Tech Thread - Toyota Hilux...D4D and all older models.

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
kamakazi

Re: Tech Thread - Toyota Hilux...D4D and all older models.

Postby kamakazi » August 12th, 2018, 7:07 pm

SHarripersad wrote:Kun26r-prpsy rotor warp. Toyota grinds and a few months later it warps, so it gets replaced under warranty. Replacment warped, I got it grinded and its a matter of time before it warps again. There is a hot cold explanation for this, but for decades of driving, I. Never had this issue on Ford and Nissan vehicles. Can anyone guide?

Brake pads used and how often do they have to be changed

Sometimes uneven brake pad material transfer feels like warped rotors.

SHarripersad

Postby SHarripersad » August 12th, 2018, 7:17 pm

The brakes were changed timely with the original rotors. The replacment rotors was grinded last week and no more warp symptoms. So I am certain it's the rotors. Any thing else for me to check?

Postby *KRONIK* » August 12th, 2018, 7:45 pm

I heard lots of owners talk about this issue.
I think you should try an aftermarket rotor and disc pad.
Do a flush on the brake fluid one time.

Westbourne trading has these DBA rotors and disc pads for 4800.
Heard they rell performing.

SmartSelectImage_2018-07-23-16-56-04.jpeg

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » August 12th, 2018, 9:19 pm

SHarripersad wrote:The brakes were changed timely with the original rotors. The replacment rotors was grinded last week and no more warp symptoms. So I am certain it's the rotors. Any thing else for me to check?
Type of brake pads?

Please look up the process of bedding in pads...I am trying to tell you your rotors aren't necessarily warped... Unless you wet the rotors right after driving the vehicle hard

Postby *$kїđž!™ » August 16th, 2018, 8:17 am

Looking for tyres.....currently has 255 70 15.....where has the best deals?

trebornattaj

Postby trebornattaj » August 21st, 2018, 5:29 pm

Need a little help in removing my front driver's seat, 2010 model, saw what looked like a sensor attachment under the seat , how do I remove? Thanks, need to remove seat to repair upholstery

Postby *KRONIK* » August 21st, 2018, 8:10 pm

trebornattaj wrote:Need a little help in removing my front driver's seat, 2010 model, saw what looked like a sensor attachment under the seat , how do I remove? Thanks, need to remove seat to repair upholstery
It dont have a clip to detach it?

trebornattaj

Postby trebornattaj » August 22nd, 2018, 6:45 am

Kronik there is a clip, what I need to know is do I need to take off the battery, or do I just remove it?

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » August 22nd, 2018, 10:59 am

Just remove it that's the seat belt alarm

trebornattaj

Postby trebornattaj » August 22nd, 2018, 11:49 am

Got thru, thanks

Postby *KRONIK* » August 22nd, 2018, 3:51 pm

trebornattaj wrote:Kronik there is a clip, what I need to know is do I need to take off the battery, or do I just remove it?
PariaMan wrote:Just remove it that's the seat belt alarm
Yea
This....

Lol

trebornattaj

Postby trebornattaj » August 22nd, 2018, 5:30 pm

It's ok, you can laugh at my ignorance, I've learnt that there are no foolish questions, just a fool who doesn't ask the question.

Postby *KRONIK* » August 22nd, 2018, 6:51 pm

trebornattaj wrote:It's ok, you can laugh at my ignorance, I've learnt that there are no foolish questions, just a fool who doesn't ask the question.
Indeed....
Better safe than sorry

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » August 22nd, 2018, 7:55 pm

No sweat man it is great when we can learn from each other no man is an island

Wolla

Postby Wolla » August 27th, 2018, 5:12 pm

Hi everyone,

Anyone ever tried the rear seat folding modification (see link below)? If so, any issues encountered?

http://www.hilux4x4.co.za/views/viewtopic.php?t=15011

Thanks

Postby *$kїđž!™ » August 27th, 2018, 5:17 pm

Amyone knows how to.change the coolant...not finding any videos online

Postby *KRONIK* » August 28th, 2018, 6:58 am

*$kїđž![emoji769] wrote:Amyone knows how to.change the coolant...not finding any videos online
Its supposed to be a simple drain and refill.
The hilux has the bottle/tank attached so that purges air from the system unlike a traditional top-capped radiator.

Make sure vehicle cool to work on.

The bottom is supposed to have a drain plug, open the bottle cap, crack drain plug and let it drain out, run engine for about <2 mins to purge the coolant from the water pump and engine block.
Add back coolant and when it seems it cant take any more, start engine and let it come up to operating temp. It will start to take a bit more coolant and purge out the air.
Cover back the bottle.
Next morning top up to cold level on bottle.
It supposed to take 2 gallons
Use the original stuff.

I have selling if you need.
75/qt of concentrate. Genuine toyota coolant.

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » August 28th, 2018, 8:14 am

Don't like the idea of running an engine without coolant... Draining it from the plug in the radiator would remove a fair bit of coolant from the system and all from the bottle on the side.
When refilling fill about double the amount from the fill mark and run the engine... The bottle will most likely empty after a short drive... Like a 2 min drive... Then refill to the fill mark and monitor again after running engine

Postby *$kїđž!™ » August 29th, 2018, 9:06 am

Thanks guys...at what interval do u all change coolants.....

Postby *KRONIK* » August 29th, 2018, 11:08 am

*$kїđž![emoji769] wrote:Thanks guys...at what interval do u all change coolants.....
I never changed mine yet
But looking to change at 100k kms

Postby Ted_v2 » August 29th, 2018, 12:44 pm

Change termostat one time

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » August 29th, 2018, 12:55 pm

When the water pump needs changing

ADONI

Postby ADONI » August 29th, 2018, 1:27 pm

*KRONIK* wrote:
*$kїđž![emoji769] wrote:Thanks guys...at what interval do u all change coolants.....
I never changed mine yet

Mines has a sticker that says don't change until 160,000 km....
I would like to give it a small flush doh...

Postby *KRONIK* » August 29th, 2018, 1:33 pm

ADONI wrote:
*KRONIK* wrote:
I never changed mine yet

Mines has a sticker that says don't change until 160,000 km....
I would like to give it a small flush doh...
Yea
They recommend to change it at 150k km along with the timing belt.

I choose to change at 100k kms as my van, even tho the mileage is under 100k kms, its already 7 years old and coolant will still breakdown over time...

ADONI

Postby ADONI » August 29th, 2018, 1:51 pm

^^ Correct!

Postby *$kїđž!™ » October 29th, 2018, 10:28 am

Hey guys......have anybody ever used the tyre size ...31.5 × 10 / 15?

Any issues?

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » October 29th, 2018, 11:52 am

I'm not sure if you mean 31 x 10.5 r15... So the tyre size I mentioned is roughly 265/75r15

The tyre will fit but most tyres with imperial values like you mentioned are labeled LT for light truck; it means that the tyre is capable of supporting more load but the ride quality will be a bit worse because of its stiffer construction

trebornattaj

Postby trebornattaj » October 29th, 2018, 12:14 pm

I currently have the 31 x 10.5x15 on my 2010 hilux, no issues, no touching etc.

trebornattaj

Postby trebornattaj » October 29th, 2018, 12:14 pm

I currently have the 31 x 10.5x15 on my 2010 hilux, no issues, no touching etc.

Postby *KRONIK* » October 29th, 2018, 4:13 pm

31” is the max you can run without lifting.
Stock is 30.5”

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”