Auger depth for residential two story house

Toyo1777

Auger depth for residential two story house

Postby Toyo1777 » March 5th, 2021, 4:28 pm

What is the best depth to Dig for residential home located on flatland.

Re: Auger depth for residential two story house

Postby SMc » March 5th, 2021, 5:33 pm

The best depth is one that allows a suitable foundation to be layed for the intended structure
Last edited by SMc on March 5th, 2021, 5:35 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Toyo1777

Postby Toyo1777 » March 5th, 2021, 5:34 pm

Would 15 feet be the standard depth for all houses

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » March 5th, 2021, 5:36 pm

Also depends on soil type and location, but 15 to 20 feet is common for flat land, I am no professional so take it with salt.

Toyo1777

Postby Toyo1777 » March 5th, 2021, 5:41 pm

Yeah is in charlieville the land is flat

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » March 5th, 2021, 5:41 pm

It have a guy here user name is Kachourie or Pholourie , cant remember and another Rahid or something. They can advise.

Postby Rovin » March 5th, 2021, 5:55 pm

lol @ kachourie :lol:

iirc his username is roryPholourie

like everything in life there is a science to construction so OP make sure u get expeert advice even if u need to pay a consulting fee , it will save u farrr more in d long run ...

matix

Postby matix » March 5th, 2021, 6:33 pm

Soil type, adjoining lands, size of house. All factors to be considered

Postby 88sins » March 5th, 2021, 6:49 pm

matix wrote:Soil type, adjoining lands, size of house. All factors to be considered

As well as incline and angle
OP, it have a good bit of math and engineering involved in what you want to know.
My advice, start by making good friends with a structural engineer and an architect.

Postby pugboy » March 5th, 2021, 7:18 pm

whatever you do do not go by a contractor first and get their advice
no matter how much they say they do that before

Blaze d Chalice

Postby Blaze d Chalice » March 5th, 2021, 9:07 pm

SNIPER 3000 wrote:It have a guy here user name is Kachourie or Pholourie , cant remember and another Rahid or something. They can advise.

I hope Rahid is a different user and is not Rahtid you talking bout.

Postby Rory Phoulorie » March 6th, 2021, 12:22 am

One would need more information than:
1) The land is flat
2) The land is in Charlieville

Is the land waterlogged? Does it drain quickly when rain falls? Is it near to a river/stream? Was any structure built on the property previously? Did you ever excavate any holes in the property to see what type of soil is present? Charlieville is in the Caroni flood plain, so you would get a mix of silts, clays and sands, the exact proportion of each varying from location to location. The depth to the groundwater table would also affect the bearing capacity of the soil.

The way to get the best foundation advice would be to drill a borehole on the site and test the properties of the soil. Something like that with proper engineering recommendations for a residential property would cost between $20k and $30k (VAT exclusive). But people usually balk at spending that kind of money, even though they are building a house in excess of $1M and the advice that the soil investigation would give would more than pay off for itself in the savings in the foundation design.

Postby adnj » March 6th, 2021, 9:32 am

matix wrote:Soil type, adjoining lands, size of house. All factors to be considered

As well as incline and angle
OP, it have a good bit of math and engineering involved in what you want to know.
My advice, start by making good friends with a structural engineer and an architect.
A cashier's check is an excellent introduction.

fokhan_96

Postby fokhan_96 » March 6th, 2021, 10:58 am

Op doh worry with dem.
The land you going to build your house on is the same type of land the surrounding houses are built upon. Just talk to your neighbors and find out what they did and if they had any problems with their foundations, movement, sinking, drainage, etc.
Most people in that area would auger 15feet with 4x4 footing for a 2 story and anything less than that for a flat house.
It's always good to talk to an engineer though, and find out what is "common practice " in that area.

Postby adnj » March 6th, 2021, 12:50 pm

fokhan_96 wrote:Op doh worry with dem.
The land you going to build your house on is the same type of land the surrounding houses are built upon. Just talk to your neighbors and find out what they did and if they had any problems with their foundations, movement, sinking, drainage, etc.
Most people in that area would auger 15feet with 4x4 footing for a 2 story and anything less than that for a flat house.
It's always good to talk to an engineer though, and find out what is "common practice " in that area.
The man just told you that you can actually SAVE money by hiring an engineer - but that part didn't register.

Postby timelapse » March 6th, 2021, 11:37 pm

Sorry to jumbie your thread,. I had the same question , except is a flat house in preysal.land at the top of a hill, sandy soil

Postby Rory Phoulorie » March 7th, 2021, 7:19 am

timelapse wrote:Sorry to jumbie your thread,. I had the same question , except is a flat house in preysal.land at the top of a hill, sandy soil

On the top of a hill in sandy soil, you should have good bearing capacity of the foundation soil.

Based on the recommendations in TTS 599:2006, load bearing walls should be supported by strip footings located at a depth of at least 600mm and constructed to the following dimensions:

a) Minimum thickness of 225mm; and
b) Width of 450mm for 150mm wide blocks and 600mm for 200mm wide blocks

Interior blockwork partitions should be supported by thickening and reinforcing the floor slab under the partition walls.

Square concrete or blockwork columns should be supported by square pad footings located at a minimum depth of 1000mm and constructed to the following minimum dimensions:

a) Minimum thickness of 225mm; and
b) 600mm x 600mm

Foundations shall be constructed using structural concrete with a 28 days cylindrical strength of not less that 21MPa (3000psi).

Postby timelapse » March 7th, 2021, 10:25 am

^dang hoss.Was not expecting that much detail but thanks a lot.I at a loss for words.
Looking to start building as soon as my deed comes back from being registered

Postby Rovin » March 7th, 2021, 1:37 pm

Rory Phoulorie wrote:One would need more information than:
1) The land is flat
2) The land is in Charlieville

Is the land waterlogged? Does it drain quickly when rain falls? Is it near to a river/stream? Was any structure built on the property previously? Did you ever excavate any holes in the property to see what type of soil is present? Charlieville is in the Caroni flood plain, so you would get a mix of silts, clays and sands, the exact proportion of each varying from location to location. The depth to the groundwater table would also affect the bearing capacity of the soil.

The way to get the best foundation advice would be to drill a borehole on the site and test the properties of the soil. Something like that with proper engineering recommendations for a residential property would cost between $20k and $30k (VAT exclusive). But people usually balk at spending that kind of money, even though they are building a house in excess of $1M and the advice that the soil investigation would give would more than pay off for itself in the savings in the foundation design.

i not any authority on d subject but i been around construction for our own purposes & this is pretty much exactly good advice that an civil engineer will provide u

old cliche : "start with a good foundation" yet when it comes to construction yes everybody being frugal with $ but listening to a general contractor who might have practical experience but is not a civil engineer

exactly like said above ppl feeling hard to spend 20-30k for d tests & professional advice yet gonna put 500k-1mil+ on top that foundation

... do d proper thing from d very beginning, peace of mind is priceless