Tech Thread - Toyota Hilux...D4D and all older models.

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.

Re: Tech Thread - Toyota Hilux...D4D and all older models.

Postby Ted_v2 » March 14th, 2018, 12:23 pm

The rubber at the bottom of the shock is a known failure

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » March 14th, 2018, 4:19 pm

Yep that was real noise and squeaks

trebornattaj

Postby trebornattaj » March 21st, 2018, 2:06 pm

Gday tuners, so I've read all 50 pages of posts and replies, some I skipped though, bottom line is I'm thinking seriously about purchasing a hilux for personal use, no load carrying really or intended off roading. I'm looking at a second hand unit, any advice and recommendations will be surely appreciated. Thanks

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » March 21st, 2018, 2:23 pm

Recommendations on any thing in particular

trebornattaj

Postby trebornattaj » March 21st, 2018, 8:00 pm

Sorry, yes, what hilux would be my best best buy for my use and what should I pay attention to in particular. Thanks

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » March 21st, 2018, 10:12 pm

If you are mostly keeping it on the black top... The Vigo models have softer rear springs which ride better. The vgt turbo in those models tend to have babe sticking issues due to soot buildup. Also avoid EGR models if you can. The 2.5 is usually a dead horse with a rough ride but it's more reliable. All these engines carry timing belts so if it is above 150000km... Ask if it has been replaced.
That is about it

Postby *$kїđž!™ » March 21st, 2018, 10:53 pm

Question....

Should I or should I not get a KnN filter for my van?

Any reviews....hp increases?....fuel consumption decreases?.turbo breathes better?

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » March 22nd, 2018, 12:08 am

What is the cost of one of those...I honestly think it is a waste of time and money... Better air flow comes at the cost of filtration efficiency... So you wear out the engine faster for the chance to make a little more power. But at the end of the day it is your vehicle. I personally have not used it in my van but have used it in a previous car... The holes in the filter material were big enough to be noticed and fit was poor.

trebornattaj

Postby trebornattaj » March 22nd, 2018, 7:20 am

kamakazi wrote:If you are mostly keeping it on the black top... The Vigo models have softer rear springs which ride better. The vgt turbo in those models tend to have babe sticking issues due to soot buildup. Also avoid EGR models if you can. The 2.5 is usually a dead horse with a rough ride but it's more reliable. All these engines carry timing belts so if it is above 150000km... Ask if it has been replaced.
That is about it

Thanks kamakazi, question, are all the 3.0s egr equipped? Thanks

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » March 22nd, 2018, 7:24 am

I don't think all 3.0 can't with EGR.... But I can be wrong here

Vane sticking issues is what I typed above but autocorrect changed it to babe

trebornattaj

Postby trebornattaj » March 22nd, 2018, 7:46 am

Kamakazi please whatsapp me if you can on 753 4225, thanks

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » April 12th, 2018, 4:59 pm

Ted_v2 wrote:The rubber at the bottom of the shock is a known failure
Do you know if those rubbers sell separately and who has them

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » April 13th, 2018, 2:37 am

kamakazi wrote:
Could not get them locally but they available on Amazon for small money

Postby *$kїđž!™ » April 13th, 2018, 4:52 am

*$kїđž![emoji769] wrote:No work done recently....ot started tp make this squeaky noise after a weekend in toco dont think i pushed it too hard there...
Turns out that it was just my handbrake needing adjustment...

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » April 13th, 2018, 9:52 am

PariaMan wrote:
kamakazi wrote:
Can you please provide me with a link... It would be much appreciated

On another note... Has anyone ever went for inspection with LED park light bulbs...I want to know if I will have any trouble with them because of the white colour. It is the first generation of the bulb linked below.

https://www.amazon.com/SYLVANIA-ZEVO-White-Bulb-Contains/dp/B01A77TXNK/ref=pd_sim_263_1?_encoding=UTF8&pd_rd_i=B01A77TXNK&pd_rd_r=0QZ2BGKN2Z6BK5NMC1R0&pd_rd_w=J0cTr&pd_rd_wg=L5eY7&psc=1&refRID=0QZ2BGKN2Z6BK5NMC1R0

ADONI

Postby ADONI » April 13th, 2018, 1:34 pm

I inspected twice already with these lights, if this helps.

Wah rubbers allyuh talking about? The rubber in the rear shock?
hilux lights.jpg
hilux lights.jpg (21.88 KiB) Viewed 5845 times

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » April 13th, 2018, 3:56 pm

kamakazi wrote:
PariaMan wrote:
kamakazi wrote:
Can you please provide me with a link... It would be much appreciated

On another note... Has anyone ever went for inspection with LED park light bulbs...I want to know if I will have any trouble with them because of the white colour. It is the first generation of the bulb linked below.

https://www.amazon.com/SYLVANIA-ZEVO-White-Bulb-Contains/dp/B01A77TXNK/ref=pd_sim_263_1?_encoding=UTF8&pd_rd_i=B01A77TXNK&pd_rd_r=0QZ2BGKN2Z6BK5NMC1R0&pd_rd_w=J0cTr&pd_rd_wg=L5eY7&psc=1&refRID=0QZ2BGKN2Z6BK5NMC1R0
Will do when I get on my laptop

And yes I passed with led lights in front park light recently

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » April 13th, 2018, 4:10 pm

ADONI wrote:I inspected twice already with these lights, if this helps.

The front shock absorber... Lower rubber.
The headlights are OEM running a standard h4 bulb... Is just the park light bulb is an LED bulb

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » April 15th, 2018, 1:51 am

So some work on my father's van
After 190000kms some parts have had enough.
Parts replaced...
Front brake pads (Bosch) - organic material that only lasts half as long as the original, gentle on rotors, not meant for hard driving
One lower ball joint (555) - boot burst and dirt and debris got in... It wasn't gone yet but addressing the inevitable.
Two knuckle joints (555) - they were pretty worn
Two sway bar end links (555) - busted boot on one side
Two shock absorbers front (tokico) - the absorber eye rubber was almost completely shot and no one sells that rubber separately.
I only changed the end links and the knuckle joints; a mechanic did the ball joint and the shock absorber as well as the brakes. Not sure if my spring clamp can deal with this spring
Total cost in parts... About $2400... Which would only cover the knuckle joints if we were using original parts

ADONI

Postby ADONI » April 16th, 2018, 8:48 am

kamakazi wrote:
ADONI wrote:I inspected twice already with these lights, if this helps.

The front shock absorber... Lower rubber.
The headlights are OEM running a standard h4 bulb... Is just the park light bulb is an LED bulb

The rubber in d 'eye' of the shock? If so, I am only seeing a PN for the back and not the front. Some reason, I can't upload a drawing of it.
Front Shock HILUX 2004  2012.jpg
Last edited by ADONI on April 17th, 2018, 10:04 am, edited 1 time in total.

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » April 16th, 2018, 3:35 pm

Ok... Cool... Whenever you get the chance and it work.

superstainless1250

Postby superstainless1250 » April 19th, 2018, 10:13 am

Guys interested in transmission oil for my hilux 4x2 2010 model TCS series Original Toyota oil who have an price?

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » April 21st, 2018, 12:38 am

superstainless1250 wrote:Guys interested in transmission oil for my hilux 4x2 2010 model TCS series Original Toyota oil who have an price?
Manual or automatic?

superstainless1250

Postby superstainless1250 » April 21st, 2018, 4:23 am

kamakazi wrote:
superstainless1250 wrote:Guys interested in transmission oil for my hilux 4x2 2010 model TCS series Original Toyota oil who have an price?
Manual or automatic?
Automatic price plz

Postby Ted_v2 » April 21st, 2018, 7:22 am

The shock rubbers, i usually redo them in teflon in navara and hilux, have a contact in debe 100 per shock.
The navara ones burst out and the shocks are pretty fine, its not a bad move as you cant get it locally.

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » April 21st, 2018, 9:46 am

Ted_v2 wrote:The shock rubbers, i usually redo them in teflon in navara and hilux, have a contact in debe 100 per shock.
The navara ones burst out and the shocks are pretty fine, its not a bad move as you cant get it locally.
Thanks man

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » April 21st, 2018, 1:44 pm

superstainless1250 wrote:
kamakazi wrote:
Manual or automatic?
Automatic price plz
Does it have to be original cause I can point you in the direction of the next best thing.
Anyhow most auto places have it for around 85 a quart. Toyota type IV fluid. Probably reach 100 by now because of that Toyota logo.

If you are interested in the alternative it is called Mobil 1 3309 atf and can be had for about 65 a quart

Postby Rainman » May 1st, 2018, 4:44 pm

Soooo, has anyone greased their shaft recently?

Also as it relates to the hilux, I can't seem to find the grease nipples on the drive shaft. Tried putting it in neutral and turning the shaft but nada.

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » May 1st, 2018, 5:05 pm

I have...a couple times... The nipples are located at the multiple cross locations and at the slide yoke.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » May 2nd, 2018, 11:32 am

How to loosen a tight oil filter guys?....its so deep down my wrench...oil filter wrench cant reach it

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”