Tech Thread - Toyota Hilux...D4D and all older models.

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.

Re: Tech Thread - Toyota Hilux...D4D and all older models.

Postby pugboy » November 3rd, 2015, 7:32 pm

Did the 49k turbo fail due to the soot clogging issue or oil lubrication ?

Team Loco wrote:the 49,000kms turbo i did went bad due to driver not changing oil after 20,000kms

Postby Team Loco » November 3rd, 2015, 8:17 pm

Poor Oil lubrication

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » November 4th, 2015, 12:55 am

PariaMan wrote:
red bwoy wrote:Won't work pal that will just be a by product of combustion and still produce soot

Not understanding. If you spray inside the turbo should not that remove any soot building up there?

Turbo has two sides.
Turbine or exhaust side
Compressor or intake side.
If the soot is forming on the exhaust side where the vanes are, spraying to clean on the intake side will have no effect as they are in separate housings.

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » November 4th, 2015, 6:45 am

Thanks I understand that now could see how that could be a problem

casey07814

Postby casey07814 » November 4th, 2015, 7:55 am

When u scrap these turbos and electronic wastegates(actuators ) what do u clean them with?

Postby Rainman » November 23rd, 2015, 5:08 pm

I wanna see pics of the turbos.

Postby Team Loco » November 24th, 2015, 10:15 am

yeah i know, none in the shop these days. forgot to take shots of the fortuner turbos. will check my cam for older shots

Postby pugboy » November 24th, 2015, 10:31 pm

Fortuner uses a different turbo ?
Isnt engine same 3.0 ?

Have you had any vehicles where motor actuator control box was burnt due to
The vanes sticking and overloading the actuator ?

trini_darkside

Postby trini_darkside » December 16th, 2015, 10:18 am

at 90,000km the left rear shock on my 4*2 hilux is leaking. anyone had failures with shocks around this mileage. i assumed that they would last longer

Postby *$kїđž!™ » December 22nd, 2015, 11:32 am

kamakazi wrote:So i decided to change the oil in all the drivetrain components on my lux as its approaching the 40K mark.
Components include
-Rear Diff ~3 Quarts
-Transfer Case ~1 Quart
-Front Diff ~1.75 Quarts
-Automatic Transmission ~4 Quarts

Fluid used
Castrol 80w-90 axle Limited Slip
Castrol 85w-140 Hypoy C Gear oil
Valvoline 80w-90 High Performance gear oil
Mobil 1 3309 ATF

I have found that the oil coming out the rear and front diff appears significantly thicker than the oil that came out of the transfer case. This might be due to the wear particles in the oil but it is also of a different color to that of the transfer case.
The front diff is also a pain in the arch to work on because of the limited space around the fill plug. To start you will have to remove the shield located directly below the diff which is held on by 4 bolts. You then require a 10mm allen key to remove both the drain and fill plug from the diff; which adds to the pain. (The use of a "snipe" is helpful but it needs to be just the right length).
The drain plugs on both the diffs are magnetic and will have metal wear particles on them that have to be cleaned.

For the Transmission I used Mobil 1 3309 ATF as it is Mobil's version of Toyota Type IV fluid. It was selected as it was more application specific than other third party fluids that list Type IV and was also cheaper than toyota branded fluid. I just performed a simple drain and fill on the trans fluid; this is the second time, the first was done at about 30000 Kms

Good Info....but why change fluids so often and so soon ?.

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » December 24th, 2015, 5:11 pm

I am off the belief that the majority of wear particles that an engine, transmission and differential generate occur during the first time it is being run, barring any catastrophic failure. Since the trans and diff fluid was in there since I got the vehicle I decided to change it earlier. As for the trans, unlike a manual in which you can drain almost all the fluid out of it by undoing one bolt. ..an automatic keeps a lot of fluid in the torque converter and since I am not using a machine to replace the fluid; draining and refilling more often is the choice I am going with to refresh the fluid. It might not be the best method. ....but it works for me:smile:

Postby Team Loco » December 26th, 2015, 8:28 pm

pugboy wrote:Fortuner uses a different turbo ?
Isnt engine same 3.0 ?

Have you had any vehicles where motor actuator control box was burnt due to
The vanes sticking and overloading the actuator ?

Fortuner has same turbo. Prado has sane turbo but slightly different design. Actuators are tye same but bolt lineup different. Yes majority of turbos that come to me have burnt axtuators caused by sticking vanes

Driftking257

Postby Driftking257 » December 26th, 2015, 8:37 pm

Guys what oil do u all use in the 1kd engines? Also what gear box oil and transfer case oil?

kaviman

Postby kaviman » December 28th, 2015, 8:25 pm

Guys I recently bought a second hand 2009 hilux 3.0 4x4.... After driving it for a while it came across One major problem... The first cylinder knocking... One mechanic said its a diesel knock so the injector was replaced with a used injector.... Same problem exists... No smoke no check lights no loss of oil and temperature normal.... All scans of the system coming back with no errors.. Any ideas or advice....

Postby VexXx Dogg » December 28th, 2015, 10:31 pm

Any reviews on the 2012 3.0 4x4 automatic Hilux from TTTL?
Anything to look out for, common problems etc?
Looking at a 2nd hand one, first owner low mileage

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » December 29th, 2015, 2:07 am

Proper service history helps....well at the very least regular oil changes around 5000km.
Sticking vanes in the vnt turbo caused by soot buildup was mentioned by Team Loco; searching this thread might bring it up
Fuel filter sedimentor should be checked fairly regularly. ... cause trinidad diesel
Bridgestone suv tyres are notorious in the wet, namely the 840 & 684
engaging 4wd might seem problematic and is not as simple as other transfer cases; my method flat ground neutral no brakes put in 4wd. essentially you do not want any load on the driveline when engaging. If there is load you might be met with a less than pleasant grating sound. I read the lux case has no synchros to ease engagement; don't know how true that is
Other than that I have not encountered any problems

froggyrvr

Postby froggyrvr » January 2nd, 2016, 11:05 pm

Looking for a clutch for a 2010 hilux

Postby *$kїđž!™ » January 5th, 2016, 11:59 am

what do u use to clean injectors...heard someone mention liquid moly for the common rail?

Postby pugboy » January 6th, 2016, 6:48 am

toyota uses wynns

froggyrvr

Postby froggyrvr » January 11th, 2016, 8:22 pm

Good night fellas where can I get a clutch kit for me 2010 hilux 4x4

Slimklim

Postby Slimklim » January 11th, 2016, 10:10 pm

Where can i get disc pads & rotor disc for a 3.0 2012 hilux 17'' rim ,beside the company.
oem stuff.

red bwoy

Postby red bwoy » January 11th, 2016, 10:32 pm

ROC in Bamboo or 7773077 Sweeks real stand up guy to deal with and he's cheaper than ROC and the Company

Postby Team Loco » January 12th, 2016, 12:22 pm

will recommend sweeks anyday

Postby VexXx Dogg » January 12th, 2016, 4:09 pm

what's the largest/widest wheel and tyre combo that can be run on the 2012 3.0 hilux.?

Looking at some 18x9 wheels, so i'd like to know a good size all terrain tyre that can fit without rubbing usign the stock suspension. What would be the best offset as well?

I know i can run my 17x9 (0 offset) with 275/65 tyres on my sportero

mitch1980

Postby mitch1980 » January 13th, 2016, 3:14 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:what's the largest/widest wheel and tyre combo that can be run on the 2012 3.0 hilux.?

Looking at some 18x9 wheels, so i'd like to know a good size all terrain tyre that can fit without rubbing usign the stock suspension. What would be the best offset as well?

I know i can run my 17x9 (0 offset) with 275/65 tyres on my sportero

using Stock 17" rims ....i run Kumho 280/60/17 on my Hilux

Postby *$kїđž!™ » January 24th, 2016, 1:34 am

pugboy wrote:toyota uses wynns

Any idea of the price...

Saw a liqui moly diesel additive for $50 at one shop then the common rail one at another shop for $110....why d huge difference in price?.

sweeks

Postby sweeks » January 24th, 2016, 12:19 pm

Got a pair of disc pads for the 08-11 Hilux and 03-09 Prado
And a set of rotors for 11-15 Hilux / Fortuner if anyone interested.

Both oem.

Paullct

Postby Paullct » January 25th, 2016, 9:52 pm

I need to get a driver's side wing mirror for 2013 Hilux. Chrome with indicator. TTTL has none. No luck in bamboo. Any help?

Postby *$kїđž!™ » January 26th, 2016, 9:13 am

What battery do you guys use in your hilux...?

My battery is just two years old but I have noticed a lazy start recently....

So i am guessing its the battery.....but i expect it to last longer than two years.....

richgold1000

Postby richgold1000 » January 27th, 2016, 6:43 pm

Guys I am looking for Toyota 1kd d4d EGR valve

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”