Cabinet Ministers in St Lucia agree to 75% salary cut in face of economic crisis

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 12th, 2020, 6:01 pm

Saint Lucia’s Cabinet of Ministers has agreed to a 75% salary reduction to help tackle the COVID-19 economic crisis, Loop News confirmed Wednesday, April 22, 2020.

Ahead of Tuesday’s sitting of the House of Parliament, Commerce Minister, Bradley Felix, disclosed that discussions regarding pay cuts for parliamentarians were in advanced stages, which would cause the Cabinet of Minister to take home 25% of their salaries.

“The parliamentarians were the first on the block as it relates to that,” Felix told reporters Tuesday, noting, “It is across the board.”

https://www.looptt.com/content/st-lucia ... c-crisis-0

Re: Cabinet Ministers in St Lucia agree to 75% salary cut in face of economic crisis

Postby Rovin » October 12th, 2020, 6:02 pm

if was here it wud be even more teefin than usual ...

Re: Cabinet Ministers in St Lucia agree to 75% salary cut in face of economic crisis

Postby maj. tom » October 12th, 2020, 6:19 pm

In these hard times, band yuh belly. No forex for you. Recession. Online tax. Car tax. Property tax. No more subsidy.

However!
Rowley: "Luxury vehicles part of the pay package."
PM defends tax exemptions for luxury vehicles

Hard times boy. Hard times for everybody.

Yes, that is the official PNM government response to the hard times and the sacrifice everyone else must make.
*Awaits PNM gas station racket (part deux)*

Postby pugboy » October 12th, 2020, 6:23 pm

yep, part of the package bro
their salary aint all that and somebody held a gun to their
head to make them go into govt, otherwise they woulda make more than that on their own outside of govt.

try and feel sorry for them and the judges living in ivory towers with $60k pensions

Postby j.o.e » October 13th, 2020, 9:40 am

They’re gonna cut public servants pay by up to 50% thinks that serious so all this is just to get buy in.
Cut public servants pay by 50% in Trinidad and see what will happen. All this we in it together talk done.

daron

Postby daron » October 13th, 2020, 10:51 am

Imagine if this happens a Clark 1 work for somting like $4000.00 per month, some live south works p.o.s
Would it even make sense working if you have to travel

Cutting salary in half may not affect the higher head but will definitely mash up the lower works
j.o.e wrote:They’re gonna cut public servants pay by up to 50% thinks that serious so all this is just to get buy in.
Cut public servants pay by 50% in Trinidad and see what will happen. All this we in it together talk done.

Postby j.o.e » October 13th, 2020, 10:52 am

daron wrote:Imagine if this happens a Clark 1 work for somting like $4000.00 per month, some live south works p.o.s
Would it even make sense working if you have to travel

Cutting salary in half may not affect the higher head but will definitely mash up the lower works
j.o.e wrote:They’re gonna cut public servants pay by up to 50% thinks that serious so all this is just to get buy in.

Well to be fair based on the article it’s staggered. Bigger cuts for higher ups. Lower cuts for lower paid.

Postby MG Man » October 13th, 2020, 11:15 am

local ministers:
we does be givin most ah we salary away in hampers an ting to we constituents anyway

Postby zoom rader » October 13th, 2020, 12:09 pm

Most public servants support the red Goverment, so they got what they voted for.

I say cut their pay, they produce little anyway.

Postby j.o.e » October 13th, 2020, 12:10 pm

Most public servants support the red Goverment, so they got what they voted for.

So if all the poor people and public servants voted for PNM ... who voted for Kams ?

Postby zoom rader » October 13th, 2020, 12:29 pm

j.o.e wrote:

So if all the poor people and public servants voted for PNM ... who voted for Kams ?
She gained a seat did she not,?

Postby Ben_spanna » October 13th, 2020, 1:49 pm

And here a Minister getting Around $41,000 monthly, but what are their additional housing allowances and travel allowances? Does a minister actually have to spend money ?
If you house payments/rental is being covered
Your gas/diesel payments being covered,
Your entertainment costs( breakfast and lunch everyday) being covered,

exactly how much does a minister have to spend at the end of a month that they cannot afford to take a paycut??

:fist: :fist: :fist:

Postby Dizzy28 » October 13th, 2020, 2:13 pm

Ben_spanna wrote:And here a Minister getting Around $41,000 monthly, but what are their additional housing allowances and travel allowances? Does a minister actually have to spend money ?
If you house payments/rental is being covered
Your gas/diesel payments being covered,
Your entertainment costs( breakfast and lunch everyday) being covered,

exactly how much does a minister have to spend at the end of a month that they cannot afford to take a paycut??

:fist: :fist: :fist:

The 98th SRC of 2013
Monthly remuneration
Non Cabinet Minister - $33,490
Cabinet Minister - $41,030

Transportation - $6,660 and a personal Chauffeur
Loans for purchase of car, purchase of insurance and for repairs

Subsistence Allowance - $2,000
Housing Allowance - $12,360
Annual Overseas Travel Grant - $36,800
Telecommunications - The cost of installation of a telephone with internet access in the office holder’s private residence, rental costs and other charges, including Value Added Tax, related to official business to be met by the State.
Entertainment - Actual expenses incurred for official entertainment to be met from an official Entertainment Vote
Professional Allowance (Attorney General) - $4,110

Tobago MPs and Ministers ave extra benefits

Postby maj. tom » October 13th, 2020, 2:17 pm

All part of the pay package bro. Hard luck and band belly for everybody else.

Postby j.o.e » October 13th, 2020, 2:58 pm

j.o.e wrote:

She did but I learning about demographics from you wise one. So since you know the PNM voters who are the UNC voters ?

Postby mero » October 13th, 2020, 3:27 pm

j.o.e wrote:

She did but I learning about demographics from you wise one. So since you know the PNM voters who are the UNC voters ?
U really asking spin doctor a question about UNC?

Zoom takes his UNC contract very seriously.. quite admirable if we talking about party loyalty tbh .

Zoom is incapable of bad talking UNC and mother Kamla, queen of the south(land)

Postby zoom rader » October 13th, 2020, 3:37 pm

j.o.e wrote:

Anywhere you see people that look like Rowlee then that's a crime hot spot and known forever red Goverment supporters. These places are fillied with tribal voters and have never progressed.

Postby Redman » October 13th, 2020, 3:48 pm

And they ban yuh for ‘the P word’

Postby K74T » October 14th, 2020, 4:51 pm

What exactly is "people that look like Rowlee" ?

Postby MaxPower » October 14th, 2020, 4:53 pm

I love Rowley