The 2020 General Election Thread (AUGUST 10TH)

Who will you be voting for on Aug 10th

Poll ended at August 9th, 2020, 11:04 pm

PNM
22%
UNC
59%
COP
2%
PEP
13%
NNV
No votes
MSJ
No votes
NDP
No votes
PDP
No votes
Independent
4%

Total votes: 127

Re: The 2020 General Election Thread (AUGUST 10TH)

Postby pugboy » July 6th, 2020, 9:34 am

ppl does check manifestos and qualifications ?

jhonnieblue wrote:Manifestos for the parties released?

Anyone could put the bio of each representative for their respective areas together to see how they hold up against each other?

Postby zoom rader » July 6th, 2020, 9:55 am

pugboy wrote:ppl does check manifestos and qualifications ?

Anyone could put the bio of each representative for their respective areas together to see how they hold up against each other?
You have to now

You can't trust PNM ppl that they put forward.

Postby pugboy » July 6th, 2020, 9:58 am

I dont think in the history of this country any party ever got held to what they promised in their manifestos
its usually mammaguy
like how they does promise campaign financing reform and all kinda ting

You have to now

Postby zoom rader » July 6th, 2020, 10:00 am

pugboy wrote:I dont think in the history of this country any party ever got held to what they promised in their manifestos
its usually mammaguy
like how they does promise campaign financing reform and all kinda ting

You have to now

Well PNM is making use of HSF

reboot2020

Postby reboot2020 » July 6th, 2020, 11:55 am

This is what the PEP has put forward to date.

I would have expected this to be fleshed out more in print at this point. The ideas presented have been explored in more detail in the various videos and radio interviews. The document as is doesn't do enough to tie them all together and show how they work hand in hand unlike the videos which not everyone has access to. Even with the shortened timeline a full manifesto with KPIs, realistic targets for different phases etc is needed.

In truth the larger ideas like the re-imagined school system, constituency board of supervisors, decentralized water management etc seem to be contingent on being implemented alongside each other for them to be feasible which sounds good in theory but will be extremely challenging all factors considered.

The rest like Border security (Maritime Wall), Food Independence , Recall Legislation and Public Office Reform are first year targets that could be put in train from day one. Those four in particular I'd wager would be the short term focus while the reorganization plan to accomplish the rest is developed.

Call it pie in the sky if you want but its a bold re-imagining of what we could have with the right leadership and political will. The money is there and the ideas themselves reduce costs and reallocate funds where needed which would reduce the financial burden of implementation.

Even if the PEP isn't your first choice, the ideas are worthy of consideration.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » July 6th, 2020, 12:00 pm

Should I vote for PEP?

Postby zoom rader » July 6th, 2020, 12:08 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:Should I vote for PEP?
Yeah help PNM win , good going

reboot2020

Postby reboot2020 » July 6th, 2020, 12:17 pm

You should vote for the organization that has a coherent plan you can get behind, is willing to answer questions about it in a straightforward manner when challenged, and publicly shows the will to implement it. Who ever that is.

Functional democracy requires citizens putting in the work to evaluate the plans being put forward by all parties and their ability to get it done in a realistic manner before making a decision.

Postby eliteauto » July 6th, 2020, 12:30 pm

MSJ candidates
Screen Shot 2020-07-06 at 12.29.02 PM.png

fokhan_96

Postby fokhan_96 » July 6th, 2020, 12:31 pm

What is Philip Edward Alexander's qualifications? What does he do for a living?
reboot2020 wrote:

This is what the PEP has put forward to date.

I would have expected this to be fleshed out more in print at this point. The ideas presented have been explored in more detail in the various videos and radio interviews. The document as is doesn't do enough to tie them all together and show how they work hand in hand unlike the videos which not everyone has access to. Even with the shortened timeline a full manifesto with KPIs, realistic targets for different phases etc is needed.

In truth the larger ideas like the re-imagined school system, constituency board of supervisors, decentralized water management etc seem to be contingent on being implemented alongside each other for them to be feasible which sounds good in theory but will be extremely challenging all factors considered.

The rest like Border security (Maritime Wall), Food Independence , Recall Legislation and Public Office Reform are first year targets that could be put in train from day one. Those four in particular I'd wager would be the short term focus while the reorganization plan to accomplish the rest is developed.

Call it pie in the sky if you want but its a bold re-imagining of what we could have with the right leadership and political will. The money is there and the ideas themselves reduce costs and reallocate funds where needed which would reduce the financial burden of implementation.

Even if the PEP isn't your first choice, the ideas are worthy of consideration.

reboot2020

Postby reboot2020 » July 6th, 2020, 12:35 pm

Keep your cowardice to yourself if you're too afraid to vote for change.

Postby maj. tom » July 6th, 2020, 12:40 pm

bahahahaha you was here in 2007 with COP? What was the outcome of that elections again? A colored pie chart would help you? Get out your calculator one time.

The system is broken. It's time for those liars to bawl "Constitutional reform!!!" once again every night during their crooked, disingenuous campaign... in fact they should make a calypso named that and play it every elections.

fokhan_96

Postby fokhan_96 » July 6th, 2020, 12:44 pm

New candidate.
FB_IMG_1594053819887.jpeg

Postby zoom rader » July 6th, 2020, 12:49 pm

reboot2020 wrote:

Change is not going to happen in TT with 3 or more candidates in one area.

I live in real world and not in a fairly tale world.

If a 3rd party wants to enter politics they need to start at local elections and test the waters from there.

Until then all 3rd parties contesting in a 3 or more area is fooling themselves and so are the few guilable clowns who think they have a chance.
Last edited by zoom rader on July 6th, 2020, 12:49 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Postby zoom rader » July 6th, 2020, 12:50 pm

fokhan_96 wrote:New candidate.
FB_IMG_1594053819887.jpeg
50.votes

Postby zoom rader » July 6th, 2020, 12:51 pm

eliteauto wrote:MSJ candidates
They will pull a mass of 200 votes

elec2020

Postby elec2020 » July 6th, 2020, 12:56 pm

PEP's 'manifesto' was before covid decimated energy prices and production levels... these need to be revisited as... given fiscal revenue shortfalls... imo priority should be given to supporting forex generating sectors amd job creation/retainment incentives... as simply put... how can u do home ownership for all when job stability up in the air

Postby bluefete » July 6th, 2020, 1:18 pm

fokhan_96 wrote:What is Philip Edward Alexander's qualifications? What does he do for a living?

Check The Jericho Project. You might learn some VERY interesting things about lack of accountability.

But that is the same thing with PNM and UNC.

Postby bluefete » July 6th, 2020, 1:22 pm

So which seat PEP leader running for? I have not seen his name there.

Postby eliteauto » July 6th, 2020, 1:24 pm

reboot2020 wrote:

If a 3rd party wants to enter politics they need to start at local elections and test the waters from there.

Until then all 3rd parties contesting in a 3 or more area is fooling themselves and so are the few guilable clowns who think they have a chance.

there are third parties contesting the elections that have done that already, why do you keep insisting now is not the time?

Postby zoom rader » July 6th, 2020, 1:44 pm

eliteauto wrote:
reboot2020 wrote:

there are third parties contesting the elections that have done that already, why do you keep insisting now is not the time?
And?

Where are these parties today?

Are they successful?

Have they made an impact?

You keep harpering on useless 3rd parties yet still you run and and vote for your PNM tribe.

You ant fooling no one.

Postby eliteauto » July 6th, 2020, 1:54 pm

My vote is my democratic right, doh beat up about it. I know yellow is your party but like yuh belly yellow too zoom?

Postby zoom rader » July 6th, 2020, 2:02 pm

eliteauto wrote:My vote is my democratic right, doh beat up about it. I know yellow is your party but like yuh belly yellow too zoom?
I have said and I will say it again,

I am anti PNM.

If two parties in my area I will vote non PNM

If 3 or more parties in my area, then there is no way I will waste my vote for a make believe party.

My options are open and only when I see a third party become the greater of other non PNM parties then they will get my vote.

You and others in pnm dare not vote outside PNM.

You vote for PNM cause they are a black goverment.

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » July 6th, 2020, 2:07 pm

No party is useless. Each represent a option that people can hope would be representative of their interest. The only reason zoom is alluding that these parties carry no significance is due to the fact that they represent a potential removal of voter base from the UNC.

We have to move beyond the tribal politics and hold those voted for accountable to responsible representation.

At the end of the day in the current political landscape, old COP voters are highly unlikely to vote for UNC given the spare of the party politics. I can see they will either abstain from voting, vote pnm or vote a new party rep.
It's not going to be so much a spilt of votes as a loss of voter base to the UNC

Postby eliteauto » July 6th, 2020, 2:11 pm

jhonnieblue wrote:No party is useless. Each represent a option that people can hope would be representative of their interest. The only reason zoom is alluding that these parties carry no significance is due to the fact that they represent a potential removal of voter base from the UNC.

We have to move beyond the tribal politics and hold those voted for accountable to responsible representation.

At the end of the day in the current political landscape, old COP voters are highly unlikely to vote for UNC given the spare of the party politics. I can see they will either abstain from voting, vote pnm or vote a new party rep.
It's not going to be so much a spilt of votes as a loss of voter base to the UNC

Ahhh so that's why he's nervous. Understood

Postby zoom rader » July 6th, 2020, 2:18 pm

jhonnieblue wrote:No party is useless. Each represent a option that people can hope would be representative of their interest. The only reason zoom is alluding that these parties carry no significance is due to the fact that they represent a potential removal of voter base from the UNC.

What you wrote confirms that UNC folk will faster think out of the box to vote for another party.

PNM folk will hardly ever leave PNM .

People like elite will always promote the 3rd party votes cause they pray PNM will win by default.

Elite will never vote outside PNM.

Postby zoom rader » July 6th, 2020, 2:21 pm

eliteauto wrote:

Ahhh so that's why he's nervous. Understood
nervous for what?

We only ever had 3 non PNM goverments.

I am accustomed to the Jamming from PNM.

You on the other hand know once PNM is gone so are your shady contracts under PNM

Postby eliteauto » July 6th, 2020, 2:22 pm

As is my right, remember, people like me eh too bright, I'm just a taxi driver dat eh require no passes yuhnno. This thinking out the box thing too hard I does leave that for edumacated fellas like yuhself

Postby zoom rader » July 6th, 2020, 2:27 pm

eliteauto wrote:As is my right, remember, people like me eh too bright, I'm just a taxi driver dat eh require no passes yuhnno. This thinking out the box thing too hard I does leave that for edumacated fellas like yuhself
Yup a typical police proffesion with a PBR pass .

Postby teems1 » July 6th, 2020, 2:27 pm

Is the finger in ink process going to remain the same?

Also the stamp which is used. Is that going to be sterilized between votes?