Tech Thread - Toyota Hilux...D4D and all older models.

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
ADONI

Re: Tech Thread - Toyota Hilux...D4D and all older models.

Postby ADONI » May 2nd, 2018, 11:44 am

The other day, I saw some pressure with the oil filter in a 2KD. I have a oil filter wrench/vice grip. I lock the wrench onto the filter and tie a string onto the handle. Then pulled from the other side of the engine, guess greater leverage. I bought the 3 Jaw oil filter tool hopefully to try next time...

Postby *$kїđž!™ » May 2nd, 2018, 11:55 am

ADONI wrote:The other day, I saw some pressure with the oil filter in a 2KD. I have a oil filter wrench/vice grip. I lock the wrench onto the filter and tie a string onto the handle. Then pulled from the other side of the engine, guess greater leverage. I bought the 3 Jaw oil filter tool hopefully to try next time...
U would need a ratchet with an extender for this?....i saw thr jaw selling for about 65

ADONI

Postby ADONI » May 2nd, 2018, 12:26 pm

*$kїđž!™ wrote:
ADONI wrote:The other day, I saw some pressure with the oil filter in a 2KD. I have a oil filter wrench/vice grip. I lock the wrench onto the filter and tie a string onto the handle. Then pulled from the other side of the engine, guess greater leverage. I bought the 3 Jaw oil filter tool hopefully to try next time...
U would need a ratchet with an extender for this?....i saw thr jaw selling for about 65

Yea man usually a 3/8 or it has a 1/2 adapter. That is good price. Yes to extender, to get clearance so you can have more space to turn.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » May 2nd, 2018, 1:30 pm

Where am i getting an extender

ADONI

Postby ADONI » May 2nd, 2018, 1:38 pm

Usual parts place? Might have to look around. I have two socket set, so they came with extenders.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » May 2nd, 2018, 1:42 pm

Ok kool i think my relative has ill.check him for it borrow lol....he has socjet sets....he must have one

Postby pugboy » May 3rd, 2018, 7:22 am

I ketch my tail the other day with oil filter too
the normal scissor type wrench too big to fit
I borrowed a padna own which is basically a big C shaped metal with a little hinged handle which bites into the side when turned

Will probably weld up a clone

Postby Rainman » May 3rd, 2018, 7:26 am

I Used a rubber strap wrench before. But now I just get the k&n oil filter with the nut at the top and that makes it a lot easier.

Postby pugboy » May 3rd, 2018, 7:32 am

oilwrench.jpeg

Nick_2NR

Postby Nick_2NR » May 3rd, 2018, 12:54 pm

Recently installed 3" Pro Comp suspension lift on my Hilux. What other suspension parts should I upgrade/ adjust? What issues should I look out for?

ADONI

Postby ADONI » May 3rd, 2018, 2:49 pm

I forever looking at lift kits and cah make up my mind...

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » May 3rd, 2018, 4:01 pm

Nick_2NR wrote:Recently installed 3" Pro Comp suspension lift on my Hilux. What other suspension parts should I upgrade/ adjust? What issues should I look out for?
How much that cost

ADONI

Postby ADONI » May 4th, 2018, 8:54 am

PariaMan wrote:
Nick_2NR wrote:Recently installed 3" Pro Comp suspension lift on my Hilux. What other suspension parts should I upgrade/ adjust? What issues should I look out for?
How much that cost

Post a pic or link of which one nah Nick? A side pic of the van if u could? Is it the econ lift kit or d one with the shocks?

Postby Ted_v2 » May 31st, 2018, 7:18 am

i have a stanley one in this, removing all oil filters from any toyota pickup super easy. I does thighten with it too.

hilux, revo, fortuner prado.
85$ in SSL with a 10" extension, alll 3/8. dont waste time with those clamp pliers.

yesterday i went on a work, fortuner get fullup with 150$ super. Fun time. I use a pump infront by the fuel filter and empty almost 3 full pigtail buckets of gas. Remove and clean fuel filter. Refill with diesel and a Treatment. No need to remove tank and all that jazz.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » May 31st, 2018, 7:49 am

That wrench looks like the real deal....u had to buy thr extender separate....?..

Postby Ted_v2 » May 31st, 2018, 9:16 am

Yea.

Postby *KRONIK* » May 31st, 2018, 10:09 am

ADONI wrote:
PariaMan wrote:
How much that cost

Post a pic or link of which one nah Nick? A side pic of the van if u could? Is it the econ lift kit or d one with the shocks?
This
This
This

Postby Rainman » June 26th, 2018, 4:33 am

Does anyone else have that annoying rattle coming from the brake pedal? I usually hear it travelling over rough roads.

Postby pugboy » June 26th, 2018, 8:19 am

whilst lightly pressing brakes ?
If you are lightly pressing brakes over uneven surface it can trigger abs which pulses on/off and sometimes feels like rattle.

I almost hit a wall turning into a business place once, turned in and pressed brakes lightly and the canal/pavement was very uneven, the reduced braking and momentum took me very close to a wall as I was not paying attention
and looking at oncoming cars.

Postby *KRONIK* » June 26th, 2018, 8:22 am

Rainman wrote:Does anyone else have that annoying rattle coming from the brake pedal? I usually hear it travelling over rough roads.
I will be able to confirm that today
I get that from time to time
I was told its a bad rackend and/or stabilzer rubber.
Changing all that today. So i will hit a lil trail and see whats happening.

Postby *KRONIK* » June 26th, 2018, 5:06 pm

So... bad news Rainman.
I channged inner and outer rack ends, stabilizer rubber and links...
Took the van on a lil trail run ans it still doing it. It ease up plenty so some of the noise was due to suspension components. There is still a kinda knocking vibration from the brakes.
Gonna flush the brake fluid sometime soon and see if that helps.

Postby Rainman » June 27th, 2018, 9:41 pm

Braking operation is fine with no vibrations or noises. The issue I have is a rattle from the pedal only, got up under the dash and saw that it's connected via nut and bolt but couldn't tighten any further.

Postby Ted_v2 » June 28th, 2018, 3:10 pm

Recently changed pads?

Postby Rainman » June 28th, 2018, 6:57 pm

The issue isn't the pad, it's the pedal. Even when the vehicle is parked and I shake the pedal it rattles.

trebornattaj

Postby trebornattaj » August 3rd, 2018, 9:31 am

On board, TCS 2.5 manual....finally.

trebornattaj

Postby trebornattaj » August 3rd, 2018, 9:32 am

Anyone knows if the newer model (tcu, tcy etc) headlights and tail lights can work in the 2010 model? Thanks

Postby *KRONIK* » August 4th, 2018, 2:33 pm

trebornattaj wrote:Anyone knows if the newer model (tcu, tcy etc) headlights and tail lights can work in the 2010 model? Thanks
The tail lights...yes

Headlights ....no
The "champ" facelift had new fenders,grill, lights, bonnet & bumper

trebornattaj

Postby trebornattaj » August 4th, 2018, 2:37 pm

Thanks kronik, will be in the market for taillights then, thanks

Postby *KRONIK* » August 4th, 2018, 2:55 pm

Check pm

SHarripersad

Postby SHarripersad » August 12th, 2018, 5:44 pm

Kun26r-prpsy rotor warp. Toyota grinds and a few months later it warps, so it gets replaced under warranty. Replacment warped, I got it grinded and its a matter of time before it warps again. There is a hot cold explanation for this, but for decades of driving, I. Never had this issue on Ford and Nissan vehicles. Can anyone guide?

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”