Are We Serious about Fixing Crime in T&T?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » February 14th, 2021, 8:06 pm

Paolo Kernahan writes: "This moment cannot be met with hollow, pointless bickering. We owe it to Andrea Bharatt, Ashanti Riley and all others taken from us to look more deeply at our disturbing crime problem.
Just as there is no one cause for criminality, there can be no one solution that will break us free from its deadly clutches.
Watch this video to get in on the conversation to drive change in T&T."

https://www.facebook.com/dailyzeppo/vid ... 3401284251

Re: Are We Serious about Fixing Crime in T&T?

Postby pugboy » February 14th, 2021, 8:17 pm

only when the ppl at the top willing to answer will we be serious
until that time giving ppl pepper spray like the quote about letting them eat cake

elec2020

Postby elec2020 » February 14th, 2021, 8:36 pm

Nope. And we never will be

Postby paid_influencer » February 14th, 2021, 8:53 pm

until we ready to look hard into our own culture, no.

Morgan Job was the last man to really stand up and criticize our culture. He went on radio to get cuss. He had to sell CD by the airport to get his message out, because it was unpopular. Morgan Job has no contemporary successor. Nobody willing to take up that mantle.

The crime is caused by our culture. Nobody wants to speak up and call out our culture out for being bloodthirsty, heartless and anti-intellectual. Even when people were lighting candles this week, social media was a full display of everything wrong with our culture.

The leaders too far in to see it (flinging teacups in Parliament) or willingly mute for the sake of getting power. The last time a leader made a comment on culture was Manning back in the days when he told people to watch more TV as a form of family planning. The man get cuss, but leaders should be saying the things that are hardest for us to hear.

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » February 14th, 2021, 9:14 pm

So glad he spoke about the education system.

Postby MaxPower » February 14th, 2021, 9:18 pm

Friends,

We must look at the crime statistics.

One thing stands out.

Address that and i guarantee you that crime will be at an all time low.

Postby pugboy » February 14th, 2021, 9:28 pm

Lest not forget also one of the loudest social activist voices have closets of skeletons and does dodge the topic every time.

Postby Ben_spanna » February 14th, 2021, 9:42 pm

Because many of our criminals are not afraid of going to jail, spending a few months and still having access to cell phones and cigarettes.
What they need and fear is the cat-o-nine, if they had to receive 4 strokes across their damn backs every day for their sentence... and thrown them into holes and starve them, or a daily dosage of some 220 electricity running through your body...
Our criminals will, change by force ..

viedcht

Postby viedcht » February 14th, 2021, 9:54 pm

Excise criminals from society.

Postby MaxPower » February 14th, 2021, 10:06 pm

Ben_spanna wrote:Because many of our criminals are not afraid of going to jail, spending a few months and still having access to cell phones and cigarettes.
What they need and fear is the cat-o-nine, if they had to receive 4 strokes across their damn backs every day for their sentence... and thrown them into holes and starve them, or a daily dosage of some 220 electricity running through your body...
Our criminals will, change by force ..

Ben,

You always have all the right solutions.

Harsh, inhumane.....but necessary.

A violent approach is needed for change.

Once the example is made out of a few, the rest will change.

Postby alfa » February 14th, 2021, 10:51 pm

Some of the problems that Paolo spoke about involving law enforcement and the judiciary stems from the overlooked fact that these systems are all part of the public service. The permeating culture that exists in these institutions would be wiped out overnight if the word 'public' is removed. Everything from licencing office, to police to the hospitals, the day it is run on a business model where there are repercussions for non performance I guarantee you half of Trinidad's woes will be removed

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » February 14th, 2021, 10:56 pm

pugboy wrote:Lest not forget also one of the loudest social activist voices have closets of skeletons and does dodge the topic every time.

Who is this? Seriously?

Postby Dizzy28 » February 14th, 2021, 11:01 pm

Numb3r4 wrote:
pugboy wrote:Lest not forget also one of the loudest social activist voices have closets of skeletons and does dodge the topic every time.

Who is this? Seriously?
PEA...

Postby pugboy » February 14th, 2021, 11:03 pm

You want to ask judges to hear cases in a full days work instead of half day ?
Which public servant can you ask to double their workload even if they only work half day?

alfa wrote:Some of the problems that Paolo spoke about involving law enforcement and the judiciary stems from the overlooked fact that these systems are all part of the public service. The permeating culture that exists in these institutions would be wiped out overnight if the word 'public' is removed. Everything from licencing office, to police to the hospitals, the day it is run on a business model where there are repercussions for non performance I guarantee you half of Trinidad's woes will be removed

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » February 14th, 2021, 11:05 pm

pugboy wrote:You want to ask judges to hear cases in a full days work instead of half day ?
Which public servant can you ask to double their workload even if they only work half day?

alfa wrote:Some of the problems that Paolo spoke about involving law enforcement and the judiciary stems from the overlooked fact that these systems are all part of the public service. The permeating culture that exists in these institutions would be wiped out overnight if the word 'public' is removed. Everything from licencing office, to police to the hospitals, the day it is run on a business model where there are repercussions for non performance I guarantee you half of Trinidad's woes will be removed

Doctors also work half day at the health centers across the nation too. People just doing what they want in TT for decades.

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » February 14th, 2021, 11:06 pm

DMan7 wrote:
pugboy wrote:You want to ask judges to hear cases in a full days work instead of half day ?

Doctors also work half day at the health centers across the nation too. They then buss out and attend to their private practice making double the money since they should've been working full day at the government health centers but still getting paid for it. People just doing what they want in TT for decades.

Postby alfa » February 14th, 2021, 11:14 pm

DMan7 wrote:

Doctors also work half day at the health centers across the nation too. They then buss out and attend to their private practice making double the money since they should've been working full day at the government health centers but still getting paid for it. People just doing what they want in TT for decades.

The same docs who treat you like an actual human patient ( paying client) in private practice but treat you like crap in public health facilities. Case in point for a drastic shake up of the system. It will however be the death blow for whichever govt does it so don't expect it to ever be done

Postby Monk BANzai » February 14th, 2021, 11:24 pm

Ralph Maraj did an excellent piece today on this...highlights is my fave paragraph of his offering...

https://trinidadexpress.com/opinion/col ... e5b10.html

Diseased, Decaying Society

The kidnapping and brutal murder of Andrea Bharatt has stirred national hurt and anger. It also happened with the demise of Ashanti Riley.

And it will keep happening unless we recognise our condition. “We must look the real enemy in the eye,” says an Express editorial.

To do so, we must acknowledge Trinidad and Tobago is a diseased place, socially and politically. We have a spreading swampland of social decay that produces traumatising horror for the population while our tribal politics allows leaders to get away without doing anything about it.

Take the epidemic of violence against women. Every year, thousands of women seek restraining orders while thousands more remain silent. Indeed, one in every three women is a victim; there were 986 domestic violence reports in 2019. Between 2000-2019 there were 6.047 reported cases of rape in this country while many are not reported. But when asked about the domestic violence, the Prime Minister was arrogantly dismissive, delivering this inanity to the nation’s women, “I am not in your bedroom. I am not in your choice of men.” Always shamelessly shirking responsibility! And getting away with it.

This is the political disease in this country. Rowley speaks his fatuousness with impunity, because, like all other politicians, he is protected by the tribalism that poisons the politics of Trinidad and Tobago. In our racially bifurcated society, tribal allegiance protects politicians from the full force of public opinion, indispensable for dynamic democracy. They are assured of massive base support no matter what they do or say, making these “servants of the people” arrogant, uncaring, and unaccountable.

And so the disintegration continues. Between 2010 and 2021 almost 5,000 persons were murdered, the annual rate twice exceeding 500 in this country of 1.3 million while New York City with 8.5 million people had 289 murders in 2018, 318 in 2019 and 447 in 2020.

Then there is horrific abuse of children. In the Senate on February 5, 2019, the Attorney General, speaking from a Children’s Authority report, said for the three-year period 2015-18 the Authority received 14,581 cases of child abuse. This included 7,771 cases of sexual abuse, disaggregated as follows: 3,543 children ten to 13 years, 1,837 children ages seven to nine, 1,604 children four to six years, and, 787 children ages one to three, all sexually abused.

Unspeakable degeneracy! And just one in seven offences is reported! This is an utterly diseased, decaying society. How many children, bred in violence, underdevelopment, abuse and decadence grow up to rape, murder and brutalise women like Ashanti Riley and Andrea Bharatt? Yet all the Prime Minister could say is “monsters are still with us”.

It is utter dereliction of duty to ignore the deepening degeneracy in this country. We must arrest the decay. We must mount a national plan for social and cultural regeneration. Nothing less would do. I therefore repeat what I have been telling the Government for six years: establish a special cabinet sub-committee comprising the ministries of education, culture, social development, the attorney-general and national security, supported by the technocracy, civil society, the university and other sources of expertise, to develop that “whole of government approach” an this urgent national solution. Take responsibility. Provide leadership!

That plan must include schools. Like a volcano boiling beneath, student hooliganism keeps erupting in this country. Violence, disrespect and general brutishness are prevalent in so many government secondary schools. There have been rapes, stabbings, gang wars, street fights, drugs and alcohol use, even stoning and slapping of teachers.

Sexual promiscuity is rampant including child prostitution and pornography, acknowledged by the Education Minister. In this country, 26 per cent of pupils between 11 and 18 are sexually active; 13.2 per cent before the age of 13; and 17.6 per cent with multiple partners. Between 2014 and 2018 there were 3,777 teenage pregnancies. Every month at least 62 teenage girls between 13 and 19 become pregnant, many unable to identify the father of the coming child.

Whichever party is in power, every citizen must insist the government take steps to improve discipline and order in government secondary schools and create the civilising environment for a constructive society. For decades, these schools have sent thousands into the adult world lacking basic literacy and numeracy, purposeless and angry. Such dysfunctional youth stagnate in their economic and social conditions and soon produce offspring to grow up in worsening environments in an ever- widening cycle of underdevelopment, escalating the epidemics of teenage pregnancies, absent fathers, domestic violence, child abuse, sexual depravity and horrendous murder levels, placing Trinidad and Tobago among the most dangerous countries in the world.

This is the society that produced the killers of Ashanti Riley and Andrea Bharatt. When will we wake up to our reality? There will be no government action unless the population discards its primitive politics. People must stand up for country, not only for party. NGO leader Hazel Brown says “you can’t march and light candles and then vote the same way.” Demand a better life from whoever is in power. Hold all leaders’ feet to the fire. We would only then have started to cure this diseased, decaying society.

Postby pugboy » February 14th, 2021, 11:38 pm

Don’t blame the cops who don’t act on reports of domestic violence because
If the attorney general refuses to answer whose chirren were playing with machine guns in cumuto
where exactly do you start fixing ?

Postby 88sins » February 14th, 2021, 11:49 pm

Fixing this country's violent crime problem ain't gonna be as easy as "gee dem peppa spray" and throwing hands up in the air when people still getting raped and murdered. What's the use of a can of pepper spray in your bag when there's a 9mm jammed into your ribs?
To start, the only things to put fear, doubt and hesitation in a criminals mind that has the effect of deterring them from perpetrating a crime are:

They know that there is a very real probability that they may not be successful in or even survive their attempt to harm their victims, because their intended victims may be as well armed as they are or even better armed and trained than they are. A bandit/rapist looks for a weak target, not the one that could kill him.
They know that they will be caught, tried, convicted and sentenced, and that the penalty for their crimes is far worse than they are willing to endure for the rewards of their criminal activity. A potential rapist would think twice about raping a woman or child if he knew that when he was caught (notice, I said when, not if), that he'd be surgically castrated and his penis removed after he was subjected to the same thing he put his victim through.

Drastic times call for drastic measures

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » February 15th, 2021, 5:08 am

Long and short answer is NO!

To even start to tackle our crime problem, corruption within
TTPS
TTR
TTCG
PRISONS
LICENSE OFFICE
IMMIGRATION
CUSTOMS
JUDICIARY

Must be addressed and I guarantee we will see a DRASTIC reduction. Fyi its very simple to deal with these places because if you all notice I left out one agency under the MNS where corruption is NON existent because of their policies. This leaves me wondering why that agency's policies cannot be employed across the board. It's simply because we do not want to fix our problem!!

Allyuh smart, so id leave you all to guess the agency I speak of.

Postby MaxPower » February 15th, 2021, 5:09 am

T&T needs vigilantes to track down rapists and remove their penis.

Postby matr1x » February 15th, 2021, 5:52 am

No we aren't. We talk about trinis lawless and letting illegal immigrants in without question. So.......

Postby MaxPower » February 15th, 2021, 6:05 am

matr1x wrote:No we aren't. We talk about trinis lawless and letting illegal immigrants in without question. So.......

Slim morning,

We know this.

When are you and your countrymen going to stand together?

Haven’t you seen what the country is capable of with the recent protests?

It’s not over yet. We need everyone to come out as they would for Carnival and stand up to this Govt and stand up consistently.

But you don’t believe in change and want no part of it, so don’t tote when illegal immigrants watching you in your face and talking your wuk.

Postby j.o.e » February 15th, 2021, 6:59 am

Trinis are lawless. Just look at the comments on social media when police ticket or charge people for smaller crimes. Instead of kudos the police are accused of being wicked. Crime is politicized, people feel when they get a ticket for speeding is the govt taking their money, same people will cry when a reckless driver mows down their family.
Trinis need a big stick over them to do the right thing all the time. Savages

Skanky

Postby Skanky » February 15th, 2021, 7:04 am

Like everything else that doesn't work in this country crime will never be solved as long as politicians benefit hugely from it.
Does no one remember last year when there were the riots in POS some gangster put out a voice note stating that it's the politicians who come into these areas and give them money, guns and drugs iirc.
Give them guns and drugs to commit crimes, take away tertiary education to keep them stupid, build a swimming pool so they will never want to leave and voila you have a constant, infinite supply of criminals that your financiers get to feed, transport etc and you get to 'fix' every year by pumping billions of dollars into national security with zero accountability.
Then clone the slums across the country and call them low cost housing projects and put some of these criminals from these areas to reproduce like cancer in these new areas.
Play the race card every now and then so they blame everyone else but themselves and instant billionaire.
Everybody sing....'We love you so we take good care of you, only ________ has a plan'.

Postby Ben_spanna » February 15th, 2021, 7:13 am

more of the "known" gang leaders and their supporters just need to be brutally exterminated .... crime will slow down drastically once all the criminals realize they are targets of an unknown authority...

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » February 15th, 2021, 7:14 am

It have those on this forum who believe that crime is down because they watching manipulated ttps stats

Postby MaxPower » February 15th, 2021, 9:16 am

If T&T wants to be serious about crime,

Let’s bring in his Excellency, Rodrigo Duterte.

viedcht

Postby viedcht » February 15th, 2021, 11:12 am

Hello Max
I agree with your view on vigilante involvement in stymieing criminal activity in Trinidad and Tobago, for I believe no politician/person-in-position-of-power to effect change has the borllz to do what is needed to properly curb crime. We need to cull the population of criminals.
MaxPower wrote:T&T needs vigilantes to track down rapists and remove their penis.