Tech Thread - Toyota Hilux...D4D and all older models.

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
lighthammer

Re: Tech Thread - Toyota Hilux...D4D and all older models.

Postby lighthammer » June 16th, 2012, 1:19 am

^^ the way this fella drives.... might be less than that... :) :)

Jeremy Mohd

Postby Jeremy Mohd » June 16th, 2012, 3:52 pm

sweeks wrote:
Jeremy Mohd wrote:Got the clutch, pressure plate, pilot and release for LN167 at Toyota. (Everything was around 4500).

Great .... u should be good to go for anothe 200 000km + after that.

Thats about 10 years with my avearge Kms! lol

I just want it to last the next few years, and withstand what I intend to throw at it

Postby Team Loco » June 20th, 2012, 11:37 pm

jeremy, seems like we in the same boat. my original clutch lasted me 150,000kms. this time around, i am close to 261,000kms and i picked up a slip last week. but since then i've done nearly 2000kms over the last two weeks and no slip. but she is still going downhill. list of items to fix/repair/ install:

new mounts throughout- not busted, but the original are still in
new steering shock
new shocks- i think
axle boot rubbers, one is totally missing, couldnt believe i missed that
possible shackle rubbers
turbo bypass box install
water to air system install- radiator presently being custom built for under engine shield
brakes, pads done.....always oem. they last over a yr with me
alignment

then she good to go again. also loosing support/comfort on the drivers seat. got my eyes on some legacy seat by Gobin. hopefully i go get a family price

sweeks

Postby sweeks » June 21st, 2012, 4:07 am

TL can source most of the oem parts ... Let me know. Thanks.

G-DUB

Postby G-DUB » June 21st, 2012, 9:27 am

Hey guys I have an original clutch disc and pressure plate for the 5L. I bought a gearbox for my pickup some time ago and i thought that it could work but it`s a tad bit larger that the 2L clutch and pressure plate which my van has. It could work on a 3L, gearbox was like new and was bought from Monty in Charlieville, the van it was in was only doing abt 15000km. Anyone interested pm me.

Jeremy Mohd

Postby Jeremy Mohd » June 21st, 2012, 11:09 am

G-DUB you're about a week too late!
Would have surely take it off your hands!

Jeremy Mohd

Postby Jeremy Mohd » June 21st, 2012, 11:12 am

Loco,
As for my change out:

Changed the clutch, pressure, release and pilot.

The release bearing actually appeared ok, but the pilot was not. Not spinning freely and partly shredded.

Clutch is soft and feels brand new now...

I am getting a vibration at about 2500 RPM in any gear, that wasn't there before, so have to check back. We repulled all the bolts, and all is fine, so I sure its nothing thats slack.

It feels like the vibration from a bad cross, but it was fine the day before we dropped the gbox, so I doubt its that.

Jeremy Mohd

Postby Jeremy Mohd » June 21st, 2012, 11:24 am

Shocks, steering damper, rear springs, torsions etc I am changing out soon as well.. :) :)

The front shocks are definitely too soft.

Saw that my right boot rubber is also busted, would look a pair.
Looking for some original front disc pads as well. Might as well change both things in one day.

sweeks

Postby sweeks » June 21st, 2012, 2:52 pm

Jeremy Mohd wrote:Loco, I am getting a vibration at about 2500 RPM in any gear, that wasn't there before, so have to check back. We repulled all the bolts, and all is fine, so I sure its nothing thats slack.

It feels like the vibration from a bad cross, but it was fine the day before we dropped the gbox, so I doubt its that.

Did your mechanic mark the cross and drive shaft when they were taking down the gear box? If not that could be your problem right there. It's not balanced and wasn't put back properly.

Postby Team Loco » June 21st, 2012, 3:29 pm

Jeremy Mohd wrote:Shocks, steering damper, rear springs, torsions etc I am changing out soon as well.. :) :)

Looking for some original front disc pads as well. Might as well change both things in one day.

i always thought so, when i changed out those shock, i realised the barrel was a bit smaller than the oem. on the highway it would bounce a bit, but on rough road it was ok

Postby Team Loco » June 21st, 2012, 3:33 pm

Jeremy, when you done, you will look like this:

ah champion!!!

toyoman

Postby toyoman » June 22nd, 2012, 10:02 am

where is the best place to buy timing and fan belt for 2kd-ftv engine (2006 2.5l hilux) in South....??

sweeks

Postby sweeks » June 22nd, 2012, 12:12 pm

Buy it oem at Toyota...

Jeremy Mohd

Postby Jeremy Mohd » June 22nd, 2012, 12:38 pm

sweeks wrote:
Jeremy Mohd wrote:Loco, I am getting a vibration at about 2500 RPM in any gear, that wasn't there before, so have to check back. We repulled all the bolts, and all is fine, so I sure its nothing thats slack.

Did your mechanic mark the cross and drive shaft when they were taking down the gear box? If not that could be your problem right there. It's not balanced and wasn't put back properly.

No we didn't :(. After reading up on the issue yesterday I think that is it, or where the gbox is mounted to the cross member needs shifting a bit.

Going to change the position of the shaft, try and see, and keep doing that a few times.

I dont believe its anything wrong inside the gbox or with the clutch. The clutch is working great, and gears are going in smooth.

Will update on this.

Jeremy Mohd

Postby Jeremy Mohd » June 22nd, 2012, 12:41 pm

Team Loco wrote:
Jeremy Mohd wrote:Shocks, steering damper, rear springs, torsions etc I am changing out soon as well.. :) :)

i always thought so, when i changed out those shock, i realised the barrel was a bit smaller than the oem. on the highway it would bounce a bit, but on rough road it was ok

On rough road it was ok.. Through Cuevas didnt feel much.
But then again, a b12 can pass through cuevas these days.

Jeremy Mohd

Postby Jeremy Mohd » June 25th, 2012, 9:13 am

Re: Vibration After Changing Clutch..

After repulling the bolts, checking the mounts, greaing the cross and shaft, we were still getting the vibration... from about 40 km, 2000 rpm

We decided to drop the rear driveshaft completely, put on 4 wheel and make a block to see if the vibration is still there and to single out if the rear driveshaft was misaligned.

While dropping the shaft we noticed the problem.

There are 4 bolts, 3 washers were on correctly, 1 washer was inbetween the shaft and where it joins to the gbox.
So the shaft was misaligned by the size of a washer!

Fixed that - made a block, and van is running smmoooothhhh.

:)

Postby Team Loco » June 25th, 2012, 7:32 pm

Jeremy Mohd wrote:Re: Vibration After Changing Clutch..

After repulling the bolts, checking the mounts, greaing the cross and shaft, we were still getting the vibration... from about 40 km, 2000 rpm

We decided to drop the rear driveshaft completely, put on 4 wheel and make a block to see if the vibration is still there and to single out if the rear driveshaft was misaligned.

While dropping the shaft we noticed the problem.

There are 4 bolts, 3 washers were on correctly, 1 washer was inbetween the shaft and where it joins to the gbox.
So the shaft was misaligned by the size of a washer!

Fixed that - made a block, and van is running smmoooothhhh.

:)

aye thanks, you know how long i looking for that washer. i will collect it later :D

Jeremy Mohd

Postby Jeremy Mohd » June 26th, 2012, 9:15 am

And when we were mounting back up eh, meh pops was like..

'I think we one washer short heree... maybe it wasnt there..'

lol.. small thing, it happens.

Postby Team Loco » July 3rd, 2012, 2:27 pm

forgive me Lord for i have sinned! i have used aftermarket brake pads on my hilux!!

liquimolytt

Postby liquimolytt » July 6th, 2012, 10:01 am

You can Try this oil from Liqui Moly
http://www.liqui-moly.de/liquimoly/medi ... 185.jpgHGV Low-Friction Engine Oil
SAE 10W- 40
DESCRIPTION HGV Low-Friction Engine Oil SAE 10W-40 is a modern, year-round, highperformance
low-friction engine oil which has been formulated for diesel engines
with and without exhaust-gas turbocharging and charge air cooler. Due to the use
of a state-of-the-art technology together with unconventional base oils, the engine
oil can guarantee outstanding low-friction and wear protection properties while
facilitating the maximum length of time between oil changes.
PROPERTIES - smooth engine running
- very good wear protection
- rapid oil delivery at low temperatures, good cold-start behaviour
- highly stable safety lubrication film
- optimum engine cleanliness
- miscible and compatible with commercially-available engine oils.
- tested with catalytic converters and performance-proved with turbochargers
- measurable oil and fuel savings
Specifications / Approvals:
API SL/CI-4
ACEA E7-07/B4-07/A3-07
MB-Freigabe 228.3
MAN M3275-1
Volvo VDS 3
Mack EO-M Plus
Global DHD-1
LIQUI MOLY recommends this product for vehicles for which the following
specifications are required:
MB 229.1
MTU Typ 2
Renault RLD, RLD-2
Cummins 20071/20072/20076/20077/20078
Caterpillar ECF-2, ECF-1-a
Scania Standard Drain – max. 60.000 km
Deutz DQC III-05
…/2
TECHNICAL
DATA Viscosity category : 10W-40
Colour according to ASTM : L4.0
Density at 15 °C : 0.875 g/cm³
Viscosity at 40°C : 95,0 mm²/s
Viscosity at 100 °C : 14,5 mm²/s
Viscosity index : 160
Flash point : 230 °C
Pour point : -30 °C
APPLICATION Used for all diesel engines with and without exhaust-gas turbocharging and with
and without charge air cooling. Especially suitable where there are long intervals
between oil changes and heavy duty engine requirements. However, it is also
suitable as a universal engine oil for the mixed vehicle fleet.
INSTRUCTIONS The operating instructions of the vehicle and engine manufacturers must be
followed. Can be mixed with all commercially available engine oils. Fully effective
only when used alone.
FOR RETAIL OUTLETS CHECK FACEBOOK AND LEAVE A MESSAGE Liqui Moly Trinidad & Tobago

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » July 6th, 2012, 11:23 am

Team Loco wrote:forgive me Lord for i have sinned! i have used aftermarket brake pads on my hilux!!

What brand?

I used one called Dura Last.

No dust and good holding power!

joel

Postby joel » July 7th, 2012, 12:46 pm

Guys, I recently changed my bumper after denting it while reversing. It's a 2010. Can the old bumper be repaired? I want to find out so that I can decide if to put it up for sale...dent isn't so vad but it was bothering me
Thanks in advance

sweeks

Postby sweeks » July 7th, 2012, 5:38 pm

joel wrote:Guys, I recently changed my bumper after denting it while reversing. It's a 2010. Can the old bumper be repaired? I want to find out so that I can decide if to put it up for sale...dent isn't so vad but it was bothering me
Thanks in advance

Chrome? It's difficult to repair.

joel

Postby joel » July 9th, 2012, 6:43 pm

Chrome. Just wanted to know if to just throw it away and done as opposed to tryin to sell

Postby Team Loco » July 10th, 2012, 12:52 am

Throw it myway! Depends on the dent, but it can never come back to new. You actually need a dull object and a press. Never try to use a hammer on it.

Pariaman, the brand is premium plus

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » July 10th, 2012, 12:56 pm

Never try to use a hammer on it.

cutthroatInt

Postby cutthroatInt » July 10th, 2012, 10:28 pm

Tech supports,

I recently bought a LN145R 4x2 TBR series.

Any particular issues to be known bout this van, 2L engine etc?

Regards

G-DUB

Postby G-DUB » July 11th, 2012, 10:12 am

No known issues on this model that I know of, really a workhorse. I have one of these myself, 14 years old only things i changed parts wise were belts and a radiator.

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » July 13th, 2012, 1:24 am

Enginewise, pretty durable workhorse. Just check for leaking seals, pribably have the injectors cleaned and fuel pump recalibrated.

Check the clutch for slippage,also check the rear leafsprings for any broken leafs.

cutthroatInt

Postby cutthroatInt » July 13th, 2012, 5:33 pm

yes i did notice some wet spots on the head and block. no oil dripping on ground but indicates some sealing up is needed. engine back seal for sure needs changing as im seeing there wet also.

van had a pair of new leaf springs as it was in a lil bouncident a few yrs ago where the banjo was broken.

but was repaired properly. FU banjo and Toyota spring bundles.

only issues rite now is the annoyin rattle from the tail gate.. need to put some rubber or the likes by the latch..

and the rims are bad ass offroadin rims.. 9 or 10" and tires 265/15/50.... the mud guards not stoppin dirt from flyin on the body due to offset of rim. so its hard to keep clean lol.

tires are brand new so wont consider selling off tires yet.

van will be 8 yrs old this yr...

still has factory disc pads. guy used to drive real proper. still has life and holds properly

was told he only changed lower ball joints and front shocks.. all OEM Toyota parts.
and these go bad cos of the broad rims and tire he chose to use.

engine doesnt smoke and is responsive.. so i dont tink fuel pump needs servicing..

wot fuel injector cleaner or fuel treatment u wud recommend me using? even tho its not smoking.

also what fluids and weights wud u recommend?:

Radiator coolant:
Engine oil:
Gearbox oil:
Diff oil:

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”