Tech Thread - Toyota Hilux...D4D and all older models.

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.

Re: Tech Thread - Toyota Hilux...D4D and all older models.

Postby Team Loco » October 19th, 2011, 11:51 pm

no pheonix, it cant. its actually a bit bigger.

anybody for some Mickey Thompson rims? gonna place an order soon. afraid i may not want to sell them

*Phoenix*

Postby *Phoenix* » October 20th, 2011, 5:59 am

Thanks TL.... e-mail me the info on the Mickey Thompson Rims you getting...

Postby Team Loco » October 20th, 2011, 10:09 am

pheonix, i had a good look at the bracket for the sr5 headlamp. its actually quite easy to make. let me know if you want us to make it

*Phoenix*

Postby *Phoenix* » October 20th, 2011, 9:29 pm

Ammmm... Yeah! that so a Yes DUDE..... Thanks TL... hook me up.. ;)

topshotta20

Postby topshotta20 » December 4th, 2011, 11:20 am

Any body have the letter for their fog lamps
Heard police started asking for dem now on road blocks

sweeks

Postby sweeks » December 4th, 2011, 9:42 pm

I have the letter. That's one of those 'gray' laws.

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » December 7th, 2011, 1:36 am

so if ur van painted grey.... you could go through??

:mrgreen:

*Phoenix*

Postby *Phoenix* » December 7th, 2011, 7:15 am

I have a letter but dont have Fogs.. LOL.. Yet!

sweeks

Postby sweeks » December 7th, 2011, 8:06 am

You'll get pong ESP if it's aftermarket fogs.

*Phoenix*

Postby *Phoenix* » December 7th, 2011, 7:49 pm

I know.... :twisted:

topshotta20

Postby topshotta20 » December 8th, 2011, 7:25 am

Thanks guys
tink i get through

Zed Sqd

Postby Zed Sqd » December 8th, 2011, 9:10 am

leh we hear how you get tru nah!

topshotta20

Postby topshotta20 » December 12th, 2011, 4:46 pm

i have the backing just need to get a letter from toyota

*Phoenix*

Postby *Phoenix* » January 4th, 2012, 8:40 am

OK Changing Transfer Case oil... The How too...

Take Pics to share eh!!! :twisted:

*Phoenix*

Postby *Phoenix* » January 4th, 2012, 8:50 am

Rear Differential Oil Change

Easy! :twisted:

topshotta20

Postby topshotta20 » January 12th, 2012, 7:10 am

Besides toyota where u getting the gaskets for the Rear Diff.

Postby Team Loco » January 25th, 2012, 11:39 pm

anyone know where i can get a front diff for a 04 hilux?

sweeks

Postby sweeks » January 26th, 2012, 6:43 am

Did u call the guy up Riverside Rd?

Postby Team Loco » January 29th, 2012, 10:16 pm

sweeks, didnt ned the diff. i was trying to find that dreaded wind noise. thought it was the diff.
btw, sorted out the starter in the black lux. removed, serviced, brushes replaced. starter is now 50% quieter than before.

*Phoenix*

Postby *Phoenix* » February 29th, 2012, 7:12 pm

Well guys I did a little tweeks on my Hilux...

BFG MT 33x12.5x15 Tires with Mickey Thompson SideBiters Installed. (AND TESTED)

ARB - Old Man Emu Suspension Installed.

Bushwacker Fender Flares Installed

K&N Installed

MOMO Corse Installed

Alpha II (Euro Horns) installed

Horn TEST! As requested... :lol:

sweeks

Postby sweeks » March 1st, 2012, 6:21 am

Wow...nice mods....

Those BF Goodrich are going to wear down fast if you use them on the road.

*Phoenix*

Postby *Phoenix* » March 1st, 2012, 7:02 am

Thanks Sweeky.

Glad you like the mods..
The BFGs are excellent and according to the rating they should wear down fast but we will have to wait and see... Plus with the very little driving that i do now anything would last a long time... LOL

15devils

Postby 15devils » March 1st, 2012, 3:59 pm

[quote=. i was trying to find that dreaded wind noise. thought it was the diff.[/quote]

hey guys, i'm hearing ah kinda wind noise in my hilux too.sounds like a shield or something rubbing or grating.only hear it when i in the highway doing around 100 or more,and only recently started hearing it.
BTW on another note,wanna change my gearbox oil,transfer case and rear diff.what kinda oil should i use ?
thanks...i'm a noob tuber to trucks

Postby Team Loco » March 2nd, 2012, 8:37 am

i have a better one and sweekiy can vouch for this. ever since i got the white hilux i developed a "wind noise" at 60kms and over. it was so loud that the radio could not drown it out. to cut a long story short, i spent over 48 man hours looking for this noise, stayed up till 2am scrapping the entire front of the van, sealing seams, checking hoses, using duct tape and sealing areas (for checking), yet still nothing. if i was to add up time and $$$ spent behind this, it would amount to $2500 (i eben replaced a body part)

but guess what!!! in the end..............wait till you hear what was causing it...............

BLASTED WINDSCREEN MOLDING!!!

at the early stag i had ruled out the windscreen since i duct taped the entire strip, but was still getting the noise. however, the molding has a chrome strip at the centre that carries a protective clear film over it. at 60kms, this protective strip would lift off one end and "sing in the wind" and drive me nuts. this was like finding a needle in a haystack. i just yanked it off at one end and peeled it off. problem solved

G-DUB

Postby G-DUB » March 2nd, 2012, 12:03 pm

Hey Phoenix where did you get the K&N air filter to buy and what was the cost?

*Phoenix*

Postby *Phoenix* » March 2nd, 2012, 6:52 pm

I got it from TL .. :lol:

OK im kidding.. i ordered it online and brought it in myself..
I didnt calculate the total cost so i cant say off hand.
what i do know is that nobody locally has it... :twisted:

TL yuh see why i Hate Chrome!!! LOL

Postby Team Loco » March 2nd, 2012, 9:22 pm

how you manage to get the corrrect filter pheonix? i searched the world for that. ended up altering one

*Phoenix*

Postby *Phoenix* » March 3rd, 2012, 10:00 am

I know you did.. It just doesn't exist! I wanna see what and how you altered one to fit yours... e-mail me or post pics and explanation.

I does make magic happen TL! BTW your cousin passed this morning and collect the thing eh! ;)

sweeks

Postby sweeks » March 4th, 2012, 2:24 am

Phoenix K&N part # E-2015?

Postby Aaron 2NR » March 4th, 2012, 8:00 am

i no sheriff's got a lot of filters for toyota...got one for my 2012

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”