Recomendations for 4x4 tyres

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
Paullct

Re: Recomendations for 4x4 tyres

Postby Paullct » June 16th, 2012, 7:50 am

finally got my KM2's :mrgreen:

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » June 16th, 2012, 10:43 am

buhdow!!

Now come cuevas with us on tues coming... to test them out... for science!
(don't drive on cuevas beach though - lots of turtles are nesting now so wait until after august).

Paullct

Postby Paullct » June 16th, 2012, 6:57 pm

i have these for $2400 if anybody's interested

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » June 17th, 2012, 2:00 am

"These" being what size, what brand and what age?

Paullct

Postby Paullct » June 17th, 2012, 7:46 am

My apologies.

Kumho Roadventure MT KL71 - 33" x 12.5 /15

about 40% - 50% life

froggyrvr

Postby froggyrvr » August 3rd, 2012, 10:04 am

what u think foToyo Open Country Mud Terrain for a toyota hilux 2010 265/75/16

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » August 3rd, 2012, 12:02 pm

^^ great tyre offroad, but poor treadlife on highway/tarmac. Won't last very long, maybe 50,00km. Plus it's noisy as compared to an AT/ or HT... but if you go offroad a lot then they worth it.

froggyrvr

Postby froggyrvr » August 6th, 2012, 4:26 pm

thanks but what about the BFGoodrich All Terrain
T/A KO,BFGoodrich Mud Terrain T/A KM and the Toyo Open Country AT Mud Terrain the three look like great tyres and have great reviews got this on offroaders.com. Have some roadstone roadian ht run like crap in wet do lil offroad sometimes need help on making a decision thanks.

Paullct

Postby Paullct » August 6th, 2012, 5:25 pm

can't go wrong with bf goodrich!!

froggyrvr

Postby froggyrvr » August 6th, 2012, 9:27 pm

how is it on mud and grass which one of the bf's

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » August 7th, 2012, 12:42 am

We been through this review of the BF Goodrich so many times.. Search or use tirerack.com reviews please...

Paullct

Postby Paullct » August 7th, 2012, 9:08 am

both the bf goodrich all terrain and mud terrain are great offroad

froggyrvr

Postby froggyrvr » August 7th, 2012, 7:57 pm

thanks

tourniquet

Postby tourniquet » September 2nd, 2012, 10:42 am

I posted this in the Suzuki forum already, but I figured I'd get some good opinions in here as well. It's for a vitara btw.
tourniquet wrote:ok guys, i'm getting ready to change tires soon, and hope someone can help guide me with my decision based on experience, and what's currently available on the market:)
What I have: the stock tires i have are bridgestone duellers 225/65R/17.
What I'd like: I think I'd like to go with a nice set of all terrains, and I'd like to try and maintain the stock dimensions as much as possible.
In the brief online research I've done, thus far, I'm really liking this:
Yokohama Geolandar A/T-S
http://www.tirerack.com/tires/tires.jsp ... mpare1=yes
anyone knows if this is available down here?

now 3stagevtec, already recommended the BFG AT, and based on what I'm seeing in here, it seems like it's an incredible tire, however, I do like exploring my options, so if there's anything else anyone can think of, please share :)

froggyrvr

Postby froggyrvr » September 2nd, 2012, 11:26 am

tourniquet wrote:I posted this in the Suzuki forum already, but I figured I'd get some good opinions in here as well. It's for a vitara btw.
tourniquet wrote:ok guys, i'm getting ready to change tires soon, and hope someone can help guide me with my decision based on experience, and what's currently available on the market:)
What I have: the stock tires i have are bridgestone duellers 225/65R/17.
What I'd like: I think I'd like to go with a nice set of all terrains, and I'd like to try and maintain the stock dimensions as much as possible.
In the brief online research I've done, thus far, I'm really liking this:
Yokohama Geolandar A/T-S
http://www.tirerack.com/tires/tires.jsp ... mpare1=yes
anyone knows if this is available down here?

now 3stagevtec, already recommended the BFG AT, and based on what I'm seeing in here, it seems like it's an incredible tire, however, I do like exploring my options, so if there's anything else anyone can think of, please share :)

froggyrvr

Postby froggyrvr » September 2nd, 2012, 11:30 am

All-Terrain T/A KO at tirerack.com

venum

Postby venum » September 2nd, 2012, 10:40 pm

lighthammer wrote:^ yes I highly recommend that tyre for the price.

For $1145, the Kumho Roadventure AT KL78 are an excellent tyre.

Got over 70,000km on a set that we had on our frontier, lasted just about 3 years of highway driving.

have the Kumho Road Venture just about 1 year now

did ~ 24,000km on them and they appear to be down to about 50%

looks like I'll be changing them next year around this time

expecting to get another 24,000+km out of them, so they should give me 48,000km in total

traction is good in teh dry, buy not so great in teh wet as when they were new

civic minded

Postby civic minded » September 3rd, 2012, 7:49 am

Coming soon to a Ford ranger near you - Mickey Thompson Rims and Tires...hehehehehe

AdamB

Postby AdamB » September 3rd, 2012, 9:21 am

Saw a set of Dunlop Grandtrek AT3 this morning, looks good. Anyone has these or knows how they perform?

droppa

Postby droppa » September 3rd, 2012, 9:32 am

^like sheit, esp for the price, and on wet roads or slushy mudds.......

for the price i highly recommend the Nankang AT, it working real nice, on and off road
265 15s are $850
265 16s are $900
265 17s are $1000

homeboy

Postby homeboy » September 3rd, 2012, 11:21 am

AdamB wrote:Saw a set of Dunlop Grandtrek AT3 this morning, looks good. Anyone has these or knows how they perform?

I bought a set last month....no complaints....

AdamB

Postby AdamB » September 3rd, 2012, 11:49 am

droppa wrote:^like sheit, esp for the price, and on wet roads or slushy mudds.......

for the price i highly recommend the Nankang AT, it working real nice, on and off road
265 15s are $850
265 16s are $900
265 17s are $1000

where sells at these prices (Central)?

AdamB

Postby AdamB » September 3rd, 2012, 11:49 am

homeboy wrote:
AdamB wrote:Saw a set of Dunlop Grandtrek AT3 this morning, looks good. Anyone has these or knows how they perform?

I bought a set last month....no complaints....

Homeboy,
Where did u buy and what price did u pay?

Postby Mr. Red Sleeper » September 4th, 2012, 3:15 pm

I put on the Toyo Open Country 2 wks ago on the Sorento.

Havent gotten to try any "serious" off road stuff with it - (by serious i mean the side be run sorta stuff"-, but everything else seems to be top notch with these tires.
Minimal road noise when compared to the Khumo road ventures previously on the vehicle.
Mileage has improved a little.
Brakes and holds well on the wet roads, but for some reason, acceleration from a standstill is a bit of an issue, in that lots of tire spin if you take off moderately. Maybe given the torque-y vehicle that the '08 Sorento is, i dunno.
All in all , for a total bill at M/Mack of $5200, i think it is well worth the price so far.

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » September 4th, 2012, 4:18 pm

^^ good tyres, great for offroad on grade 2-3 trails and pretty decent on road too.
Only issue is longevity, couple of folks used them on this forum and reported an average life span of about 50,000km with regular, daily use on highway.

tourniquet

Postby tourniquet » September 4th, 2012, 6:17 pm

Mr. Red Sleeper, what size tires went on the Sorento?

venum

Postby venum » September 4th, 2012, 7:01 pm

Mr. Red Sleeper wrote:I put on the Toyo Open Country 2 wks ago on the Sorento.

All in all , for a total bill at M/Mack of $5200, i think it is well worth the price so far.

had those on the previous L200

they are really great tyres

great wet and dry handling

good self cleaning

one of the best tyres that I have ever used in both cars and pickup

good investment there Red

these are my Kumho Road Venture AT after 24,000km

trinibajan34

Postby trinibajan34 » September 4th, 2012, 10:05 pm

droppa wrote:^like sheit, esp for the price, and on wet roads or slushy mudds.......

265 15s are $850
265 16s are $900
265 17s are $1000

like yuh try them out or talk to ppl who have them.

droppa

Postby droppa » September 4th, 2012, 10:41 pm

never had them personally, work navara has a set, if the brutal driver driving, it loses traction quite often, cause he floors it, and we grin....if the lame driver driving, it feels very safe on the road, wet or dry....

also a padna had a set and we dipped it in some mud, poor self cleaning, and poor traction in the mud......he said if he had known better he wud've bought something better....

trinibajan34

Postby trinibajan34 » September 5th, 2012, 5:09 am

Hmm thought they would have been better, time to save up for bfg

Sent from my BlackBerry 9100 using Tapatalk

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”