Great Wall Wingle

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
bootmee

Re: Great Wall Wingle

Postby bootmee » June 15th, 2011, 11:25 am

Thanks guys for the constructive criticism. Appreciated.

civic minded

Postby civic minded » June 15th, 2011, 1:34 pm

why dont you come to one of the runs - lets see how the wingle fair off roading

Postby sliderz1 » June 15th, 2011, 1:37 pm

^^that

bootmee

Postby bootmee » June 15th, 2011, 4:19 pm

Remember I am just asking for feedback on the vehicle. I do not own one. But I bet it can kick your A$$ any day :mrgreen:

bootmee

Postby bootmee » June 16th, 2011, 1:55 pm

Postby sMASH » June 16th, 2011, 10:10 pm

the only thing i see wrong with the great wall is not an inherent problem but a circumstantial problem and that is after sales service.

if parts could be found by foreign used dealers or by normel auto parts places, like the other brands of vehicles then i good for it.

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » June 17th, 2011, 6:39 am

^ agreed.

MrCuddles

Postby MrCuddles » June 17th, 2011, 12:50 pm

but den agen, explain to me y i seein wingles 2-3yrs old wit their headlight lenses yellowish/brownish??
my frontier is over 7yrs old an d lenses are crystal clear....

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » June 17th, 2011, 9:12 pm

dem wingle have jaundice orrr?

:D

Postby sliderz1 » June 17th, 2011, 9:25 pm

^^oh garrrrddd

Postby sMASH » June 17th, 2011, 10:32 pm

so does my advan

bootmee

Postby bootmee » June 18th, 2011, 7:35 pm

Brain washed western society

venum

Postby venum » June 18th, 2011, 7:55 pm

while the Wingle may be a favourite of some in here,

it has to be agreed that every manufacturer has weak points in every model.

seems like the Wingle's weak points are inferior components used in the body parts, like the headlights

they have engines made by isuzu so they have that as a strong point

suspension parts kinda in d middle of the road

MrCuddles

Postby MrCuddles » June 20th, 2011, 12:38 am

bootmee wrote:Brain washed western society

wat dat sposed to mean??

venum

Postby venum » June 20th, 2011, 12:54 pm

he prob from d east where the Wongles are made

Rutless Tiida

Postby Rutless Tiida » June 24th, 2011, 5:20 pm

just for information but the Wingle received 2 Stars in crash tests

The tested model of Great Wall Motors V240 was introduced in Australia during 2009. Dual front airbags and antilock brakes (ABS) are standard. Electronic stability control (ESC) is not available. There are no advanced seat belt reminders. There are no approved top tether anchorages for child restraints so this vehicle is unsuitable for transporting young children.
2 Stars. The V240 scored 2.36 out of 16 in the offset crash test. The passenger compartment did not hold its shape well. Protection from serious head and leg injury was poor for the driver. There was marginal protection for the head of the passenger and chest of the driver. The passenger seat belt failed during the offset crash test. Even if the passenger results had been better the driver's score would have still limited the V240 to a 2-star rating. The vehicle was awarded a default score of 16 out of 16 in the side impact crash test. However, the low offset score meant that the vehicle was limited to a 2 star rating and an overall score of 16.49 (the maximum available for a 2 star rating).

MrCuddles

Postby MrCuddles » June 26th, 2011, 2:12 am

am still waitin to kno wat "brain washed western society" means...

seems like bootmee knows somting we dont huh

Postby Team Loco » June 26th, 2011, 8:42 am

actually, i wont mind buying one, not for me, but for everyday use at kel.
i spent about an hr last week at AM marketing having a good look at it. its fairly strong. there was also one up on a ramp at anand low price supermarket. underside is strong. got some prices on parts:

disc pads $123
complete left tray metal panel $1300
headlamp $900
condenser $1200

etc. not bad. its a vehicle to buy and work the hell out of it, then sell in 4 yrs

MrCuddles

Postby MrCuddles » June 26th, 2011, 9:22 pm

so is a disposable truck den?? lol

homeboy

Postby homeboy » June 26th, 2011, 9:46 pm

Team Loco wrote:actually, i wont mind buying one, not for me, but for everyday use at kel.
i spent about an hr last week at AM marketing having a good look at it. its fairly strong. there was also one up on a ramp at anand low price supermarket. underside is strong. got some prices on parts:

disc pads $123
complete left tray metal panel $1300
headlamp $900
condenser $1200

etc. not bad. its a vehicle to buy and work the hell out of it, then sell in 4 yrs

Agreed here all the way.......My dad bought the Sailor from MRampersad 4 years ago this month, he paid 105k on the road and i must say he got 10 times his money......It was bought for the reason of transporting workers with him to construction sites and it did that and more.......if he even sell this now for 40k which he would get it's a TCE series he still came out on top....

I can confirm he had some issues but nothing to talk about, he never took it to a good diesel mec so after 2 years of so when it start's in the morning it will not idle good, it remain like that up to now. One door handle broke on the outside, interior not holding up but still in ok condition.....all in all he got him money worth.

bootmee

Postby bootmee » June 29th, 2011, 12:59 pm

Rutless Tiida wrote:just for information but the Wingle received 2 Stars in crash tests

The tested model of Great Wall Motors V240 was introduced in Australia during 2009. Dual front airbags and antilock brakes (ABS) are standard. Electronic stability control (ESC) is not available. There are no advanced seat belt reminders. There are no approved top tether anchorages for child restraints so this vehicle is unsuitable for transporting young children.
2 Stars. The V240 scored 2.36 out of 16 in the offset crash test. The passenger compartment did not hold its shape well. Protection from serious head and leg injury was poor for the driver. There was marginal protection for the head of the passenger and chest of the driver. The passenger seat belt failed during the offset crash test. Even if the passenger results had been better the driver's score would have still limited the V240 to a 2-star rating. The vehicle was awarded a default score of 16 out of 16 in the side impact crash test. However, the low offset score meant that the vehicle was limited to a 2 star rating and an overall score of 16.49 (the maximum available for a 2 star rating).

Before we knock the Wingles crash test let take a look at the Rangers crash test :lol:

Postby sliderz1 » June 29th, 2011, 1:30 pm

ouch :x :x

MrCuddles

Postby MrCuddles » June 29th, 2011, 5:21 pm

1 star cood mean d difference btwn life an death eh boss man...

bootmee

Postby bootmee » July 1st, 2011, 12:29 pm

I hear yuh Cuddles true dat

champion

Postby champion » July 18th, 2011, 7:41 pm

you who sayin that these wingle is sheit are the one that dont have any money to even buy ah frickin bike so u should not talk these van workin better than plenty of those other van out there so don not talk like them japanese vehicle is d best cause u talkin rel sheit

Postby sliderz1 » July 18th, 2011, 8:29 pm

...........bringout yuh wingle on ah run nah

champion wrote:you who sayin that these wingle is sheit are the one that dont have any money to even buy ah frickin bike so u should not talk these van workin better than plenty of those other van out there so don not talk like them japanese vehicle is d best cause u talkin rel sheit

............besides guys in here have navaras ,hilux, rangers, that have more resale than a new wingle so go waste some one elses time with your rant

claries

Postby claries » July 18th, 2011, 8:49 pm

fellas take it easy let the wingle owners prove themselves on the next side b run
:D

Postby sliderz1 » July 18th, 2011, 9:39 pm

^^u know they never show up............

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » July 19th, 2011, 2:48 am

All talk no action....
action speaks louder than words.

Let the wingle come prove itself.
Like I said before, if a wingle comes and makes us eat our words, so be it.. I'll take mine with slight pepper :D

We'd still make fun of the silly name, but at least it would have proved itself :mrgreen:

Imagine a wingle come with a 2.5" lift kit and a set of mickey thompson rims and BF Goodrich Mud Terrain 33x10.5R15's, snorkle and winch bumer + winch.... you know how much fellas would come and gape at it?

heheheheheheheh.

** edit

Case in point: A guy in Australia modified his wingle with a gas-engine. ARB bumper, snorkle, skid plates, and mickey thompson M/T tyres.

Look at the instrument panel, touch screen LCD!

LOL, so when will the wingle owners of T&T bring them on a run??

top secret

Postby top secret » August 15th, 2011, 4:50 pm

The reason we aint show up yet to a run , is because we dont have to prove anything to any of you.......thankfully some of you guys actually live in reality.........

WOW plenty vigo,s and navaras IN THE PAPERS FOR SALE TODAY BOY..................

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”