Tech Thread - Toyota Hilux...D4D and all older models.

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
cutthroatInt

Re: Tech Thread - Toyota Hilux...D4D and all older models.

Postby cutthroatInt » November 6th, 2012, 1:25 pm

*EDIT*

cutthroatInt wrote:^^^ Ln145 about 8 yrs :D hopefully another 8 wit the set I changed recently

235000 kms

toyoman

Postby toyoman » November 8th, 2012, 10:45 am

looking for a versed mechanic to change air condition thermostat, timing and fan belt in 2006 hilux....san fernando or close by....

sweeks

Postby sweeks » November 8th, 2012, 11:08 am

Turbo Head ....trained Toyota Mechanic 4952320.

toyoman

Postby toyoman » November 8th, 2012, 11:37 am

thanks ill give him a call

Postby Team Loco » November 14th, 2012, 1:03 pm

hey guys, a friend of mines sold out his fleet of hilux and he has removed some toys from them before being sold. its mainly upgrade chips. anyone interested can contact me. the prices should be pretty good

robbieg

Postby robbieg » November 14th, 2012, 1:46 pm

^^ All sold already?? Reason asking, Lost mine 2 weeks ago by a house fire.

Postby Team Loco » November 14th, 2012, 3:11 pm

wow, sorry to hear. i will pm you the guy number.

btw guys, our d4d at work has a leaky turbo. i am losing oil. should i replace the unit? will post some pics soon. mileage is a whopping 400,000kms

bignog

Postby bignog » November 15th, 2012, 8:02 pm

wtb d/cab hilux TAX-TBB SERIES

DW

Postby DW » November 17th, 2012, 4:30 pm

Noticed some suspension noise just before the 5K service, it was "retorqued" and got it happening once more a few weeks after..not sure if this is normal on the 2012 Hilux or something the TTTL needs to deal with ?

Postby equipped2ripp » November 17th, 2012, 5:06 pm

what noise is that exactly?

DW

Postby DW » November 17th, 2012, 6:07 pm

equipped2ripp wrote:what noise is that exactly?

Best way to describe it would be a squeaking and only on bumpy roads. Noise totally dissapeared after the 5k service for 2 weeks then came back.

When it went it, told them it sounds like the noise that older pickups made (long time ago) coming from the leaf suspension.

Postby DVSTT » November 17th, 2012, 7:57 pm

Guys you think those 2.7vvt hilux from 07 would hold much resale?

sweeks

Postby sweeks » November 17th, 2012, 9:07 pm

DVSTT wrote:Guys you think those 2.7vvt hilux from 07 would hold much resale?

Nope I believe that would be a hard sell.

Postby DVSTT » November 17th, 2012, 9:25 pm

Hmm, hoping they go cheap, might be worth a buy if it does.

G-DUB

Postby G-DUB » November 18th, 2012, 4:48 am

DW I got that same issue with my 2012 hilux, you only get the noise on really bumpy roads. TTTL retorqued my suspension as well but 2 days after I heard the noise again and my truck only doin 2200km. The noise sound like it`s coming from somewhere in front.

sweeks

Postby sweeks » November 18th, 2012, 5:52 am

Any thoughts on spraying with shock oil?

Postby DVSTT » November 18th, 2012, 8:16 am

By chance you referring to the squeaking you hear from the back of the pickup? Had that issue with a 3.2 l200, diamond put some keflar bushings and it stopped it.

DW

Postby DW » November 18th, 2012, 9:20 am

G-DUB wrote:DW I got that same issue with my 2012 hilux, you only get the noise on really bumpy roads. TTTL retorqued my suspension as well but 2 days after I heard the noise again and my truck only doin 2200km. The noise sound like it`s coming from somewhere in front.

Exactly...I mean I just want to know if I need to carry it back and have a "friendly chat" with them every 3 weeks or there is some way to have it resolved.

DW

Postby DW » November 18th, 2012, 9:21 am

sweeks wrote:Any thoughts on spraying with shock oil?

Thought about that, but I want to know the root cause....is it something mechanically wrong so I need corrective maintenance or preventative maintenance...I doubt the squeaking is "normal" ?

badart

Postby badart » November 22nd, 2012, 4:05 pm

Hilux men, where is the best place to tie a tow rope at the back of a stock hilux? who sells tow bars? thanks

cutthroatInt

Postby cutthroatInt » November 23rd, 2012, 7:23 am

fellas,

for the ln145R hilux wit the 2L engine... what powersteering fluid to use?
The manual says Automatic Trans Fluid Dexxron 11 or 111.

I have about 4 different PS fluids in the garage and only now realized none of them has any ratings on them.

Need advice please.... gonna flush the PS system on my next service.

Postby streetbeastINC. » November 23rd, 2012, 2:46 pm

looking for a diesel engine or fuel injected engine and tranny for my surf......anyone got one 316 0908 or pm mih....

trini_darkside

Postby trini_darkside » November 24th, 2012, 6:42 pm

im getting a new 2012 toyota 4*2 hilux..... any advice from all the hilux owners on maintainence and performance?

sweeks

Postby sweeks » November 24th, 2012, 7:36 pm

streetbeastINC. wrote:looking for a diesel engine or fuel injected engine and tranny for my surf......anyone got one 316 0908 or pm mih....

Check the auto parts classifieds

Postby Team Loco » December 3rd, 2012, 12:12 am

sweeks wrote:
streetbeastINC. wrote:looking for a diesel engine or fuel injected engine and tranny for my surf......anyone got one 316 0908 or pm mih....

Check the auto parts classifieds

correct. i saw a nice yota diesel engine in the classifieds recently

Postby Team Loco » December 4th, 2012, 3:07 pm

new turbo charger installed in the 400,000kms 2kd diesel engine. oem turbo. tttl price $26,000. importing it ourselves- $15,000

Postby Rainman » December 12th, 2012, 8:02 am

Just got my Hilux, it's a 2012 4x2 3.0 Auto D4D. This is my first diesel vehicle, bought it for long commutes (north-south runs 5-6 times per week).

Holy crap i have a lot to learn, i mostly did all the maintenance myself on my previous vehicle (gasoline 4 cylinder). The maintenance on this has to be done by TTTL until the warranty is up.

Any tips for a first time hilux owner?

sweeks

Postby sweeks » December 12th, 2012, 11:37 am

Congrats on the new ride.

1. Watch where you fill up ... A gas station that turn over lots of diesel is good. Unipet uses double filtration which is good, and try not to let your diesel go below quarter tank too often. If there was a recent flood in the area and the gas station (with underground tanks) was flooded, stay clear.

2. When starting, wait for the glow-plug light to off after turning on the ignition before tumbling.

3. Remember it's a pickup, not a car. Your center of gravity is higher making your vehicle a bit unstable and there is a tendency to fish tail around corners esp if the road is wet.

If you decide to do your own servicing and need any oem filters, brakes pad etc feel free to pm me.

Enjoy the lux ... You've made a good choice.

Postby Rainman » December 12th, 2012, 12:21 pm

sweeks wrote:Congrats on the new ride.

1. Watch where you fill up ... A gas station that turn over lots of diesel is good. Unipet uses double filtration which is good, and try not to let your diesel go below quarter tank too often. If there was a recent flood in the area and the gas station (with underground tanks) was flooded, stay clear.

2. When starting, wait for the glow-plug light to off after turning on the ignition before tumbling.

3. Remember it's a pickup, not a car. Your center of gravity is higher making your vehicle a bit unstable and there is a tendency to fish tail around corners esp if the road is wet.

If you decide to do your own servicing and need any oem filters, brakes pad etc feel free to pm me.

Enjoy the lux ... You've made a good choice.

Thanks!
I've been taking it quite slow, especially on corners and wet roads.
Haven't had to fill up yet but i normally fill up at Unipet in Union Road Marabella, it's a new station so the tanks should be in fair condition.
Noted on the glow plug!

Oddly enough Toyota told me that the engine is already broken-in (i'm still taking it easy for the first 1500kms though). They also told me that they do not change the oil at the 1000km check up because this was already done when the engine was dyno tested.

Was the experience similar with you guys?

Postby Aaron 2NR » December 12th, 2012, 5:22 pm

Engine should be broken in already, unleash the beast lol

I love my hilux and I'm sure you'd love yours too....in my opinion, it has the best ride in all the pickups I test drove.

I usually fill up at Duncan village or one of the newer gas stations as sweeks said.

My oil was changed at 1000km but mine isn't a tttl bought but ford doesn't do the 1000km service either.

Many debate it but I have a turbo timer on mine.

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”