Tech Thread - Toyota Hilux...D4D and all older models.

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
carluva

Re: Tech Thread - Toyota Hilux...D4D and all older models.

Postby carluva » November 19th, 2018, 4:46 pm

Good point

Postby *KRONIK* » November 19th, 2018, 4:55 pm

Especially when yuh drivetrain/tranny have about 2k in fresh fluids
I eh wanna be playing that water/oil thing

Postby Ted_v2 » November 19th, 2018, 6:28 pm

Chupz. Jack it right up. Do a body lift and some 33. Yuh on the right track

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » November 19th, 2018, 6:36 pm

I would like a 2 inch lift with bigger tyres with more height the total lift could well be 3 inches

carluva

Postby carluva » November 19th, 2018, 7:40 pm

Ted_v2 wrote:Chupz. Jack it right up. Do a body lift and some 33. Yuh on the right track
Meh. Too much involved with a body lift. Plus it's irreversible. I'll stick with suspension lift.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » November 20th, 2018, 10:23 am

Guys anybody else get a lil knocking noise when mashing brake when van is reversing?....Mech told me its worn calipher pins....
Anybody know where i can get these...?...Firm has none...and they think its pretty funny.....

carluva

Postby carluva » November 20th, 2018, 10:34 am

Have you (or anyone else on this forum) tried partsouq or amayama? They are good resources to see your part details once you enter VIN or model #. I use them all the time for parts number references. Admittedly, I have not purchased from them (as yet) but many of my colleagues have with good reviews.

Try those websites for the part numbers for the caliper/pins and see if you can buy online.

Postby Dave » November 20th, 2018, 11:27 am

Both are legit sites. Bought many items from them already.

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » November 20th, 2018, 1:15 pm

*$kїđž![emoji769] wrote:Guys anybody else get a lil knocking noise when mashing brake when van is reversing?....Mech told me its worn calipher pins....
Anybody know where i can get these...?...Firm has none...and they think its pretty funny.....
I think it is pretty funny too... Cause those aren't wear items that need replacing
Start questioning what that mech telling you.

carluva

Postby carluva » November 20th, 2018, 7:52 pm

Does anyone know offhand what the offset is on these stock 17" 6 X 139.7 wheels from the 2013 Fortuner/Hilux? Tryna avoid having to remove the wheel to check the inside to then get a meg that it's not there.
IMG_20181120_194717760.jpeg

Postby *KRONIK* » November 20th, 2018, 8:49 pm

Check the specs online

carluva

Postby carluva » November 20th, 2018, 8:54 pm

I did but am getting conflicting info. Some sites say its 20mm and some say its 30mm

Postby *$kїđž!™ » November 20th, 2018, 9:21 pm

kamakazi wrote:
*$kїđž![emoji769] wrote:Guys anybody else get a lil knocking noise when mashing brake when van is reversing?....Mech told me its worn calipher pins....
I think it is pretty funny too... Cause those aren't wear items that need replacing
He says it happens to most hilux...even his...getting a metal sounding clank noise coming from the front wheel tyres area when i mash the brakes while reversing....
He claims calipher pins worn...

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » November 20th, 2018, 10:03 pm

carluva wrote:I did but am getting conflicting info. Some sites say its 20mm and some say its 30mm
17*7.5JET30

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » November 20th, 2018, 10:11 pm

*$kїđž![emoji769] wrote:
kamakazi wrote:
He says it happens to most hilux...even his...getting a metal sounding clank noise coming from the front wheel tyres area when i mash the brakes while reversing....
He claims calipher pins worn...
I might say that to, if I can make a money from you. But on a real...I can't see that being a problem unless someone play up in they monthly salary when they mount it (they mounted it improperly or forgot to do something). Anyhow...I would like to know how it goes.

Postby Ted_v2 » November 21st, 2018, 5:00 am

Skidz it's the brakes pads Boi. I went down that road with a 3.0. Changed rotors, pins and the pads solved it. Was a aftermarket set. And that caused the issue.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » November 21st, 2018, 10:00 am

Ted_v2 wrote:Skidz it's the brakes pads Boi. I went down that road with a 3.0. Changed rotors, pins and the pads solved it. Was a aftermarket set. And that caused the issue.
Damn all that bro.....well my pads have alot of life in it still
.its the original pads that van came with...how much life u had in yours when u changed them out....
My van is doing 85000km so i didnt expect this

Postby Ted_v2 » November 21st, 2018, 10:18 am

It was a company vehicle. Milage galore and rell abuse

Postby *KRONIK* » November 22nd, 2018, 10:39 am

Got these brand new 2” lift comfort shackles to sell.

708-0101 if anyone interested

20181114_105953.jpeg

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » November 22nd, 2018, 2:35 pm

So recently I learned that almost all brake pads have letter ratings on them that identify their coefficient of friction. I think the ratings start at C and end at H, with H being the highest coefficient.
Two letters are written to specify the coefficient at two specific temperatures (200 and 600 degrees Fahrenheit) "I think...I can't remember exactly".

This information can be found on the backing plates of most brake pads or on the friction material.

What you will see is two capitalised letters amongst the Alpha numeric codes like
FF
HH
EF

While this is a good indicator of brake performance, it doesn't give any indication about how good it is above those temps, or how aggressive it is to wearing rotors or how long the pads will last. Also keep in mind that other factors such as brake pad surface area plays a part in how fast you stop

Postby *KRONIK* » November 22nd, 2018, 7:49 pm

kamakazi wrote:So recently I learned that almost all brake pads have letter ratings on them that identify their coefficient of friction. I think the ratings start at C and end at H, with H being the highest coefficient.
Two letters are written to specify the coefficient at two specific temperatures (200 and 600 degrees Fahrenheit) "I think...I can't remember exactly".

This information can be found on the backing plates of most brake pads or on the friction material.

What you will see is two capitalised letters amongst the Alpha numeric codes like
FF
HH
EF

While this is a good indicator of brake performance, it doesn't give any indication about how good it is above those temps, or how aggressive it is to wearing rotors or how long the pads will last. Also keep in mind that other factors such as brake pad surface area plays a part in how fast you stop
Good info

I will look into it

ADONI

Postby ADONI » November 23rd, 2018, 9:25 am

*KRONIK* wrote:Got these brand new 2” lift comfort shackles to sell.

Changed ur mind on installing or bro?

Postby *KRONIK* » November 23rd, 2018, 9:27 am

ADONI wrote:

Yea

Had a lil change in plans.

Van stuff on hold till middle next year

ADONI

Postby ADONI » November 23rd, 2018, 9:31 am

*KRONIK* wrote:
ADONI wrote:

Yea

Had a lil change in plans.

Van stuff on hold till middle next year

8-)

carluva

Postby carluva » November 27th, 2018, 9:17 pm

Kronik check your pm

Postby *KRONIK* » November 27th, 2018, 10:05 pm

carluva wrote:Kronik check your pm
Checked....and responded

tte

Postby tte » November 30th, 2018, 2:17 pm

Hey, anyone know where i could find aftermarket rotors for a 2014 facelift 4wd Hilux 3.0 Turbo Manual. Maybe DBX. Also aftermarket clutch and pplate, maybe like a excedy?

Postby *KRONIK* » November 30th, 2018, 2:21 pm

tte wrote:Hey, anyone know where i could find aftermarket rotors for a 2014 facelift 4wd Hilux 3.0 Turbo Manual. Maybe DBX. Also aftermarket clutch and pplate, maybe like a excedy?
You can get DBA with hawk pads at westbourne trading in aranguez.
4800 whereabouts is the price

Streewise performance has the rotors also.

You can get stoptech for 1500
I can get u the contact of you need it.

For clutch replacement, buy OEM.
Its around 5k for the kit.
Also, resurface your flywheel while you at it.
Will give better clutch life.

G-DUB

Postby G-DUB » December 5th, 2018, 7:26 am

Can the 2015 Tacoma rotors work on the 2015 Hilux?
Here`s the links with specs to both.

http://www.jnbk-brakes.com/catalogue/ca ... 76/RN1446V
http://www.jnbk-brakes.com/catalogue/ca ... 69/RN1664V

Postby *KRONIK* » December 5th, 2018, 7:37 am

Which model?
Revo or vigo?

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”