Recomendations for 4x4 tyres

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.

Re: Recomendations for 4x4 tyres

Postby DVSTT » January 10th, 2015, 6:50 am

Can anyone recommend a shop that sells kumho apt 235/70/r16 tires? Or anything close to them that you can recommend. It's for a vitara.

tourniquet

Postby tourniquet » January 10th, 2015, 4:31 pm

for kumho you can check Mileage Mack or Laughlin
you should be able to get like these:
http://www.tirerack.com/tires/tires.jsp ... e+SAT+KL61
usually Laughlin is a bit cheaper.

At MM, you should get these too:
http://www.tirerack.com/tires/tires.jsp ... ntry+AT+II

Postby DVSTT » January 10th, 2015, 7:33 pm

tourniquet wrote:for kumho you can check Mileage Mack or Laughlin
you should be able to get like these:
http://www.tirerack.com/tires/tires.jsp ... e+SAT+KL61
usually Laughlin is a bit cheaper.

At MM, you should get these too:
http://www.tirerack.com/tires/tires.jsp ... ntry+AT+II

Thanks bro. I'll give them a call on Monday. I know stock it came with Bridgestone duelers 225 so I'll also consider those depending on price.

tourniquet

Postby tourniquet » January 10th, 2015, 7:53 pm

I never cared for the duelers that came with the vehicle; they're fine in the dry, but can be a bit dicey in the rain. If you still want to look at bridgestone though, you can check M. Ramrattan in Marabella.

blaqheart123

Postby blaqheart123 » February 4th, 2015, 8:59 pm

wagon r wrote:funny thing, there's a chinese replica to that tyre, sold by dean's called Bolex. i had a set on the L2....bought them new from him....was a great tyre i must say.

they never let me down off road....and yuh know the L2 was always off road... :mrgreen:

in that test was also the standard tyre that came with the prev. model ranger and b2500...the mich. LTX A/T.....were also rated very highly.

purchase of a full set really comes down to bugdet....cause tyres eh cheap... :|
how is the traction in sticky mud?

gundelero

Postby gundelero » February 19th, 2015, 2:31 pm

Guys,

Do you know where I can get Hercules All-Trac, 245/70/16? What prices as well?

Thanks.

mitch1980

Postby mitch1980 » April 28th, 2015, 10:46 am

I replaced my tires this morning a few months earlier because of Sale
KUMHO KL 51 Road Venture 275/60/17

Laughlin Le Gannes- POS had sale on them for $1000 each .....$4000 set of four (33/14 manufacture date) (ansamcal discount card used)

I got 61,000kms on them easily. last set bought from Mileage Mack- South 2 years ago.

I did check out Quick Service But the $6600 for 3 and get one free was a little expensive for not much difference in ride feel and quality.

I made a few calls and listed the results below before i made my decision.

Ramrattan Michelin latitude 265x65x17 TT$1,800.00 TT$7,200.00

Quick Service Michelin LTX M/S2 265x65x17 TT$2,175.00 per tire X4=TT$8,700.00 Promotion = (X3) TT$6,525.00

MileaeMack Kumho 275x60x17 TT$1,500.00 TT$6,000.00
MileaeMack Toyo 265x65x17 TT$1,700.00 TT$6,800.00

Brantec Bridgestone 684II 265x65x17 TT$1,600.00 TT$6,400.00
Promotion X3 1 free =TT$4,800.00

Brantec Kumho 265x65x17 TT$1,650.00 TT$6,600.00

Kelly's Firestone AT 265x65x17 TT$1,800.00 TT$7,200.00
Kelly's Dunlop AT2 265x65x17 TT$1,800.00 TT$7,200.00

Consumer Report on All Season tire attached
Consumer reports All Season Tires.jpg

Jimbo

Postby Jimbo » April 28th, 2015, 10:58 am

Wow mitch, thx for all the great info. Any reason you went for all season instead of A/T? Great deal though!

mitch1980

Postby mitch1980 » April 28th, 2015, 11:05 am

Jimbo wrote:Wow mitch, thx for all the great info. Any reason you went for all season instead of A/T? Great deal though!

I live south and work North i am on the highway 90% of the time
A/T less treadware and a little more noise
thus less mileage

BTW the tires i replaced which had 61,000km could have been sold to a foreign used dealer as they had some life on them.

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » April 28th, 2015, 11:10 am

Went with the goodyear adventure with Kevlar.

Ranked number 3 in all terrain on tirerack.

Best tire I ever drove on. Wet or Dry. Also treadwear of 640

mitch1980

Postby mitch1980 » April 28th, 2015, 11:14 am

PariaMan wrote:Went with the goodyear adventure with Kevlar.

Ranked number 3 in all terrain on tirerack.

Best tire I ever drove on. Wet or Dry. Also treadwear of 640

these are excellent A/T
Where you got them BTW?
Cost?

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » April 28th, 2015, 11:37 am

1200 + vat . 10% off if you buying four!

ACL in Arima.

Really great tires.

Jimbo

Postby Jimbo » April 28th, 2015, 11:43 am

PariaMan wrote:1200 + vat . 10% off if you buying four!

ACL in Arima.

Really great tires.

Wow bess man, what size did you go with? Any eye candy pics?

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » April 28th, 2015, 11:50 am

265/65/17

Have some land in the country . Have to go about a mile down hill on dirt road to reach. Girl friend in South and live north.

Serves me well in the bush, on the highway, and in winding country roads. Pushed them hard in the counrty roads when travelling in the night. No give at all around corners.

Was worth every cent.

Jimbo

Postby Jimbo » April 28th, 2015, 11:55 am

Thx PariaMan, I in same situation as you lol. Occassional dirt trails,gf living south but I in North so plenty highway too. My regular all season tires ok now that everywhere dry, but when things start to get greasy, the A/T may give me the extra bite I need. Only issue is I not ready to change just yet :/

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » April 28th, 2015, 11:56 am

Hope is not the same woman .lol

Postby tr1ad » April 28th, 2015, 12:16 pm

have to change the 33 M/T just now, will be doing highway runs a lot now...

recommendations?

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » April 28th, 2015, 1:25 pm

de same tire u tell me to use boy lol

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » April 28th, 2015, 1:34 pm

Pic of tire
Goodyear-All-Terrain-Adventure-Tire.png
Goodyear-All-Terrain-Adventure-Tire.png (117.29 KiB) Viewed 5368 times

Postby tr1ad » April 28th, 2015, 3:05 pm

MadCrix wrote:de same tire u tell me to use boy lol

asking experienced men..... not fly by night buyers

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » April 29th, 2015, 10:41 am

snaps.... noted.

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » April 29th, 2015, 10:41 am

so wait nah u tell me buy a tire and u doh trust yuh own self? de phoq I listen to u then for?

venum

Postby venum » June 5th, 2015, 8:17 pm

got some firestone destination A/T at M. Ramrattan in vistabella

$1000 Ea fitted.

tyres also come with a FREE 2 year emergency roadside assistance from Bridgestone Internantional done through a local provider - emergency jump start, tyre change, tow (up to US$75)

and a 1 year pro rated road hazzard warranty

next best was Toyo Open country A/T for $1265 at Mileage Mack

did not consider any of the chinese brands, but there wee quite a few for less that $1000 each

Jimbo

Postby Jimbo » June 5th, 2015, 8:25 pm

venum wrote:got some firestone destination A/T at M. Ramrattan in vistabella

$1000 Ea fitted.

tyres also come with a FREE 2 year emergency roadside assistance from Bridgestone Internantional done through a local provider - emergency jump start, tyre change, tow (up to US$75)

did not consider any of the chinese brands, but there wee quite a few for less that $1000 each

What size for that price?

trinibajan34

Postby trinibajan34 » June 5th, 2015, 8:49 pm

Venum how you get them for $1000 each an I got them for $1050 each

mitch1980

Postby mitch1980 » June 5th, 2015, 9:08 pm

Jimbo wrote:
venum wrote:got some firestone destination A/T at M. Ramrattan in vistabella

$1000 Ea fitted.

What size for that price?

definitely know it is not 17"...somehow ramrattan and laughlin le gannes who is now selling Firestone do not carry 17"

DannyBoi20

Postby DannyBoi20 » June 5th, 2015, 9:13 pm

BF Goodrich A/T ko are a good set of Tyres as well

Toyopet

Postby Toyopet » June 5th, 2015, 10:47 pm

DannyBoi20 wrote:BF Goodrich A/T ko are a good set of Tyres as well

Twice the price though.

DannyBoi20

Postby DannyBoi20 » June 6th, 2015, 7:56 pm

Sadly yeah

DannyBoi20

Postby DannyBoi20 » June 6th, 2015, 7:58 pm

As I'm on this 4x4 discussion can anyone tell me which mud Tyre is better BF Goodrich mud terrain or maxxis bighorn? And if there are any other mud Tyres that are good please list out

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”