Tech Thread - Toyota Hilux...D4D and all older models.

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
PariaMan

Re: Tech Thread - Toyota Hilux...D4D and all older models.

Postby PariaMan » September 21st, 2015, 9:19 am

Man in another post say not coming with GD engine due to our diesel

Rush

Postby Rush » September 21st, 2015, 12:22 pm

All the more reason to capitalize on the tried and tested model...especially if you gonna get a "selling out" discount

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » September 21st, 2015, 10:26 pm

PariaMan wrote:Man in another post say not coming with GD engine due to our diesel

The latest models from tttl still have the kd but some imported ones from other dealers have the gd. Only time will tell if the gd can cope

badart

Postby badart » September 22nd, 2015, 6:08 am

Noticed that the turbo housing is different looks like the same smaller turbo of the gd? Im sure although its the same engine it would perform differently than before esp with the new transmission.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

dbesson

Postby dbesson » September 30th, 2015, 6:22 am

WTF: 2010 Upper control arm (really want the Ball joint)? thanks fellas!

Postby Ted_v2 » September 30th, 2015, 2:05 pm

Ball joints should be able to be installed in ur current cradle. A new one isn't needed

Ronnie203

Postby Ronnie203 » September 30th, 2015, 3:10 pm

The new hilux coming with the same engine as the current hilux ?

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » October 2nd, 2015, 12:43 am

Ronnie203 wrote:The new hilux coming with the same engine as the current hilux ?

A revised/refreshed version of the kd engine. ...While It might carry the same engine code... Some parts will be slightly different. The airbox for sure is different in the tttl revo vs the kd from the previous lux

casey07814

Postby casey07814 » October 2nd, 2015, 6:44 am

Good morning guys I'm looking for a rear diff for the 2008 3.0 hilux?

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » October 5th, 2015, 3:28 pm

So i decided to change the oil in all the drivetrain components on my lux as its approaching the 40K mark.
Components include
-Rear Diff ~3 Quarts
-Transfer Case ~1 Quart
-Front Diff ~1.75 Quarts
-Automatic Transmission ~4 Quarts

Fluid used
Castrol 80w-90 axle Limited Slip
Castrol 85w-140 Hypoy C Gear oil
Valvoline 80w-90 High Performance gear oil
Mobil 1 3309 ATF

I have found that the oil coming out the rear and front diff appears significantly thicker than the oil that came out of the transfer case. This might be due to the wear particles in the oil but it is also of a different color to that of the transfer case.
The front diff is also a pain in the arch to work on because of the limited space around the fill plug. To start you will have to remove the shield located directly below the diff which is held on by 4 bolts. You then require a 10mm allen key to remove both the drain and fill plug from the diff; which adds to the pain. (The use of a "snipe" is helpful but it needs to be just the right length).
The drain plugs on both the diffs are magnetic and will have metal wear particles on them that have to be cleaned.

For the Transmission I used Mobil 1 3309 ATF as it is Mobil's version of Toyota Type IV fluid. It was selected as it was more application specific than other third party fluids that list Type IV and was also cheaper than toyota branded fluid. I just performed a simple drain and fill on the trans fluid; this is the second time, the first was done at about 30000 Kms

Postby Aaron 2NR » October 23rd, 2015, 2:26 pm

guys dropped the price on my truck to $205,000 if anyone interested...

http://www.trinicarsforsale.com/databas ... #topofpage

deluxequill

Postby deluxequill » October 29th, 2015, 10:29 pm

fellas....anyone know where i can get the silver reverse sensors for a chrome bumper?? I'm seeing it a lot on the new Ford Rangers.

Postby Team Loco » November 1st, 2015, 8:09 am

Things getting scary. I get at least one call a day now, for cost to rebuild hilux d4d 3.0 turbos. All got the same issue. Scary

red bwoy

Postby red bwoy » November 1st, 2015, 9:32 am

What pray tell is the issue maybe I can do something to prevent it from now in my TDD hilux

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » November 1st, 2015, 2:58 pm

Do you have an idea on what is causing it to give trouble

Postby Team Loco » November 2nd, 2015, 11:37 am

yes. it goes in steps. the vnt area at the back of the turbo get a build up of soot. eventually the electronic actuator labours to open and close the vnt because of excessive soot. many times it may stick open. actuator takes a while before it burns out. during this time the driver detects poor acceleration and with our trini habit, they may tend to push van harder to compensate for poor power. the result is premature damage to turbocharger itself.

between my last post to now i just repaired two fortuners and a hilux. all had heavy soot and stuck vnts.

i charge $500 to service.
if chra needs replacing the cost is $4500
my brand is Turbo International. not chinese generic stuff
i can also supply actuators

red bwoy

Postby red bwoy » November 2nd, 2015, 12:52 pm

So what's the prevention regular service or is it something an mechanically inclined owner could clean DIY

Postby Team Loco » November 2nd, 2015, 1:55 pm

No. Its not diy. You gotta have it professionally serviced. Open it yourself and you will have a hard time setting back that actuator

Postby Rainman » November 2nd, 2015, 3:12 pm

What kinda mileage were those vehicles doing?

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » November 2nd, 2015, 4:44 pm

I was thinking as it appears soot related that you could probably power foam the bejeezus out of the turbine side after taking it off without pulling the turbo apart.....I am just guessing though.
Cetane booster might help the diesel fuel to burn more completely. ..... Might result in less soot.... but again that is just a guess and might not help if the symptoms are already present.
Also thinking that short trips might cause additional soot buildup that might accelerate the problem.

casey07814

Postby casey07814 » November 3rd, 2015, 10:01 am

What if I remove the back housing of the turbo ad clean it? Also if I unbolt the actuator is there any tension in it that needs to be set back?

Postby Team Loco » November 3rd, 2015, 11:41 am

i would not recommend a diy scenario. if it is taken apart the problem is to line up both ends for the actuator lever to fit into the vnt latch. its quite tricky. in my line of work ,i have a jig to do it. unfortunately manufacturers like garrett turbos in navara etc did a nice thing of putting a dowel for the line up. toyota didnt. open your 1kd turbo and try putting it back together and you may end up with a blown actuator.

the fortuner turbos i handled were 49,000kms and 234,000kms old
hiliuxes usually give out at anytime over 175,000kms, but of course this is dependent of maintenance and oil; change intervals

the 49,000kms turbo i did went bad due to driver not changing oil after 20,000kms

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » November 3rd, 2015, 1:31 pm

What about removing Air cleaner and spraying inside with cleaner

red bwoy

Postby red bwoy » November 3rd, 2015, 1:54 pm

Won't work pal that will just be a by product of combustion and still produce soot

Postby Team Loco » November 3rd, 2015, 2:49 pm

next one i do i may post some pics. give you guys an idea of how these turbos suffer

red bwoy

Postby red bwoy » November 3rd, 2015, 3:59 pm

So right now I'm at 28k and my oil and filter changes have been on point so far should I look to service turbo now or like say 35k

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » November 3rd, 2015, 4:32 pm

I say it might make sense when you start experiencing the symptoms that were mentioned earlier... well the loss of power symptom anyway

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » November 3rd, 2015, 4:40 pm

I say it might make sense when you start experiencing the symptoms that were mentioned earlier... well the loss of power symptom anyway

Postby Team Loco » November 3rd, 2015, 5:21 pm

red bwoy wrote:So right now I'm at 28k and my oil and filter changes have been on point so far should I look to service turbo now or like say 35k

I would say 120,000kms. Right now u shoyld be ok once u keep up with oil changes etc

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » November 3rd, 2015, 5:30 pm

red bwoy wrote:Won't work pal that will just be a by product of combustion and still produce soot

Not understanding. If you spray inside the turbo should not that remove any soot building up there?

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”