Recomendations for 4x4 tyres

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.

Re: Recomendations for 4x4 tyres

Postby wagon r » September 5th, 2012, 10:42 am

^ had AT2s on that already....great for the 1st half of life, "entertaining" for the 2nd half.

save the money and buy better.

tourniquet

Postby tourniquet » September 6th, 2012, 8:20 pm

ok, just a brief update, shopping for this 225/65/17 tire size is kind of a pain in the ass, worse yet is asking if they have it in an AT :lol:
so far i've checked out mileage mack, laughlin, cheap jacks, federal, quickservice and a couple others down south.
Thus far no luck with the Yokohama geolanders or the BFG AT, in fact one man just told me plainly, "people don't really take those vitaras offroad."
me: true :(
anyway, so far the only thing in an AT tire, is the kumho road venture SAT available in 235/65/17; which is only slightly wider than what's on now, so I doubt i'll have any rubbing issues to talk about, and the speedo won't be off by much.

badart

Postby badart » September 6th, 2012, 9:18 pm

^ i had the same problem finding AT 17" tires, i was only getting the kumho SAT and when i went to buy it, laughlin had none instock, ended buying michelin AT tires from tirerack.com, great tires esp in the wet. It's easier to get 17" MT than AT!

AdamB

Postby AdamB » September 6th, 2012, 10:32 pm

badart wrote:^ i had the same problem finding AT 17" tires, i was only getting the kumho SAT and when i went to buy it, laughlin had none instock, ended buying michelin AT tires from tirerack.com, great tires esp in the wet. It's easier to get 17" MT than AT!

what's the import duty for tyres and the best economical way to ship, ocean freight?

badart

Postby badart » September 7th, 2012, 7:47 am

AdamB wrote:
badart wrote:^ i had the same problem finding AT 17" tires, i was only getting the kumho SAT and when i went to buy it, laughlin had none instock, ended buying michelin AT tires from tirerack.com, great tires esp in the wet. It's easier to get 17" MT than AT!

what's the import duty for tyres and the best economical way to ship, ocean freight?

Yea I ocean shipped the tires, import duties are 30% i believe.

Val

Postby Val » September 8th, 2012, 3:17 am

Should be 20% for rubber items not so?

AdamB

Postby AdamB » September 10th, 2012, 12:19 pm

Has anyone used or knows of someone who has used these tyres? They are about $850 to $880, 31x10.5/16 and 265/70-16.
IMG-20120910-00029.jpg
IMG-20120910-00028 HIFLY.jpg

droppa

Postby droppa » September 10th, 2012, 1:24 pm

never seen them before!!!!!!!!

badart

Postby badart » September 10th, 2012, 1:41 pm

what is the biggest R15 tires i can fit on a stock hilux?

-31x10.5 :)
Last edited by badart on September 11th, 2012, 7:15 pm, edited 1 time in total.

civic minded

Postby civic minded » September 10th, 2012, 2:16 pm

did that say vigorous AT?, so i take it that they have a non- vigorous AT?.....lol

civic minded

Postby civic minded » September 10th, 2012, 2:21 pm

https://www.google.tt/webhp?sourceid=ch ... 66&bih=653

Google tells me that it is a Chinese brand tire that is made from state of the art machinery from Europe, Japan and Asia

Well what i will tell you - try it out and let us know!

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » September 10th, 2012, 2:25 pm

Try it out vigorously!

Just take ur time and don't hifly with them!

Postby tr1ad » September 10th, 2012, 2:48 pm

ollur eh wa some twennies to roll around in?

venum

Postby venum » September 10th, 2012, 7:29 pm

tr1ad wrote:ollur eh wa some twennies to roll around in?

check teh classifieds and see how many 20" rims for sale . . .

ppl wising-up now bout big rims on pickups

Postby tr1ad » September 10th, 2012, 8:31 pm

yea i know......sadly i inherited them with the vehicle

droppa

Postby droppa » September 11th, 2012, 12:02 am

venum wrote:
tr1ad wrote:ollur eh wa some twennies to roll around in?

check teh classifieds and see how many 20" rims for sale . . .

ppl wising-up now bout big rims on pickups

its about time they did, and stop driving them like eggs!!

the most jokey part is that its more money for less rubber!!!!!!!

Smeed

Postby Smeed » September 11th, 2012, 8:55 am

AdamB buy tires that have a good reputation wrt safety and performance. doesn't make sense to compromise your safety jus to save a lil money.

Remember tires are essentially the most important piece of kit on a vehicle... its where de vehicle meets the driving surface.... lose traction and no amount of engine upgrades or taiwanese chrome kit could save yuh!

i cyah see de logic in buying used tires / cheapo tires to put on a vehicle... especially a pickup dat has screwed up vehicle dynamics to begin with. personally i runnin bfg AT's .... and it real bess.... expensive as crap but works well. run thru de tire ched, lots of recommendations and personal experience..... michelin, pirelli, bfg, goodyear, kumho etc etc.

ohho and jus a heads up.... don't go buying yuh bfg in a lil small mango tree tire shop and den be confused why de tires falling apart after a coupla weeks..... still with de authorised dealers!

Cooper

Postby Cooper » September 11th, 2012, 8:58 am

lighthammer wrote:Try it out vigorously!

Just take ur time and don't hifly with them!

Gonna be changing out my factory set soon, thinking of going with the Maxxis. Anyone got a line on an affordable source? I know a lot of prices may have changed since the last set of quotes in this thread.

AdamB

Postby AdamB » September 11th, 2012, 9:26 am

Smeed wrote:AdamB buy tires that have a good reputation wrt safety and performance. doesn't make sense to compromise your safety jus to save a lil money.

Remember tires are essentially the most important piece of kit on a vehicle... its where de vehicle meets the driving surface.... lose traction and no amount of engine upgrades or taiwanese chrome kit could save yuh!

i cyah see de logic in buying used tires / cheapo tires to put on a vehicle... especially a pickup dat has screwed up vehicle dynamics to begin with. personally i runnin bfg AT's .... and it real bess.... expensive as crap but works well. run thru de tire ched, lots of recommendations and personal experience..... michelin, pirelli, bfg, goodyear, kumho etc etc.

ohho and jus a heads up.... don't go buying yuh bfg in a lil small mango tree tire shop and den be confused why de tires falling apart after a coupla weeks..... still with de authorised dealers!

Thanks, appreciate the advice.

Actually I don't do any serious off-roading like you guys, just need to handle some grass / mud on agricultural roads. Don't drive d pickup as a daily either, so MT may be an option for me.

Who are the authorised dealers for the recc'd brands?

AdamB

Postby AdamB » September 11th, 2012, 11:35 am

M Ramrattan Tyre Shop in Vistabella has Firestone, Sumitomo and Hercules for $1100, $1200, $1350 max in 265/70-16 and 31x10.5-15. They have the two patterns below in the Firestone but the more aggressive one only in the 15" for $1100.

OK, so want to know what size 16" tyre is compatible with 31x10.5-15. I have a couple of Hilux 15" magrims with AT tyres that i can put in the back and the 16" in front, where I can buy the new tyres. Will the 265/70-16 work with the 31x10.5-15 on 4x4?
IMG-20120911-00032 FIRESTONE 31X10.5-15.jpg
IMG-20120911-00030 FIRESTONE.jpg

Postby tr1ad » September 11th, 2012, 12:15 pm

kinda lost me there

but the 31x10.5x15 works with the 15" rim if i gather what you saying
that tyre is bigger than 265 x 70

AdamB

Postby AdamB » September 11th, 2012, 12:31 pm

Want to know if the 265/70-16 will work (is about same diameter) as 31x10.5-15 (which I have ATs). .

droppa

Postby droppa » September 11th, 2012, 2:40 pm

^^i trust the info from this site, and i have proven it to be true....

i did this already on high traction surface, the van was very resistant, felt like something holding it back, switched off 4WD one time.....

on loose surface i cud hear the tires opposing one another, so again i switched off 4WD, in fear of uck fuping some thing,

on very very slippery surface, the difference was almost not noticeable, im talking about sapatay slush mud here.....still didnt work the 4WD for long...

i jus wanted to test the theory and see what results were for myself, i would not recommend it...

if u must use different brands, they MUST be the SAME SIZE rim and diameter for your 4WD to work and function properly and not destroy itself.......

out of all the tires you have shown, i will choose the freestones, they look like the most aggressive of the bunch......but do some research, FS had a recall IIRC...

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » September 12th, 2012, 12:04 am

I have a couple of Hilux 15" magrims with AT tyres that i can put in the back and the 16" in front, where I can buy the new tyres. Will the 265/70-16 work with the 31x10.5-15 on 4x4?

rim size doesnt matter. but keep the overall tire size the same on all four tires.
if u have differing sizes, once u put on the 4wd, the center diff will encountrer resistance due to the different rolling diamteres, this will fook up ur diffs.

boss, take ur time and save up to buy the good stuff - tires and brakes are two things u must not compromise on.
I spent the extra money on a set of Pirelli Scorpions and they saved my life.
Doubt that the cheap stock Dunlop grantreks would have done that.

AdamB

Postby AdamB » September 12th, 2012, 1:06 pm

droppa wrote:Image

^^i trust the info from this site, and i have proven it to be true....

i did this already on high traction surface, the van was very resistant, felt like something holding it back, switched off 4WD one time.....

on loose surface i cud hear the tires opposing one another, so again i switched off 4WD, in fear of uck fuping some thing,

on very very slippery surface, the difference was almost not noticeable, im talking about sapatay slush mud here.....still didnt work the 4WD for long...

i jus wanted to test the theory and see what results were for myself, i would not recommend it...

if u must use different brands, they MUST be the SAME SIZE rim and diameter for your 4WD to work and function properly and not destroy itself.......

out of all the tires you have shown, i will choose the freestones, they look like the most aggressive of the bunch......but do some research, FS had a recall IIRC...

Based on the above, I believe they should work together as the 265/70-16 will be new with full diameter and the 31x10.5-15 are used, so slightly less in diameter. So they will be around the same diameter.

Also, today I put on the old Hilux mag rims in d back with a Firestone 31x10.5-15 and was lucky to get ah used Michelin LTX (for $200 installed) to match .

So need to decide what exactly to put in front (16s). The guys in the tyre shop said that the Firestones we get in Trinidad are made in Venezuela, they recommend the Hercules AT over the Firestones but I agree with Droppa on Firestone having a more aggressive AT tyre.

Postby tr1ad » September 12th, 2012, 1:41 pm

you doing that based on actual measurements or just because it used

i'd just hold out, dont want to rush into that right now and have a heavy expense in the long haul

AdamB

Postby AdamB » September 12th, 2012, 2:03 pm

tr1ad wrote:you doing that based on actual measurements or just because it used

i'd just hold out, dont want to rush into that right now and have a heavy expense in the long haul

based on the measurements.

I really don't use 4WD a lot (long periods), just need it to get out if i get stuck.

I have 265/70-16 road tyres in front, will try out the 4WD before buying the new ATs in that same size.

It's not that I can't afford but I have to prioritize as I have 5 acres of land to fence from thieves helping themselves to my produce. Just have to make an obstacle or enough of a deterrant.

Don't know if gov't will ever get their act together wrt praedial larceny!!

AdamB

Postby AdamB » September 12th, 2012, 2:23 pm

Anyone care to comment on preference between FIRESTONE AND HERCULES ATs?

civic minded

Postby civic minded » September 12th, 2012, 3:28 pm

I used Hercules a/t before - very good tire , traction is great on wet and in mud but they wear out quickly and wore tires are very slippery on the road

civic minded

Postby civic minded » September 14th, 2012, 8:31 am

Has anyone used General Grabber? the reviews online , says its very good - on par with BFG's KO but much cheaper.
https://www.1010tires.com/Tires/Reviews ... rabber+AT2
Last edited by civic minded on September 14th, 2012, 8:41 am, edited 1 time in total.

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”