Bad decisions people make in their 20's..

Re: Bad decisions people make in their 20's..

Postby pugboy » April 7th, 2021, 7:16 pm

going out to lime few nights a week and spending hundreds each time

thank god i never get ketch into the movietowne followed by eating/drinking after like many of my peers

Postby Gladiator » April 7th, 2021, 9:03 pm

One bad decision is going straight from BSc to Msc to Some other thing without gaining work experience. Before you know it you almost 30 and a 35yr old guy with a Technician Diploma know the wuk more than you and pulling more paper too...

ScHoolboySoloQ

Postby ScHoolboySoloQ » April 7th, 2021, 9:15 pm

1) Spending money on hard pong. I have 2 12 kickers to build a box for.

2) Changing rims every 6-8 months when you get fed up of them. Don't do this.

3) Changing phones like changing woman. Stick to one phone once it working.

4) Going into a tabanca cuz woman playing foolish games. Just have fun with them and let them go when they ready.

5) Not having ambitions to better yourself. You must always have more than one plan, in case your initial plan fails, I onto plan J now.

6) Telling yourself that nobody knows more than you do. When you eager and full of energy it is easy to make big mistakes that others were trying to warn you on.

7) Drinking and liming too much when you not working nowhere. You need to have some level of responsibility.

8) Playing strongman and lifting up all kinda thing then injuring your back. My Uncle and Aunt's husband damaged their backs since they was 20 something. It pains them everyday still and they old men now.

9) Not taking care of your teeth, eating all kinds of things. This is an unnecessary headache that could be avoided.

10) Watching too much porn and pulling skin. Get yourself a woman if you want pleasure, don't have sex with your hand.

Postby A172 » April 7th, 2021, 9:25 pm

taking advice on success from unsuccessful people

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » April 7th, 2021, 10:20 pm

A172 wrote:taking advice on success from unsuccessful people
This is a good one

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » April 7th, 2021, 10:51 pm

wtf wrote:
This is a good one

This depends on what a youth considers successful too...

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » April 8th, 2021, 5:25 am

Success for some young people these days :

Tiida, axio on twennies with ah lil hard pong while struggling to pay rent. Drinking the bess and stunting ah lil gold chain. Some go the extra to pay interest for 10 years on a Korean vehicle. Some might rock ah bootleg vapormax but eating crix and tin sausage whole day every day. .what I miss?

Postby timelapse » April 8th, 2021, 7:05 am

You missing the lack of bass sound system with the emo zesser music about the struggles of ghetto life.The medallion gold chain and a tattoo marked 'King' somewhere highly visible
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Success for some young people these days :

Tiida, axio on twennies with ah lil hard pong while struggling to pay rent. Drinking the bess and stunting ah lil gold chain. Some go the extra to pay interest for 10 years on a Korean vehicle. Some might rock ah bootleg vapormax but eating crix and tin sausage whole day every day. .what I miss?

Postby Mark! » April 8th, 2021, 7:13 am

My 20s was crazy. But I dont regret 1 bit.

I would be full of regret if I settled down and got married at 20 like our parents did back in the 70s.

Postby matr1x » April 8th, 2021, 9:30 am

Trusting people blindly. That is first mistake people make.

Not starting a second bank account. That is a big one. 2 years back the was a divorce and the wife rake he bam bam over fire. What she didn't know, is that he had a second account with his dad name and after she was done with him, he used that. Save him plenty stress

Postby VexXx Dogg » April 8th, 2021, 9:54 am

Oh yes, this goes hand in hand with "getting fooled by conmen in pyramid schemes"

widdyphuck

Bad decisions people make in their 20's..

Postby widdyphuck » April 8th, 2021, 10:13 am

timelapse wrote:You missing the lack of bass sound system with the emo zesser music about the struggles of ghetto life.The medallion gold chain and a tattoo marked 'King' somewhere highly visible
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Success for some young people these days :

These guys get the newest and best girls out though. Successful men concerned about life and education get some foreign used crap after she is ready to settle down..
Unfair is you asked me.

Postby teems1 » April 8th, 2021, 10:25 am

This one simply requires a basic understanding of math and exponential growth.
VexXx Dogg wrote:

Oh yes, this goes hand in hand with "getting fooled by conmen in pyramid schemes"

Postby VexXx Dogg » April 8th, 2021, 10:29 am

teems1 wrote:This one simply requires a basic understanding of math and exponential growth.
VexXx Dogg wrote:

Nope, because "educated" people are getting fooled, which is why I lumped it under "con" lmao

Postby Rovin » April 8th, 2021, 11:33 am

good post dan ...

ScHoolboySoloQ wrote:1) Spending money on hard pong. I have 2 12 kickers to build a box for.

2) Changing rims every 6-8 months when you get fed up of them. Don't do this.

3) Changing phones like changing woman. Stick to one phone once it working.

4) Going into a tabanca cuz woman playing foolish games. Just have fun with them and let them go when they ready.

5) Not having ambitions to better yourself. You must always have more than one plan, in case your initial plan fails, I onto plan J now.

6) Telling yourself that nobody knows more than you do. When you eager and full of energy it is easy to make big mistakes that others were trying to warn you on.

7) Drinking and liming too much when you not working nowhere. You need to have some level of responsibility.

8) Playing strongman and lifting up all kinda thing then injuring your back. My Uncle and Aunt's husband damaged their backs since they was 20 something. It pains them everyday still and they old men now.

9) Not taking care of your teeth, eating all kinds of things. This is an unnecessary headache that could be avoided.

10) Watching too much porn and pulling skin. Get yourself a woman if you want pleasure, don't have sex with your hand.

Postby Rovin » April 8th, 2021, 11:46 am

regarding wasting $$$ on a car audio system no matter what age u are : [notice how i said it not hard pong nor muzik fuh ur car]

if u design, correctly install & tune a proper system then no need to change it in a hurry

even with me being a car audio store owner with access to anything most ppl wont believe i on average change my system is 3-5yrs more 5yrs & even after 5yrs my stuff still looks\works like new , i only change it if i want to deliberately try something new for a change

still running a 8yr old pio dvd deck that obviously has less features than what most nowadays decks have, still get compliments from ppl who get to listen to it ...

Postby Gladiator » April 8th, 2021, 4:14 pm

Rovin wrote:regarding wasting $$$ on a car audio system no matter what age u are : [notice how i said it not hard pong nor muzik fuh ur car]

if u design, correctly install & tune a proper system then no need to change it in a hurry

even with me being a car audio store owner with access to anything most ppl wont believe i on average change my system is 3-5yrs more 5yrs & even after 5yrs my stuff still looks\works like new , i only change it if i want to deliberately try something new for a change

still running a 8yr old pio dvd deck that obviously has less features than what most nowadays decks have, still get compliments from ppl who get to listen to it ...

I wont totally agree with the car audio being a "mistake"... for some its just a vice and a thing to spend money on. For me it was an entire field of knowledge that got me interested in car electronics, I turned it into my trade and it was my main side hustle for about 10 years. In my spare time I did car audio, made money and enjoyed the work and the money. Also through car audio I expanded my professional network with other installers, MECA, IASCA, competitors, suppliers, retailers etc.

Postby Rovin » April 8th, 2021, 8:11 pm

^^^^ u were sensible about it, but i guess what ScHoolboySoloQ meant was d ppl who never satisfied in what they have & often changing out car audio gear within short periods of time , some just like to try out as much they can just for d heck of it .... :|

Postby paid_influencer » April 8th, 2021, 8:32 pm

you know what I really regret from my 20's.... not going to church enough. Dotish me in my 20's was thinking I smarter than everybody and I don't believe in religion so I rather do something "more productive." I feel plenty men here in that same scene.

But now I realize the purpose of the institutions. They are social safety nets. They are mental support. They are networks (doubly important if you are new to the area). They are a place to influence and be influenced. When you get kids too and you don't want them to turn gunta, you also might like church.

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » April 8th, 2021, 8:44 pm

paid_influencer wrote:you know what I really regret from my 20's.... not going to church enough. Dotish me in my 20's was thinking I smarter than everybody and I don't believe in religion so I rather do something "more productive." I feel plenty men here in that same scene.

But now I realize the purpose of the institutions. They are social safety nets. They are mental support. They are networks (doubly important if you are new to the area). They are a place to influence and be influenced. When you get kids too and you don't want them to turn gunta, you also might like church.
More people go to church= More Offerings Collected =More fancy rides for the pastor.

Postby paid_influencer » April 8th, 2021, 8:53 pm

wtf wrote:
paid_influencer wrote:you know what I really regret from my 20's.... not going to church enough. Dotish me in my 20's was thinking I smarter than everybody and I don't believe in religion so I rather do something "more productive." I feel plenty men here in that same scene.

More people go to church= More Offerings Collected =More fancy rides for the pastor.

everything have a price. some man buy subwoofer some man buy heaven

I still say go even if is a lil $5 you putting in the plushy bag

Postby pugboy » April 8th, 2021, 9:25 pm

Depends on the church,
Many don’t have mandatory salary tithes

FrankChag

Postby FrankChag » April 9th, 2021, 1:33 am

Your mileage might vary, but my "life" started when I got married in my late 20s //not very long ago btw
I honestly wish I got married earlier in my early 20s, and had my kids earlier (and probably more kids).

I had a chat with a secondary school friend who's a few yrs older than me, and he got married at 20, and it seems like his life is soo far ahead of mine, even though I have better job/education/salary. It's like I wasted ~10yrs of my life or I"m ~10yrs behind. His kids are in uni and sec/school, and he'll be a granddad soon.. in his 40s!

This hit home when I saw an late night interview with Jeff Goldblum, where he was talking about having a child in his 60s, and I thought.. wow, so many things you won't be able to do because you're old, and I felt a little sorry for him.

ScHoolboySoloQ

Postby ScHoolboySoloQ » April 9th, 2021, 2:37 am

Yes Rovin, that is exactly what I meant. They heard another man system and well you know what happens :lol: :lol:

Franks this is for you,

11) Comparing yourself to your past schoolmates/people in general. Everybody has a different path, some have children as soon as they finish, others many years after. A few of them seeing the fortunes but nothing going on with you right now so you feel an emptiness but your time will come. It is nice to fantasize about living like them but sit down and be real with yourself, you will realize that is not for me. You thinking about how they ahead will just mess up your psyche. We all want something different. Stop worrying about what other people doing and live YOUR life. Nobody else is going to live it for you.

There is nobody like you so don't try to be a copy of another.

FrankChag

Postby FrankChag » April 9th, 2021, 2:59 am

I hear you.. but sometimes you can't help it, yea? to compare is to be human i think..

I try very much to subscribe to the "there's always someone worse off" defense mechanism (hence the goldblum thing), so if I'm down about something, I look for something else similar to be grateful for (ie, at least I'm not 60 with my first kid). That usually focuses me back on the important stuff, like what you're saying.

Honestly though, a little competition in your head is not a bad thing as a motivator, once it doesn't become neurotic and self destructive.

^^ actually learnt that in uni, when I saw what competition/type A(##hole) personalities did to some ppl.

ScHoolboySoloQ wrote:Yes Rovin, that is exactly what I meant. They heard another man system and well you know what happens :lol: :lol:

Franks this is for you,

11) Comparing yourself to your past schoolmates/people in general. Everybody has a different path, some have children as soon as they finish, others many years after. A few of them seeing the fortunes but nothing going on with you right now so you feel an emptiness but your time will come. It is nice to fantasize about living like them but sit down and be real with yourself, you will realize that is not for me. You thinking about how they ahead will just mess up your psyche. We all want something different. Stop worrying about what other people doing and live YOUR life. Nobody else is going to live it for you.

There is nobody like you so don't try to be a copy of another.

hindian

Postby hindian » April 9th, 2021, 3:45 am

Couple of mine were not saving money and I made a lot of it in my 20s. I didn't have a career in mind at all and by the time I got to 30 I realised how much time I wasted and got stuck with doing mediocre jobs. Moving out of my parents house cuz I thought I was ready for life

Postby timelapse » April 9th, 2021, 7:17 am

One of my regrets earlier in life was not pacing myself.I believe that I burned out. Honestly, I have reached a stage where I no longer have long term goals and I no longer have dreams.

Postby matr1x » April 9th, 2021, 8:13 am

Not having a hobby.
Working is important, but your hobbies build personality.

Ever meet a woman that aside from attractive, have nothing else of interest?

Postby timelapse » April 9th, 2021, 8:40 am

Yup.Plenty fellas here does get catch with looks , not realizing that thats all the woman good for.
My wife shares some hobbies with me like fishing and hiking.
My last gf before I met my wife, all she was good for was dressing up and spending my money on drinks.I need a time machine to go back and kick myself hard.
matr1x wrote:Not having a hobby.

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » April 9th, 2021, 12:38 pm

timelapse wrote:Yup.Plenty fellas here does get catch with looks , not realizing that thats all the woman good for.
My wife shares some hobbies with me like fishing and hiking.
My last gf before I met my wife, all she was good for was dressing up and spending my money on drinks.I need a time machine to go back and kick myself hard.
matr1x wrote:Not having a hobby.

All women know if they do some squats and put on some make up, some trini man will give in to their demands. Life of a woman isn't hard compared to men.