St. Vincent Gov't Buys Laptops For 28,000 Children.

Postby bluefete » September 23rd, 2020, 3:03 pm

This deserves a separate thread

Let me edit a bit. This was the original article. Note the date. MAY 2020.

https://www.iwnsvg.com/2020/05/05/free- ... ts-in-svg/

Education
Free tablet programme expanded to all students in SVG

News Admin
5 May 2020 - 06:15AM

The government of St. Vincent and the Grenadines has mobilised resources to purchase a tablet computer for each student in St. Vincent and the Grenadines.

Initially, Parliament, in April, allocated money for the purchase of tablets for Grade 6 and secondary school students.

“We have been in negotiation with a number of vendors and suppliers and we have received additional support from sources outside of the money we had in the budget,” Minister of Finance Camillo Gonsalves said in announcing the expanded programme.

“So we’ve learned now that we can get some money from an educational NGO. We’ve learned that there’s some money from the government of India, we’ve learned that there’s some money that we can repurpose from the World Bank that will allow us to expand the tablet program to cover all students. So that will be a programme that will now deal with 30,000 tablets for all the students in St. Vincent and the Grenadines,” he told a press conference on Wednesday.

The finance minister, however, said that students should manage their expectations.

“Now, these are not iPads; they’re not Samsung Galaxy tablets. These are affordable laptops that have the basic minimum criteria that make it possible for students to get online and get the necessary instruction and submit homework or SBAs or what have you, back to the centre.”

He said that several other countries are pursuing similar programmes.

“So, tablets are in scarce supply at the moment. So we are not going to be able to buy one brand from one source at one time because very few people are able at this point in time to deliver the amount of tablets we want with the specifications we want in the timeframe that we want.

“So, we’re going to begin with a smaller order for the senior secondary school students, because they are the ones closest to important exams and the grade sixes in primary school, we’re going to place an order for those first because that will be about the order of 3,000 tablets.”

He said that the other tablets, which will be shipped out of China will come a little later.

“We’ll buy those in tranches thereafter. But we believe that within a month, we will have gone a very long way to addressing the digital divide that may form if children are out of school for an extended period of time.

“Of course, the date of when school resumes is a rolling target. But we hope that these tablets will assist students even when school resumes at some level and it’s entirely possible that school might not resume as a full day activity straightaway. So these tablets will be important to students,” he said.

School broke one week earlier than usual for the Easter break and is yet to resume because of the COVID-19 pandemic.

The Ministry of Education has switched to online lessons, but the finance minister noted that not all students or households have access to a handheld device that they can use to access these online classes.

He further noted that many houses are without internet service.

“Only about a quarter of households in St. Vincent and the Grenadines have Wi-Fi. Not everybody has a device that they can use to access the internet to participate in these classes,” the finance minister said.

“We don’t want to create a digital divide, where the more affluent children have better access to educational instruction than those who are less affluent. So the government, in the supplementary budget, placed resources aside for the purchase of sufficient tablets for all of secondary schools, and the grade six of primary schools because you figure grade six would be getting ready for their common entrance exam,” he said.

https://news784.com/local-news/12-milli ... M8CNCXNTbA

12 Million To Be Spent On Tablets For School Children
September 22, 2020

Prime Minister Hon. Dr. Ralph Gonsalves while speaking on WEFM last week provided an update on the process of acquiring tablets for the nation’s students.

“We’ve had 3,000 tablets on the ground, Samsung, good quality, these are the tablets and we are ordering another 25,000, but of the 25,000, 14,000 will be of the same Samsung brand.

These will be for the students of the community college, the students at secondary school and grade 6.”

11,000 units, approximately, of another type called JOSH, that’s a more generic type; for the lower classes, grade and down, of the primary schools.

So that whole package will be about $12 million dollars.”
Last edited by bluefete on September 23rd, 2020, 3:19 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Re: St. Vincent Gov't Buys Laptops For 28,000 Children.

Postby maj. tom » September 23rd, 2020, 3:09 pm

Sir, please. We are getting our value for money in rental of One Alexandra Place. Please move on using your left foot, right foot special moves that you were taught in August. Did we not scorn the idea of free laptops for our children and instead chose 4 free led bulbs that we ourselves paid for with taxes?

Worry about how you will adapt to the flooding situation.
Thank you.

Post-Script: I forgot to remind you "Great is the PNM!!" *blows car horn*

Postby MaxPower » September 23rd, 2020, 3:10 pm

Hello bluefete,

The Govt is not in any position right now to do this sort of expenditure.

Had Trinis complied to the guidelines as advised by the MOH from the very early stages of this pandemic, maybe then the Govt could have afforded.

Billions were spent on mining irresponsible Trinis.....billions.

Postby bluefete » September 23rd, 2020, 3:14 pm

LOL @ major tom.

Maxie boy - all those billions you talking about did not end up in the ordinary person's pocket, eh. Just saying.

Postby Slartibartfast » September 23rd, 2020, 4:54 pm

maj. tom wrote:Sir, please. We are getting our value for money in rental of One Alexandra Place. Please move on using your left foot, right foot special moves that you were taught in August. Did we not scorn the idea of free laptops for our children and instead chose 4 free led bulbs that we ourselves paid for with taxes?

Worry about how you will adapt to the flooding situation.
Thank you.

Post-Script: I forgot to remind you "Great is the PNM!!" *blows car horn*

death365

Postby death365 » September 23rd, 2020, 5:11 pm

The same people who vote out unc.... And their free laptops is the same ones crying and scampering to get now
.. From their own MONEY

I can remember he video where the hourourable Keith C. Rowley saying that it was "bad".

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » September 23rd, 2020, 5:36 pm

death365 wrote:The same people who vote out unc.... And their free laptops is the same ones crying and scampering to get now
.. From their own MONEY

I can remember he video where the hourourable Keith C. Rowley saying that it was "bad".

My whole office voted PNM but is level bad talking Rowley and co getting right now. If only PNM supporters knew they could vote otherwise.

Just to state one thing here, purchasing a laptop for every student would cost the government at least 0.5B TT..... Firstly that's not unreasonable, secondly maybe only half of those students actually need one given the majority of the middle class students have some working device.

A simple means test could have been used and all needing students could have been supplied laptops.

All this time we bought when we locked down hard from March to June could have been used to procure this.

Postby Rovin » September 23rd, 2020, 5:45 pm

remember when some ppl used to say why we giving dem chirren laptops for cause they does only use it to watch porn & play games

oh how d tables have turned

nobody cud properly account for how d withdrawn millions from d HSF were used for covid purposes .... ent dat $ cuda buy d same laptops we need for dem chirren now

rebound

Postby rebound » September 23rd, 2020, 5:54 pm

I was listening to pro pnm persons before the election and it appears that they saw the unc's promise to give children laptops as a negative and pnm's promise to tax them as a positive..... the power of an effectively executed chain-up is amazing.

death365

Postby death365 » September 23rd, 2020, 6:00 pm

I thought was only me that happen to...
rebound wrote:I was listening to pro pnm persons before the election and it appears that they saw the unc's promise to give children laptops as a negative and pnm's promise to tax them as a positive..... the power of an effectively executed chain-up is amazing.

Postby sMASH » September 23rd, 2020, 6:02 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:
death365 wrote:The same people who vote out unc.... And their free laptops is the same ones crying and scampering to get now
.. From their own MONEY

My whole office voted PNM but is level bad talking Rowley and co getting right now. If only PNM supporters knew they could vote otherwise.

Just to state one thing here, purchasing a laptop for every student would cost the government at least 0.5B TT..... Firstly that's not unreasonable, secondly maybe only half of those students actually need one given the majority of the middle class students have some working device.

A simple means test could have been used and all needing students could have been supplied laptops.

All this time we bought when we locked down hard from March to June could have been used to procure this.

with the kamla laptop, (and how shenzen does operate), u link up with a buildhouse, agree on a design, they prototype a few pieces, once u all agree, they build a few thousand in a run. u get them for a fraction of the cost of buying units off the shelves.

so, think that a reasonable laptop might be 2500, if u link with a manufacturer, it might drop to less than half that price.
thats why it have so many odd fones and electronics out there... they use spare parts and make runs of a few thousands and then pipe them off.

so, u get an updated version of the kamla laptop. find build house that can build for the reputable people, i.e. lenovo, samsung etc, and ask them to do some knock off unbranded runs for u specifically

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » September 23rd, 2020, 6:21 pm

sMASH wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:
.. From their own MONEY

with the kamla laptop, (and how shenzen does operate), u link up with a buildhouse, agree on a design, they prototype a few pieces, once u all agree, they build a few thousand in a run. u get them for a fraction of the cost of buying units off the shelves.

so, think that a reasonable laptop might be 2500, if u link with a manufacturer, it might drop to less than half that price.
thats why it have so many odd fones and electronics out there... they use spare parts and make runs of a few thousands and then pipe them off.

so, u get an updated version of the kamla laptop. find build house that can build for the reputable people, i.e. lenovo, samsung etc, and ask them to do some knock off unbranded runs for u specifically

Agreed, it can be very cheap for a decent useable machine nowadays.

My girl sister just bought this for her online classes.

Acer Aspire 5 Slim Laptop, 15.6 inches Full HD IPS Display, AMD Ryzen 3 3200U, Vega 3 Graphics, 4GB DDR4, 128GB SSD, Backlit Keyboard, Windows 10 in S Mode costing just over $400

https://www.amazon.com/gp/aw/d/B07RF1XD ... d_i=565108

Aside from the 4gb of ram it's surprisingly responsive when I was asked to install some pirated software for her.

Postby MaxPower » September 23rd, 2020, 6:34 pm

bluefete wrote:LOL @ major tom.

Maxie boy - all those billions you talking about did not end up in the ordinary person's pocket, eh. Just saying.

Heheh hehe heheh true eh.

Just like the 12 million too

hehe heheh hehe

Postby zoom rader » September 23rd, 2020, 7:46 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:
.. From their own MONEY

Let den take bull

Dumb fvck stupid PNM ppl

Postby sMASH » September 23rd, 2020, 7:48 pm

^^ yup

Postby bluefete » September 23rd, 2020, 9:08 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:
sMASH wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:
.. From their own MONEY

Agreed, it can be very cheap for a decent useable machine nowadays.

My girl sister just bought this for her online classes.

Acer Aspire 5 Slim Laptop, 15.6 inches Full HD IPS Display, AMD Ryzen 3 3200U, Vega 3 Graphics, 4GB DDR4, 128GB SSD, Backlit Keyboard, Windows 10 in S Mode costing just over $400

https://www.amazon.com/gp/aw/d/B07RF1XD ... d_i=565108

Aside from the 4gb of ram it's surprisingly responsive when I was asked to install some pirated software for her.

That is a real good price for a 128 GB SSD.

Postby De Dragon » September 24th, 2020, 12:12 am

Once again we have been embarrassed by a Caribbean neighbour. First, it was Barbados supporting T&T citizens financially and otherwise when Goebbels wouldn't. Then it was Grenada showing how to reduce a debt/GDP ratio by REDUCING taxes unlike Impsy. Now St Vincent shows that laptops are their responsibility to keep the education playing field level, at least in terms of hardware, while we're begging cap in hand to NGO's and private sector companies.

Postby Gladiator » September 24th, 2020, 12:36 am

And they so proud to beg eh....shameless PNM people.
De Dragon wrote:Once again we have been embarrassed by a Caribbean neighbour. First, it was Barbados supporting T&T citizens financially and otherwise when Goebbels wouldn't. Then it was Grenada showing how to reduce a debt/GDP ratio by REDUCING taxes unlike Impsy. Now St Vincent shows that laptops are their responsibility to keep the education playing field level, at least in terms of hardware, while we're begging cap in hand to NGO's and private sector companies.

agent007

Postby agent007 » September 24th, 2020, 2:55 am

The one laptop per child initiative was in discussions since 2007 where distributions to students took place over the years. Of the thousands received in the past, Acer was the bid winner. Not sure who would be the supplier for this new batch. Kudos to SVG via the father and son team to make this happen.

Postby Ben_spanna » September 25th, 2020, 8:07 am

MaxPower wrote:Hello bluefete,

The Govt is not in any position right now to do this sort of expenditure.

Had Trinis complied to the guidelines as advised by the MOH from the very early stages of this pandemic, maybe then the Govt could have afforded.

Billions were spent on mining irresponsible Trinis.....billions.

billions eh??? :roll: :roll:

its so easy to tell whos red, ready and a total ignramous idiot on these forums.........

Postby maj. tom » November 6th, 2020, 5:36 pm

Unrelated to the topic, but still relevant. 5 terms of leadership! Seems too much, past democracy and into the realm of dictatorship type governance. There should be a 2 full terms/3 partial terms limits to leadership in our Commonwealth Constitutions. UK doesn't specifically has this in their Westminster Parliament laws, but internal party laws make sure that the leader of the party steps down before he/she gets too stale. Even Churchill didn't get past 2 terms.

Just don't tell zoom about the party colors there in SVG. :lol:

SVG elects Gonsalves for 5th term as PM

Dr Ralph Gonsalves has been reelected Prime Minister of St Vincent and the Grenadines for a fifth term.

The electorate gave Dr Gonsalves' Unity Labour Party (ULP) nine of the 15 seats in the Parliament.

It represents an increase of three seats on the previous one-seat majority he had enjoyed in the last two general elections.

It is also the first time that a political party has won five consecutive general elections there.

Gonsalves, 74, easily won his North Central Windward seat he has been representing since 2001, brushing aside the two other candidates in Chieftain Neptune of the main opposition New Democratic Party (NDP) and Kadmiel McFee of the CVG Green Party.

In a message posted on his Facebook page, Gonsalves thanked voters for returning the ULP to power.

“It’s celebration time. It is five in they tail,” he wrote,” as party supporters gathered for a celebration.

NDP leader Dr. Godwin Friday, 61, who led the party into a general election for the first time, easily retained the Northern Grenadines seat he has represented in Parliament since 2001. He polled 2,123 votes against 458 for the ULP’s Carlos Williams.

The NDP swept the two seats on the sister isle of the Grenadines. The other seat, in the Southern Grenadines was won by Terrance Ollivierre, who defeated Edwin Snagg by a margin of 1153 to 559.

One of the causalities of the election was Health Minister Luke Brown, who was defeated by newcomer, Dwight Fitzgerald Bramble in the East Kingstown constituency that had been represented by former NDP leader Arnhim Eustace, a former prime minister and finance minister, who quit active politics last year.

Brown, who polled 2, 306 votes had been defeated in the last two elections by Eustace and had hoped to win the seat in his absence. Bramble polled 2,547. In the North Leeward, the ULP’s Carlos James won by seven votes against the incumbent Ronald Mathews, polling 2, 287 as against 2, 280 for Mathews. James had lost the seat in the 2015 election by 12 votes.

- Edited from CMC News
https://www.guardian.co.tt/news/svg-ele ... e6588956c2

Postby bluefete » November 6th, 2020, 5:41 pm

maj.tom: In Banana Republics like T&T, elected leaders only give up power when they are dead on when they get voted out (and then then some don't).

Williams died in office.

Chambers, Panday, Manning, Robinson, Kamla were all voted out but continued to hold on to Opposition office (except Manning in 2010 when Rowley and Imbert and dem ran his tail from Balisier House.)

We are pseudo - democracy followers.

Postby De Dragon » November 6th, 2020, 6:32 pm

bluefete wrote:maj.tom: In Banana Republics like T&T, elected leaders only give up power when they are dead on when they get voted out (and then then some don't).

Williams died in office.

Chambers, Panday, Manning, Robinson, Kamla were all voted out but continued to hold on to Opposition office (except Manning in 2010 when Rowley and Imbert and dem ran his tail from Balisier House.)

We are pseudo - democracy followers.

Well they do call dem "til ah deads" for a reason! :lol: :lol:
We even have our own examples right here!

Postby zoom rader » November 6th, 2020, 6:44 pm

Just think the rest of the carribean counties are now playing catch up in their lap top distribution programme.

Non red Goverments saw this vision and now the jack arse red Goverment took it away. Parents have to buy lap tops while job looses are high under these red jack arses that Redman and eliteauto support and blog for.

Meanwhile paying rents on empty buildings better than lap tops distributions.

Jack arse country filled with 320000 stupid people

Postby Rovin » November 6th, 2020, 6:59 pm

like ULP is d pee nm of that country ? ....

Postby zoom rader » November 6th, 2020, 7:01 pm

Rovin wrote:like ULP is d pee nm of that country ? ....
Once they look like Rowlee and share his ill behaviour, then yes