What oil u using in ur diesel van?

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.

Re: What oil u using in ur diesel van?

Postby 3stagevtec » May 14th, 2011, 5:31 pm

Fazeer wrote:I have a 2009 Ford Ranger XL and I use Schaeffer Lubricants in my van. i get 15,000 t0 20,000 Km on one oil change. check out the website http://www.schaefferoil.com/ its a great oil and runs very smooth. I make highway run everyday and no breakdown or oil usage even after a 10,000..

what about the levels of soot in the oil? especially after running over 10,000kms with it?

our B2500 does really contaminate the oil with soot, so we keep our changes at 5000kms.. to maintain protection..

venum

Postby venum » May 14th, 2011, 7:21 pm

so for 3.2L Sportero owners who have doubts

the manual recommends for the 3.2L DiD (direct injection is different)

Normal conditions: 10,000km
Severe conditions: 5,000km

the OEM filter states clearly that is is recommended for 10,000km

so if you want to use extended run oils then you still have to change the oil filter

this is the OEM filter for the 4M41 DiD (same as the 4M40)

Last edited by venum on May 14th, 2011, 7:38 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby 3stagevtec » May 14th, 2011, 7:33 pm

venum wrote:so if you want to use extended run oils then you still have to change the oil filter

this is good advice no matter what filter you use..

topshotta20

Postby topshotta20 » May 20th, 2011, 9:04 am

which oil better to use in a 2009 2.5 hilux

Premium API CJ-4 Synthetic 15W-40 Diesel Oil
OR
SAE 15W-40 Heavy-Duty Diesel and Marine Motor Oil

badart

Postby badart » May 20th, 2011, 10:44 am

^ i cant say which is better but i used both of them and i prefer the heavy duty diesel

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » May 20th, 2011, 1:36 pm

I believe you can use the API CJ4 rated oil, since your engine is common-rail.

RyoTech PerFormance

Postby RyoTech PerFormance » May 20th, 2011, 2:51 pm

The following was taken directly from Toyota global service information and applies to the following Toyota Hilux Models with the 1KD & 2KD-FTV (3.0L & 2.5L) :
HILUX / TGN10,11,15,16,26,36 - GGN15, 25, 35 - KUN10,15,16,25,26,35,36,LAN15,25,35

G-DUB

Postby G-DUB » August 26th, 2011, 9:53 am

Hey guys I need some advice on what engine oil might be best for me to use in my 1998 4x2 hilux. It has the 2L non turbo engine and is currently doing 167xxx. Curently i`m using Castrol RX Viscus 25w 60 but I wanna change over to a synthetic engine oil because of the price of the Castrol and the change interval. Was thinking about Amsoil. What you guys think?

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » August 26th, 2011, 5:26 pm

its not recomended to use synthectic oils in such old engines... stick with the mineral... U can try the Ultra heavy duty diesel engine oil... the SAE50.. our climate in trinidad does not require the use of a multi grade oil.. so a 50 body grade will work fine for your engine...

Havoc

Postby Havoc » August 26th, 2011, 6:00 pm

for normal conditions a 25W60 oil is def overdoing it imo
and i'm sure that's hving an impact on ur mileage
my truck has 183k on the ODO and i'm still using the manufacturer recommended 15W40 in a Synthetic
making the switch to a synthetic will increase ur drain intervals and will save you $$$ in the long run OR u can go with a cheap quality mineral such as Chevron Delo 15W40 which BigZ sells for $300/3gal
but if ur truck undergoes som severe usage and u hv no problem with the increased fuel consumption, stick with ur 25W60 or try a straight SAE50 oil as speedy suggested
change oil and filter evry 5,000kms religiously and u'll be fine

an btw speedy 167,000kms is in no way old for a diesel eh, dat engine in its prime rite there ;)

Postby sliderz1 » August 26th, 2011, 7:45 pm

Havoc wrote:an btw speedy 167,000kms is in no way old for a diesel eh, dat engine in its prime rite there ;)

ayyyyy.............eeet have youth in dat stil
:drinking: :drinking:
165k on d frontier

G-DUB

Postby G-DUB » August 26th, 2011, 8:15 pm

I don`t get bad fuel consumption using the 25w 60 oil...I use $35 - $50 every week in fuel and i get on average 300 -400km...I don`t drive at speeds over 80kmh. I also use amsoil cetane boost and diesel concentrate. My pickup hauls alot of load on average anywhere between 1000 - 3000lbs. Just wanted to know if there is any alternative than using the Castrol oil because it`s so expensive now and the 5000km change interval. Don`t mind investing in a better quality oil that would last longer.

Postby sliderz1 » August 26th, 2011, 8:56 pm

NP Ultra!!!!! :D

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » August 26th, 2011, 9:58 pm

been hearin really gud reviews bout the np ultra lubricants..... to each his own... Havok... i din see the millage the OP posted... i just watch the year... if thats the case then a yes... he can use a lighter body oil such as a 15w40.... i use that in my 93' L200.. and my engine doin about 200k+ kms on it.. try the Shell Rimula R3X 15w40 oil... i use it religiously and change @ 7500k intervals its a semi synthetic oil...

Postby sliderz1 » August 26th, 2011, 10:09 pm

http://www.np.co.tt/article.php?id=50

it has gotten recognition by some major manufacturers and met quite a couple standards

Postby 3stagevtec » August 27th, 2011, 1:24 am

I ran the NP Synthec through my engine once, 2.0L petrol, oil was used to flush out any contaminants that may have made their way into my engine while I was doing the timing chain change, and the engine make a ton of noise when I started it with the NP synthec.. Was hearing lots of chatter from the valves (I assume).. Didn't sound good at all!

After I ran the engine for about 5 mins, I drained and refilled with my regular oil (15W40 Amsoil).. Everything went right back to normal afterwards..

Havoc

Postby Havoc » August 27th, 2011, 10:05 am

even tho i support the local market an all i'm sorry, jus for the peace of mind i wont put NP oil in my engine

i hv NP Supermatic in my transfer-case and dat alone is bugging me a bit

rottedv

Postby rottedv » August 27th, 2011, 9:13 pm

Any ever heard of Shell Rotella DD 40? Got some free and I want to know if it can be used in my 2lte

Havoc

Postby Havoc » August 28th, 2011, 7:50 am

seems like gd stuff....once its d correct type of oil recommended by Toyoda then go strong man

i knw hw to get d free lift kit and free MT tyres, not sure hw to get the free oil tho.....care to share??

rottedv

Postby rottedv » August 28th, 2011, 9:33 am

My father in law works at Tucker and he got it from there...How...I don't know and I wouldn't bother to ask....I have oil to change....

Is it one of the recommended oils by toyota? Will need to check this...

rottedv

Postby rottedv » August 28th, 2011, 9:35 am

Wait...... free lift kit and MT????? You need to let me in on the secret...

Postby sliderz1 » August 28th, 2011, 1:21 pm

rottedv wrote:Wait...... free lift kit and MT????? You need to let me in on the secret...

here............. :| :| :lol: :lol: :lol:
viewtopic.php?f=41&t=361687&p=5601203#p5601203

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » August 28th, 2011, 5:30 pm

TTTL uses Castrol Hypuron on their new diesel vehicles.

Val

Postby Val » August 31st, 2011, 11:45 am

I typically use Royal Purple 15W40, but I recently gave Kendal Liquid Titanium 15W40 a try. It was smoother within the first 1000 kms of the oil change, but then quickly became just as unrefined as the Total that the van came with.

Heading back to RP next oil change. May use an RP filter too, once DM will allow it.

Havoc

Postby Havoc » August 31st, 2011, 10:11 pm

RP is d shiznit yo!! but my next oil change is quickly approaching and i'm tinkin bout switchin to Amsoil......howevr if i do, i dont think the regular 10,000km oil changes will cut it, i'm thinkin bout going to 15,000kms maybe evn 20,000km

here's the argument- Nissan recommends a semi-synthtic oil and a drain interval of 10,000kms
so switching to a full synthetic shud allow me to extend the drain interval to at least 15,000kms and wit my truck seeing severe usage once in a blue moon i think running the oil to 20,000kms cud be a very real possibility
also, Amsoil is rated to be run up to 20,000 MILES so 20,000kms shud be a piece of cake.....rite??

now i knw a major restriction wen comes to extended oil drains is filter life, but due to the wonderful design of the Frontier i can change my filter as often as i like without disturbing the oil(i presently change my filter every 4,000-5,000kms)

so nw i need allyuh fellas input here, anyone evr used any oil for more than 10,000kms an wat are yall thoughts on running Amsoil(or any oil for that matter) for 15-20,000kms??

Val

Postby Val » August 31st, 2011, 10:22 pm

The only way to properly extend your oil change intervals is to do an oil test. We sell a chromatograph paper that tests the oil, and is pretty inexpensive but the best way is to have a tribologist take a look at the sample (and it's important to sample properly, to get the best representation of the dissolved/suspended solids, acid content, viscosity breakdown, soot, water etc).

That said, the intervals will have to be varied over time as the engine wears and as your usage/environment for the vehicle changes.

With the RP, Diamond Motors has me on a 10000 km schedule, which is fine for me and I'm sure it errs on the side of caution. RP, Fram and K&N (I dunno of any others) have extended life filters with better filtration media than stock that can allow you to change filters less frequently.

What I look for in an engine oil are a good base stock grade, film strength modifiers and good detergents. Nowadays, all the major brands are pretty good, and it usually comes down to price in terms of comparison, unless you're going to be racing/hill climbing a lot which then I would look for race spec oil.

Havoc

Postby Havoc » September 1st, 2011, 7:34 am

i knw that's the most accurate way to tell hw gd ur oil is....but is there anywhere in trini that does dat oil analysis?? wud relly like to see hw gd my oil is approaching the 10,000kms mark

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » September 1st, 2011, 7:42 am

mih amsoil reach about 10,300km now... still rollin smooth and nice.

Val

Postby Val » September 1st, 2011, 9:15 am

There's a company called Mora that does oil analysis. Cariri and TOSL may do it I'm not sure, and possibly NP.

rottedv

Postby rottedv » September 1st, 2011, 3:29 pm

Just changed my oil with shell rimula r3 15w 40...Didn't go with the roteela as it is a 2 stroke oil and from what I read on the web some additives are left out of the oil as it is supposed to mix with the fuel to burn....So shell rimula r3 good or not good in d surf?

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”