Recomendations for 4x4 tyres

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
trinibajan34

Re: Recomendations for 4x4 tyres

Postby trinibajan34 » February 17th, 2013, 1:41 pm

^^ look at them prices ,so them tyres lasting longer than de van then ? just hadda ask cause them prices ridiculous

tourniquet

Postby tourniquet » February 18th, 2013, 7:10 pm

defuk :shock: :S

actually, I really shouldn't be surprised, after all look who selling it :lol: :|
btw venum, I'm quoting you and your prices and posting it in the tyre thread over in the tech forum ( I had asked about these Yokohama's over there already)

venum

Postby venum » February 18th, 2013, 10:10 pm

Go strong

.z.

Postby .z. » February 19th, 2013, 6:42 am

What about dem Interco Tires????

TSL Boggers, Super Swamper Radials and so????

droppa

Postby droppa » February 19th, 2013, 1:03 pm

great offroad performance and traction, very poor in wet road situations, mostly available from dean wheels......

froggyrvr

Postby froggyrvr » March 1st, 2013, 9:50 pm

whats the prices of 265/75/16 or 275/70/16 tyres now

.z.

Postby .z. » March 2nd, 2013, 7:03 am

Contact 374-6263

vharripersad

Postby vharripersad » March 10th, 2013, 5:43 pm

Ford Ranger XLT 4X4 Manual 2009, My Pirelli Scorpion ATR 265/70/R16 made 2 years this March and with every 15-20K rotataion, all four tyres life seems to be VERY slightly less than 1/2 life. March 2013 is now making me 2 years, I drive 10000k about every 2-3 months, or Penal to POS 1-2 days a week and Penal to Point Fortin 2-5 days a week and family trips over the weekend. Advantage, excellent in traction, especially in wet and diesel roads and cornering in unlevel and wet surface roads, van has excellent braking with these tyres. Disadvantage, ride comfort was slightly compromised (I got nitro in them)

Problem: I estimate getting 3 years but I am starting to look around early. WHO is selling Pirelli and what is the cost?

Bridgestone- Wet road and pickups not friend
Roadstone- Perfect and cheap, bends easily in bad road
Michellin- Excellent, ride highly uncomfortable after 1/2 life, unlike my Pirelli right now ride comfort remains almost same like when new
Dunlop- Best tyre, pickup roughness in back significantly reduced, tyre last only 6 months
Kumho, Toyo, Goodyear- heard from persons that they are good, but will not get more than 1.5-2 years
Cheap brands- many say are good, but in trinidad it's something difficult to go with hear say

Postby equipped2ripp » March 10th, 2013, 5:49 pm

^ I had Kumho, Toyo and GoodYear and all gave good life. You don't measure a tire's life by age, you measure it by mileage.

vharripersad

Postby vharripersad » March 10th, 2013, 6:02 pm

With the 3 that you mentioned though, which worked best overall

Postby equipped2ripp » March 10th, 2013, 6:47 pm

The Kumho, I had the Ecsta STX. The Toyo Open Country lasted the longest out of the 3. The GoodYear was the Fortera... I used those 3 tires more than 5 years ago though.

What I have used in recent times are Bridgestone Dueler, Dunlop Grandtrek PT2, Toyo Proxes and Yokohama Geolandar.

venum

Postby venum » March 11th, 2013, 12:35 pm

equipped2ripp wrote:What I have used in recent times are Bridgestone Dueler, Dunlop Grandtrek PT2, Toyo Proxes and Yokohama Geolandar.

where u get the Geolander :?:

i checked TTTL, but their prices murderous

QuickService had BFG for cheaper

Postby equipped2ripp » March 11th, 2013, 1:03 pm

I brought them in myself from TireRack. What kinda prices do they have them for?

Postby VexXx Dogg » March 11th, 2013, 1:51 pm

Attention:
Hercules issues recall of Alltrac tyres
http://www.tirebusiness.com/article/201 ... -a-t-tires

I don't know how applicable it is to our market. Not sure if the local guys import from the same factory in China.

gready123456

Postby gready123456 » March 11th, 2013, 11:14 pm

Firestone destination at

venum

Postby venum » March 13th, 2013, 2:00 pm

TTTL has the Geolander for $2475.00 Ea with no fitting

M.Ramrattan has the Firestone Destination AT for $1200.00 Ea

Saw them this morning

Nice tyre

Laughlin and DeGannes has Kumho Road Venture SAT in 265/70/16 for $1350.00 ea

Postby VexXx Dogg » March 13th, 2013, 2:39 pm

Did some calling around as of 12-03-2013
Size 265/70 R16
A/T

Tyre Clinic
Dunlop PT2 - 1350 VI
Sumitomo850 - 1350 VI

QuickService
GT Radial - 1721 VI

L&D
None in stock

M Ramrattan
Hercules Alltrac - 1300
Sumitomo - 1450

Jacks
Hercules Alltrac - 1100

Mileage Mack
Kumho KL78 - 1210 +Vat (about 1400 VI)

trinibajan34

Postby trinibajan34 » March 13th, 2013, 4:01 pm

any reviews for the maxxis mt 762 bighorn? thinking about buying a set

tourniquet

Postby tourniquet » March 13th, 2013, 6:02 pm

venum wrote:Laughlin and DeGannes has Kumho Road Venture SAT in 265/70/16 for $1350.00 ea

great news :!: last time I checked them (mid-late last year) they only had the Road Venture KL78 in that size. I have the SAT on the vitara and it's been holding out very well thus far :)

venum

Postby venum » March 13th, 2013, 9:48 pm

tourniquet wrote:
venum wrote:Laughlin and DeGannes has Kumho Road Venture SAT in 265/70/16 for $1350.00 ea

great news :!: last time I checked them (mid-late last year) they only had the Road Venture KL78 in that size. I have the SAT on the vitara and it's been holding out very well thus far :)

report back in 40,000km

i think it is teh same compound as the Road Venture AT, just a different tread pattern

mine on skin now

Postby equipped2ripp » March 13th, 2013, 10:07 pm

venum wrote:TTTL has the Geolander for $2475.00 Ea with no fitting

:shock: :shock: :shock:

trinibajan34

Postby trinibajan34 » March 14th, 2013, 1:13 pm

trinibajan34 wrote:any reviews for the maxxis mt 762 bighorn? thinking about buying a set

Paullct

Postby Paullct » March 14th, 2013, 5:38 pm

^^ good tyres bajan. don't last very long on road and they get loud after a bit of wear

vharripersad

Postby vharripersad » March 14th, 2013, 10:02 pm

Called Masterv the Pirelli Scorpion ATR 265/70R16 on discount for $1600

trinibajan34

Postby trinibajan34 » March 14th, 2013, 10:05 pm

safe paul, , was kinda hoping for better a review but suspected they wont last long on the road. if it gives me two years or 2 and half years i would be fine with that. i would go with the firestone destinations once the price is better than the big horns

venum

Postby venum » March 15th, 2013, 5:50 pm

Destination is @1200.00 by M. Ramrattan

Saw them this week

I find they kinda soft and I fear that they will burn out fast on regular highway driving

sweeks

Postby sweeks » March 16th, 2013, 5:04 am

Prices from Wheels Deals (south of highway, after Munroe Road and Sheron's).

They also do trade ins.

trinibajan34

Postby trinibajan34 » March 16th, 2013, 7:10 am

like price of tires going up every year in this place ? at least the hercules holding at $1100

venum

Postby venum » March 16th, 2013, 11:13 pm

trinibajan34 wrote:like price of tires going up every year in this place ? at least the hercules holding at $1100

Yea but taht hercules as good as teh roadstone

trinibajan34

Postby trinibajan34 » March 17th, 2013, 7:44 am

^^ doh say so nah man, i thought the hercules are better than the roadstone

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”