....so its only a matter of time before MERS reinfect humans and flares up again.

And when that happens what do we do? Blame the Saudis?

That’s as idiotic as blaming China for the outbreak of COVID19. Certainly China could’ve reacted better. But blaming the Chinese govt iz counterproductive.

Postby 88sins » March 30th, 2020, 4:34 am

Miktay wrote:

H1N1 started in Mexico.

MERS came from camels. Camels are an intergral part of the culture in Arabia, milk, racing, food, transport, etc. A majority of the camels are infected with MERS....so its only a matter of time before MERS reinfect humans and flares up again.

That’s as idiotic as blaming China for the outbreak of COVID19. Certainly China could’ve reacted better. But blaming the Chinese govt iz counterproductive.

Some see it that way, yet others may not be as lenient and forgiving as you are.
In the end, some will feel the need to force the government of the PRC take responsibility for this entire global outbreak and its death toll. They will make the argument that if Xi Jinping and his minions weren't busy playing propaganda games, penalizing persons that tried to warn the global and wider Chinese community, if they didn't force media blackouts, if they were more focused on containment and less on actively screening, blocking and banning web traffic to conceal what was going on and is STILL going on, we as a world probably would have isolated ourselves from them and avoided all we dealing with today.
They might also argue, if the PRC isnt made to accept responsibility and face no penalty, they've no reason to change. It'll be back to the same old keeping secrets, lying, propaganda etc., and the next outbreak could potentially eradicate humans as a species.

Who knows if they'd be right or wrong for thinking this way. I don't.
The principle is that if you don't own your screw ups, you may not see the need to learn from them and change, or accept responsibility for them and the destruction they caused.

Miktay

Postby Miktay » March 30th, 2020, 5:27 am

Miktay wrote:

H1N1 started in Mexico.

Some see it that way, yet others may not be as lenient and forgiving as you are.
In the end, some will feel the need to force the government of the PRC take responsibility for this entire global outbreak and its death toll. [/b]They will make the argument that if Xi Jinping and his minions weren't busy playing propaganda games, penalizing persons that tried to warn the global and wider Chinese community, if they didn't force media blackouts, if they were more focused on containment and less on actively screening, blocking and banning web traffic to conceal what was going on and is STILL going on, we as a world probably would have isolated ourselves from them and avoided all we dealing with today.
They might also argue, if the PRC isnt made to accept responsibility and face no penalty, they've no reason to change. It'll be back to the same old keeping secrets, lying, propaganda etc., and the next outbreak could potentially eradicate humans as a species.

Who knows if they'd be right or wrong for thinking this way. I don't.
The principle is that if you don't own your screw ups, you may not see the need to learn from them and change, or accept responsibility for them and the destruction they caused.

Thiz iz quite like the reparations for slavery argument. The arguments have merit. But implementing the penalty iza rigmarole.

For Eg. the best epidemical evidence we have on the 1918 influenza virus was that it originated in Haskell county, Kansas in the United States.

On that basis should we ask the USA to pay in arrears for the 50-100 million deaths that were attributed to the Spanish flu?

And there’s the human cost of other recent pandemics: H1N1, which originated in Mexico, the West Nile virus, the Hong Kong flu, MERS etc.

Reparations and finger pointing are a downward spiraling slippery slope. They never end. And they don’t solve anything.

Postby maj. tom » March 30th, 2020, 7:33 am

Nothing will happen. China has been murdering their own citizen, millions of murders, since the 1950s in communist fashion and the population can't do anything against the 中国工农红军 brutality. The West are always outraged by these stories but trading will go on as usual when the world economy settles again.

Nothing will change. Humanity loves money too much still. And i don't want to be alive for the war that changes that.

Postby rspann » March 30th, 2020, 7:49 am

matr1x wrote:Who still doesn't believe that china didn't design this virus?

Nothing made in China does last so long.

Postby matr1x » March 30th, 2020, 7:52 am

rspann wrote:

The secret to chinese manufacturing is they can make a product to suit the need. Any they have stuff that are very high quality. You just have to want to spend

Postby 88sins » March 30th, 2020, 8:09 am

@ Miktay
Ah, but here's the catch. I never said anything about reparations, and paying for causing deaths. Just that they need to own their screwups that made it easier for this thing going global, and change their culture of lies, secrecy, and propaganda when it comes to dealing with the rest of the world.

Miktay

Postby Miktay » March 30th, 2020, 8:51 am

88sins wrote:@ Miktay
Ah, but here's the catch. I never said anything about reparations, and paying for causing deaths. Just that they need to own their screwups that made it easier for this thing going global, and change their culture of lies, secrecy, and propaganda when it comes to dealing with the rest of the world.

It’s not that simple. Lies secrecy and propaganda are not exclusive to China.

The WHO and the European Union were still advocating open borders and diversity after America restricted EU travel. And in fact the EU heavily criticized the USA travel restriction at that time.

March 12, 2020 at 6:50 p.m. EDT
PARIS — European officials on Thursday strongly condemned President Trump's decision to severely restrict travel from Europe to the United States, a move that took them by surprise and that many saw as politically motivated.
Of all the slights between Washington and Europe in recent years, the 30-day travel restrictions — covering non-U.S. citizens who have been to 26 nations across much of the European Union — was a more stinging blow than was felt in previous disputes. In a short statement rare in its directness, the E.U. expressed deep frustration.

https://www.washingtonpost.com/world/eu ... story.html

The effects of the pandemic in Italy were probably exacerbated by the above and by the naive anti-racist politically correct virtue signaling northern Italian politicians.

How much blame should the WHO, EU, and Italian leaders take for their mistakes in judgement? Italy now has the highest reported fatality rate of any country.

Postby zoom rader » March 30th, 2020, 8:58 am

rspann wrote:

Not true as a lot of stuff are made in china and then shipped to the manufacture office where a Sticker is place on the item of which ever country it belongs to. An example is Yamaha , their parts are made in china and assembled in Japan or India. The same goes for the Carbon fiber market , they supply the world with carbon fiber . All those racing push bikes and Supercar body parts are all made in china but a sticker is place on it to which ever it is shipped to.

The USA does the same, you car will say made in the USA when in fact the parts was made in Mexico.

Right here in Trinidad they do the same, years ago I worked at PSC nitrogen and the Urea cane salt that they made was shipped in Sacks and printed on it was "made in USA"

The free trade is one big scam

Postby Redman » March 30th, 2020, 9:07 am

We will all stand up and shake our fist at China- promise to stop buying Chinese made products.

And we will do this diligently....

Until the price of iphones with zero chinese components proves to be 2x-3x more,and all electronics spike in price.
Until we realize that non China manufacturing and supply chains are not as stable or cost effective.

Then all of this ole talk will dissipate as we rationalize our hypocrisy.

China began this march 50 years ago-and has the political system,size,population and now logistics to supply the world.
It eh happen over night.
And it is also the foundation of much of the business world wide.

Changing that isnt a knee jerk reaction.
THe world needs the economies of scale that china has a grip on

We all hate China until it hits our pockets.

Govt financing under the BRI is no different

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » March 30th, 2020, 9:42 am

To answer OPs question...nothing will change, most countries are heavily dependent on the chinese. After listening to several theorists, "leaders" etc one can simply say that China just won "world war 3" without pointing a gun.

China now only has imported cases and their stock market and other businesses are back up and mass production is taking place. This virus was let out immediately after Trump imposed that 25% and China answered with COVID 19. They sacrificed a few thousand persons and they are literally back to normal. USA and EUROPE under pressure(simply put).

As soon as ports open back, China gonna flood the markets with their goods. Another interesting view is Italy's cases are dropping just as in China. China and Italy has one thing in common, Cuban doctors. We know USA have to much pride to accept help from there so they will be under it and the epicenter for some time.

Again...nothing will change

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » March 30th, 2020, 9:49 am

Don't about you OP but I'm learning mandarin and Cantonese right now. Better to integrate and thrive than go against the biggest economic super power in the world.

Postby zoom rader » March 30th, 2020, 10:57 am

Think again if you believe they like you, they only see your money

https://www.huffpost.com/entry/china-ra ... 534f485002

Postby 88sins » March 30th, 2020, 11:09 am

zoom rader wrote:Think again if you believe they like you, they only see your money

That's common knowledge by now.
Only thing that may not be common knowledge is the extremes to which some of them will take to show their dislike for other races.

doh worry, is not only black ppl they eh like. they eh like caucasians. middle easterners indians or anyboy else either

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » March 30th, 2020, 11:12 am

Just imagine the CCP kidnapped, tortured and killed any doctor in China who tried to sound the alarm on this virus and we still have these nasty cancerous pests on the left wing like CNN and MSNBC that tries daily to defend this murderous practice by the Chinese regime.

When this is all over we need to take a hard look at China and all the western liberal media who has defended and propped up China during this horrible pandemic.

Postby zoom rader » March 30th, 2020, 11:50 am

zoom rader wrote:Think again if you believe they like you, they only see your money

That's common knowledge by now.
Only thing that may not be common knowledge is the extremes to which some of them will take to show their dislike for other races.

doh worry, is not only black ppl they eh like. they eh like caucasians. middle easterners indians or anyboy else either

yep but there are those that see these non trini Chinese as not racist.

It took the local Trini Chinese about 150 years to integrated since they first came here in 1806.

The present new comers we have here are all scum, most are only here as a stepping stone to enter into the USA . They will spend about 6 months here and are shipped off to the US via their human trade connections and then another one replaces them. They are known for sharing passports, ID and driving permits. The ones we have here are all linked to the triads and they go by Clan rules. Most of them are slaves and are working off their passage to the USA.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » March 30th, 2020, 11:54 am

^ This is true if you look at all the Chinese business places you does see the Chinese employees for a few months maybe a year or then disappear this happens every single time. Some like the one from happy garden restaurant in St Helena gets kidnapped and never seen again.

Postby zoom rader » March 30th, 2020, 12:00 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:^ This is true if you look at all the Chinese business places you does see the Chinese employees for a few months maybe a year or then disappear this happens every single time. Some like the one from happy garden restaurant in St Helena gets kidnapped and never seen again.

There was documentary sometime ago showing how they entre the USA via Mexico, most of them are slaves and have to work off paying the triads at $70K US each. Most of the females are prostitutes and the rest are sold off as wives and second wives .

In southland mall they have their own brothel for Chinese only, they don't accept local Chinese as they not from the same clan

https://nextshark.com/chinese-illegal-i ... an-border/

Postby Rovin » March 30th, 2020, 1:37 pm

i feel d world will take it easy for about 4-6wks depending on if d ting continuing to spray\slow down or stop & when d factories in china start back making stuff things will go back like normal ...